Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 261 to 280 of 2651


Robin S
Reviewed Solas on 03/10/2016
And awarded it

Solas

Mr & Mrs Gould
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 02/10/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Great place to relax and enjoy the solitude. Really peaceful and fantastic views to the sea and even across to Ireland. Wildlife is in abundance ( watch the seals from the lounge window ) and fishing is just a walk down the field or a short car ride to Loch Ryan. Dogs welcome and plenty of space for them to have a good walk and many walks available for the humans. The accommodation itself was first class, everything you need plus clean and tidy. Hosts Jane and Chav were very welcoming and so obliging.

Lynda & Alan Simpson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 02/10/2016
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at Torvaig Cottage. Although it looks a little worn in places (scuffs and stains on the walls) it was nevertheless very comfortable. We enjoyed every evening in the dining room, lit the fire and settled down. Kitchen is small but to be fair there is everything you need in it. The chest freezer was of particular use to us. The shower is not the best - switch in on all the way heat wise and it alternates between freezing and scalding - almost gave up but found that using a mid point gave a consistent termperature. You don't have any view - large trees obstruct this. The garden was pretty overgrown and although a dog friendly cottage we were wary of letting ours into the garden because of seemingly resident chickens. Beds were comfortable. To be honest our first impressions were that it looked shabby but we definitley felt comfortable and at ease there and would stay again if we visited Skye. The owner passed by on our first day to check all was ok, a nice touch.

David Mason
Reviewed South Lodge on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

South Lodge

3rd time booking through Wilderness Cottages and every time was an excellent experience. South lodge is a very comfortable and we'll equipped cottage. Only downside is the 8 mile single track road leading to and from it. There is plenty to do, including ferry trips to Islet and Jura. Perfect too if you have dogs as the garden is large and secure. We really enjoyed our 7 night stay at south lodge.

Francis Leach, & 4 Others &Batney.
Reviewed Moll House on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

I can say that all of us had a really enjoyable time at Moll House. The accomadatation was really excellent, well equipped and warm. No need for fire etc, despite weather not being warm. It was at times wet and windy, but even this merely made the views across the lock more interesting. Lots of interesting wild life to be seen nearby and further afield. 50 years since last I was on Skye and despite more houses and people, the island retains its charm and beauty. Can recommend Moll house and the Island to any one looking for interesting place to visit. Frank Leach.

James Colin Ashton
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey

The cottage was excellent in most respects. However it needs a wardrobe in the downstairs bedroom as there is no other hanging space. Also we had no broadband all week and for anyone relying on this it could be a problem. There were one or two other minor irritations but these did not spoil the overall experience.

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A perfect place to stay, off the beaten track and within an area of stunning beauty and interest. Great for walkers and lovers of wildlife and the outdoors. The cottage is well equipped and warm, in fact this is the second time we've stayed here and hope to return next year. it has a Rayburn- we are converted!

Bryan Duchart
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 30/09/2016
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

What an absolute delight. Everything needed was there and was first class. Clean, comfortable, homely, cosy, dog friendly - we will be back for sure.

Jean Studd
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a lovely little cottage this is really close to the seaside which, whatever the weather, is beautiful and rugged. The cottage was very welcoming and warm as were the hosts. The wheelchair accessiblity in the cottage was very good although the shower not particularly built for a wheelchair. Our dogs were made most welcome and we were able to park our little trailer right outside the house which doubled up as a dog kennel (for our muddy alsation) when we weren't using it to transport my husbands electric scooter around. The lanes and local tracks were great for exploring by mobility scooter and we could even get it on to the beach - great!

Robert
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Cottage is in a brilliant location, with walks from the front door, although could do with more information about walks from the cottage ( rights to roam). Twin beds in main bedroom very comfortable. Could do with a visitors book to learn what others have done, places they found to walk, shop, eat etc, and places to avoid. One week not enough to do the things we wanted. Hope to return again one day.

Dorothy
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This was the sixth time we've stayed here, so we know and love it well. Great location on the shore, I could (and do) happily pass the time sitting in the little porch reading and watching the tides. Lovely walks from the cottage, which is cosy and comfortable. But Applecross is getting busier, and losing some of it's charm.

Lululo
Reviewed Moll House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Moll House is in the most perfect position on the shore and only one other cottage in view. Stunning views from all the rooms.

Carole
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A great cosy cottage and we loved the access to the loch side. It felt like our own private bay. Good base for visiting Skye, Plockton etc. My only minor criticisms are the track leading to the cottage is a bit over grown and scratched the side of the car and a few more basics in the kitchen would be good. There was a rolling pin which seemed impractical in a holiday let yet no plastic containers for packed lunches. We loved the holiday, big comfy beds, great location and the best view from a shower I have ever had ! Hope to return soon.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Miss Smith, thank you for your review and for the feedback on the cottage, the owner has confirmed that the bushes on the access road have been cut back this Autumn, and so there should no issues with access.
Pauline
Reviewed Cuilfail on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We really enjoyed staying at Cuilfail but the time went far too quickly, the house was well equipped, comfortable and ideally situated for travelling around. We certainly would like to return in the future but would like to make a longer booking. The dogs certainly enjoyed their visit and came home very tired but happy.

Mr G. Podnieks
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Podnieks, thank you for your review and feedback on your stay at Cluny Croft. We are not aware of any problems with the wifi at the house, unfortunately this as you state, may have been down to a BT problem. In the circumstances we have refunded the £17.50 to you.
Janet Cooper
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We were very pleased with our stay at Tor Fionn The tea oatcakes etc left as a welcome was appreciated. The cottage is very well equipped and we had everything we needed including a lovely view.

Alan & Sarah
Reviewed Fhaireag on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag was an amazing house in a stunning location! It truly was a relaxing fortnight and we will be back!

Fiona Howarth
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Kilmaluag Cottage was everything we could have hoped for - beautifully positioned by the water's edge, comfortable furniture and bedding, high standard of fittings and owners who were extremely helpful. Overall, a great experience and would highly recommend.

David Mair
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Nigel Kendall
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 29/09/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our 4th visit to shore cottage since 2011 all I can say is its a real gem of a find beautiful quiet location our two elderly dogs love it and so do we. Not sure when but we will be back again one day if not then its a place we will never forget.