Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 651 to 700 of 2651


Liz Taylor
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 30/05/2016
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Loved our stay At the Old Lock Keepers Cottage, it was very tranquil, just what we needed. I wish we had booked for 2 weeks instead of 1. The cottage was very well equipped down to games and books too. The log fire was so cosy at nights, and the sun room was perfect for watching the boats going along the canal daily. Hope to revisit next year.

John & Chris Keeling
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/05/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Very well equipped and comfortable cottage miles from anywhere with fabulous views - the peace and quiet suited us nicely. Would strongly recommend.

Della Thomas
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 13/05/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Wonderful views - great to watch the seals! Loved the contemporary design of the house. Really warm and comfortable in front of the log burner and spotlessly clean. Amazing bath but if you want to drink champagne while you relax - take your own flutes!

Leigh Devin
Reviewed Log House on 12/05/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We returned to the log cabin after fond memories of it from 8 years ago....and I am so glad we did. The cabin is in a secluded area in the forest on the edge of Fort Augustus. The cabin is a genuine log cabin built from the trees in the surrounding woods, the scenery is spectacular, the wildlife is varied and on your doorstep ..there were deer outside in the morning, bats performing aerobatics in the evening, a Barn owl hunting in the clearing in front of the cabin, a woodpecker and all manner of finches visiting the bird table in the garden (take bird feed with you) and despite not actually seeing the pine marten...we left out food for it and heard it outside. The last time we went a little robin visited the cabin daily and it obviously passed this trait on as we had another one do the same.The cabin itself has such a welcoming feel and is cosy and warm. There has been some improvements to it since we were there last (new kitchen, carpets and log burner), and the owner (who spoke to us on the day we went) told us that the bathroom is being replaced as well (it does need it but really, we don't live in the bathroom do we!) There were a couple of negative comments about this in the guest book but I totally ignored them because they totally missed the point of how this cabin makes you feel....it's a peaceful, naturally beautiful, warm and friendly place...not a 5 star clinical hotel! The beds are wonderfully comfortable too and we had some of the best night's sleep we have had in ages. My only disappointment was leaving it! We love this place and will no doubt return again and again. Plenty good pubs to choose from in the village and if you want a special meal, The Lovat is fab. For anyone else going, enjoy the respite. ..I am jealous :)

Mariola
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The cottage is of the highest standard and have nice quiet surroundings

The Palmer Family
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Wonderful cottage. Exactly as described - if not better. Stunning views, beautiful setting, immaculately furnished. Comfortable, clean and relaxing. We will definitely be coming back to Taigh Druim.

Lynn George
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Absolutely fantastic cottage with amazing views. Very homely and welcoming and we thoroughly enjoyed our week there as it was a great base for exploring the Highlands.

Paul Ewing
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

a great holiday house in a wonderful location

Fiona Milne
Reviewed Elephant House on 11/05/2016
And awarded it

Elephant House

Dave Whitfield
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 09/05/2016
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Lovely cottage and fabulous location. Peace and tranquility are amazing. Everything you need is here and the recently added conservatory was a brilliant idea. Wonderful sea views from beyond the hill which faces the conservatory, (where there is also a strong mobile signal) just make sure you wear walking boots even though it's only 5mins away. Lovely place to come with good company, but it would be truly incredible to come alone.

Kenny Fleming
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/05/2016
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

What can I say? From the moment we arrived at White-Tail Croft we were stunned by how perfect it is. The building itself is appealingly rustic on the outside but so light, airy and warm on the inside. The setting is beautifully remote, with enviable views over the Cuillin ranges and a steady stream of wildlife around the property, from sheep to rabbits to deer, and even the odd eagle sighting. Inside, everything is catered for. We found the log burner stocked and ready for lighting, a great espresso machine stocked, toiletries supplied in the bathroom, bottled water, a head torch and binoculars so you can see those eagles. The handbook for the property was clearly presented and covered everything we could wish to know. The rooms were tastefully decorated and the beds and sofas were all so comfortable. We loved lying in bed looking over the mountain views in the morning and watching the sun set over dinner in the evening. We could not fault White-Tail Croft and were really sorry to leave. We will undoubtedly return and not hesitate to recommend it to friends and family.

Rebecca F
Reviewed Sixgeary on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We very much enjoyed our stay at Sixgeary. We chose Skye for our honeymoon, as we wanted to visit somewhere relaxing and far away from our usual busy lives. Our stay at Sixgeary helped achieve this, due to its location looking out over Loch Snizort. The views across the water towards the Trotterrnish peninsula and the Outer Hebrides are amazing, and the loudest noise is the wind and the sound of the nearby grazing sheep! The cottage itself is decorated and fitted out to an extremely high standard, with all the comforts you would want (i.e. wood burning stove, underfloor heating etc). Given it was our honeymoon, we were left a bottle of champagne, some chocolates and biscuits and local eggs, which was a lovely touch. We would definitely choose to stay at Sixgeary if/when we go back to Skye.

Mr & Mrs W
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a wonderful stay at Upper Folds. It really was a break away from it all. The scenery was stunning as was the cottage. The cottage was warm and easy to use given it was off grid. It snowed every day and the wind howled, but we were really comfortable with the under floor heating and the wood burning stove, which also gave the place that homely cosy feel (unlike the poor sheep lambing in the surrounding fields!). Everything about the cottage was quality, from the lovely plump towels, the crisp white bed linen to the lovely decor. The place was spotlessly clean too. We would definitely recommend Upper Folds and would love to return one day.

Andy R
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

5 years since we last stayed at Bayside...why did we leave it so long? It was like coming home, cottage perfect...couldn't wish for anything more. The owners are so generous with all the added touches. Applecross holds such a special place in our hearts.

Lynn Herriot
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 04/05/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely place to stay, great location ,everything we needed was there! Lovely walks close by. Maggie our dog loved watching the sheep from the decking .

Ray & Gwen
Reviewed Askival on 29/04/2016
And awarded it

Askival

Another wonderful week in fabulous Askival. Really lucky with the weather, colder than September, but came back with tanned faces. Cottage really clean and tidy, thank you (very nice to meet the owners on arrival). You'd be very hard pressed to find better views from a cottage anywhere. Wonderful sightings of wildlife too, especially of two otters from the rocks just across from the cottage!! Already looking to book again.

Mathias
Reviewed Balmachree on 29/04/2016
And awarded it

Balmachree

A very comfortable house in a nice location absolutly !!! We loved the house, both in terms of its location and its facilities. With 4 children and 4 adults, we had more than enough space. As a starting point to explore the land that Balmachree is ideally suited. We will gladly come again !! We would love to come back!

Cateun
Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/04/2016
And awarded it

Cuilfail

As someone else said, the photographs don't really do the house justice, and it had everything that we needed, with lovely views. But I would say the best thing about the house is its location. There are very nice walks nearby, and having the excellent hotel and pub right next door is a fantastic bonus. We had a lovely time, despite quite a bit of rain.

Amanda
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 26/04/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed at Beech Lodge outside Inverness for a week. As a family of 4 the lodge was a good base for use for lazy mornings and going out and about in the afternoons. It has a small garden, but wonderful woods across the way that you can go geocaching in. Kitchen is well stocked with pots, dishes etc. Also has a dishwasher and washer machine. We had a friendly welcome from the owner Donnie and homemade scones as well. God location for Inverness, Nairn, Black Isle and Loch Ness to name a few.

Michele Morphitis
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 25/04/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Absolutely stunning. Beautiful inside and outside. Lovely location.

IAN BIRRELL
Reviewed Glenara on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

What an excellent holiday we had, Bob the owner could not have been more helpful. The heating went off one afternoon, (due to no fault of the owner) he went out of his way to make sure we were warm enough and got the heating repaired the same day, actually repaired at 8pm. The cottage was really comfortable and had everything you could wish, we didn't want to leave. Would definitely recommend this cottage if you want a peaceful, enjoyable holiday.

Andrea
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

My second stay at the Bothy! Absolutely love it. The most fabulous views and very beautifully designed inside. Luxurious and perfect if you need to escape.

Steve & Ruth Cran
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 24/04/2016
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Enjoyable stay ,everything we needed and a lovely location, only fault the single beds a bit uncomfortable .

John & Lucy
Reviewed Callakille on 23/04/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Calakille is a lovely cottage in a stunning location, totally away from it all. It was beautifully decorated, incredibly peaceful and had the most beautiful views out to sea.

Wendy, Stewart & Max
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/04/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We first stayed at Poulary in October 2008, this is our 10th visit to this wonderful cottage. We come back every year sometimes twice if we are lucky! We cannot fault the comfortable cottage, its like home from home :) We love the log burner and love cooking on the Stanley. The view from the dining room window is stunning! it changes constantly, we enjoy watching the mist rise and fall on the mountains, the snow on top of the mountains and how the sun lights up the mountains casting shadows so the view constantly changes. The wildlife is amazing, from watching the pine-marten at dawn and dusk, the Deer in the garden and the very busy bird table. You don't even have to leave the cottage as there are plenty of walks around the cottage and into the forest across the river at the bottom of the garden. The drive along the road to Kinloch Hourn is breathtaking, rugged landscapes, mountains, lochs, deer and highland cattle. We love this place and cant wait to be back in the summer. Heaven on earth, a Gem in the Highlands. LOVE IT!

Bothy Bob Does Scourie
Reviewed Christies on 22/04/2016
And awarded it

Christies

Lovely, cosy, gorgeously scenic cottage overlooking the bay at Scourie. Incomparable location with views of Ben Stack and Arkle. Cottage still maintains its authentic heritage but with a hint of luxury with all mod cons and comfort. Excellent base for adults, kids and pets to explore the surrounding area. The kind of place you want to keep to yourself but also too good not to share!

Lisa Dawson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a lovely week at Fersit Lodge. I wanted a week of quiet and certainly found it. The lodge was finished to a high standard, the weather was very kind to us and the sun shone for most of the week enabling us to sit out and enjoy the view. We had our dog with us, I enjoyed being able to take him on lots of walks from the house rather than having to drive. A couple of suggestions, information about dog walks would be helpful and the opportunity to have groceries delivered. The owners were very nice, checking we had settled in and everything was ok.

Chris & Susan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had a lovely week here in this perfect cosy cottage, everything we needed to hand in the most idyllic surroundings

John G
Reviewed Aros Beag on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Wonderful location and cottage. Would definitly book again.

Jim W. (Aberdeenshire)
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Very relaxing. Lovely scenery. Lodge was great, a proper home from home. Donnie (lodge owner) always at hand, never needed though, and could not have been nicer.

Catherine Inwood
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What a lovely cottage! For once, the reality was much, much better than the photos. Large, light rooms with plenty of space for wet coats and muddy boots; a well-laid out kitchen and world-class views over Loch Ness and Urquart Castle. The drive up is steep and rutted but it's worth it!

Jo Oliver
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

The house is very comfortable in a lovely remote location. Car an absolute must. Well specked kitchen.

The Bacon Family & Friends
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Fantastic place to stay in a fabulous location. Warm and comfortable lodge - a haven that we all enjoyed coming back to at the end of a day's exploring. It felt like we had our own private beach and we were lucky to have beautiful weather throughout our stay.

Dawn K
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

The cottage is superb. At the very end of a single track road, it is extremely peaceful and secluded with stunning views over the loch. The cottage is tastefully decorated and has everything you need for a home away from home - although we did find using the Rayburn for cooking a challenge at first! Comfy sofa and beds and a real fire in the lounge. The Wi-Fi is a great bonus too. The area is fantastic for walking or driving and admiring the scenery. We will be back!

Rachel
Reviewed The Orchids on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

Great location and very well equipped house. We had a great stay. Even the little things were thought of. Would definitely recommend it for a chilled out holiday. The admin was quick and efficient too. Thanks

Sharon Davidson
Reviewed Balmachree on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Balmachree

What a fabulous service from the company and an amazing cottage! ( pair of..,) I didn't have high hopes as the photos showed a basic interior but how wrong we were : the house was so comfortable, brilliant layout and lovely and warm with perfect showers and fan breakout spaces and laundry facilities . Only improvement would be placemats and more mugs and cutlery as only 1 set of each .

Linda Gibson
Reviewed An Airidh on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

An Airidh

We stayed at this cottage for a week at the beginning of April. It was very clean and thoughtfully kitted out. The welcome basket was a kind touch and the eggs from the chickens we could see were delicious. In a great position for exploring and walking near and far. Visited some great restaurants and attractions a particular favourite being Skye Weavers. This was a departure for us as we normally choose sunshine holidays but we throughly enjoyed our Scottish home from hom.

Susan & Tom Parr
Reviewed Charleston on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

A wonderful cottage, with great views and all the amenities of home. In fact we don't want to recommend it, just keep it our little secret!!! If you book a holiday here you will not regret it!

Michael Clark
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

This was our second stay in a year. We used the steading as a base while filming in the Highlands and it was a great place to relax after a long day. Underfloor heating and huge baths made so much difference when it was 2 degrees outside. A very well maintained residence in a great location. As steading has no broadband I brought a wifi dongle with me (EE network) and it got very good 4G reception. Cafe's in nearby Ballater also have wifi, so this was never a problem.

Catherine
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

Wonderful little cottage, great gift basket, warm, plumbing functional, all the amenities of a house, fresh eggs available, easy to access open space behind the cottage to let the dog run around in. Drive there and back was beautiful. Highly recommended.

Amanda Baker
Reviewed Don Cottage on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely accommodation, clean and comfortable supplied with everything you would need. In excellent location for exploring the surrounding area.

Fiona & Robert
Reviewed River Cottage on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

We had a really lovely time at River Cottage. Our dog Mya absolutely loved the garden down to the river. The cottage was very well equipped and had everything we needed for a weeks break. It was very clean and very cosy. There was lots of lovely walks in the area which we enjoyed every day. We would definitely recommend River Cottage to others and would also like to return for another visit in the near future.

Mrs. Clare E Chalmers
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 19/04/2016
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Where to start! What an exceptional house in such a beautiful setting, on the door step of some of the most exquisite scenery. Monroe baggers paradise, which my husband made the most of! We all enjoyed watching the wildlife right outside the windows from badgers to an amazing varieity of birds, including woodpeckers. A short walk from the cottage brings you to the stunning Plodda falls where, if you keep your eyes open, you may catch a Red Squirrel. Horse trekking its also on offer along here. The house itself is lovingly cared for, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with lots of thoughtful extras, open cupboards to discover toys, jigsaws, hoopla hoops and even golf clubs. A delicious home made lemon drizzle cake awaited our arrival. There are plenty of places to eat out, we enjoyed the nearby Hotels and Drumnadrochit was about 15 minute drive away, offering lovely gift shops, farm shops, and further lunch/dinner venues. Here, we bought some of the largest eggs I have ever come across. The best thing of all for us though, was being able to bring along our two dogs, there were thoughtful extras laid on for them too, including dog towels, feeding bowls and leads. It is not always easy to find a comfortable cottage that accepts dogs as we know only too well, but Guisachan is the rare acception. Don't worry if you are coming without a pet as I mentioned earlier the cottage could not be more well cared for. We will definitely return to this paradise and we cannot wait to do so.

Daisy & Alfie
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 18/04/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

This was a near perfect holiday croft for the week - it is well equipped, warm & cosy with a log stove in the living room & aga in the kitchen, it is dog friendly with a secure garden. Sorting out the kitchen floor, improving the shower and a bit more TLC with the cleaning and decor would lead to perfection. Wilderness Cottages really does live up to its name - the croft is on a skinny road in the middle of nowhere with limited phone reception, that suited us. The croft description is completely accurate - expect peace, tranquillity, amazing views and your own local beach. With only sheep & lambs and hairy cows for neighbours, the demands of modern life seemed a million miles away! This is an excellent location for exploring the Applecross peninsula. Daisy and Alfie - a cockerpoo and a Labrador cross - had a wonderful time walking, swimming, climbing and playing while checking out several walks using Paul & Helen Webster's excellent 40 coast and country walks in Wester Ross and Lochalsh. This was our first trip to the Highlands, definitely not our last! This is just a stunningly beautiful part of the UK and totally worth the long trek north!

Anne, Alan & Alasdair Shand
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/04/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Sitting here on our final night at Tigh-na-Craobh we are feeling a little sad. Jim & Anne-Marie, you have created a little slice of heaven. The views, the design, the layout, the interior (exactly as we'd've done it ourselves), the egyptian cotton bedlinen, the sound system, the champagne flutes, the dishwasher, your lovely housekeeper Nikki who dropped by with a playpen/stair gate for Alasdair and a few toys she had around...thank you for. Looooovely week away from the city. Can we come back in October please? Thanks a million! A, A & A x

Amanda Snowdon
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/04/2016
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a wonderful stay at Plodda Falls Lodge which is beautiful, very comfortable, clean, spacious and well equipped. The surrounding area is amazing and we enjoyed taking advantage of the many local walks in an unspoilt area of natural beauty. We were visited during the day by Chaffinches, Blue Tits, Robins and Siskins, a constant presence at the bird table. By night our son was overjoyed to see, for the first time, badgers and a fox. Jenny provided us with a warm welcome (including cake) and was very helpful in providing information about the local area. We enjoyed our stay so much that we are returning next year.

Linda & Roy
Reviewed Upper Folds on 06/04/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Upper Folds exceeds all expectations it is in a fantastic location and has everything you need to have a truly relaxing stay. The standard of the accommodation is excellent and the owners have thought of everything to ensure your stay is warm and comfortable. The bottle of wine and fresh flowers were a special touch.Thank you for sharing your very special place.

Amanda, Eddie & Pythagarus
Reviewed Glenara on 05/04/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Glendara cottage is a very special little place, it is full of character and charm and is just so homely warm and comfortable. The photos just don't do it justice. The garden is wonderful and the views from the garden overlooking the river and hills are perfect. We absolutely adored our stay here, it is the best holiday we have ever had. the village and surrounding area is absolutely breaktakingly beautiful. There is so much to do in the surrounding area. There is a lot of information in the cottage about local walks, activities, restaurants, taxis etc, and I appreciated that there was a lot of books and scrabble and monopoly to play too. We arrived later than planned but the friendly owner arranged to visit to check we were OK the next day and we could contact him if we had any questions. Our only problem was having to leave.

Paul & Jane & Fudge The Dog
Reviewed Glenara on 02/04/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

What a wonderful find. So pleased we booked the Glenara. Its delightful, we felt comfortable from the moment we walked in, lovely and warm even when it was cold outside, it had a lovely coal fire in the dining room , that we didnt need to light as was lovely and warm from the central heating. The sitting soom was our favourite room it a had a huge picture window that looked out over the garden and onto the beautiful River Oiche. Lots of Birds visited the garden , just added to the break. The bed which is always a worry when you stay anywhere , was so comfortable i wish i could of took it home !!! Thank you Bob for making us and Fudge very welcome, we really didn't want to leave and go home !!! We will be back !! Thank you for having us .......

Lesley Sinclair
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 31/03/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

Excellent cabin with everything you need to make a very enjoyable stay. Extremely high standard with a very welcoming host. Highly recommended.