Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 701 to 750 of 2651


Robinson Family
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 27/10/2015
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

We had an excellent stay at Moat house 9 during October 2015. The house is well equipped of a suitable size and well situated. The communal facilities are a bonus, the swimming arrangements require a little thought as at times several families/individuals are using the communal pool together which can be 'cosy' in the very small changing room, best bet is to change at your house first. Fort Augustus is spectacular this time of year and literally 10 minutes walk along the Caledonian Canal you are away from the village and surrounded by rolling hills and Scots Pine trees. The Caledonian Canal is an Engineering delight, always something going on there. Loch Ness is its usual dark and mysterious self. The local shops are within walking distance and well stocked.

Annie
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Great holiday house in a fantastic remote setting and very well equipped only did feel as it was advertised as having disabled access and has a wheelchair ramp it would have been good to have a grab handle and non slip mats in the showers

Colin Levey
Reviewed Don Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Well presented, spacious, comfortable and well equipped cottage in a lovely countryside setting - far enough away from the main town of Drumnadrochit nearby, but well located for exploring the surrounding areas. The cottage was cosy, with a great coal fire, and the kitchen was spacious, with a nice area to enjoy meal times. The cottage is decorated to a very good standard, and was very inviting on our arrival. We especially enjoyed the welcome of rose wine, whisky and shortbread - much appreciated, and a great start to our holiday, which helped set the mood for our following week. We were fortunate with warm and sunny weather for most of the week, and had great fun exploring the surrounding areas!

Helen.
Reviewed The Granary on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely cottage. All our pre-ordered shopping was put away which was brilliant and we were left a bottle of wine, a cake and flower. Really thoughtful generous touch. I would just point out that the photos are a little out of date as there is a large hedge now, outside the front door across the drive so it is more enclosed than we thought it would be. It was not a problem. Would recommend staying there.

Gillian Teanby
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a great week at Poulary Cottage in Glen Garry. A comfortable cottage in a fantastic setting. I enjoyed using the Stanley Range! Lots of wildlife to enjoy both around the cottage and in the Glen.

Alex P
Reviewed Lilybank on 19/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

We chose Lilybank at the last minute due to it's location and it being close to other family members also holidaying locally. We were expecting it to be good but it was so much better than we could have hoped for. The location is excellent, perfect as a base for exploring both North and South and the setting of the cottage is perfect, so beautiful and peaceful. The first thing that got me was the silence of an evening, as someone who lives in a busy city and works in London it was simply unreal. The cottage itself was very well equipped and everything we needed could be found with ease. The rooms were spacious and the whole place felt like a home from home. The only slight issue we had was that the cottage can get quite cold however there are supplementary plug-in heaters in each room that can turned on or set on a timer. Of an evening it was a case of firing up the log burner and this created a wonderful warm place to relax. I would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone thinking about a break in the Highlands; we are already planning our return visit for next year and may even take our summer holiday there instead of heading abroad (it really was that good!)

Norah Knox
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 18/10/2015
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous! The Lodge had everything you could want. It was very cosy too. The log burning fire had the whole place toasting. We hope to go back again the next chance we get.

Tom Bartran
Reviewed Wildwood on 16/10/2015
And awarded it

Wildwood

We loved our stay at Wildwood. Peaceful setting, close but not too close to Fort Augustus. Clean and pleasant cabin. Would definitely recommend.

Andrew & Kay
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/10/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

My wife and I enjoyed a fantastic week staying at Leachachan Barn. It's hard to imagine a nicer and more relaxing place to stay. The accomadation was everything we expected it to be from reading previous reviews. A credit to the owners.

Joanne
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/10/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Enjoyable and relaxing cottage in a peaceful loaction. Great facilities and comfortable.

Jane Crichton
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The many bends and dips of a road to nowhere lead you to White-Tail Croft. What awaits you makes every twist and turn worthwhile. The house is furnished and equipped to the highest standards, meeting every need. The focus is on quality and comfort to ensure visitors can enjoy all home comforts while experiencing the raw beauty of the Skye landscape. The croft is indeed located in a wilderness that contains a range of wildlife and scenery that changes almost by the hour. This is the perfect location to unwind and relax and also a good base to explore other places on Skye. We stayed at WTC last summer and were impatient to return this autumn. We enjoyed our visit immensely and our only gripe is that our time there passed by far too quickly.

Jan Brown
Reviewed Balmachree on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

Just returned from a very enjoyable week's stay at the property with family and 3 dogs. Balmacree is a home from home with wonderful surrounding countryside. Had a great time. Only criticism is there was no inventory that we could find to report glass damage to glass door and worktop marks on arrival. Would definitely recommend though.

Alison & Terry - Newcastle Upon Tyne
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a wonderful week in Seascape. A beautiful cottage, well kept, with amazing views and coves within minutes away. If you want peace, quiet and a relaxing time in beautiful surroundings, this is the cottage for you, the owner Jane was very welcoming and knows all about the area and surrounding places to take our dogs. We will definitely be back!

Ralph Kirk
Reviewed Lilybank on 13/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

We had a great week Lilybank. The home was better than described on the website and served as a perfect base for exploring the Scottish Highlands. We had a minor problem with a tripped circuit breaker, but were able to get instant help by calling the number provided in the instructions for the house. Highly recommend it!!

D & L Williams
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We loved Katie's cottage! Natural and charming with traditional features. Impeccably clean and had everything required for relaxing break! We were especially grateful for wine, eggs and dog biscuits thoughtfully left for us. Ideal cottage for dog owners - safe enclosed area for dogs to enjoy and practical utility room on entering cottage. This was a cosy haven to return to after daily hikes in the surrounding area.

Sally Muir
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

Absolutely gorgeous house in a wonderful position, the beds were extremely comfortable with lovely linen and masses of pillows, the view is sensational, the design of the house, ideal. It's been equipped beautifully so you have everything you need, but it's wonderfully uncluttered. We would very highly recommend it.

Donna & Chris
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

This was our 5th visit to Skye in just over a year and Pooltiel House is the best cottage we have stayed in. The welcome gifts were a lovely touch. We loved everything about this cottage right down to the excess of cups so we could use the dishwasher effectively. The only things I would double check for our next visit and there will be one is that there were pegs but no outside washing line that we could find and there was an ironing board but we couldn't find an iron. If we were there for longer this would have been an issue. Back to the plus side again, we saw 2 auroras from the cottage on the same day, morning and evening. If you are thinking of booking this cottage stop thinking and go for it.

Carucha Schwencke
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at PIne Lodge this summer. The owners gave us a very warm welcome on arrival. The location, accommodation with ample facilities were just perfect, and not to forget the views....simply awesome! Highly recommended.

Irene Hill
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 12/10/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Spent a week with family in this wonderful property. Having two bathrooms was ideal. The house was equipped with everything you could want - it's obvious that the owner is a chef as the kitchen exceeded our expectations. The renovation has been very well done and the overall result is so stylish. As for the views! The harbour, the loch, the mountains all at their best in the autumn sunshine - we even had a display of wildlife from wagtails and hawks. The single-track road had its challenges but had plenty of passing places. The immediate vicinity was extremely hilly and not for anyone with walking difficulty. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our break and definitely recommend Taigh Druim.

Mr M Roper
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 11/10/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely acomodation in beautiful setting. We really appreciated the welcome pack including chilled bottle of wine waiting us in the fridge. The cottage was very clean and well provided. Wood burner and jacuzzi bath were much appreciated after our long walks and climbs. Really enjoyable stay.

David Farquhar
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/10/2015
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We found Cuilfail to be very cosy and comfortable and perfect for anyone with a dog as the large garden was securely fenced. The local hotels and restaurants are well worth a visit for good food and they allow dogs which is a plus .We would certainly be happy to visit again

Frans & Marjon Sijmons
Reviewed Upper Folds on 10/10/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a wonderful time in Upper Folds. The cottage is the best we have ever had. It is located in a beautiful area in the hills with beautiful views, very quiet. Inside it is beautiful decorated, the ray-burn is great and we sit many times in the conservatory to look outsite. We hear the grouses and see pheasants en deer! The big garden was a pleasure for our dog Ghillie!. We had wonderful weather, 21 C and sit outsite on the bank only the midges!!! We make several walks in the surrounding. The welcome was very warm, flowers, wine, biscuits, chocolate, thank you so much! And the cottage was so clean! Everything was there incl. wood and coals. We come sertenly come back.

June Culley
Reviewed Charleston on 10/10/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a fantastic stay at the Charleston, the bungalow was very comfortable and clean with ample space for a large family. Our only criticism would be that the double shower in the master bedroom did not drain away and the fridge freezer was in need of defrosting which meant that the freezer drawers would stick and the fridge collected water and was in need of wiping out each day. There was also only one shelf at the bottom of the fridge which made storage of fresh produce awkward. The Charleston was very well equipped with all the usual appliances and we thoroughly made use of most of them all including the slow cooker and hand blender !!! We would most definitely like to return to this beautiful scenic bungalow and feel that if the above issue with the shower and fridge freezer were addressed then would be worthy of a higher rating. Many thanks to the owners for their most welcome basket of goodies, we truly were sorry to leave. :)

Lisa Staynings
Reviewed Glenara on 08/10/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

Glenara was a very comfortable cottage with all the amenities you would expect. It was well laid out and very comfortable. The double bed was very comfortable and I have it on good authority that the single bed was also very comfortable. Robin the owner was the nicest most accommodating person I have met and couldn't do enough for us. I would absolutely recommend this cottage to anyone who likes the simpler, quieter life.

Becci
Reviewed Lilybank on 08/10/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

I am pleased will picked Lilybank for our stay in Fort Augustus. We needed a base as I was running the marathon and this cottage was in the perfect location. Stunning views literally on the doorstop and a clean, tidy well equipped house. Hope to return one day.

Brenda & Terry Tong
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/10/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Had a wonderful holiday. The cottage is very comfortable and well furnished. There are some wonderful walks locally and the cottage is well located for touring the area. We would definitely use this cottage again.

Phil Elderton
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 07/10/2015
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Second time staying at this lovely cottage. Fantastic setting overlooking Loch Ness. Since last stay new double glazing and curtains put in. Well equipped and comfy. Will book again for next year.

Gerry
Reviewed Achbeag on 07/10/2015
And awarded it

Achbeag

Cosy and comfortable cottage in a fantastic location on the Wester Ross Coastal Trail. The drives, walks and coastal scenery is spectacular.

Helen Jones
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 06/10/2015
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Littlepark Cottage was in a good location to explore nearby Fort William and the Ben Nevis area to the west. If you wanted to journey south the Argyll and Bute coastal route was very picturesque. Towards the north you could journey to the picturesque port of Plockton near Skye and the Cairngorm Mountains lay to the east. However if you just wanted a beautiful scenic home form home where wildlife was certainly in abundance then you could do no better than this lovely cottage. The highlight of our stay was seeing deer go right past our door and feeding a very hungry pine marten with a preference for peanut butter! Some wonderful memories.

Mrs Amanda Knight
Reviewed An Acail on 03/10/2015
And awarded it

An Acail

M Davis
Reviewed Glen View on 30/09/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Pete & Ann
Reviewed Jura on 29/09/2015
And awarded it

Jura

Jura is a really nice house, a very comfortable holiday home and the view from the sun room is just spectacular

Peter Levine
Reviewed South Lodge on 29/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

Very well equipped and comfortable cottage in idyllic location! Would have been even more comfortable if the bed was bigger than standard 4'6'', and if there was a tea pot! The facility to play music CDs would also help, but overall a lovely cottage with really beautiful surroundings.Would happily come again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Levine, Thank you for your comments, we have double checked with the owner and the cottage does have a tea pot available, CDs can be played on the DVD player via the TV.
Lesley From Northumberland
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Steve & Sandra Huxtable, Belper, Derbyshire.
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

An excellent cottage for chilling out. Superb location with great walks straight from the door. Nice touch of a welcome pack from the owners, Graham & Lynne. Very comfortable with everything you need. Log burner with enough wood for a whole week. 1st for us. Lots of wildlife on your doorstep including Deer, Owls, Buzzards, Red Squirrels and a variety of other birds. Well recommended if you want a quiet week away from the norm.

Rob Jefferson
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 28/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Really relaxing break in a fantastic home. It's really well situated to be off the beaten track but not too far from civilisation (Portree) for you to get shopping or go out for a meal. Given that's it's nearly in the centre of the island it means you can use it as a good base for exploring. The house itself is really modern and super warm - the log burner does a cracking job of heating the place up very quickly as do the other heaters. It had all the equipment you need for a comfortable stay. Beds were comfy and the clever layout of the house with its separate bedrooms and bathrooms would mean kids and parents could have their privacy but never be too far away. The wifi was great for streaming TV or films on wet days and cold nights when you just wanted to snuggle up by the fire. Only minor niggles were a lack of dishcloths and a dishwasher that was empty of both salt and rinse aid upon arrival with no supplies to top it up with. Little things in the grand scheme of things but a tad disappointing nonetheless. Overall, we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay in a very clean, modern and comfortable home. We'd have no hesitation in recommending this place to friends and family and would happily return.

Robert & Linda
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 27/09/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Highly recommended. This is a very nicely appointed and well kept cottage in an idyllic location. With fantastic views out to sea and just a short walk to quiet bays on a rugged coastline it's a wonderful place for a peaceful holiday.

Carol Pascall
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fabulous place, great setting had everything you could possibly want or need, brilliant place to go back to after being out all day to chill out and relax, we loved it. Our dog's Skye & Ollie loved it too and for us just to let them out and know they were safe and secure in the massive fenced garden was great. The midges were a bit of a pain at this time of year but it didn't spoil things. We highly recommend Fersit Lodge if you want peace and quiet with gorgeous views with lovely walks.

Mark Peacock
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 25/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

lodge very well placed and equipped ensuring a comfortable base from which to explore the area. Owner, Donnie very accomodating and helpful. A very pleasant stay.. Many thanks

Kathy B.
Reviewed Giusaichean on 23/09/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Sue Beale
Reviewed Glenara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a fantastic week staying at Glenara which is a warm, comfortable, well positioned cottage down a tiny lane, opposite the top of the locks. The front room has an open fire and overlooks the lane towards the locks. The back room has a ceiling to floor window which made the room feel very light, with an amazing elevated view of the well-kept big garden, trees and the river. Both rooms have a TV. Well equipped kitchen and easy to use cooker and microwave. The main bedroom is downstairs, with single bedroom upstairs. Very comfortable double bed. We absolutely loved Glenara which was perfectly located away from any traffic but has everything a short walk away. Fort Augustus is a bustling little place with good pubs, chip shop, gift shops and lots of boats to watch as they travel through the locks into Loch Ness which is a 10 minute walk away. The view of Loch Ness as you're walking towards it from the bridge in Fort Augustus is stunning. The owner Rob was very friendly too, he met us on arrival and showed us around which after a very long car journey, was appreciated. We were also lucky with the weather - sunshine every day!

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

An excellent place to stay. definitely in the wilderness but not too remote. we could see the stars at night and loved watching the light from the Stoer lighthouse swing round in the distance. a stunning location in Assynt and a perfect base to come back to after active days walking the mountains and sea cliffs, beaches, lochs and woodlands nearby. it was beautifully decorated and well equipped and had a log burner too. we particularly loved cooking with the Rayburn, never done this before but it cooked things so much better than with a conventional cooker. we can thoroughly recommend it on every level.

Ishbel Orrh
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

What a week we had at Stoer Lodge! All the family gathered for a rare get together and were thrilled when we saw our home for the week, so comfortable and welcoming, with every possible need supplied for our stay. Huge sitting room, with large table for family meals and a log burner to gather round at night. However, hardly required, as we chose possibly the best week in Assynt this summer. Wall to wall blue skies, with the temperature climbing to 23 degrees at one point. And the lodge was a perfect base for all the beautiful beaches, walks and Munro bagging the family enjoyed. Will be back!

Fred & Shirley Patterson
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Cottage is set in a lovely location lots of birds and wildlife ,the cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The owner Jenny is lovely and nothing is a bother. My wife and I certainly enjoyed our stay and we will return again. Thanks again Jenny for an enjoyable stay.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Fantastic family house in a wonderful setting. Amazing views from every window, not many places where you can see a pod of dolphins from your bedroom window! Lovely walks straight from the house, some quite boggy so take your wellies. The place could do with a bit of TLC, but overall it is a truly wonderful, comfortable home. Worth going just for the views, day and night (the stars), and the chance of seeing lots of wildlife (seal and otter in the bay too!). Already planning to book for next year, only wish there was a discount for couples who only use one of the three big bedrooms!

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A very well equipped house in a brilliant spot. There is so much to see and do in the area one week was really not long enough.

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A roomy house with a wonderful view in a superb location. We saw sea eagles most days and if like us you go to Skye regularly, so are not doing the Skye tour, there are so many local walks to do - you don't need to get into your car much after the long journey to get there.

Gillian Thompson
Reviewed Sealight on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Lovely house, very well appointed and perfectly situated overlooking loch sunart. Lots of lovely walks nearby and easy access to Mull. We had Pine Martens on the decking every night! Great sightings, highly recommend.

Mr I Sim
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

An Airidh

We had an excellent 2 weeks in this well equipped, comfortable cottage. The standard of this accommodation is exceptionally high. The cottage is well situated with stunning views. If it's not 5 star rating, it should be!

Liz Yule
Reviewed Solas on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas