Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 601 to 650 of 2902


Harvey Rhodes
Reviewed River Cottage on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

Had a great week at river cottage from 28th May. Property very clean with everything provided. John and his family were very friendly and helpful if you needed info. Handily situated in mid Scotland in a great scenic area. Would recommend and hope to visit again.

Duncan Collier
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

This was an excellent chalet with lots of privacy and stunning views of the 'Bialach na ba' on the Applecross peninsula. The weather was wonderful and the stay was further improved by nightly visits to the garden by a Pine Marten.

The Milner Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 08/06/2016
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Fabulous cottage. Fabulous location. Beautiful scenery. We would recommend to anyone that books it that they would not be disappointed.

Liz Stead
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 06/06/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

Wonderful, secluded cottage with an incredible view. Comfortable and well equipped. Ideally situated for exploring Applecross, Syke ,Lochcarron etc. One of the best places we have stayed and would highly recommend it.

Chris
Reviewed The Bothy on 05/06/2016
And awarded it

The Bothy

Stayed at The Bothy. Clean and comfortable. The booking arrangements through Wilderness Cottages was very good. Owners were friendly.

Richard Schoppler
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 05/06/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage with most things you,d need.Fabulous views out to Raasay island and mainland mountains.Owner very responsive and caring when problems arose.Would book again.

Hanson Family
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 04/06/2016
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

If your looking for peace and quiet in a fantastic location this is the spot. Lovely home with everything you need, wifi very slow but don't let that put you off as there is the great outdoors option just from your door step. The owner and staff very helpful and a cheeky bottle of wine and shortbread were left for us to enjoy. We also had a heat wave so didn't need to venture far. Cycling, canoeing, fishing and walking the dog not forgetting sitting in the sunshine. Have to say the views are spectacular from all windows in the house, it was hard to leave the little piece of heaven. It was nice to be surrounded by trees not always an option on the west coast. Thank you for allowing us to share your lovely home. PS no sheep around the house!

Frank Kennedy
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

This was the second time but not the last that we have stayed at " our " cottage this was a little peice of heavan on earth. The cottage just could not have been better,the weather that we had was perfect ( average 24c )

Kevin Thompson
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Our 2nd stay, brilliant location, secluded and very quiet

Carolyn & Antony
Reviewed Upper Folds on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage was well worth the wait lovely, well equipped, warm and comfortable and in a wonderful peaceful place close to great walks and wildlife, we and the dogs enjoyed every second and the enclosed garden was a bonus keeping the sheep at an acceptable distance from Brand and Ela . worth five stars all day long

Anne & Marcel
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Terence Allen
Reviewed Callakille on 02/06/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

What a fantastic week we had with the weather and a superb location. Very comfortable and had all we needed for a restful week. Put a chair at the top of the cliff and you could sit there for hours looking at the view and the odd Eagle!

Sheena Craig
Reviewed Upper Folds on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This is a beautiful cottage in a spectacular area. Ideal for a quiet and peaceful break. Wildlife is on your doorstep literally, deer hares buzzards and of course sheep. The cottage itself is immaculate and very cosy giving a relaxed atmosphere. Will be back as soon as we can. The dogs loved the large garden area and was very secure from the sheep. All in all a lovely break

Liz Taylor
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We absolutely loved our week at the Old lock keepers cottage, it was so peaceful and relaxing.the cottage had everything we needed and more, books games DVDs , and the sun room was fantastic to watch the boats every day, the owner called to find out how we were enjoying ourselves, which was very kind. Our only problem was, that we only booked 1 week, could have stayed for 2 very easily. My husband fished every evening, and caught a few too. Will certainly be back next year .

Fiona Low
Reviewed Sixgeary on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Enjoyed our stay in Geary. House was modern and well equipped. Great views across to Uig .....which was amazing on sunny days - yes, we did have them!!! Well thought out facilities and can't wait to return!!!

C Foulger
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Spectacular and stunning location for a holiday cottage, although for the first five minutes of arriving at Hill Cottage I must have said "Wow" about thirty times. The panoramic view over Loch Laxford and the surrounding mountains was magnificent. The cottage is cosy and well equipped, with a large, fenced garden surrounding it. We lost count of the different bird species we saw. We were lucky and had warm sun for a week which always helps. A brilliant place with no neighbours so if you have been searching for isolated or remote cottages on the net, then Hill Cottage fits the bill perfectly. We will definitely return.

Marilyn Hobbs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

This was our second visit to Fersit Log Cottage, and there WILL be a third...... Lovely, well equipped cottage, and setting. And an abundance of wildlife. We have used Wilderness Cottages for 14 years, and they have never let us down.

Anitaj
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Had a super stay. The cottage is in a great location with beautiful views. Very clean and very comfortable home from home, with everything you need. Great time was had by both dogs as loch is just across the grass at front of cottage. Great to relax on the patio with a glass of wine and look at such beautiful scenery with peace and quiet. The neighbours are very friendly to.

Mr & Mrs Lee Pateley Bridge Northyorkshire
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We had a very relaxing time at hill cottage the piece and quiet and wild life was fantastic , we were there two weeks but wanted to stay three , but sadly it wasn't available, it's easy to lose your self in every day work and life hill cottage helped us to find our selves again we both said it was the best holiday we had ever had and we would go back if we could , we would recommend hill cottage to anyone who has lost them selves in life and work but go for two weeks to truly unwind and enjoy it it's worth it .

Mr Weeks & Family
Reviewed Gate House on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Gate House

Lovely cottage in a fantastic setting,really enjoyed the views of loch mhor.was a good base to explore loch ness and many other places of interest,with Culloden battlefield probably my favorite,stopped for a week ,could have stopped a lot longer,great cottage,great holiday!

Carol Flood
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a really enjoyable stay at the Coltsfoots in May, lovely clean and comfortable accommodation that provided everything you would need, fabulous location where you feel away from everything but all amenities a short 5 minute drive away, both myself and my husband have limited mobility so the accommodation and location were perfect. We would certainly like to visit again and would highly recommend to all our family and friends.

Jan Malcolm Jane Steve
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had two great weeks. The cottage was very clean and well equipped and comfortable. Great walks from the door

Janet & Colin Holter
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at the delightfully tranquil Kincardine Cottage. Very much "away from it all" but very close to the amenities of Aviemore etc - a lovely base from which to explore the caledonian pine woods & the greater Cairngorm area. The daytime temperature during our 2 week stay varied between 6c & 25c(!), but we found the cottage comfortable & warm - the log burner was most welcome during the colder evenings, whilst the conservatory & garden furniture was well used on the warmer days. Thoroughly recommended.

Peter & AlisonWalters
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A wonderful weeks stay in Tigh-na-Craobh.The house had everything we could want and was a great place to come back to after a days walking. It was situated well for the Co-op in Portree and its lovely restaurants. We did a boat trip from Portree and were rewarded with a sight of a white tailed sea eagle and dolphins. Unforgettable holiday cant wait to return.

Doug Geater Childs
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We found the cottage to be charming but were unable to locate the two standard wheelie bins but instead two black plastic dustbins, information on how recycling is done in this council area would have been helpful. All in all a great place to stay

Richard Jacobs
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

White-Tail Croft was everything the other reviewers have noted and more. For us it was a gorgeous refuge for a week of typically changeable Skye weather, and looking out of that picture window while the weather systems were in constant flux overhead was an absolute treat. We too enjoyed the local wildlife, including the resident sea eagles. And it was perfectly located to enjoy all that Skye has to offer. I can honestly recommend this cottage with absolutely zero hesitations, thank you to the owners for presenting such an impeccable experience.

Lynn McMahon
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 01/06/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We booked this for our silver wedding anniversary. We had a fabulous time. The weather was hot i was looking forward to lighting the log burner everyday but it really was tropical up in the highlands. Waking up to the loch and the sun everyday heaven! The barn is kitted out with style all mod cons that u need. Dogs loved the garden and were safe as no where to escape. Would love to go back.

Julie & John
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 31/05/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Outstanding cottage. Could find no faults at all. So peaceful that you can hear the silence. Excellent location for climbing the Munro's within that area. Would highly recommend.

Liz Taylor
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 30/05/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Loved our stay At the Old Lock Keepers Cottage, it was very tranquil, just what we needed. I wish we had booked for 2 weeks instead of 1. The cottage was very well equipped down to games and books too. The log fire was so cosy at nights, and the sun room was perfect for watching the boats going along the canal daily. Hope to revisit next year.

John & Chris Keeling
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/05/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Very well equipped and comfortable cottage miles from anywhere with fabulous views - the peace and quiet suited us nicely. Would strongly recommend.

Della Thomas
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 13/05/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Wonderful views - great to watch the seals! Loved the contemporary design of the house. Really warm and comfortable in front of the log burner and spotlessly clean. Amazing bath but if you want to drink champagne while you relax - take your own flutes!

Leigh Devin
Reviewed Log House on 12/05/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We returned to the log cabin after fond memories of it from 8 years ago....and I am so glad we did. The cabin is in a secluded area in the forest on the edge of Fort Augustus. The cabin is a genuine log cabin built from the trees in the surrounding woods, the scenery is spectacular, the wildlife is varied and on your doorstep ..there were deer outside in the morning, bats performing aerobatics in the evening, a Barn owl hunting in the clearing in front of the cabin, a woodpecker and all manner of finches visiting the bird table in the garden (take bird feed with you) and despite not actually seeing the pine marten...we left out food for it and heard it outside. The last time we went a little robin visited the cabin daily and it obviously passed this trait on as we had another one do the same.The cabin itself has such a welcoming feel and is cosy and warm. There has been some improvements to it since we were there last (new kitchen, carpets and log burner), and the owner (who spoke to us on the day we went) told us that the bathroom is being replaced as well (it does need it but really, we don't live in the bathroom do we!) There were a couple of negative comments about this in the guest book but I totally ignored them because they totally missed the point of how this cabin makes you feel....it's a peaceful, naturally beautiful, warm and friendly place...not a 5 star clinical hotel! The beds are wonderfully comfortable too and we had some of the best night's sleep we have had in ages. My only disappointment was leaving it! We love this place and will no doubt return again and again. Plenty good pubs to choose from in the village and if you want a special meal, The Lovat is fab. For anyone else going, enjoy the respite. ..I am jealous :)

Mariola
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The cottage is of the highest standard and have nice quiet surroundings

The Palmer Family
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Wonderful cottage. Exactly as described - if not better. Stunning views, beautiful setting, immaculately furnished. Comfortable, clean and relaxing. We will definitely be coming back to Taigh Druim.

Lynn George
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Absolutely fantastic cottage with amazing views. Very homely and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our week there as it was a great base for exploring the Highlands.

Paul Ewing
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

a great holiday house in a wonderful location

Fiona Milne
Reviewed Elephant House on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

Elephant House

Dave Whitfield
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 09/05/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Lovely cottage and fabulous location. Peace and tranquility are amazing. Everything you need is here and the recently added conservatory was a brilliant idea. Wonderful sea views from beyond the hill which faces the conservatory, (where there is also a strong mobile signal) just make sure you wear walking boots even though it's only 5mins away. Lovely place to come with good company, but it would be truly incredible to come alone.

Kenny Fleming
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/05/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

What can I say? From the moment we arrived at White-Tail Croft we were stunned by how perfect it is. The building itself is appealingly rustic on the outside but so light, airy and warm on the inside. The setting is beautifully remote, with enviable views over the Cuillin ranges and a steady stream of wildlife around the property, from sheep to rabbits to deer, and even the odd eagle sighting. Inside, everything is catered for. We found the log burner stocked and ready for lighting, a great espresso machine stocked, toiletries supplied in the bathroom, bottled water, a head torch and binoculars so you can see those eagles. The handbook for the property was clearly presented and covered everything we could wish to know. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the beds and sofas were all so comfortable. We loved lying in bed looking over the mountain views in the morning and watching the sun set over dinner in the evening. We could not fault White-Tail Croft and were really sorry to leave. We will undoubtedly return and not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Rebecca F
Reviewed Sixgeary on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We very much enjoyed our stay at Sixgeary. We chose Skye for our honeymoon, as we wanted to visit somewhere relaxing and far away from our usual busy lives. Our stay at Sixgeary helped achieve this, due to its location looking out over Loch Snizort. The views across the water towards the Trotterrnish peninsula and the Outer Hebrides are amazing, and the loudest noise is the wind and the sound of the nearby grazing sheep! The cottage itself is decorated and fitted out to an extremely high standard, with all the comforts you would want (i.e. wood burning stove, underfloor heating etc). Given it was our honeymoon, we were left a bottle of champagne, some chocolates and biscuits and local eggs, which was a lovely touch. We would definitely choose to stay at Sixgeary if/when we go back to Skye.

Mr & Mrs W
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a wonderful stay at Upper Folds. It really was a break away from it all. The scenery was stunning as was the cottage. The cottage was warm and easy to use given it was off grid. It snowed every day and the wind howled, but we were really comfortable with the under floor heating and the wood burning stove, which also gave the place that homely cosy feel (unlike the poor sheep lambing in the surrounding fields!). Everything about the cottage was quality, from the lovely plump towels, the crisp white bed linen to the lovely decor. The place was spotlessly clean too. We would definitely recommend Upper Folds and would love to return one day.

Andy R
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

5 years since we last stayed at Bayside...why did we leave it so long? It was like coming home, cottage perfect...couldn't wish for anything more. The owners are so generous with all the added touches. Applecross holds such a special place in our hearts.

Lynn Herriot
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely place to stay, great location ,everything we needed was there! Lovely walks close by. Maggie our dog loved watching the sheep from the decking .

Ray & Gwen
Reviewed Askival on 29/04/2016
And awarded it

Askival

Another wonderful week in fabulous Askival. Really lucky with the weather, colder than September, but came back with tanned faces. Cottage really clean and tidy, thank you (very nice to meet the owners on arrival). You'd be very hard pressed to find better views from a cottage anywhere. Wonderful sightings of wildlife too, especially of two otters from the rocks just across from the cottage!! Already looking to book again.

Mathias
Reviewed Balmachree on 29/04/2016
And awarded it

Balmachree

A very comfortable house in a nice location absolutly !!! We loved the house, both in terms of its location and its facilities. With 4 children and 4 adults, we had more than enough space. As a starting point to explore the land that Balmachree is ideally suited. We will gladly come again !! We would love to come back!

Cateun
Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/04/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

As someone else said, the photographs don't really do the house justice, and it had everything that we needed, with lovely views. But I would say the best thing about the house is its location. There are very nice walks nearby, and having the excellent hotel and pub right next door is a fantastic bonus. We had a lovely time, despite quite a bit of rain.

Amanda
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 26/04/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed at Beech Lodge outside Inverness for a week. As a family of 4 the lodge was a good base for use for lazy mornings and going out and about in the afternoons. It has a small garden, but wonderful woods across the way that you can go geocaching in. Kitchen is well stocked with pots, dishes etc. Also has a dishwasher and washer machine. We had a friendly welcome from the owner Donnie and homemade scones as well. God location for Inverness, Nairn, Black Isle and Loch Ness to name a few.

Michele Morphitis
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 25/04/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolutely stunning. Beautiful inside and outside. Lovely location.

IAN BIRRELL
Reviewed Glenara on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

What an excellent holiday we had, Bob the owner could not have been more helpful. The heating went off one afternoon, (due to no fault of the owner) he went out of his way to make sure we were warm enough and got the heating repaired the same day, actually repaired at 8pm. The cottage was really comfortable and had everything you could wish, we didn't want to leave. Would definitely recommend this cottage if you want a peaceful, enjoyable holiday.

Andrea
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

My second stay at the Bothy! Absolutely love it. The most fabulous views and very beautifully designed inside. Luxurious and perfect if you need to escape.