Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2581 to 2600 of 2775


Chirs & Iris McDonald
Reviewed Giusaichean on 09/04/2007
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Phil & Annette Janman
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 08/04/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a wonderful stay at The Old Smiddy, it was a real relaxing break even though we had the week in March when the snow came down! It was lovely chilling out in the evenings with a bottle of wine in front of the log fire. Excellent base for days out to see so many lovely glens, lochs and all the wildlife. We would thouroughly recommend The Old Smiddy to any couple whether you are on honeymoon or just want to get away and enjoy eachothers company, we did! Thanks Gordon & Corinne at Wilderness Cottages for your brilliant and helpful service and Pat Gardiner for the lovely welcome you gave us. We hope to come and stay again. Phil & Nettz, Nottingham

Tony Cooper
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 04/04/2007
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wow... we were only there for 5 days although we had it booked for the week. It was so lovely, it was a shame we couldn’t stay the remaining couple of days. We stayed mid March and were the lucky so-and-so’s who got the heavy snow. WONDERFUL. Waking up to find the whole place under a blanket of snow - a walk down to the Loch and throwing snowballs - couldn’t have written the script better myself. The cottage was delightful - 3 double rooms (one twin) for 3 couples, all with en suite, it was perfect for the six of us. The kitchen Aga cooker and Lounge wood burning stove made it so cosy in the cold evenings, perfect with a bottle of wine (or two). Ideal location for access for Inverness to the north, Fort William & Ben Nevis to the south and lots more in-between. The local hotel and pub resturants were all lovely and value for money and we were made to feel welcome just about everywhere. Make sure you try the corkscrew... if you have the nerve. Doing it in a seven-seater was not the easiest drive, but we made it.. much to the amusement of a few local highland coo’s. Loch Ness was lovely and I thoroughly recommend a boat trip from The Clansman Hotel down to Urquart Castle and back. All in all a fantastic few days and one that I would seriously consider doing again. Didn’t see Nessie though... perhaps it was a bit too cold for her!

Mike & Anne
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/04/2007
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a week at Bayside cottage Applecross and apart from having wonderful weather it was the one of the best prepared cottages we have ever stayed in , you wanted for absolutely nothing . My parents joined us for part of the week and had never visited scotland before and are complete converts . The village of Applecross is full to the brim of welcoming locals who make you feel as if you have lived there all your lives, Judith at the pub continues to provide wonderful food , the Bealach nam ba is as ever stunning . we will be coming back.

Andrew & Lindsay
Reviewed Homewood on 28/03/2007
And awarded it

Homewood

Barry & Amy
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 12/03/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Grand Designs on a small scale ! Truthfully, we could easily live in the Smiddy, excellent layout and very cosy, everything you could want was provided, even the weather was kind to us in March! A wonderful location to explore the north, Inverness and the surrounding area, with plenty of walks locally and further afield. It was the first time we have used Wilderness Cottages and i have to say the service was second to none. I would have no hesitation in recommending them and the Old Smiddy, many thanks. Barry and Amy North Wales

Jim & Wendy Flynn
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 04/03/2007
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

The Pollard Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 01/03/2007
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

a beautiful spacious cottage with stunning views over loch ness, we had some wonderful peaceful walks in the forest behind the croft and a lovely walk down to loch ness, the view of urquat castle at night was amazing thank you the children didnt want to leave

Pam Thompson
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 24/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Neil & Trina Smith
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Mark & Tracy Patterson
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 21/02/2007
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

Mrs Aslin
Reviewed Log House on 17/02/2007
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed early Feb, Had an excelant holiday. The Log House is like a chololate box lid, something out of a fairy tale... Kids loved staying here, local walks were great, overlooking the Glen. Highly recommended - Will come back.

Susan Parr
Reviewed Lianachan on 13/02/2007
And awarded it

Lianachan

Donna Davies
Reviewed Charleston on 16/01/2007
And awarded it

Charleston

We arrived at Charleston in the dark, and once we had packed away our Tesco shopping (which we had delivered to the cottage) we settled down with a glass of mulled wine, looking forward to two weeks, Christmas & New Year in a beautiful cottage.
The next day was cold, bright & frosty and we stepped outside to see where we were and Wow! what a view. The surrounding area was equally impressive with walks for Poppy the westie, whichever way we decided to walk that day.
We all agreed this was the best house we had ever stayed in (this being our 8th) so spacious & clean.
Decorated beautifuly for Christmas, with a present under the tree for Jack and even a doggy biscuit for Poppy!
We would certainly book again and can highly recommend the service offered by Wilderness Cottages.

Mr & Mrs Andrews
Reviewed Homewood on 29/12/2006
And awarded it

Homewood

Grant Mundell
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 22/12/2006
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We booked Pine LOdge for October 14-27, 2006 for our honeymoon accommodation. Wow! What a peaceful and stunning location. Very private. The lodge is very well located for exploring North and South on the West coast of Scotland. AND you can see Skye! Go for it. . .you will love it without any regrets!

We found the online booking service and subsequent communication excellent. The owners are very friendly and helpful. Our only suggestion would be to improve the quality of the double bed mattress.

David & Michelle
Reviewed Coach House on 12/12/2006
And awarded it

Coach House

Stuart Cockerham
Reviewed Charleston on 12/11/2006
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 10th Scottish Cottage holiday, and our 7th with Wilderness. This cottage was without a doubt the best we have stayed in, it was warm, comfortable and very well equipped - a pleasure to come home to after a November day walking the dogs. The view over Loch Mhor was breathtaking and changed by the minute, and there was nothing to disturb the peace and quiet - even the sheep and the cows added to the feeling of tranquility. We will definitely be having another holiday here.

Tracy & Andrew Law
Reviewed Homewood on 12/11/2006
And awarded it

Homewood

Andrew & Vicki
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 06/11/2006
And awarded it

Tuath Cala