Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 601 to 650 of 2651


H Olidaymaker
Reviewed Giusaichean on 30/03/2016
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Nicola Bennett
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 29/03/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our Honeymoon at Plodda Falls Lodge. The cottage is delightful with everything you could possible need, including the very romantic wood stove in the lounge. We loved watching the birds from the kitchen window, and enjoyed the walks to Plodda Falls and the 'secret' Guisachan Falls. Plodda Falls Lodge is a lovely quiet place to stay, and we found it wasn't difficult to get around from here to visit the local attractions. The road is a little nightmarish, but is easily managed if you take it slowly. The food available at the Grouse and Claret Restaurant (Tomich Hotel) is divine and we would recommend to anyone. Jenny is really lovely and ensured we were happy with everything during our stay, including the wonderful lemon drizzle cake she make for our arrival!

Sue Briggs & Rob Crawshaw
Reviewed Toberaie on 26/03/2016
And awarded it

Toberaie

Fantastic week at this wonderful cottage if you like peace and quite and breathtaking scenary you will like staying here. Cottage well equipped very clean and spacious we will definitely be back soon.

Ben Clarke
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 25/03/2016
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Would definitely recommend. Smooth and easy booking procedure and plenty of information is sent to you about the cottage. It's good to know you are in good hands especially if you are travelling a long way.

Laura Durling
Reviewed Upper Folds on 24/03/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

5 star holiday. The cottage was spotlessly clean, there was a lovely welcome pack of milk, wine & biscuits plus thoughtful touches of tea, coffee, mints & toiletries & a welcoming bunch of flowers. Everything was in top working order. Heating was very efficient, the bed was very comfortable and the sunsets/stars wonderful from all the windows. Location is stunning - alone but not isolated.

Jacqui Ross
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 23/03/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Quite simply a stunning property in a wonderful location. Everything was clean, tidy and exactly as advertised. A superb week.

Jim McLean
Reviewed Sixgeary on 23/03/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

An excellently presented cottage in a wonderful location. If you like a holiday "far from the madding crowd" this is the one to choose.

J.Nicholls
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 23/03/2016
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful area, peaceful and stunning views as well as being ideal to get around. Not far from Inverness Asda and Tesco 20 mins away but remote enough for anyone getting away from bustle of life. Can walk out of the door and walk into nature and the mountains. Enjoyed sitting on the hill above cottage listening to birds during the day and owls at night watching the sunsets over the mountains. Cottage was layed out lovely and cosy yet modern. I definitely want to return.

JRB&HB
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

A delightfully, comfortable and cosy place to stay - in a lovely, peaceful situation with wonderful views. The Lodge is extremely well fitted and furnished with a great eye for design and detail. Seal watching from the Lodge can pass many hours. Seeing the Aurora Borealis was a bonus, and sunsets at Neist Point are gorgeous. A fabulous place to stay with so many things to see and do

Walters
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

2nd visit to this truly wonderful cottage. It's perfection in every way, good value for money, spotlessly clean, well thought out and the owner has gone to every effort to make sure the holiday is a memorable one. Scenery is amazing. A true wilderness retreat. Probably the best available.....................Faultless in every way

Mike & Cath
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Excellent cottage, easy booking, great area, all in all a lovely holiday.

Julie & Dave
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 17/03/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Fantastic barn, tastefully renovated, with fantastic views of the mountains and loch. The barn was well stocked,and sitting in front of the log burner with my book was very relaxing. The wild life around the barn was amazing, seals,porpoises,otters, stags, and the golden eagle were all spotted in the week we were there, I highly recommend a visit, and I hope to go back soon

Stephen Thomas
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 11/03/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

The close proximity to other houses does not detract from this brilliant accommodation. A little gift from the owners on arrival is a great finishing touch as is every detail within this lodge. Its very well finished with a fantstic log burner that is worthy of its focal point in the main living room. I would stay here again.

Rosie May
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/03/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

One of the most amazing places we have ever been! The tree house itself is beautiful and the log burning stove gives it a great atmosphere. The only issues were the electricity went off several times on our first night which was scary and the shower in the ensuite flooded the bathroom and was not hot. We thought this was due to the solar panels at first however the other shower was hot so couldn't of been. However it did not ruin our stay and I'm sure these issues will be sorted out soon. We did the 2 local beach walks which were lovely and Portree was nice with a few gift shops. The scenary is amazing, panarmaic views everywhere! We will definatley be returning!

James & Claire
Reviewed Glenara on 04/03/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Great. Had a lovely time staying in the cottage. Owner met us on arrival with a warm welcome and also provided some local advice on eateries and trips further afield that interested us. Fantastic views of the river from the cottage and close proximity yet, quiet location to the town. Cottage is very clean, very well located to explore the surrounding areas. We explored Inverness, Isle of Skye and of course the very local area on our stay. It's an old cottage and so the heating is required to be on. Lovely warming fire too. Bathroom and therefore shower is in the eaves of the cottage and can be 'fun' to use but is manageable. I'm 6ft 2 and managed it ok. My girlfriend and I would stay here again.

Gina Thomson
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 03/03/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Superb accommodation. Very clean and everything in plentiful supply. Bathroom superb, extra toilet was an added bonus. Would love to go back. We were there second week in February and were lovely and cosy with central heating and and mulitifuel stove. Loved very minute of our stay. Weather was bright and sunny during our stay but loads of snow. Thank you to the owners.

Phil & Lesley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We spent a February week at this lovely cottage in its stunning location. the view from the lounge window is sublime, we saw from the window, Otter, Seals, Oyster catchers, Whimbrels, Herons, Goosanders, Mergansers, Golden Eagle & Sea Eagle! as well as a great view of a snow capped Skye. The accommodation is well equipped, warm, beds are comfy and have electric blankets! We drove to Loch Maree, Torridon, Gairloch and over the high road to Applecross, all within a reasonable distance. Lochcarron is a short drive away and has a supermarket This is THE place to be for peace and tranquillity and be close to nature.

Brian May
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

I thought Fersit Cottage to be excellent in all respects. I climbed four Munroes from the front door. There was plenty of space in the cottage and it was warm and cosy. Excellent for an away-from-it-all break. I hope to return.

JOHN AND VERONICA COOK
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutly a 5 star lodge, everything, and we mean everything is there for you. We had a wonderful time and so did our dogs. We lead a very busy life and this was exactly what the doctor ordered. First time ever, that I did'nt want to come home. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Holly
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We were lucky enough to have clear blue skies for a February weekend in Skye! However it wouldn't have mattered if the weather was awful as the Tigh Nighean Bahn was the cosiest accommodation: simple but luxurious with all the home comforts. The views over to Uist were spectacular. It was such a relaxing place to stay; comfy bed, amazing bathroom and a kitchen that meant we could properly self-cater. The cottage is done to a very high standard and the wee treat of a bottle of wine on arrival was lovely. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Teresa From Worcester
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/02/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Fantastic holiday! Seal Skerry Lodge is a fabulous property in a fabulous location - watching seals while you wash up is a bonus! The property is warm and well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We can recommend the Old Bakery in Dunvegan for crusty bread, the Stein Inn for lunch and the Old Inn at Carbost (bit further afield) for excellent food and service. Lovely walks around about including the Lighthouse at Neist Point or just a stroll down to the jetty. Don't worry about the weather - watching a storm across the Loch or the spectacular waterfalls by the log burner makes for quiet entertainment! Sit back and enjoy!

Jason Ward
Reviewed Aros Beag on 26/02/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

I had a brilliant, relaxing time at Aros Beag. Comfortable cosy cottage in an area of stunning beauty with a great little cafe right next door. Nicely situated for munro bagging and walking generally. Main road nearby giving good links to other areas and activities. Friendly hosts, lovely welcome package and easy, hassle free booking.

EFords
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 26/02/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

This is a lovely spacious yet cosy cottage in a great location. it is very well equipped and comfortably furnished. Perfect for 5. We found it good value for money and would highly recommend. thank you for a lovely week .

Henry & Erika
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/02/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a fantastic few days at Upper Folds. It is at the top of a very long track which is steep in places which when snow has drifted makes a decent 4x4 essential. The cottage was warm when we arrived, with the woodburner stacked and ready to light. The bottle fo wine, milk and biscuits were apprecietaed! The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The setting is beautiful, with fabulous views over the isolated valley and mountains. We will definately return again. Thank you.

M Hyden
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

Beautiful location, fantastic reception, every little detail is thought out in the cottage. The enclosed garden is fantastic for the dogs to run around in. The area is remote and ideal for getting away, walking, photography, reading and relaxing - I only have praise for the whole experience.

Josephine Brown
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Braehead steading is a lovely property, beautifully finished and a vey comfortable stay. We stayed while skiing locally and the underfloor heating was lovely to come home to. Very spacious house, will definately be back.

Keith Mendelson
Reviewed Old Stables on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Old Stables

A wonderful house set in a very quiet remote tranquil location three miles from Cannick. Ticked all the boxes for our visit, had a wonderful time.

Richard G
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Nice clean wooden lodge in the centre of Grantown on Spey, with easy access. We were there to go skiing, as from Grantown you can get to either the Lecht or the Cairngorm slopes at Aviemore. The lodge itself was great, with good cooking facilities, comfortable beds and a very good wood burning stove. Only issue was that all the beds are in one room, which we were aware of when we booked - perhaps some curtains or screens to provide a bit more privacy?

Lou & Paul
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 21/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a real 'get away from it' location. A slightly bumpy track that needs careful navigation but safely passable in a VW Golf leads to the cosy cottage that is spacious, clean, well equipped and welcoming. A short stroll is the beach which is rocky opposite the cottage and leads to open flat sands to the north. Every day we were down on the beach looking in rockpools, collecting driftwood and just admiring the views. Our evenings were spent in either the conservatory with multifuel stove, big table and bench seating looking at the twinkling light of Ireland or the comfortable living room with big open fire and sofa. We only saw about 10 other people (at a distance) all week. It is, quite simply, perfect if you want absolute peace and quiet. Beaware that there is no phone signal here (landline for emergency calls is in cottage) so you can leave the 21st century behind.

Mike Hammond
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Had a lovely time at Lilybank Cottage, its in a great location by the river lovely and quiet but still only a couple minutes walks from the shop and centre of Fort Augustus. A lovely cottage which is clean and well equipped with everything we needed to have a relaxing break. Would happily return and recommend it to friends and family as a base to explore the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Helen Hodson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

What a beautiful place to stay. Everything you could possibly need 5* cleanliness. A very warm welcome by the owners. Views of the surrounding area second to none. Didn't really want to leave.

Richard
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stablemate lodge was an excellent and comfortable cottage for 2 or a family group happy to sare the open plan upper floor. With the very effective insulation and woodburner it was one of the warmest and economic cottages we have stayed in in the area. Facilities in Grantown are good. Well equipped kitChen.

Ausra Kennedy
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 07/02/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a beautiful house in an amazing location! We spend 5 days there and wished we stayed longer. As we had a baby and a toddler with us, we weren't able to do much walking and exploring. But the house offered everything we would have wanted so we enjoyed staying in, with the wood burner going , watching the sea and admiring the most fantastic views! Beds were very comfortable we slept very well! Don't worry about bringing any board games-plenty at the house and great variaty. Would recommend to everyone wishing to holiday in Skye! AMAZING!

Martyn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed our few days away at Don Cottage. The instructions on finding the cottage we followed to the letter as it was dark when we arrived and they were absolutely spot on--it really is nice to get a good set of directions at the end of a tiring journey! Lovely collection of basic essentials and luxury goodies waiting for us on the kitchen table--inc whiskey- and all I had to do was to put a match to the prepared fire. Don Cottage was spotless on our arrival and looking around it is apparent that the owners have enjoyed putting this holiday cottage together. Once we got home in the evening we were more than happy to relax in front of the fire and watch TV and prepare some food--haggis of course on Burns Night. We have a couple of suggestions for making this lovely cottage even more appealing--perhaps a larger TV and a few brighter LED lights mixed in to help with reading and in the kitchen for meal preparation? Eyes going dim is an affliction that makes us older people complain that writing is getting smaller and smaller!! If you stay at Don Cottage you will be warm and comfortable and will be located in a beautiful part of the world and be free to explore it at your leisure! Many thanks

Peter Brown
Reviewed Achbeag on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Achbeag

Great property in a Great location. Everything you need from a holiday cottage - nice comfortable living space, decent size bedrooms, well fitted kitchen and nice bathrooms made this a great location to explore this fantastic area. The Applecross Pass was a particular highlight -went over that road on a number of occasions - well worth the effort. The beach close by at Big Sands was also well worth a visit. The whole area was waiting to be explored and didn't disappoint - I would recommend the area and this property in particular. Thanks for the great holiday.

Rachel & Beryl
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage was everything we hoped for - very peaceful & remote (maybe just a bit too remote, in hindsight!) - a very comfortable & well-equipped cottage in a stunning location. The track down is the only downside; it's a shame the lower section can't be concreted like the upper section; my heart was in my mouth on every journey to & from the cottage, & I think the remoteness (which has never before been an issue) was heightened by knowing I couldn't drive out once it was dark. We left a few days early because of the forecast snow & ice, which would have made the track even more treacherous. The advice that a 4x4 is needed is very wise.

Mrs Plume
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a great stay at beach lodge with the dog. Didn't see one person all week and had the beach to ourselves! Love the fact it was full of essentials when we got there. Would recommend to all. Hopefully we will return in the future. Thanks for a fantastic break.

Zoe Green
Reviewed Callakille on 19/01/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Somewhat like the Railway Children we arrived in total darkness amid a galeforce storm. Mrs Viney had forgotten to light our fire too but we soon had the woodburner going. Wonderful week in a truely beautiful part of the world. The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable if a little nippy in the bedrooms. We are keen campers so used to cold noses but be aware there is no heating upstairs. Thank you for sharing the Applecross peninsula, we love it.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Ms Green, thank you for your review, we have spoken to the owners regarding the heating upstairs, and during the winter months additional heating in the bedrooms is now provided. Please note that during the months of November and December 2016, the cottage had further renovations on the upper level which included new insulation and heating.
Ruth A Hamilton
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 15/01/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage. What a fantastic setting. We loved watching seals while we were having breakfast and an otter!

Alaine
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 14/01/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn was everything we had hoped for and more - the best thing? The views! We experienced all types of weather - from sunshine to rain, to hail storms, crazy winds and even snow! Spending Christmas relaxing in the barn and walking in the local area, then coming back to sit & relax in front of the fire with views of the snow capped mountains was magical! Between oct - April most businesses shut down but it didn't bother us as we had taken enough food with us, so I am unable to comment on the local pubs and restaurants. The barn is ideally placed to explore Skye. Our dogs absolutely loved the break too, and were as sad as us to be leaving! The barn is fully equipped with everything you could ever want. We were delighted the tv was upstairs rather than in the lounge - we watched it once! We also thought the set up of having the dishwasher etc in the utility was a good idea - reducing noise and clutter in the social space! Don't hesitate, just book!!

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Log House on 12/01/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed at The Log House for 1 Week, the location is absolutely perfect , very peaceful and perfect for exploring the East or West Coast . The Log House lives up to its expectations its very clean , and warm. As described its a short walk into Fort Augustus , and all the local amenities. Will definitely be back, will recommend The Log House and Wilderness Cottages to everyone !!

L.Evans
Reviewed Aros Beag on 05/01/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a wonderful time exploring the local areas and the cottage was fantastic.

Carole & Robert Binns
Reviewed Moll House on 04/01/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

We were thrilled with Moll House. After a long drive from York we arrived to find the house beautifully warm and spotlessly clean. It was a real home from home and the Xmas tree was a nice surprise. In the morning we were greeted with a fabulous view from the kitchen window which never failed to fascinate us every day as we looked for wildlife. The location is stunning. Our dog Max soon made himself at home next to the heater in the kitchen. The garden was lovely and safe for him to play around in and the proximity and privacy of the shore led to lovely relaxing strolls every morning. Our dog is not very sociable with other dogs so all that worry was taken away. This is our second stay in a wilderness cottage and we will certainly be back. Many thanks once again.

Paul White
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/01/2016
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Fantastic house, particularly the huge old school room. Amazing location, with the beach just seconds away. We wanted to get away from it all for Christmas, and this house was perfect!

Carol Weller
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

The location is beautiful and remote. The cottage is spacious and well equipped with white goods. Unfortunately the oven has been cleaned so you cannot see the controls and the photo does not really help. Rather difficult to cook Xmas dinner. I have been to a lot of holiday homes and there has always been a welcome pack of a few teabags coffee etc. After such a long drive and not being able to get in until 4pm you do not want to drive to find a shop. I had brought a lot with me but expected this to be as I had experienced before. I would suggest perhaps an extra service where you could pay for a welcome pack. I would go again as the area is so lovely but would appreciate a more welcome.

S. Schroeder
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

An excellent cottage on Skye with a fenced in yard for the dog, full kitchen with pots/pans/cups/kettle etc, and amazing views from the sofa or recliner seat! The inside was modern but still cozy. The telescope was a fun addition as well for both day and night. There is a small-quaint shop 5 minute drive down the road and driving to Dunvegan was easy.

Kerryb
Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

Fantastic location. Accommodation is clean spacious and Emily gave a warm greeting. Lots of attention to detail. There was a Gift basket on arrival which was a very nice touch. The photos do not do justice to this beautiful property. Limited wifi. Remote, peaceful location worth a visit. We look forward to another visit.

Pat Bright
Reviewed Drovers on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Drovers

C. McC.
Reviewed River Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

Perfect Highland Hideaway. Spent Christmas week here. Cosy and comfy. Very handy for Inverness and Fort Augustus. Total peace and quiet with only the sound of the river in the distance.

Rebecca & Mustafa
Reviewed Timber House on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Timber House

The most perfect time in the most perfect house. Views from every window. You really can't capture how great it is to live in this space with a photograph. Go!