Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 551 to 600 of 2734


NEIL WHITE
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 28/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

we had a great time at seascape. superb cottage,v.clean.very nice friendly owners who give us wine and jam as a welcoming gift. v.thoughtful after our long journey from essex.i would certainly recommend this cottage. please note,owners live right next to cottage,a point which seems to have missed in the photos.

Sheila A
Reviewed Loch Cottage on 24/08/2016
And awarded it

Loch Cottage

We had a fantastic time at Loch Cottage. The setting was beautiful overlooking the loch and hillside. We spent evenings in the garden watching the moon come up and the fireflies on the loch. The cottage has everything you need and is very comfortable, only 5 minutes or so to both Aviemore and Boat of Garten. There are loads of lovely walks close by so no need to go far if you don't want to. The lovely owners posted some clothes I left by mistake, which was really nice of them. We had a great time and would highly recommend a visit.

Steve Martin
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 23/08/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch is a lovely clean and well presented house this was our second time at Carn Loch each time we have enjoyed ourselves.We even had an Osprey circling overhead one morning.very peaceful and quiet location

Sandra,mark,keiran,Zoe Hennessey & Skye,golden R
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 21/08/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We couldn't have chose a better location for ouranniversary 30th wedding anniversary than feed it log cottage,it was beautiful, made good use of the jacuzzi bath after all the lovely long walks we did,the scenery is stunning,we loved watching the deer in the garden, our Goldie Skye loved the garden,it was massive and he loved running around in it. The log fire is lovely and had many a cosy night with a bottle of wine,fantastic. Thank you Graham and Lynne for the lovely prosecco and cookies they were very welcome,hope to be back again in this lovely cottage,maybe next year. Didn't want to go home,enjoyed it so much.

The Van Capps
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 21/08/2016
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We have had a really wonderful stay at the Mill. The owners gave us such a warm welcome. The cottage was very clean, well equipped (so much thought to all attentiveness for a holliday stay) The view stunning, fireplace and 'the library' awesome. The rooms were very nice and our time in the cottage was so serene and peaceful,to have no Wi-Fi was actually very nice. This cottage is a true holiday blessing, Thank you so much !

ChrisA
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/08/2016
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Lovely cottage clean and with everything we needed beautiful area with breath taking views over loch ness, Thank you

Sue Collis
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 19/08/2016
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

This cottage has been beautifully renovated. It is very well equipped with everything you might need in the kitchen. The bed is very comfortable. Even though we were there in August, we couldn't resist using the wood burner on the occasional rainy evening and it was very cosy. However, the cottage is very warm without using the fire. We found the location to be perfect for local forest walks, bike rides and we enjoyed our visits to the Loch Ness exhibition and Urquhart Castle. We would definitely recommend this accommodation to anyone.

Andrew Purcell
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre was perfect in every way! A wonderful welcome from Jane, spacious accommodation, huge comfortable bed and everything we could wish for. Great location for exploring The Assynt.

Karen & Gary
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Despite the wet weather we spent an enjoyable week at Woodside Lodge, which is comfy and well equipped. The views (when we could see them) of the Applecross mountains and Lochcarron were stunning. It is also a good base for exploring further afield to Plockton, Torridon, Skye and Shieldaig. The only thing we found detrimental was the steep and rutted road up to the Lodge which had been made worse because of the rain but we don't have a 4 wheel drive vehicle which would have been better. The owners were very friendly and it was nice to have free range eggs from them.

Aidan Desmond
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

This is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful part of the world. There is everything you need in the cottage and it is an ideal base from which you can go out and explore. We would certainly stay again. Highly recommended.

Mick Macve
Reviewed An Airidh on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

An Airidh

The cottage is lovely. The rooms were tastefully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, the wifi worked well, the temperature inside the cottage was just right and the kitchen was well appointed. The other comments on the website about the wet room are not, with respect, accurate: it is great, easy to use and the water does not go all over the room; it was very good. The cottage is located in a beautiful area with outstanding views all around. Dunvegan is excellent for cake (!) and is only 15 minutes away. If only it had stopped raining, the holiday would have been perfect. We will have to come back next year! Thank you for all the nice little touches.

Catherine A
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 17/08/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Very pleasant cottage - immaculately clean, attractive and well equipped. Very friendly and helpful owners, who live in a nearby village and are therefore available if needed. We had appalling weather (torrential rain and high winds) but were very cosy and comfy...take books and games rather than relying on television, which is 'patchy' in bad weather. Dogs are not allowed upstairs, so if your dog is used to going upstairs it is worth taking a fold up barrier to remind them not to scoot up! The Three Chimneys is only 10 mins away and is superb and the Coral Beach is 30 mins away and well worth a visit. Don't underestimate the local shop at the end of the road...it is the best stocked corner shop ever and could save you from making long journeys to Portree for provisions! All in all we had a pleasant and relaxing break in Katie's Cottage.

George & Chery Carson
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

We have been to Seabank Cottage 3 times and plan to be back in the future. Even when the weather isn't great (as last week) it is lovely to sit and watch the changes in the sea, the sky and hills from the kitchen window. To see the sea lap against the building. In the evening it is ideal to light a fire and chill out in the living room. A new walk in show has been installed since we were last in the cottage in 2013 and that is lovely and refreshing first thing in the morning or when you come back from a walk. The Lochcarron area is wonderful and Seabank Cottage is an excellent base for a holiday in the village.

Sam & Sophie
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

The accommodation was first class and absolutely beautiful. 2 mins walk from town which had most of the usual amenities needed and 20 mins from Aviemore. We had a brilliant break and would recommend to anyone. Hosts were also very welcoming to our needs.

Guest Summer 2016
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

The accomodation was clean, spacious and well furnished. The leisure facilities at the Abbey also contributed to a wonderful holiday. Would visit again without hesitation.

The Pierces
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary is a wonderfully equipped, incredibly cosy and a very private, peaceful and secluded place to stay. The wildlife is rife and the scenery is breath-taking. The midges however ruined our week :(

Martina
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Perfect cottage, with everything provided to make our stay as pleasant as possible. We had a wonderful time. Wilderness cottage staff was friendly and helpful.

Donna Campbell
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 16/08/2016
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Had an amazing week in this cabin. Very friendly welcome and the little extras were much appreciated. Excellent garden for our wee dog and cabin was very well equipped. Great base for visiting the highlands.

Sandra,mark,keiran,Zoe Hennessey & Skye,golden R
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 14/08/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Couldn't have chose a better cottage for our 30th wedding anniversary,the cottage its self was fantastic,very clean and perfect in every way,the garden was brilliant for our 3 year old golden retriever,he could run around and explore and we knew he would be completely safe. The views around the cottage are stunning,we loved it that 2 deers appeared every day,it was lovely just to sit and watch them. The jacuzzi bath was perfect after long walks which we did everyday and didn't have to use the car,the forest walks are beautiful. Thank you to Graham and lynn for the lovely bottle of wine and cookies,they were very much appreciated, sorry we didn't get to meet you though, we were all sad to leave this beautiful place but left feeling very relaxed and can't wait to go back again,hopefully next year.

Beverley
Reviewed Solas on 13/08/2016
And awarded it

Solas

Bon Megens
Reviewed Ardrannach on 12/08/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Comfortable cottage with stunning views. We enjoyed it very much! A cottage deffinitely fit for return to someday. We only recommend some extra cutlery and plates because of the dishwasher. So you don't have to use the dishwasher so many times.

John Poole
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 11/08/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

We all loved this location, what a lovely spot it is, we enjoyed the garden and soaked in the peace where only nature could be heard. We saw pretty birds feasting on the bird feeder, all types of tits came to saw hello, thrushes and even a red squirrel ran along the wall. The house itself was spotlessly clean and at night we put on the real fire and relaxed. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen allowed us to cook. We did day trips to the nearby Stone Henge and went to the Foyers Falls. We even paddled in the nearby loch and sunbathed, yes sunbathed on its tiny sandy beach! We walked in the nearby beach woods and were fascinated by the colourful mushrooms and toadstools. The owners were very friendly, even kindly but left us to our own. I would recommend it to my friends and hopefully will come again. This part of Scotland is a wonderful spot.

Paul Osborne
Reviewed Moll House on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Lovely spacious cottage in a great location - quiet, but with easy access to Skye's main facilities and tourist destinations. Great for wildlife- we saw seals, otters and eagles from the house. Great enclosed garden and access to pebble beach.

Daniel (France)
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

2 weeks and it was a real pleasure to be at the Cedar Cottage. It was very clean, quiet, we'll equipped. Moreover cakes, milk, chocolat and wine at our arrival. Perfect!

Victoria Milbourne
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We've been to Skye now 6 times and this cottage is by far the best place we've stayed. The location was fantastic and incredibly relaxing; the house itself was perhaps the best equipped we've ever stayed in; and my partner, David, can now say that he can confidently cook on an Aga! All mod cons were included such as Wi-Fi, a great telly, dish-washer and washer-dryer. The house was charming, clean and the view onto the Bay was hypnotic. This is the only time that, on leaving a property at the end of our holiday, we've agreed that we should return to that property in future. I can't recommend this place highly enough. I'd like to move there permanently!

Kirsten
Reviewed Don Cottage on 10/08/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don Cottage is a nice and lovely cottage with everything you need. The goodies you recieve are super! The kitchen is big and wel equipped. Only comment: you smell the fire place even when you don't use it. This might be inconvenient for some but not for everyone.

Jackie Warren
Reviewed Sealight on 07/08/2016
And awarded it

Sealight

Our second stay here - which should say all that's necessary (who would return to somewhere that wasn't a great place to be?) The only thing I'd say is, if you're not happy with peace and quiet, a fair bit of driving, walks in the rain and midge-avoidance tactics - it's not the place for you! The cottage is clean, incredibly well-equipped and has water-side views; enough said.

Forrest Family
Reviewed Charleston on 07/08/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

OMG... what an amazing cottage! Home from home with stunning views. Spotlessly clean and well kept garden. The dogs (and cat) loved being outside, plenty of room for the two Labs and 5 adults. Loved the remoteness with the closest shop being in Fort Augustus, about half hour drive away, very peaceful just watching out for the birds of prey and the deer! :-) Couldn't have been more relaxed if we tried! 100% will recommend this cottage to family and friends. Hope to go back again ourselves!

Mirjam Angst
Reviewed Sixgeary on 07/08/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We had a wonderful time in Sixgeary. Very relaxing. We, a family of Four, really enjoyed our stay and the house is great.

Michele
Reviewed Glen View on 06/08/2016
And awarded it

Glen View

John Stewart Smith
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 06/08/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Absolutely fabulous. Couldn't do more - even returned my son's dental retainer left by accident !!- (Must have words with him ) !!

Rachel
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 05/08/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

The highlight of this cottage is the view of Skye & the quiet edge of village location. Very well equipped kitchen, not just the essentials. Also well equipped for the cold which thankfully we did not need. There are local walks but you need to bring your own maps.

J.C. Kleuver
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 04/08/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Probably one of the best cottages I have ever stayed in! The view is unsurpassed, with ever changing light. The cottage is large, new, fully equipped, very comfortable, and well kept.

Stricker Johannes
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 04/08/2016
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We had a really nice stay in this beautiful and cosy house. The landscape, the sheep, the sea, the people- perfect! And the weather: very scottish!

Alexandre Gerbex Blattner
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 04/08/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We very much enjoyed the cottage and its position. We had a brilliant time.

Neville Brooks
Reviewed River Cottage on 04/08/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

An excellent stay in a fantastic cottage very close to all amenities, highly recommended

James Smith
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 04/08/2016
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is extremely well equipped and comfortable. The laundry facilities are particularly welcome in a wet Scottish summer. During our stay the neighbouring cottages had very quiet occupants and there was little noise from the nearby A84. The cottage is very well placed for the Lawers, Crianlarich and Glen Lyon ranges. Phone reception is reasonable but not internet. Wifi connection would be welcome.

Phil & Kerry Jones
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/08/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Second visit to Shore Cottage - just as good as the first. Think Scooby (the dog) came back 2" shorter he didn't stop running for a week. Hardly anyone on the beach. Cottage was clean and tidy everything you need was there. Take binoculars we saw sea lions and whales while we were there. Excellent holiday.

Helen Byfield
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage surpassed our expectations, really lovely everything provided and more, truly wilderness, you need a car. We hope to return some day, thank you.

Anton Z
Reviewed Dunollie on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

Helen Byfield
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We stayed at Fersit log cottage for a week, it was everything described, idyllic and beautiful, certainly a wilderness and retreat. Everything provided beyond expectations, thank you, hope to return some day soon, our pooch (pug) loved it too.

The Smith Family, Huddersfield
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

What a lovely cottage and a wonderful part of the world. The Aga was a joy. Excellent communication from Wilderness Cottages too. We will all have cherished memories of our time. Thanks

I.Wilkie
Reviewed Ardrannach on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This was our second stay at Ardrannach and once again it was wonderful. The walks straight from the front door were so convenient. Location is great as close to Portree but not in it. Cottage is comfortable and well equipped, with great views from the living room window. Looking forward to returning.

Elaine Cramond
Reviewed Glenara on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Had a very pleasant stay at Glenara last week and we found the cottage very clean and comfortable! The owner Bob met us on arrival and I found that a nice personal touch! Location was perfect, right in the heart of the village of a fort Augustus next to the Caledonian Canal! The cottage sits back slightly from the road so it was also very peaceful and quiet! Big garden goes right down to the river with splendid views and perfect for our dog Bear to run around in and be safely enclosed! Hubbie enjoyed fishing from there also! We would definitely return.

D Campbell
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Great place to stay.Host's we're friendly and helpful.cottage was imaculate,with a great view of the sea.

The Bradley Family
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 02/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We stayed at seascape cottage. The owners were there to welcome us to the most beautiful cottage with outstanding views. To say that the owners are nothing less than helpful and welcoming would be an understatement. Welcomed with a smile, and homemade produce started our holiday off to a wonderful start. Not to mention that they are so helpful and truly the nicest couple! Everything in the cottage is of excellent standard and quality. The best equipped cottage we have EVER stayed in, with extras like dog beds, bowls even washing tablets to last you the full week. Not including poop bags for the dogs and a ball!! Super beds, and comfy sofas welcome you after the long and beautiful walks with the dogs. Outstanding decor and such a welcoming environment as soon as you walk in the door. And not one thing has been forgotten about. I wish on cottages like this, there was an extra rating, because excellent just doesn't seem to describe this cottage and the stay that we had here. Its way above that, and I really can't wait till we go back next year

V Gilmore
Reviewed Ardrannach on 01/08/2016
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We really enjoyed staying at Ardrannach, a comfortable, well equipped cottage with loads of space and beautiful views. It feels like it's in the middle of nowhere but is only a 10 minute drive from Portree's shops and restaurants. A great base to explore Skye and I would recommend it wholeheartedly.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/08/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

The cottage is in a beautiful location and the views are stunning. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable. Watching the wildlife and changing sky at night was so relaxing. I would highly recommend a stay here.

Christina Moore
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 31/07/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

I am going to be honest, I really don't want to leave a good review because the cottage is so amazing, that I want to keep it all to myself. It is far beyond perfect and I didn't want to leave. The pictures online were lovely but when you actually walk into the doors, your jaw drops. It is more magnificent than the online pictures show. You will literally not want to leave. Beautiful, clean...it doesn't get any more perfect.

Karen & David, Scotland
Reviewed Log House on 30/07/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We visited the Log House for a week beginning of June 2016 and had a great time....the garden ,front and back, is a sun trap if the weather allows, the bed was one of the most comfy we've had and only found 1 spider in all the time there lol. There are great walks both to the left and right of the garden entrance, down to the left takes you to the River Oich which was gorgeous and to the right takes you out to Fort Augustus village, which is only a 20/25 minute walk (or 5 min drive). We saw finches,robins and at least 2 woodpeckers on the birdtable which you can watch from inside the house, and 3 deer out front, but you need to be quiet if you want to see them as they are as quick as a flash! From the village you can go on a Loch Ness cruise, which is well worth it, and there's a shop you can buy your groceries, we used it nearly every day, it always had what we needed and plenty of souvenir shops ...and the chip shop there was 1 of the best. If anything we'd say if you want to eat out then the best time is when the visiting buses are there, as otherwise the places to eat can be pretty quiet, but that is a small thing in the bigger picture. Once you get used to where you are and the house itself then it's a great wee place to stay, yes there are a couple houses nearby but we hardly came across anyone, the postwoman and a couple walking down to the river and they couple houses might just give you that wee bit of security you might need, knowing someone else is there.....apart from that it really is a wilderness log house..enjoy if you go..