Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 551 to 600 of 2902


Caroline Stroud
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/07/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

A beautiful, well equipped cottage, in a stunning location. My partner and I, and our dogs, had a blissful week. We hope to return.

Pattie Family
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 04/07/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

We very much enjoyed our stay at Carn Loch Cottage. The house is lovely and spacious and was spotlessly clean. The views are amazing. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle, then this is an excellent choice, yet it is only about 20 minutes from Inverness. We look forward to returning.

Ian & Julie From Kent
Reviewed Moll House on 03/07/2017
And awarded it

Moll House

Comfortable & spacious house, ideal loch side position. Thoughtful fittings; large freezer, bath as well as a shower, very comfortable new bed, lots of storage space, utility room ideal for drying walking gear. Perfect base to tour Skye. Would book again.

Tom & Liz Robertson With Hamish & Bramble Mini S
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 02/07/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Not being able to fly due to kidney problems we came upon this website and found Cedar Cottage, we had never took the dogs away before and I was worried about their safety but I should not of worried the garden was fully enclosed and we could just relax and enjoy the wonderful wildlife that visited daily, red squirrel, Jay, woodpecker to name a few. The cottage itself is comfy and well equipped right down to chocolates,wine,biscuits and milk awaiting our arrival. We were lucky enough to watch Osprey fishing at Spey Bay and also at Loch Garton. All in all it was the best holiday we have had and we can't wait to return to our cottage in the woods

Alison Roots
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 01/07/2017
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

This is a real escape holiday. The views and the quiet are amazing. The cottage was spotless and the welcome pack really generous. We didn't even have to worry about finding food shops as Tesco will deliver there, although we did use the post office in Tomintoul for milk and bread. A perfect holiday - thank you

Bob,Janet,Paul Midge,Rob,Elaiine.
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Peaceful, quiet, spacious, clean. Just what the doctor ordered ! Jenny was an informative & helpful host. Excellent little cafe in Tomich with homemade cake.

Helen & Martin
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Rating of "Very Good" as there are many positives with this location and property, but a few improvements are needed for "Excellent". Having said that, we would definitely visit again, but we would shop knowing that there is only a small fridge with a very small freezer section. Not a "pro" or a "con", just handy to know when planning shopping! Pros: Excellent, secluded location, with no neighbours except the sheep; Beautiful views from the garden room and excellent for watching the birds and other wildlife, the garden room is a great addition to this property and we spent the majority of our time in here and did not even use the lounge; The kitchen is a nice size and is very well stocked for a holiday rental and everything works properly; Beautiful walks within the area without having to get into the car. Cons: The bathroom needs updating. There is no shower, only a stand alone bath, with taps that are too wide to fit a shower attachment. They do provide a double hose shower attachment, but it will only fit onto the hand basin taps - although this does reach over to the bath; The cleaning leaves a lot to be desired, particularly in the bathroom; The cottage could do with some TLC and requires decorating; The curtains in the bedroom are a bit too flimsy and let in too much light, particularly an issue in summer as it's daylight for so much longer; The beds are a bit on the hard side;

Nadine Marshalsea
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 29/06/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

Lovely cottage, everything provided, warm and comfortable. The view from the kitchen window over the loch, especially when the tide was right up, was fantastic, watched a lot of different types of weather coming across over the mountains.

Anne Holroyd
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 28/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Swallow Byre. Jane gave us a warm welcome and left delicious scones for us to enjoy after our long journey. The cottage is extremely comfortable and homely. It has everything one could wish for. Jane ordered some prawns for us from a local fisherman and provided a large pan in which to cook them. They were very tasty. The absence of wifi was not a problem as emails could be picked up at local cafes and pubs. It is well worth the long drive to explore this wonderful area, there are plenty of local walks, so you don't have to drive once you are settled. My husband and I hope to return to renew our acquaintance with Jane and further explore Sutherland.

Alex Ramsay
Reviewed Glenara on 24/06/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Iris R
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 24/06/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

The house is very nicely decorated and the kitchen fully equipped with everything you need, actually the whole house is filled with handy things like: handsoap, cleaning stuff, kitchen paper, bin bags, toiletpaper etc. The surroundings are very nice and quiet: saw a lot of Dear and pheasants on the morning walk with the dogs. The garden is superb for exercising your dog, only the fences are quite low and the chicken of the neigbours kept escaping; So, I had to check If the chicken was in his cage before I let the dogs in the garden. Cawdor castle is less than 10mins by car, but always busy...make sure you are there a bit earlie in the morning. Cawdor Tavern is a Nice place to eat (rest/pub). If you like a rough beach walk, Rosemarkie beach is nice ..and Nice views also. When we arrived there was a welcoming basket and card, with a nice wish for our holiday, a bottle of wine and some chocolates and cookies. This was very much appreciated by us. The key collection through the little safe is also very handy. We will defenitely stay here again If we return to this area of Scotland!!!

JULIE AND STEVE
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 23/06/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a beautiful, comfy cottage everything we needed including bed /bowls and towels for Stella and Scampy. Sofa's were so comfy to crash out on after long walks!, Jane and Chas have thought of everything, they were excellent hosts nothing was too much trouble and very informative, close by but not intrusive. Fantastic views, plenty of wild life, great walks, and the beach only minutes walk away. If you want isolation peace and tranquillty this is the place for you. Shopping only 9 miles away so not too far.

Heinz Georg Koch
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 22/06/2017
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed two weeks and would have loved to stay on, but unfortunately we had to leave. The lodge had everything you could hope for and more. We were greeted by a lovely bottle of red wine and a full bag of wood for the fireplace. The mornings were whiled away by counting the seals on the rocks and watching the little lambs frolick. The photo views from the front porch don't do it justice as it is far more stunning than any photo can show you. Don't bother with driving to Portree to do your shopping, because Nancy the wee general store owner at Glendale has everything you will ever need. Make sure to try the bakery in Dunvegan. To of the best restaurants on Skye are only located within a 20 minute drive from the lodge. Will we want to come back...you bet we will :-)

Christopher Keil
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 22/06/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a lovely weeks stay at Stablemans Cottage, we found it an excellent location to explore the local area - lots of local amenities. We very much enjoyed spotting red squirrels and deer in the nearby Anagach Woods.

Julie Harrison
Reviewed Sealight on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

I struggle to find the words to describe Sealight, it is a beautiful house in a stunning location with everything you could possibly need. It wraps itself around you as soon as you step inside. The weather was not kind to us but the Pine Martin visited every night for his nuts and Bread and Jam and we had a wonderful week enjoying the peace and quiet and the enjoyed the local hide and walks, along with visits to Oban and Inverness and other places.

Phil & Sylvia
Reviewed Upper Folds on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

There is not much which has not been said already about this fantastic remote cottage. This was our third stay in eighteen months. Faultless in every way, impeccably clean, lovely welcome gifts. Scenery outstanding. It really is the perfect rural retreat. We like it so much we don't want to look elsewhere anymore. Has to be seen to be believed. Another mention to Brian and the team at Wilderness Cottages - excellent personal, friendly service - faultless every time. They have been a fantastic booking agent. We have been delighted with all aspects of our dealings. Upper Folds - 100% perfect.

May McLeod
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 21/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had a wonderful stay in this beautiful cottage. Very well equipped and views to Raasay as sun sets. We have spent the whole week exploring Skye and can't wait to come back! Gorgeous spot and Moll Cottage itself is just perfect.

C DUTKOWSKI
Reviewed Ardrannach on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely cottage, very peaceful with great views, 5 minute drive into Portree, so very convenient for getting around the island and into town, but once in the cottage, felt beautifully isolated. Glad to have truly secure garden for the dog. Cottage comfortable and had all we needed, although could have done with a few more mugs and teaspoons.

Hilda Findlay
Reviewed Aros Beag on 19/06/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Aros Beag is a lovely little cottage, an old building very tastefully renovated. It may be a bit near the A82, but it still retains a feeling of peacefulness, tucked away by the river and surrounded by trees. Jim was very welcoming and helpful. His wife runs the cafe next door in the old church, offering delicious food if you don't want to cook yourself. All in all, we were very happy with our stay.

Melanie Fowles
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Fabulous cottage, really remote so very quiet and peaceful. Very comfortably furnished and dog friendly. Enjoyed all the wildlife - fed the birds including a family of woodpeckers, had a visiting hare as well as a small deer! Fabulous walks, great local pubs! Will definitely return soon!

Michael Corish
Reviewed Callakille on 16/06/2017
And awarded it

Callakille

When God was creating the world he took his time when he came to creating the Applecross Peninsula and Callakille Cottage. This place is just heaven. A week watching glorious sunsets in quiet, isolated splendour - the perfect antidote to a fast moving, high tech world. The Cottage is kitted out perfectly. A cosy log fire, comfy chairs, a cosy kitchen, a fantastic bath, and beds you want to stay in. Of course, you don't, as just outside are walks, bike rides and views that must be seen and explored. The only downside is...finding the time to go back (which I will, somehow).

Gary Dorling
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

An Airidh

A wonderful Oasis of Calm and a true home from home.

Joanne Clemmit
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

A lovely cottage. Well equipped, modern and great for dogs given the stone floors. fantastic views from front garden.

Jessica
Reviewed Charleston on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Absolutely stunning house and views, felt like paradise all week, the decor was lovely, all the little extras, books, cd"s, little boxes of bath items and everything you would have in your own home and more, I'm going back as soon as I can best holiday we have had in years, waking up to stunning views, wildlife and seeing birds of prey daily, a photographers heaven.

Denise
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 15/06/2017
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Very comfortable and well equipped cottage. Fantastic view, friendly owner. Nice garden where we could let the dogs out. Only small problem was that one corner of the fence right at the back of the property was down and one of our dogs is a bit of a Houdini, but we just made sure we stayed out with him.

Wilfried + Gisela
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Harald Koehler
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 14/06/2017
And awarded it
Jon & Esme Wright
Reviewed South Lodge on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

We had an absolutely brilliant week, the South Lodge Cottage was really wonderful except for steps to get in, so big, only got short legs. It had everything you needed and more, the bathroom was lovely my husband wants the mirror lol. Would def come again and have already recommended to friends

Aimie & The Boys
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 14/06/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

STUNNING! 2nd visit to Carn loch Cottage and it certainly wont be the last. A beautiful modern cottage with all the facillities you could want for and more. The surroundings are breathtaking and peaceful with a large enclosed garden (great for the dogs) to run about in and do their thing. Did not see a soul for the whole week which was bliss (apart from the odd 1 or 2 cheeky sheep) Can't wait to return in 2018

Sheila & Jim
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 13/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

The moment we arrived we loved everything about Moll Cottage, fantastic scenery, great weather, and a cottage that is well restored and fully equipped for all of your needs. A highlight was watching an otter dive, catch and eat a fish just outside the cottage. We were very sad to leave but will return next year.

Rushton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 12/06/2017
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Lovely cottage in a excellent setting close to village and shore of loch ness. Cottage modern and spacious. Some minor maintenance issues were quickly sorted. Would recommend.

Peter From Wirral
Reviewed Balmachree on 10/06/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

Cannot praise the house and location enough the 3 dogs and both of us had an amazing time and were all sad to leave.

Mr & Mrs MONS
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 09/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We are totally satisfied with our Holiday at Tor Fionn, cottage very comfortable , nothing is missing. Well located with local shops. Splendid surroundings under the scottish sun. We recommend this place and agency Wilderness Cottages for the organization of our holidays, thank you.

Frank
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 09/06/2017
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn was an absolute delight to stay in! We were so pleased with the layout, which was perfect for a family of four! It was charming and immaculate, and everything was in good order. The location is ideal for exploring the western Highlands and the Isle of Skye, out to Loch Ness. And everywhere we dined was sumptuous! A great holiday in a wonderfully cozy abode and a great rate! Perfection!

William Reid & Agnes Reid
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

The cottage was clean neat and tidy and everything was as it should be for a quiet peaceful holiday

Charlie
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

We had an amazing week in Moll Cottage... it is in the most beautiful position, is well equipped and bigger than the photos make it look. A great spot for exploring Skye and a wonderful haven to come back to. Just beware the midges if you are taking a baby!

Jane & Steve
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

Lovely spacious cottage in good location. Plenty of cycling and walking routes within a very short distance. The area abounds in wildlife.

Mike Alexander
Reviewed Christies on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is very convenient for the northerly Munros and Corbetts, low level walks, and exploring the north west coast. The cottage is in a superb position, with stunning views over the bay to local hills and mountains. It is comfortable and well equipped. A great place to stay!

Rosie Blair
Reviewed Upper Folds on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Upper Folds is a gem! A beautifully maintained and stylish cottage situated in open moorland with fab views all around. The spacious accommodation is all on one level, and it was lovely and warm so we had no need to use the wood burner. We enjoyed lovely walks from the door and hardly met any other walkers all week!

Julie Schroeder
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage is a gem. The owners have done a wonderful job to renovate and redesign this 17th century building to make it a lovely modern space, while retaining much of its period charm. The rain forest shower was a particular treat for us after a long day hiking. Hosts Jacqui and Jeff could not have been more hospitable and helpful and we would highly recommend this accommodation to others seeking a base for exploring the area around Tyndrum, Oban, and Glencoe.

Fabienne Riske
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Thanks a lot, had a beautiful Time in a nice well equipped cottage! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Roy & Andrea Stratford
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

This is a special place, our 9th visit here after a gap of 9 years reinforced that view. The cottage is cosy and very comfortable and walking out onto the rocks and seeing the extraordinary view of the Cuillins and islands is a great privilege.

Sheelagh White
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Excellent accommodation, location brilliant, away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk into Fort Augustus. Fabulous location to visit the highlands. We received a warm welcome on arrival, had a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge, milk and biscuits, a lovely touch after travelling a long way. Would highly recommend to anyone and sincerely hope we can return for a visit in the future.

Donna Mackenzie
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the cottage. It's immaculate and beautifully decorated throughout. Absolutely everything that you could require is in the house. A lovely welcome pack awaited us and a comprehensive manual ensured that everything is simple to use. The bedrooms are well proportioned with lovely fresh linens and towels. The back garden is very well maintained with a nice dining area. Overall, we were very impressed with the accommodation and highly recommend it!

Keith Work
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

A wonderful retreat for eight golfers completely central to all relevant amenities. The river walk from Ballater at 01:00 was a wee bit of a stumble! But we made it... lol

Niki Fulton
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Luxury in Paradise. Brilliantly equipped accommodation (and great books on the bookcase incl, maps, history, poetry, novels), really comfortable with stunning views over the bay. Fantastic location - so many beautiful beaches, geology, wildlife, footpaths, artists and foodie places all around the island. We booked another week the day we got home!

Nicole & Gernot
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Nice little cottage, warm and cosy. Very quiet location near the Point of Stoer. Thanks Jane and Jack for the warm welcome and the delicious scones.

Nick Green
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

We had a very enjoyable one week stay at Shellach Cottage in May. Great location for touring and exploring the surrounding west coast scenery. Lovely views across Loch Carron from the cottage. Adequate sized, cosy rooms and well equipped kitchen. Owner was responsive in getting minor maintenance problem attended to quickly.

Steffi
Reviewed Ardrannach on 03/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Very nice House to Discover Skye. Only drawback are the mattresses of all beds, they should be changed soon.

Graham, Paula, Maisie (the Springer) & Tweed (th
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 02/06/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We decided fairly last minute to take a week away and so were a little limited for choice having left it so late. Easter Drumine came up and from the photo's look absolutely perfect so we booked. On arrival the cottage was set in an ideal location with forestry to one side and open farmland to the other, the nearest neighbour being a farm in the distance about a mile away! It is a fairly newly built property and once inside we were welcomed with a lovely card from the owners along with a little gift and they'd even gone to the trouble of leaving coffee and milk to have a brew and a bowl of water and a box of biscuits for the dogs too. We went for an explore around the house which was absolutely immaculate and totally spotlessly clean, it has underfloor heating in every room so was lovely and cosy and it was very well equipped as well and we wanted for nothing. The garden/grounds are huge and include a massive lawn and also a picnic table to enjoy the sunshine and as the owner of a spaniel who can find her way out of even the tiniest gap I can confirm the garden is very well enclosed. Despite her best efforts to get to the pheasants she was bitterly disappointed at being defeated by the fencing! There is plenty of wildlife right on the doorstep including pheasants, red deer and rabbits and the track which leads up through the woodland is perfect for the morning walks. Travelling further afield there is plenty to do as well, around 20 minutes drive away is the beach at Nairn....miles and miles of beautiful sand and also some woodland walks in the huge forest just off the same road at Culbin. Forres is a lovely little town and I can highly recommend the Mosset Tavern for some good grub, you can even take the dogs in the bar area. The owners of this property clearly go above and beyond in welcoming their guests into this fabulous cottage and all their little extra touches for us made the difference between our holiday being good and it being great!! Thank you....we will be back.