Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 651 to 700 of 2798


C. McC.
Reviewed River Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

Perfect Highland Hideaway. Spent Christmas week here. Cosy and comfy. Very handy for Inverness and Fort Augustus. Total peace and quiet with only the sound of the river in the distance.

Rebecca & Mustafa
Reviewed Timber House on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Timber House

The most perfect time in the most perfect house. Views from every window. You really can't capture how great it is to live in this space with a photograph. Go!

A. Steyn
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 28/12/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Looking for a quiet retreat in the Highlands, we came across the Old Smiddy. And we were not disappointed. It is a charming, beautifully restored, perfect get away from the madness of city life, with nights spent around the wood burning oven. It was exceptionally clean and the owners were a pleasure to talk to. Best of all, they knew exactly how to be hospitable without getting in your personal space during the stay. This is a rare quality. My only complaint was the absence of WiFi, which, for a techie like me would have been nice to have. But it cannot possibly detract from the little gem that is the Old Smiddy.

The Connetts
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/12/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don cottage is set back in a secluded location yet not too far from amenities. The cottage had a good layout and all the rooms were of a good size. The kitchen had everything you needed and the welcome pack left by the owner was greatly received. Ideally situated for exploring the surrounding area - Glen Affric, Loch Mullardoch and the Black Isle all well worth a visit. Would love to come back one day.

Shelagh
Reviewed Sealight on 21/12/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We loved this house. Wonderful remote location with a lovely outlook onto Loch Sunart. The house itself is a wonderful design and has everything you could ask for. If we were back in the Western Highlands again, I would not hesitate to book this house. If you are looking for peace and quiet in comfort, this fits the bill.

James Anderson
Reviewed Mealishal on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

David Penn
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Fantastic place, well laid out building for 6 persons.3 en-suite and a bathroom, what more can you ask for.

Helen G
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We arrived at this cottage on the worst night of the recent storms in pitch black. The cottage was warm and so welcoming. Tea, coffee, milk, bread and eggs waited for us. The photos do not do this property justice. The beach is fantastic, sandy and rock pools and we didn't see anyone else during our stay. We took 3 terriers and they loved it. It is secluded and the track needs care but a super property. There is a conservatory where the dogs were happy to stay in . Can't fault the property.

Stephen Dicken
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 09/12/2015
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Perfect solitude and very well equiped cottage. Driveway down to cottage could do with some maintenance but would not stop me going again

Steven Kerry Anne Marty
Reviewed Upper Folds on 09/12/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Excellent cottage in a very peaceful location. The whole place is self sufficient and very clean with great views over the hills. All in all an amazing place and we will definitly be back!

Janet Goldsworthy
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 08/12/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We stayed in Coltsfoots Cottage for the last 2 weeks of October. The log cabin is superb and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of staying there. The owners, who live nearby are very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. The cabin is in a wonderful location with no other properties in view, although only a short walk from Fort Augustus. It is very comfortable and warm and with everything you could need.

Malcolm Douglas
Reviewed River Cottage on 07/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

A great week in a wonderful part of the world. River Cottage was all that we hoped for, warm and comfortable with everything we needed and in a great location. Beautiful walks every day with Homer our Black Lab who by the end of the week was exhausted but in a happy way. And although it was November the weather was good to us as well.

Bill Archibald
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely, clean and well planned cottage with amazing views that change by the hour. Very cosy with underfloor heating and a cracking log burner. Very impressed!

Joan & Geoff
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Pine Lodge is accessed via a very steep short track. In the trees above Loch Kishorn, with views across the water to the spectacular pass to Applecross. Spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and warm. Small but perfectly formed. If the local Pine Marten had been any friendlier it would have joined us on the settee watching Eastenders! We would happily return.

Michael Cooper
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We saw Leachachan Barn on line when we were looking for somewhere to go on Honeymoon and came across the barn it looked perfect both in facilities and location. When we arrived we were blown away it was as described but so much more. We spent the last week completely chilled out enjoying the Wood burning stove and comfy couches whilst the rain sleat snow and sunshine went about its daily business providing hourly changes in the view. The bottle of Whiskey was a lovely touch and went down well!! We can't recommend the barn highly enough and will be back for sure. You made our honeymoon perfect. Thankyou Michael & Lynne and Wee Kodi

Abe Ahmed
Reviewed Don Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay here. The cottage exceeded our expectations! If you want to stay in a quiet, self-catering cottage with plenty of space, this offers amazing facilities for an outstanding price.

Kay Walker
Reviewed Franks on 25/11/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Allison Green
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 24/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

After our 4th visit to the Barn we have returned home refreshed and relaxed from such a lovely stay. We never tire of the view over Loch Duich and the 5 Sisters, from the comfort of the living room and the wood burner. A very special place to stay.

Rachael
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille was everything we expected and more. A beautiful spot on the coast in the middle of the inspiring landscape of North West Scotland our cosy cottage was the perfect hideaway. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom sizeable and warm with the bonus of underfloor heating and unspoilt views to the Isle of Raasay and Skye from the rolltop bath. The local village of Applecross 8 miles away was quiet in November and we enjoyed a few beers and good food in the friendly local pub. We would highly recommend this place.

Jean & David Parkin
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely welcoming cottage. Fantastic views from window and patio. Very well equipped and very comfortable bed. Rocky shoreline just feet away from the door with a beach when tide out. Seals seen every day and an otter on the rocks one morning. Felt very privileged to see a sea eagle one day when having coffee sat outside. Good walks for our two dogs. Was plenty to see scenic wise and awe inspiring comes to mind. We had some groceries delivered from the Spar shop in Lochcarron which were all put away in the fridge when we arrived, excellent service. We had amazing weather but we would have enjoyed it whatever. Ideal holiday if like us you value a cottage in a peaceful location with scenery and wildlife on your doorstep.

James Bell
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Simply stunning location and the house is excellent inside and out. Very well equipped and presented. Ideal base for a Landscape Photographer exploring the area like myself.

Grzegorz (Greg) Wroblewski
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 18/11/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

It's a beautiful Cottage, fully equipped kitchen, fireplace, garden with BBQ and storage shed. In the Forest with with trails right next to the Cottage, our Dog was in heaven. The distillery is right on the way to the closest shops are in Forres 10 minutes by Car (Tesco, gas station etc ). About 15 minutes ride to Findhorn to the beach, there are sail boats, kayaks available for rent. Few restaurants with amazing Seafood!!! Our family bought the fishing license and had fun catching Crabs from the pier. Fort George is about 20 minutes by car and Inverness 35 minutes drive. I was very relaxing time at Cedar Cottage. We recommend to those guests that would like to spend some genuine time with their Family. Thank you, Greg

Brian & Steph
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had an excellent stay at Poulary Cottage. The cottage itself is well built, comfortable and is well equipped with everything you need for a stay - the owners really have thought of everything! It is worth bringing as much as you can as the nearest shop is 15 miles away (23 miles to a better stocked one) however, we ended up going for drives out on a few of the days and picked up any extras we needed on the way back. Tons of interesting wildlife regularly visits the garden (although we didn't get to see the pinemarten, we will be bringing fat balls next time!) and there are always lots of red deer in and around the house and the gardens. The dog loved the secure garden and the forest that makes up part of the property's land, in fact the whole area is perfect for well-behaved dogs. There are loads of walks right on the doorstep, from gentle low level walks to several munroes and the scenery all around is simply spectacular. We took the drive to Kinloch Hourn and would thoroughly recommend it to anyone, though not the faint hearted and that applies to driver and passenger! It is 15 miles down the single track road and the last couple of miles are a bit challenging but it is well worth it. No need for a 4x4 but a strong engine is a must and take your time. The day after we got home, we booked to go back the same time next year. If you are looking for a get away from it all type holiday in a beautiful setting, you cannot go far wrong with this place.

H Sander
Reviewed Moll House on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Moll House

Lovely large clean and warm property, comfy sitting room. Kitchen well equipped . Caretaker phoned us to make sure we were alright during storm Abigail. Fantastic views The only niggles were the kitchen sink is extremely slow running, boiling water didn't help, so needs looking at, also mattress in master bedroom one half of it seems to have gone flat quite uncomfortable, we ended up sleeping in different rooms as mattress in other room was also quite flimsy. Not hard things to put right.

Mr & Mrs Anthony Malocco
Reviewed Glen View on 17/11/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Nick Park
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

October 2015. Hill cottage was very well appointed, it had everything you could wish for in a wilderness cottage, a well appointed kitchen with all the essentials required, a warm comfortable lounge and a nice bathroom and shower. The view from the conservatory over the loch to the mountains beyond was wonderful. After a long day hiking the washroom was great, a place to clean off boots and wash walking gear. If you like being in a peaceful and remote place this is one for you ! Ps If you need to stay in touch there is a GPRS Vodaphone signal in the conservatory.

Barry & Debi Thomas
Reviewed Charleston on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent property, very well equipped. Felt at home immediately, lovely warm and relaxed feeling to the house. Garden excellent for our 2 dogs. Everything lovely and clean and the welcome basket, flowers and all the little extras a wonderful touch. Really didn't want to leave.

Heather & Viv
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wonderful cottage in the most fabulous location. Hill Head Croft is a real home from home. Cosy and comfortable equipped with everything you can think of for a self catering break. Would have loved to stay longer and were both a bit grumpy about leaving. It's definitely somewhere we would like to return to soon. Definitely recommend to anyone who likes comfort, fresh air and spectacular scenery.

Mr N Mrs Randall
Reviewed Askival on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Askival is set in the most amazing remote location and is as described in the brochure ! We found it warm n clean ! Yes it's a bit tired in places and could do with some updating but we enjoyed our stay ! Despite being caught up in Abigail !

Sue,david
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Have stayed at Pine Lodge on many occasions it's amazing. Sally and John are brilliant they do an amazing job to make sure you have a brilliant stay. I would definitely recommend it to everyone.

C Cruickshank
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 16/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

What a wonderful week , Seascape Cottage is an idyllic retreat , the hosts are very welcoming and your every need is catered for . The weather was very good for the time of year, very windy but that just made the sea view all the more spectacular. All this can be seen from the very cosy cottage . Shame the week ended I would have stayed longer. Can't wait to book another week .

Gill & Richard Briggs
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 15/11/2015
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

The cottage was in a fantastic location. Wildlife on your doorstep literally. Pine Martins, Deer, Red Squirrels. We used the car only once as there was so much to do and walks from the cottage. The cottage was like home from home. Did not have the TV on all week. One of the best and most relaxing holidays we have had. Will be returning again soon. Our Westie Caelie also had a great time. Thank you very much.

A Very Happy Family!
Reviewed Sixgeary on 15/11/2015
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Our stay at Sixgeary was more than we could have wished for. A super, modern croft cottage with views over the water, it provided the perfect base to explore the island. We appreciated the warm welcome from Fiona and Richard, and the lovely hamper of goodies. If you're feeling the need to properly getaway, slow down a little and reconnect with loved ones and nature, you'd be hard pushed to find anywhere better.

C& A Clark
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 15/11/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Arriving late in the day, in the dark , the cottage was not easy to find & larger, clearer signage would have been appreciated ! However, a warm, cosy, well equipped cottage in a beautiful location with stunning views was revealed to us in the morning light. It is an excellent base from which to explore this wild & beautiful part of Scotland .

Lesley Maxim
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 14/11/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Carn Loch Cottage was perfection! It could not have been more comfortable, cosy, well equipped or in a more beautifully stunning position. We cannot wait to rebook through Wilderness Cottages who's service was excellent and return to Farr next year.

J Duncan
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 13/11/2015
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Warm and cosy cottage. Great location close to the high street and woods. Had a really enjoyable stay. Well equipped, very clean and lovely welcome hamper. Would happily recommend this.

John Dodsworth
Reviewed Station Cottage on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Third visit to Station Cottage. A super little cottage in an excellent location. Always clean and tidy on arrival along with everything required for a peaceful and relaxing holiday. Our only criticism would be noisy ( until 2am ) guests staying in the Bunkhouse next door.

Bennett's & Kettle Families
Reviewed Lilybank on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

Fantastic location, beautiful property, exceeded our expectations. Property was well equipped and we didn't want for anything. We really didn't want to leave.... Great base to explore beautiful highlands...

Barbara Van Brummen
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry is a beautiful place to stay. Cosy, well decorated and well stocked kitchen. We loved the log burner and watching seals and a sea eagle from the comfort of the lodge with the telescope- fantastic really would recommend the lodge.

Lesley Drummer
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a wonderful week, with some Mediterranean weather for half the week, to boot. The log cabin is a delight. Its location is idyllic. The owners are to hand and come out to welcome their guests but otherwise are just there if needed. The cabin is beautifully presented in every room. The kitchen is very well supplied with everything and a nice gift is left for arrival. It is great for dogs, not only inside but the secure garden is perfect and walking is on the doorstep. Super place and we are back in a few weeks

Matthew
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Lovely - and truly exceptional services. Within 24 hours I received in the post my invoice (!) and when we arrived they had thoughtfully provided some milk and a welcome basket and even some wine to help us feel at home. The cottage was great and well appointed and presented. Very cozy and beautifully situated against a wonderful backdrop of mountains... The weather wasn't great but that's one thing no one can control!

Andrew M
Reviewed Balachladdich on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Balachladdich

Balachladdich is really comfortable, welcoming and well kitted out and is a fantastic base for any visit to the area. This was our second year of visiting in October so the sitting room fire was a big draw in the evenings as usual as well. Thoroughly recommended ...... (but don't tell everyone - it might catch on!)

Leo Fallon
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 12/11/2015
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Beautifully presented, spotlessly clean and really well situated. We had a brilliant, hard earned & relaxing holiday. You couldn't ask for more from a holiday home.

Elizabeth Eglinton
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 10/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

I stayed in Seascape Cottage for four nights, along with my sister and my German Shepherd dog. The cottage is situated along a farm track and looks out over the fields and the bay. We were welcomed warmly by Jane, the owner, and also by the neighbour cows! Everything in the cottage is of a high standard and we lacked for nothing as it was very well equipped and comfortable. The views from the cottage and down on the bay were beautiful. Although it was November the weather was kind to us and the sunsets were stunning for our first two nights. The dog loved the field across the road as well as the bay where she could run as much as she liked. We visited Stranraer and Portpatrick (where we had lunch in the Crown Hotel as they allow dogs in the restaurant.) I would be happy to recommend Seascape Cottage to anyone.

Brenda & Margaret
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/11/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Me & my neighbour take our dogs away every year because of the fireworks. Cottage is best I've stayed in very comfortable and very clean was a real treat. Everything you could need is there. Great area to walk dogs and no noise they had a great time. This is the first cottage we've went to that I'd definitely go back. The owner was lovely and helpful but it's all about the cottage just so comfy and clean it makes you feel relaxed and the views are to die for.

Emma Baumber
Reviewed Grain Store on 01/11/2015
And awarded it

Grain Store

Excellent late booking couldn't have been more pleased. Fabulous barn with lovely views completed by a pleasant owner. Will return for sure and for a longer visit so we can explore the surrounding walkways. Aviemore is about a 40 minute drive away for more than enough activities for the family in one place. When you get back from a day's activities the Grain Store has all you need for a relaxing evening. Is the perfect place to stay anytime of the year.

Mr Grant
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 31/10/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Great holiday cottage very clean and welcoming loved every minute

Alan Gray
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 31/10/2015
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

Total peace and quiet. Beautiful walks on the private estate (wear sensible shoes). The drive up to the cottage is an experience but once you're up there the view over the Glen is spectacular. No Wifi but a game of cards and bingo around the log fire was really homely. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will book again next year.

Catherine
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 30/10/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Characterful and comfortable cottage overlooking a spectacular bay in one of the most beautiful parts of Scotland

Peter B
Reviewed Sixgeary on 28/10/2015
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Fabulous. This cottage is in a superbly isolated location, and as such benefits from very dark skies - perfect for star gazing or aurora hunting. Cloud cover permitting of course. I've never seen so many stars in just one sky before, absolutely amazing. The cottage itself is warm, comfortable and spotlessly clean - the cleanest I've yet stayed in, and the housekeeper keeps hens, who lay the most delicious eggs. Miss them at your peril! You'll need a car, because it's miles from almost anywhere. But if you seek peace and solitude, comfort and warmth, and a view to die for, then you've found it here. The kitchen is very well equipped with anything you could need, and cleaning materials, dishcloth, loo rolls, logs, kindling, and matches plus other essentials are supplied. Bedlinen is sumptuous and cosy. Beds are divinely sleep inducing. Sleep with the front blind open and wake to the view over the loch. Heavenly. Would I book again? Yes, in a heartbeat! Go on, spoil yourself and book this lovely cottage today :)