Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2541 to 2560 of 2734


Sharon & Jason Shields
Reviewed Callakille on 29/05/2007
And awarded it

Callakille

Gill Burnett
Reviewed Log House on 26/05/2007
And awarded it

Log House

We have just returned from our week at the Log House, Fort Augustus a real log cabin in a fantastic location with plenty of forest walks on the doorstep. Deer in the ’front garden’ woodpeckers and pine marten in the surrounding forest and a monster in the nearby loch. What more could you ask for?! I highly recommend a stay in this unique cabin.

Phil Bancroft & Jude Lorrain-Smith
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 21/05/2007
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Peter Fidler
Reviewed Croc Latt on 20/05/2007
And awarded it

Croc Latt

Sue & Al Sadler
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 13/05/2007
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

I. Weir
Reviewed Cuilfail on 13/05/2007
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We have spent a week trout fishing each year for many years and have not had accomodation which came remotely close to Cuilfail Cottage. The cottage had all we could have wished for and then some. Numerous trout lochs within a few miles (I would recommend Loch Knockie - boat available from Knockie Estate on the lochside). Only downside was the Whitebridge Hotel which we thought was very unwelcoming. We all agreed we would consider returning to Cuilfail Cottage but would give the Whitebridge Hotel a wide berth.

Steve ,Alison, Ben & Sam Wheatcroft
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 09/05/2007
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Our first time here and were enthralled. We wanted a ’get-away-from-it-all’ holiday and could not have wished for more. The scenery in this part of the world almost makes you weep with joy at its rugged beauty. Winding single track roads, brooding mountains and beautiful lochans set amongst some of the oldest rock formations on earth. The view from the dining kitchen window was unsurpassed. The opportunity to sunbathe on desereted beaches in an unusually sunny late April was an unexpected bonus. Memories of the view from the top of Stac Pollaidh in glorious April sunshine will last forever.
We were reluctant to leave and will definitely return!

Chris & Brenda
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 06/05/2007
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Ewart McSkimming
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 03/05/2007
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

If you want a relaxing holiday this is the place to choose!
Beautiful cottage in a quiet area of Fort Augustus. Lots of places to explore, we walked 21 miles in three days!
Highly recommended.

Sue & Steve Allsop
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 03/05/2007
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We stayed at Hill Cottage in mid April. The weather was unusually mild for spring in Scotland, only rained on one day. The cottage was wonderful, really warm and cosy with everything in it you could possibly need. The location was amazing, peace and quiet was the understatement. The scenery and wildlife were awe-inspiring, some days we saw more deer than people!! Fantastic walks in the area, Faraid Head..Sandwood Bay...Scouriemore..Smoo Cave, to name but a few. On non-walking days we drove down the coast road to Ullapool, and round the entire North Coast. This area of Scotland has to be seen to be believed, it is totally amazing. Don’t take our word for it, go and see!!

The Rooney Family
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 01/05/2007
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Jean Wade
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 17/04/2007
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Erminia E Marcello
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 12/04/2007
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

fantastic experience for us and for the kids.
the cottage atmosphere was delicious and the views are great
the kids were staying all the time outside looking for deers , rabbits, foxes etc..
the place and the cottage are gorgious.
thank you

John & Andrea
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 11/04/2007
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Chirs & Iris McDonald
Reviewed Giusaichean on 09/04/2007
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Phil & Annette Janman
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 08/04/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Smiddy, it was a real relaxing break even though we had the week in March when the snow came down! It was lovely chilling out in the evenings with a bottle of wine in front of the log fire. Excellent base for days out to see so many lovely glens, lochs and all the wildlife. We would thouroughly recommend The Old Smiddy to any couple whether you are on honeymoon or just want to get away and enjoy eachothers company, we did! Thanks Gordon & Corinne at Wilderness Cottages for your brilliant and helpful service and Pat Gardiner for the lovely welcome you gave us. We hope to come and stay again. Phil & Nettz, Nottingham

Tony Cooper
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 04/04/2007
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wow... we were only there for 5 days although we had it booked for the week. It was so lovely, it was a shame we couldn’t stay the remaining couple of days. We stayed mid March and were the lucky so-and-so’s who got the heavy snow. WONDERFUL. Waking up to find the whole place under a blanket of snow - a walk down to the Loch and throwing snowballs - couldn’t have written the script better myself. The cottage was delightful - 3 double rooms (one twin) for 3 couples, all with en suite, it was perfect for the six of us. The kitchen Aga cooker and Lounge wood burning stove made it so cosy in the cold evenings, perfect with a bottle of wine (or two). Ideal location for access for Inverness to the north, Fort William & Ben Nevis to the south and lots more in-between. The local hotel and pub resturants were all lovely and value for money and we were made to feel welcome just about everywhere. Make sure you try the corkscrew... if you have the nerve. Doing it in a seven-seater was not the easiest drive, but we made it.. much to the amusement of a few local highland coo’s. Loch Ness was lovely and I thoroughly recommend a boat trip from The Clansman Hotel down to Urquart Castle and back. All in all a fantastic few days and one that I would seriously consider doing again. Didn’t see Nessie though... perhaps it was a bit too cold for her!

Mike & Anne
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/04/2007
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a week at Bayside cottage Applecross and apart from having wonderful weather it was the one of the best prepared cottages we have ever stayed in , you wanted for absolutely nothing . My parents joined us for part of the week and had never visited scotland before and are complete converts . The village of Applecross is full to the brim of welcoming locals who make you feel as if you have lived there all your lives, Judith at the pub continues to provide wonderful food , the Bealach nam ba is as ever stunning . we will be coming back.

Andrew & Lindsay
Reviewed Homewood on 28/03/2007
And awarded it

Homewood

Barry & Amy
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 12/03/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Grand Designs on a small scale ! Truthfully, we could easily live in the Smiddy, excellent layout and very cosy, everything you could want was provided, even the weather was kind to us in March! A wonderful location to explore the north, Inverness and the surrounding area, with plenty of walks locally and further afield. It was the first time we have used Wilderness Cottages and i have to say the service was second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending them and the Old Smiddy, many thanks. Barry and Amy North Wales