Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 801 to 850 of 2775


Karen, David, Jessica (5) & Jack The Cocker Spanie
Reviewed South Lodge on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is in a beautiful location, if a little out of the way but that is what attracted us to it. There is everything you need in the cottage and it was a fantastic base to come back to after a days exploring. There are a few walks from the doorstep, one to a beautiful beach which we had all to ourselves for the day. The cottage wasn't immaculately clean when we arrived - we ended up having to push the hoover round, but the bedding and towels were spotless. The grass had been cut and strimmed the day we arrived which looked pretty but the grass ended up being walked into the cottage and ended up everywhere! We had an issue with the smoke / CO2 alarm but this was quickly resolved with an email to the owners and a new one was delivered the following day, along with a bird table for the garden - a brilliant addition! On the whole, the cottage is lovely, comfortable and was more than adequate for what we needed - a brilliant week was had by all! We were even blessed with Scottish sunshine for the majority of the week!!

Bron & Jenn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 07/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We really enjoyed our stay at Don Cottage. The location was superb, the house comfortable and the gifts on arrival were really appreciated. Thank you.

Kim & John Winter
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What can we say about Marnie's Croft - it really was an amazing place to stay! We stayed as a family of four with our dog, the views over Loch Ness and Urqhuart Castle are truly amazing and to see the sun rise over the Loch in the mornings is truly memorable. The croft is extremely clean, and well maintained, the kitchen has a very good supply of utensils and we were glad to have a washing machine and tumble dryer to use as well. Heating was night storage heaters and we also used the wood burner with lots of wood and an axe supplied! The bedrooms are comfortable and it was lovely to have two bathrooms.We spent a wonderful week here and explored all of the Highlands - we would thoroughly recommend Marnie's Croft to anyone looking to stay somewhere truly special with beautiful gardens and we even saw the deer! Would love to come again.

Christian & Pascale, France
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a very pleasant stay in Beech Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable and includes everything we need ! It is very quiet and the landscape is beautiful. The owner is very friendly ! Scotland and Beech Lodge are fantastic !

Arijit
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 04/09/2015
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

I visited this cottage and stayed there for 3 nights with my friend and family. It was really an wonderful experience and I loved every moment of the stay. The cottage was clean and tidy. Kitchen was very good and well equipped. The swimming pool was awesome. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very also clean and linens /towels were fresh and nice. Cottage was fantastically located near Loch Ness and the stream behind the cottage was pleasure to watch. I wish to visit the cottage again and will recommend all to go there.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a fantastic stay at The Coltsfoots and were made to feel immediately welcome on our arrival - the wine and shortbread was greatly appreciated! The location is fantastic for exploring the Highlands and we certainly made the most of the sunshine during the first days of our visit, even squeezing in a barbecue using the facilities provided. The cabin has everything you need, including a wood burning fire which we used towards the end of our stay as the nights grew a little colder. Everything in the cabin is well apportioned; the bedrooms are large and comfortable with excellent showering facilities. The living area has comfy sofas and we had plenty of choice of DVDs to keep the kids happy in the evenings. The kids loved the outdoor area, playing football, cricket and fishing in the stream. We couldn't have wished for a better location - the village is only a five minute walk with a couple of nice pubs offering local real ales and food. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Highlands. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Tjorven
Reviewed Franks on 02/09/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Vesna & Andi
Reviewed Callakille on 02/09/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Absolutely beautiful cottage. Very stylish interior, everything fits perfectly together and gives you a warm welcome. As you can only hear the wind, the sheep and the ocean. we found it very relaxing! We enjoyed every minute here und plan to come back soon! :-)

Nelly & Derek
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

What a fabulous place, equipped with everything you could need and more. Owner only a phone all away if needed and supplier of best eggs you ever had!!!!!. Drive is a bit steep but it takes you to a nicely secluded spot over looking some fantastic scenery and birds and wild life in the garden so no need to move for entertainment if you did not want to. Would recommend for everybody.

John, Julie & Ben Reay
Reviewed The Orchids on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful cottage set in an idyllic location. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen containing modern appliances and high quality equipment. Overlooking Loch Dunvegan and only a short walk from the jetty, the cottage enjoys outstanding views of Dunvegan Castle and the Cuillin mountains in the distance. An ideal location to relax and unwind from the stresses of life, yet close to Dunevgan which has an array of shops and restaurants,

Julie Martin
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Holly Cottage, it is clean, spacious, comfortable, beautifully furnished and we received a warm welcome by the lovely owners. We found the area a good base from which to explore the Highlands and would recommend Holly Cottage to friends and family.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Kimberley House on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Wonderful accommodation. We have been visiting Findhorn for many years and stayed in many holiday lets - this is the best by miles . We have already rebooked for 2 weeks next year. Many thanks to Loraine for bring the perfect host.

Steve & Heather Lawrence (Kent)
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic place to get away from it all and a good central base to see most of the Highlands. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would expect from your own home comforts. It is is very well presented, clean and very warm if you choose to light the log fire. If you are planning to eat in, then the nearest large supermarket is in Fort William so this needs to be taken into consideration. Fort Augustus has a reasonable Londis store and a very good Butchers and chip shop. The surrounding pubs offer a wide range of food and drink to accommodate everyone's taste. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing, get away from it all holiday. A return visit is being planned

Judith Tait
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

We had an amazing stay at the Cattle Shed. The cottage is of a very high standard and the views are breath taking. Everything was great from the beginning to the end of our holiday. We had our dog with us and there were so many wonderful walks just behind the cottage in the forest trail. We plan to return and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Rachael Harvey
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

This was our first visit to Scotland and we were not disappointed! The accommodation was wonderful and spacious and the views (particularly the sunsets) were absolutely spectacular! Far enough from civilisation to be incredibly peaceful, but near enough to get shopping (although our Tesco home delivery driver wasn't terribly impressed!) The cottage was absolutely wonderful and had everything we could possibly need. Fantastic holiday.

Ruth123
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

We stayed here as 2 families of 4 and found the house to be perfect for our needs. Spacious and well equipped with a large garden which was very safe for the kids. Good wifi and sky tv too if you need it. The local pub also very friendly and good pub grub. Great base to explore the highlands. We will definitely stay again. If you are staying at Balmachree we can highly recommend the walk across the road to the falls of foyers aprox 10 miles round trip but an easy and enjoyable walk for most abilities.

Mim664
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed in Seal Skerry Lodge and had an amazing week. The accommodation was spotless on arrival and had all the home comforts you could possibly need. The only thing we found missing that we needed was a potatoe masher, we resorted to a fork which did the job perfectly. The views over the Loch and out to the Hebrides were breathtaking. We had lovely weather for most of the holiday, the one completely rainy day was made bearable by the lovely house to relax in during the day and a delicious meal at The Old School resteraunt in Dunvegan in the evening. We would recommend a visit to Neist Point to see the sunset and also to go during the day to walk to the lighthouse. The boat ride from Dunvegan castle to see the seals was also a highlight for some of our party! We managed a swim at coral beach, worth a visit even if the weather isn't warm enough to swim. In summary fantastic accommodation in an awe inspiring place!

S Riding
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

What a fantastic little cottage. When we arrived after a long drive the cottage was clean and welcoming, there were eggs, milk, bread, and butter in the fridge plus tea, coffee, sugar and other bits and pieces in the cupboard. The cottage is quite spacious and we immediately felt at home. The kitchen is very well equipped and a washing machine is housed in the shed round the back. The conservatory has a sofa for dogs, a very nice touch for those dogs used to curling up on the couch at home and this is where we spent most of our time when not out. There's a phone in the cottage for incoming and local calls so family can still get hold of you in an emergency and also a TV with free view. The garden has a barbecue, table and chairs and there are a couple of deck chairs in the shed. The garden is overgrown away from the cottage but a nice grassy path has been cut through to get down to the beach. The beach is a lot closer than it looked in the photos and has large stretches of sand surrounded by rocks, perfect for dogs to chase balls and swim. The cows do wander quite close to the cottage and were even down on the beach one morning but they tended to move off when they saw us coming. This cottage provided everything we wanted in a holiday - privacy, peace and quiet, fantastic views, and space for the dogs to roam. Highly recommended.

Karen Farr
Reviewed Mealishal on 30/08/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Sandra P
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous cottage in a lovely location. the cottage was very clean and comfortable with every amenity you require.The walks from the cottage were stunning and the people were really friendly. All in all a wonderful holiday.

Ian Lee
Reviewed Sealight on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We stayed at Sealight for two weeks in August 2015, the property is modern, very well equipped and tastefully decorated. The views from Sealight are splendid looking out to the loch and to the mountains beyond, The surrounding area is quiet, lots of good walks and climbs and an abundance of wildlife, we saw deer, pine martins, birds of prey and in the loch, seals and porpoises. We have stayed in many holiday cottages across Britain over the last ten years but Sealight is certainly the best, we would definately holiday there again.

Val Hindmarsh
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Great location with spectacular views over Skye, Rona and Raasay and in the other direction the Torridon Mountains. Good condition generally and well resourced. Aga needs some work on it to clean thoroughly but we enjoyed cooking on it. Ironing board, but apparently no iron - or couldn't find it. Be ready for lots of silence only punctuated by sheep and highland cattle. Great eateries within a reasonable distance. Walking and wild swimming for those who are inclined. All in all, no complaints!

Catriona Akana
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a wonderful week in this lovely, comfortable, warm and very well-equipped cottage. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, teeming with wildlife including deer, red squirrels, and lots of birds. It is beautifully quiet and rural, excellent walking country and also within easy reach of larger centres like Inverness. We hope to return soon!

Margaret Steed
Reviewed Lilybank on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

Stayed at Lilybank with my husband, and our son and his wife, and their two little girls. We had a wonderful time, the cottage was beautiful, and the views were awesome. had fantastic holiday and have recommended Wilderness to our friends and relatives. will definitely be booking with you again.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have stayed in other Wilderness cottages that have been much more out in the wilds and really off the beaten track. Fersit is a very small hamlet consisting of around 8 other houses. There are some lovely challenging and non challenging walks straight from the front door so something for everyone. The ever changing views from the large windows were dramatic at times. We were blessed with 5 days of sunny warm still dry days (not what I was expecting) and this in turn meant that the midges were at their worst in the evening so no chance to sit out on the patio. The log cottage was well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc.) spacious and clean. Don't expect great wifi here (but you are on a wilderness holiday after all so why would you need it?) as it is very slow. It has been a great place to chill out and see some great Scottish views.

Gordon Riksen
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Beautiful, well finished cottage but it's all about the Seascape. Fantastic views and lovely beaches. If it's a relaxing break away from it all you're after then this is the one. We would happily go back. That says it all I think. Thanks to Jane for the warm welcome.

Chris Stark
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge - really lovely house in a stunning location. Family of 4 fitted in really well and the overall provision of "Stuff" in the house is great. Really lovely place and we'd love to go back again.

M Taylor
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Comfortable cottage in great location. Weather was good too so all made for excellent holiday break.

Paul Johnston
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Had an excellent holiday at this fabulous cottage. The cottage was well equipped and ideally located with plenty of places to visit locally. Couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough.

Falk & Janina
Reviewed South Lodge on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

A beautiful, secluded cottage with a wonderful view. Had a very relaxing stay! Nice beaches nearby, even if it needs a little effort to reach them. A lot of wildlife to see. Next supermarket (and Pub) in Tarbert is around 12 miles away and there's only a single track road leading there. You should give that a thought! The cottage provides everything to get over even the worst weather conditions (which we had for an entire day). Loads of DVDs, BluRays and books to find as well as a sky TV bundle! When we arrived, the cottage was cleaned all right but there may be some space for improvement. Nonetheless we would book the cottage definitely again!!! Strongly recommended in order to escape the hurley-burley of city life!!!! But careful! You may not wanna leave again!

Phil Walters
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely stunning cottage, clean, every possible extra in a superb rural wilderness location. Amazing scenery, wildlife in fact if you did not see this outstanding cottage you could never dream of such heaven. Warm, toasty, peaceful. This is an absolute must for anyone wanting the ultimate "get away from it all." We will be back as soon as we can.......superb in every possible way.

Susie Parr
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely cottage and great views. Owners really helpful. Weather was great for our holiday with plenty of things to do and walks to take.

The Bears
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We could have banqueted on the view forever. The Croft was spotless and had all that wanted. The sauna was wonderful after a days walking. We will definitely return. Sheer perfection.

Sarah W
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig croft is beautifully remote and well equipped. We had a problem with the shower during our stay which was fixed in good time. The croft was ideal for my all the family and our dogs too and would stay there again.

Nick, Elmie, Aaron & April Eady
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Sonia Heale
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Sharon Butterworth
Reviewed Mealishal on 21/08/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Teresa P
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/08/2015
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

this is the second time we have stayed at this cottage and it was just as good as the first. the cottage is very well equipped with all the kitchen equipment needed and it has the most fantastic views. the road up to the cottage is challenging and our car did struggle a bit but we managed to get there ok. it was very well positioned for walks and sightseeing. we saw deer, pheasants and lots of birds in the garden.

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Christies

Another fantastic week at the lovely Christie's! Cottage was as comfy and cosy as ever,view over Scourie Bay...just stunning. Many happy 'kindle moments' had in the window seat! Was great 'catching up' with friendly neighbour,James,and his adorable 4 legged companion,Tizzy! The boat trip James skippers from Kylesku Hotel is highly recommended...scenery,wildlife and information given is fantastic! We'll be back (already planning for 2017)! ????

Colin Winfield
Reviewed Glenara on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

A charming and perfectly located cottage with everything we needed. A good selection of shops and restaurants available within walking distance. Centrally positioned for easy access to many tourist attractions.

Chris And Emma Ing
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

An exceptionally well appointed and well maintained lodge: you will need for nothing here! The lodge was delightfully furnished and comfortable and Jenny, the owner, was careful to ensure we had everything we wanted. Best of all, however, is the setting...the smell of green, the quiet, the beautiful woods, parkland and burn. We swam in pools and under waterfalls most days, and were able to walk on the high hills of Glen Affric, arguably, Scotland's most beautiful glen.

John & Lesley Wilson
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in.It was well equipped very clean with lovely furnishings. The views from the floor to ceiling windows give the opportunity to enjoy views across to Ireland (on a clear day) and to observe a vast array of wildlife. It is very peaceful and we would recommend it for those who are want to "get away from it all".

John Hadingham
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Perfect, cosy, well equipped, great location!

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Christies

Another fantastic week at the lovely Christie's! Cottage was as comfy and cosy as ever,view over Scourie Bay...just stunning. Many happy 'kindle moments' had in the window seat! Was great 'catching up' with friendly neighbour,James,and his adorable 4 legged companion,Tizzy! The boat trip James skippers from Kylesku Hotel is highly recommended...scenery,wildlife and information given is fantastic! We'll be back (already planning for 2017)! ????

Stephen & Julie Scragg
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We write these few lines with sad hearts as we know our superb holiday and stay at Bayside cottage is coming to an end for another year. This exceptional pet friendly accommodation is the centre of once again a first class holiday for the second time in 2016. The owners provide first class accommodation with all the home comforts you can think of for both you and your four legged friends you may wish to bring along . A welcome tray to grace any first class letting welcomes you on arrival and that's just the start of a most enjoyable memorable stay at Bayside cottage. The spacious decking area across the road brings in to play a well used and welcome out side dinning and chill out area for all to enjoy. For the times cooking is not on the agenda a short walk down the road brings you to the first class and world renouned Applecross Inn with local produce to tempt you with, ably presented by the owner Judy and her superb team of welcoming staff. To sum up if your desire is for a happy and first class holiday in accommodation and a setting of The highest standard we thoroughly recommend a stay at Bayside cottage . Relax and Enjoy Stephen & Julie Scragg

David Ward
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A fantastic log cabin in its own wooded area, fully loaded with everything you could ever require... We loved the quiet, tranquil exclusive wood with its own stream nearby, which is full of squirrels,frogs,birds etc. which all visit regularly. Our dog Bailey had the time of his life exploring. Although it is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Fort Augustus, you feel much further away.. It is a good central location to the highlands. We will definitely return and would recommend The Coltsfoots to anyone looking for this type of holiday.

Mr Michael Rogers
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We have just returned from a weeks break at Shore Cottage. Never before has any holiday lived up to our expectations. Shore Cottage certainly did. We all absolutely loved it, esp our dog Monty, he expects to sleep on our settee at home now as well.

Jackie + Steve
Reviewed Sealight on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Just.......wonderful! Fantastic house, EVERY mod-con, light and roomy with views to die for - what more can we say? We are hoping to return again in 2016 - can't get a better recommendation than that! (Only 'warning' to other guests - we had O2 and Orange/EE phones - neither of which had reception on most of the peninsula; occasionally we noticed that the 'Vodafone' network was available - but that was also patchy. The wifi was BRILLIANT at the house - so we used Skype to keep in touch with family - but best not to rely on phone/text!)

Donald Holden
Reviewed Aros Beag on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a lovely stay in a wonderful cottage. The setting was lovely and the couple that run it were really helpful, they also run a really nice cafe that is a two minute walk from the cottage.

David & Susan,
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Beautiful setting with lovely views over Loch Kishorn towards Skye and into the Applecross peninsula. The cottage itself only metres from the seashore. Lovely cottage, well equipped and comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing break. Well placed for walking and for access to other areas/ activities. Thanks for a great holiday.