Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 321 to 340 of 2775


Alex, Janet & Bruce The Pooch
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/09/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Just spent a thoroughly enjoyable week relaxing in the home comforts that Seascape Cottage provided. Believe all the previous 5 star reviews about this cottage, they are true. Beautifully maintained, with great sea views. Welcoming bottle of wine and pot of wonderful homemade jam, provided by our hosts, Jane and Chas, got us off to a great start. Fabulous week, good weather was a bonus.

M Rees
Reviewed Callakille on 11/09/2016
And awarded it

Callakille

Charming cottage, loved the wood burning stove. Comfy beds, well equipped kitchen, warm throughout and good size for our family of 4. Amazing spot and views, very peaceful. We loved the whole area. As we flew to Inverness, we didn't have any food supplies with us. We happened to stop at the big Tesco near the airport to buy a few supplies but if we hadn't we would have been without milk / bread for over a day as there are virtually no shops and none open on Sundays. Not a reflection of the cottage but would have been useful to have on the general information as we didn't appreciate just how remote the peninsula is until we got there! That said, we loved the remoteness of Applecross and the nearby pub and restaurant are excellent.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Guest, thank you for your feedback, we always recommend that guests do stock us with any provisions prior to driving to Callakille as the area is remote. We are sorry if these details were not included, with the information that we provided.
Suzanne Penny
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 11/09/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

There were five adults in our group, each one of us was totally blown away by the beauty of this house and it's setting. Taigh Druim has been renovated to a high standard: oak floors, simple furnishings, white walls, wood burners, well equipped kitchen, very comfortable beds, great showers! We arrived at night in total darkness so as I walked downstairs in the morning the views from each window rendered me speechless and quite emotional! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to anyone who seeks a peaceful, stunningly beautiful retreat in a remote location (though part of me would like to keep it our secret!)

Lulu777
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 09/09/2016
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Lovely cottage very well equipped. Lovely and clean. Lovely quiet location. Fantastic walks nearby for dogs. Unfortunately had to cut our holiday short will definately return. *****

Amanda Mcintyre
Reviewed River Cottage on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

Beautiful, well equipped cottage. Dogs loved it so near to the river, we loved it, so peaceful. Would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Jackie & Jim Milne
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Had a great stay at pine lodge. Accommodation was very cosy and well equipped ideal size for me, my husband and the dog. Greatly entertained by the daily/nightly wildlife visits including the pine Martin. Scenery was fantastic and the lodge was in a good central location for getting out and about.

Pasha Habib
Reviewed Dunollie on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Dunollie

Wonderful house, neat and clean. Suitably located. The property has everything a family needs for a week. Very thoughtful interior, stock of carefully selected groceries and daily utility items in house. Overall a pleasant experience.

Steve W
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Nice, comfortable, spacious cottage on the seafront in the village of Lochcarron. It looked like it had been recently refurbished. It suited our needs - as a base for walking the hills to the north and south of Strathcarron - perfectly. Everything was as we wished.

Simon Haine
Reviewed Station Cottage on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Station Cottage

This cottage is a lovely place to stay. Myself and my family found the location perfect to unwind and get away from the world. Within easy reach of some of the areas's great spots, including some beautiful lochs, and of course Landmark theme park just down the road. Was a shame to have to leave, but would recommend and would definitely like to return.

Paul Kirkwood
Reviewed Moll House on 08/09/2016
And awarded it

Moll House

Probably the best holiday cottage we've ever stayed in. Very large, modern, fresh, light, comfortable, well appointed and peaceful. Great central location for visiting Skye's attractions. There are very few other cottages on Skye that offer such access together with a shore location but away from the main roads. So if that's what you're after book this one!

Gary , Helena , Shaida & Alfie
Reviewed The Granary on 07/09/2016
And awarded it

The Granary

We stayed at " The Granary" for a week , its centrally located in the Highlands great for exploring the west and east coast, the Cottage is furnished to a very high standard and very comfortable . Its a 5 minute walk into the village of Drumnadrochit with great pubs and Restaurants and there are walks straight from you're door. There was a very welcoming bottle of wine and cake from the owner Kirsty left out for us on our arrival and we couldn't of picked a better place to stay. Thank you once again to Wilderness Cottages for a superb holiday. We will be back .

Michael + Gabriele
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 07/09/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A warmhearted welcome with fresh eggs, jelly and homemade(!) cookies. This is a jewel of a house with a breathtaking view, an absolute perfect equipped kitchen and plenty of space. We've spend the best holiday ever and we will return there soon as possible. I would die for a place like this nearer by in Germany!

Oana Candale
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely stunning cottage , fantastic views and plenty walks. My two dogs enjoyed it as well. Highly recommended. Definitely coming back :)

Lisa Eaden
Reviewed Kimberley House on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Kimberley House was the most amazing space in the perfect location. Everything in the cottage was superb quality and the owner was very helpful. The views from the living room window across Findhorn Bay were stunning. We hope to return to Findhorn and to Kimberley House next year - it's a long journey from Yorkshire but so worth it!

Graham & Sarah Woodcock
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

The perfect holiday cottage with a fantastic enclosed garden which our dogs loved exploring. A very welcome bottle of wine waiting for us after a long drive up from Essex. All mod cons provided, everything you could possibly need for a comfortable and relaxing holiday. Couldn't have asked for more, really didn't want to leave.

Sarah B
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 06/09/2016
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We had a fantastic week at Creag nah Iolaire! The owner, Duncan, met us on arrival and gave a very friendly and thorough briefing on the facilities/locality. The cottage is absolutely gorgeous and the views are just wonderful - I could never tire of eating breakfast looking out over the Loch, whatever the weather. The decor & furniture were all lovely and we felt very much at home for our stay. We visited lots of local and not so local places and found that Drumnadrochit is a good base from which to explore much of the Highlands - in particular we love the drive around to Foyers to visit the Falls, The Lovat Arms in Fort Augustus for a fantastic meal and of course the Isle of Skye which is a fair journey but worth the drive as it's so beautiful. Previous reviews have mentioned the driveway to the cottage being steep - which it is - but it presented no problems for our cars (neither of which are 4x4) as long as we kept in 1st gear and took it slowly. Once you've done it once it becomes much easier! The only thing I think could be improved is the water pressure to the bath upstairs, which is currently very slow indeed and makes running a bath quite a long affair! Overall one of the best cottages we've ever stayed in, highly recommended.

Julie, Andy, Lizzi, Vicki & Elwood
Reviewed Sunnyhill Croft on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Sunnyhill Croft

We stayed at Sunnyhill Croft from 13th to 20th August and had a wonderful week. We found the property to be extremely comfortable and the views from the large picture window in the lounge are truly breath-taking. Sunnyhill can be found a couple of miles down a lane past Gairloch, the drive down this road is beautiful with views of the sea and mountains. We have never been to Scotland and were overcome by the hospitality and friendliness. We found Sunnyhill Croft a good base to explore the Highlands, the nearby beaches at Big Sand and Gairloch are exceptional and very dog friendly. We liked everything about this property and its setting and will definitely be coming back next year.

James & Sylvaine Mackie
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

We had a lovely stay in Tor Fionn. There was a warm welcome on arrival (oatcakes, jam, tea and milk) and all the arrangements (address, key etc.) were as agreed with Wilderness Cottages. The cottage is cosy, comfortable and well-equipped. The views from all the windows across Loch Carron are superb both during sunshine and when it rains. Shop/post office are in walking distance and Tor Fionn provides an excellent base for exploring Wester Ross. We did walking both in Loch Carron itself and munro walking (slightly further afield) and had a very nice visit to the Applecross peninsula. A great stay in a really nice cottage.

Julie, Andy, Lizzi, Vicki & Elwood
Reviewed Charleston on 30/08/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

We stayed at Charleston from 20th to 27th August and had the most wonderful and relaxing week. The house is beautiful and much bigger than we thought it would be, it has every amenity and the owners even left a welcome pack to help us settle in. The property is on top of a hill, at the end of a long track. The views are breath-taking and it is extremely peaceful and quiet. We managed to see lots of wildlife, including deer and several large birds of prey. The house is also surrounded by fields and the local cows seemed to fall in love with our Labrador, coming to the fence to see him. We cannot recommend this property highly enough, and will definitely be returning next year.

NEIL WHITE
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 28/08/2016
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

we had a great time at seascape. superb cottage,v.clean.very nice friendly owners who give us wine and jam as a welcoming gift. v.thoughtful after our long journey from essex.i would certainly recommend this cottage. please note,owners live right next to cottage,a point which seems to have missed in the photos.