Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 651 to 700 of 2775


Mike Hammond
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Had a lovely time at Lilybank Cottage, its in a great location by the river lovely and quiet but still only a couple minutes walks from the shop and centre of Fort Augustus. A lovely cottage which is clean and well equipped with everything we needed to have a relaxing break. Would happily return and recommend it to friends and family as a base to explore the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Helen Hodson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

What a beautiful place to stay. Everything you could possibly need 5* cleanliness. A very warm welcome by the owners. Views of the surrounding area second to none. Didn't really want to leave.

Richard
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stablemate lodge was an excellent and comfortable cottage for 2 or a family group happy to sare the open plan upper floor. With the very effective insulation and woodburner it was one of the warmest and economic cottages we have stayed in in the area. Facilities in Grantown are good. Well equipped kitChen.

Ausra Kennedy
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 07/02/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a beautiful house in an amazing location! We spend 5 days there and wished we stayed longer. As we had a baby and a toddler with us, we weren't able to do much walking and exploring. But the house offered everything we would have wanted so we enjoyed staying in, with the wood burner going , watching the sea and admiring the most fantastic views! Beds were very comfortable we slept very well! Don't worry about bringing any board games-plenty at the house and great variaty. Would recommend to everyone wishing to holiday in Skye! AMAZING!

Martyn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed our few days away at Don Cottage. The instructions on finding the cottage we followed to the letter as it was dark when we arrived and they were absolutely spot on--it really is nice to get a good set of directions at the end of a tiring journey! Lovely collection of basic essentials and luxury goodies waiting for us on the kitchen table--inc whiskey- and all I had to do was to put a match to the prepared fire. Don Cottage was spotless on our arrival and looking around it is apparent that the owners have enjoyed putting this holiday cottage together. Once we got home in the evening we were more than happy to relax in front of the fire and watch TV and prepare some food--haggis of course on Burns Night. We have a couple of suggestions for making this lovely cottage even more appealing--perhaps a larger TV and a few brighter LED lights mixed in to help with reading and in the kitchen for meal preparation? Eyes going dim is an affliction that makes us older people complain that writing is getting smaller and smaller!! If you stay at Don Cottage you will be warm and comfortable and will be located in a beautiful part of the world and be free to explore it at your leisure! Many thanks

Peter Brown
Reviewed Achbeag on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Achbeag

Great property in a Great location. Everything you need from a holiday cottage - nice comfortable living space, decent size bedrooms, well fitted kitchen and nice bathrooms made this a great location to explore this fantastic area. The Applecross Pass was a particular highlight -went over that road on a number of occasions - well worth the effort. The beach close by at Big Sands was also well worth a visit. The whole area was waiting to be explored and didn't disappoint - I would recommend the area and this property in particular. Thanks for the great holiday.

Rachel & Beryl
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage was everything we hoped for - very peaceful & remote (maybe just a bit too remote, in hindsight!) - a very comfortable & well-equipped cottage in a stunning location. The track down is the only downside; it's a shame the lower section can't be concreted like the upper section; my heart was in my mouth on every journey to & from the cottage, & I think the remoteness (which has never before been an issue) was heightened by knowing I couldn't drive out once it was dark. We left a few days early because of the forecast snow & ice, which would have made the track even more treacherous. The advice that a 4x4 is needed is very wise.

Mrs Plume
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 04/02/2016
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a great stay at beach lodge with the dog. Didn't see one person all week and had the beach to ourselves! Love the fact it was full of essentials when we got there. Would recommend to all. Hopefully we will return in the future. Thanks for a fantastic break.

Zoe Green
Reviewed Callakille on 19/01/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Somewhat like the Railway Children we arrived in total darkness amid a galeforce storm. Mrs Viney had forgotten to light our fire too but we soon had the woodburner going. Wonderful week in a truely beautiful part of the world. The cottage is very well appointed and comfortable if a little nippy in the bedrooms. We are keen campers so used to cold noses but be aware there is no heating upstairs. Thank you for sharing the Applecross peninsula, we love it.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Ms Green, thank you for your review, we have spoken to the owners regarding the heating upstairs, and during the winter months additional heating in the bedrooms is now provided. Please note that during the months of November and December 2016, the cottage had further renovations on the upper level which included new insulation and heating.
Ruth A Hamilton
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 15/01/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in your beautiful cottage. What a fantastic setting. We loved watching seals while we were having breakfast and an otter!

Alaine
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 14/01/2016
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

The barn was everything we had hoped for and more - the best thing? The views! We experienced all types of weather - from sunshine to rain, to hail storms, crazy winds and even snow! Spending Christmas relaxing in the barn and walking in the local area, then coming back to sit & relax in front of the fire with views of the snow capped mountains was magical! Between oct - April most businesses shut down but it didn't bother us as we had taken enough food with us, so I am unable to comment on the local pubs and restaurants. The barn is ideally placed to explore Skye. Our dogs absolutely loved the break too, and were as sad as us to be leaving! The barn is fully equipped with everything you could ever want. We were delighted the tv was upstairs rather than in the lounge - we watched it once! We also thought the set up of having the dishwasher etc in the utility was a good idea - reducing noise and clutter in the social space! Don't hesitate, just book!!

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Log House on 12/01/2016
And awarded it

Log House

We stayed at The Log House for 1 Week, the location is absolutely perfect , very peaceful and perfect for exploring the East or West Coast . The Log House lives up to its expectations its very clean , and warm. As described its a short walk into Fort Augustus , and all the local amenities. Will definitely be back, will recommend The Log House and Wilderness Cottages to everyone !!

L.Evans
Reviewed Aros Beag on 05/01/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a wonderful time exploring the local areas and the cottage was fantastic.

Carole & Robert Binns
Reviewed Moll House on 04/01/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

We were thrilled with Moll House. After a long drive from York we arrived to find the house beautifully warm and spotlessly clean. It was a real home from home and the Xmas tree was a nice surprise. In the morning we were greeted with a fabulous view from the kitchen window which never failed to fascinate us every day as we looked for wildlife. The location is stunning. Our dog Max soon made himself at home next to the heater in the kitchen. The garden was lovely and safe for him to play around in and the proximity and privacy of the shore led to lovely relaxing strolls every morning. Our dog is not very sociable with other dogs so all that worry was taken away. This is our second stay in a wilderness cottage and we will certainly be back. Many thanks once again.

Paul White
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/01/2016
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Fantastic house, particularly the huge old school room. Amazing location, with the beach just seconds away. We wanted to get away from it all for Christmas, and this house was perfect!

Carol Weller
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

The location is beautiful and remote. The cottage is spacious and well equipped with white goods. Unfortunately the oven has been cleaned so you cannot see the controls and the photo does not really help. Rather difficult to cook Xmas dinner. I have been to a lot of holiday homes and there has always been a welcome pack of a few teabags coffee etc. After such a long drive and not being able to get in until 4pm you do not want to drive to find a shop. I had brought a lot with me but expected this to be as I had experienced before. I would suggest perhaps an extra service where you could pay for a welcome pack. I would go again as the area is so lovely but would appreciate a more welcome.

S. Schroeder
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/12/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

An excellent cottage on Skye with a fenced in yard for the dog, full kitchen with pots/pans/cups/kettle etc, and amazing views from the sofa or recliner seat! The inside was modern but still cozy. The telescope was a fun addition as well for both day and night. There is a small-quaint shop 5 minute drive down the road and driving to Dunvegan was easy.

Kerryb
Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

Fantastic location. Accommodation is clean spacious and Emily gave a warm greeting. Lots of attention to detail. There was a Gift basket on arrival which was a very nice touch. The photos do not do justice to this beautiful property. Limited wifi. Remote, peaceful location worth a visit. We look forward to another visit.

Pat Bright
Reviewed Drovers on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Drovers

C. McC.
Reviewed River Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

Perfect Highland Hideaway. Spent Christmas week here. Cosy and comfy. Very handy for Inverness and Fort Augustus. Total peace and quiet with only the sound of the river in the distance.

Rebecca & Mustafa
Reviewed Timber House on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Timber House

The most perfect time in the most perfect house. Views from every window. You really can't capture how great it is to live in this space with a photograph. Go!

A. Steyn
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 28/12/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Looking for a quiet retreat in the Highlands, we came across the Old Smiddy. And we were not disappointed. It is a charming, beautifully restored, perfect get away from the madness of city life, with nights spent around the wood burning oven. It was exceptionally clean and the owners were a pleasure to talk to. Best of all, they knew exactly how to be hospitable without getting in your personal space during the stay. This is a rare quality. My only complaint was the absence of WiFi, which, for a techie like me would have been nice to have. But it cannot possibly detract from the little gem that is the Old Smiddy.

The Connetts
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/12/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don cottage is set back in a secluded location yet not too far from amenities. The cottage had a good layout and all the rooms were of a good size. The kitchen had everything you needed and the welcome pack left by the owner was greatly received. Ideally situated for exploring the surrounding area - Glen Affric, Loch Mullardoch and the Black Isle all well worth a visit. Would love to come back one day.

Shelagh
Reviewed Sealight on 21/12/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We loved this house. Wonderful remote location with a lovely outlook onto Loch Sunart. The house itself is a wonderful design and has everything you could ask for. If we were back in the Western Highlands again, I would not hesitate to book this house. If you are looking for peace and quiet in comfort, this fits the bill.

James Anderson
Reviewed Mealishal on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

David Penn
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Fantastic place, well laid out building for 6 persons.3 en-suite and a bathroom, what more can you ask for.

Helen G
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We arrived at this cottage on the worst night of the recent storms in pitch black. The cottage was warm and so welcoming. Tea, coffee, milk, bread and eggs waited for us. The photos do not do this property justice. The beach is fantastic, sandy and rock pools and we didn't see anyone else during our stay. We took 3 terriers and they loved it. It is secluded and the track needs care but a super property. There is a conservatory where the dogs were happy to stay in . Can't fault the property.

Stephen Dicken
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 09/12/2015
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Perfect solitude and very well equiped cottage. Driveway down to cottage could do with some maintenance but would not stop me going again

Steven Kerry Anne Marty
Reviewed Upper Folds on 09/12/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Excellent cottage in a very peaceful location. The whole place is self sufficient and very clean with great views over the hills. All in all an amazing place and we will definitly be back!

Janet Goldsworthy
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 08/12/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We stayed in Coltsfoots Cottage for the last 2 weeks of October. The log cabin is superb and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of staying there. The owners, who live nearby are very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. The cabin is in a wonderful location with no other properties in view, although only a short walk from Fort Augustus. It is very comfortable and warm and with everything you could need.

Malcolm Douglas
Reviewed River Cottage on 07/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

A great week in a wonderful part of the world. River Cottage was all that we hoped for, warm and comfortable with everything we needed and in a great location. Beautiful walks every day with Homer our Black Lab who by the end of the week was exhausted but in a happy way. And although it was November the weather was good to us as well.

Bill Archibald
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely, clean and well planned cottage with amazing views that change by the hour. Very cosy with underfloor heating and a cracking log burner. Very impressed!

Joan & Geoff
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Pine Lodge is accessed via a very steep short track. In the trees above Loch Kishorn, with views across the water to the spectacular pass to Applecross. Spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and warm. Small but perfectly formed. If the local Pine Marten had been any friendlier it would have joined us on the settee watching Eastenders! We would happily return.

Michael Cooper
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We saw Leachachan Barn on line when we were looking for somewhere to go on Honeymoon and came across the barn it looked perfect both in facilities and location. When we arrived we were blown away it was as described but so much more. We spent the last week completely chilled out enjoying the Wood burning stove and comfy couches whilst the rain sleat snow and sunshine went about its daily business providing hourly changes in the view. The bottle of Whiskey was a lovely touch and went down well!! We can't recommend the barn highly enough and will be back for sure. You made our honeymoon perfect. Thankyou Michael & Lynne and Wee Kodi

Abe Ahmed
Reviewed Don Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay here. The cottage exceeded our expectations! If you want to stay in a quiet, self-catering cottage with plenty of space, this offers amazing facilities for an outstanding price.

Kay Walker
Reviewed Franks on 25/11/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Allison Green
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 24/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

After our 4th visit to the Barn we have returned home refreshed and relaxed from such a lovely stay. We never tire of the view over Loch Duich and the 5 Sisters, from the comfort of the living room and the wood burner. A very special place to stay.

Rachael
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille was everything we expected and more. A beautiful spot on the coast in the middle of the inspiring landscape of North West Scotland our cosy cottage was the perfect hideaway. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom sizeable and warm with the bonus of underfloor heating and unspoilt views to the Isle of Raasay and Skye from the rolltop bath. The local village of Applecross 8 miles away was quiet in November and we enjoyed a few beers and good food in the friendly local pub. We would highly recommend this place.

Jean & David Parkin
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely welcoming cottage. Fantastic views from window and patio. Very well equipped and very comfortable bed. Rocky shoreline just feet away from the door with a beach when tide out. Seals seen every day and an otter on the rocks one morning. Felt very privileged to see a sea eagle one day when having coffee sat outside. Good walks for our two dogs. Was plenty to see scenic wise and awe inspiring comes to mind. We had some groceries delivered from the Spar shop in Lochcarron which were all put away in the fridge when we arrived, excellent service. We had amazing weather but we would have enjoyed it whatever. Ideal holiday if like us you value a cottage in a peaceful location with scenery and wildlife on your doorstep.

James Bell
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Simply stunning location and the house is excellent inside and out. Very well equipped and presented. Ideal base for a Landscape Photographer exploring the area like myself.

Grzegorz (Greg) Wroblewski
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 18/11/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

It's a beautiful Cottage, fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, garden with BBQ and storage shed. In the Forest with with trails right next to the Cottage, our Dog was in heaven. The distillery is right on the way to the closest shops are in Forres 10 minutes by Car (Tesco, gas station etc ). About 15 minutes ride to Findhorn to the beach, there are sail boats, kayaks available for rent. Few restaurants with amazing Seafood!!! Our family bought the fishing license and had fun catching Crabs from the pier. Fort George is about 20 minutes by car and Inverness 35 minutes drive. I was very relaxing time at Cedar Cottage. We recommend to those guests that would like to spend some genuine time with their Family. Thank you, Greg

Brian & Steph
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had an excellent stay at Poulary Cottage. The cottage itself is well built, comfortable and is well equipped with everything you need for a stay - the owners really have thought of everything! It is worth bringing as much as you can as the nearest shop is 15 miles away (23 miles to a better stocked one) however, we ended up going for drives out on a few of the days and picked up any extras we needed on the way back. Tons of interesting wildlife regularly visits the garden (although we didn't get to see the pinemarten, we will be bringing fat balls next time!) and there are always lots of red deer in and around the house and the gardens. The dog loved the secure garden and the forest that makes up part of the property's land, in fact the whole area is perfect for well-behaved dogs. There are loads of walks right on the doorstep, from gentle low level walks to several munroes and the scenery all around is simply spectacular. We took the drive to Kinloch Hourn and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, though not the faint hearted and that applies to driver and passenger! It is 15 miles down the single track road and the last couple of miles are a bit challenging but it is well worth it. No need for a 4x4 but a strong engine is a must and take your time. The day after we got home, we booked to go back the same time next year. If you are looking for a get away from it all type holiday in a beautiful setting, you cannot go far wrong with this place.

H Sander
Reviewed Moll House on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Moll House

Lovely large clean and warm property, comfy sitting room. Kitchen well equipped . Caretaker phoned us to make sure we were alright during storm Abigail. Fantastic views The only niggles were the kitchen sink is extremely slow running, boiling water didn't help, so needs looking at, also mattress in master bedroom one half of it seems to have gone flat quite uncomfortable, we ended up sleeping in different rooms as mattress in other room was also quite flimsy. Not hard things to put right.

Mr & Mrs Anthony Malocco
Reviewed Glen View on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Nick Park
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

October 2015. Hill cottage was very well appointed, it had everything you could wish for in a wilderness cottage, a well appointed kitchen with all the essentials required, a warm comfortable lounge and a nice bathroom and shower. The view from the conservatory over the loch to the mountains beyond was wonderful. After a long day hiking the washroom was great, a place to clean off boots and wash walking gear. If you like being in a peaceful and remote place this is one for you ! Ps If you need to stay in touch there is a GPRS Vodaphone signal in the conservatory.

Barry & Debi Thomas
Reviewed Charleston on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent property, very well equipped. Felt at home immediately, lovely warm and relaxed feeling to the house. Garden excellent for our 2 dogs. Everything lovely and clean and the welcome basket, flowers and all the little extras a wonderful touch. Really didn't want to leave.

Heather & Viv
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wonderful cottage in the most fabulous location. Hill Head Croft is a real home from home. Cosy and comfortable equipped with everything you can think of for a self catering break. Would have loved to stay longer and were both a bit grumpy about leaving. It's definitely somewhere we would like to return to soon. Definitely recommend to anyone who likes comfort, fresh air and spectacular scenery.

Mr N Mrs Randall
Reviewed Askival on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Askival is set in the most amazing remote location and is as described in the brochure ! We found it warm n clean ! Yes it's a bit tired in places and could do with some updating but we enjoyed our stay ! Despite being caught up in Abigail !

Sue,david
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Have stayed at Pine Lodge on many occasions it's amazing. Sally and John are brilliant they do an amazing job to make sure you have a brilliant stay. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

C Cruickshank
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a wonderful week , Seascape Cottage is an idyllic retreat , the hosts are very welcoming and your every need is catered for . The weather was very good for the time of year, very windy but that just made the sea view all the more spectacular. All this can be seen from the very cosy cottage . Shame the week ended I would have stayed longer. Can't wait to book another week .