Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 851 to 900 of 2651


Mr I Sim
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

An Airidh

We had an excellent 2 weeks in this well equipped, comfortable cottage. The standard of this accommodation is exceptionally high. The cottage is well situated with stunning views. If it's not 5 star rating, it should be!

Liz Yule
Reviewed Solas on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Graham Venning
Reviewed Solas on 19/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Sheila Capewell
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We loved the cottage. You can't beat the location. My grandparents lived on Shore Street just four houses from Bayside so for me it was like reliving my childhood except the road is now much busier than 35 years ago. The road would be a problem with young kids. The cottage was warm and cosy and had everything we needed including a highchair and cot for our one year old grandson. The welcome tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge are a lovely touch. The deck on the shore is great. We had fabulous weather so we sat out on it eating and drinking. Great meals at the Applecross Inn and the Walled Garden as always. We'll be back.

Austin
Reviewed The Granary on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Very nice place to stay - comfortable, quiet, well-equipped, and within walking distance of the village. Highly recommended.

James H
Reviewed Rhundunan on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Rhundunan

One word: Superb. Excellent in every way.

David Carr
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a great place to stay and unwind. The view out from the cottage is to die for. Owners are very friendly. A great welcome was given and we were sad to leave. One thing to mention is no mobile signal at cottage so great for complete isolation.

P Thompson
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 16/09/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

The cottage was a warm and cosy. However it did suffer as there is no upstairs toilet. Also the drive leaves a lot to be desired as the gravel approach is a difficult to drive over. Also the gate needs attention - it's difficult to open and shut. The matress in the double bedroom needs replacing. Otherwise all was fine.

Sandie
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/09/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

If peace & tranquility with stunning views are on your wish list, this is the place for you.

Nic Sheehan
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Had a fantastic stay !

MIke Ryan
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The cabin was in an ideal location for us and our two chocolate labradors. Fort Augustus is only a short 10 minute walk away, but you would never know. The location was so quiet. Great base for local walks and day trips. The cabin is equipped really well, to a high standard and is probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The owners really have though of everything.

Rosemary Wentworth
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We found Torvaig Cottage very comfortable and warm. The owners were welcoming and helpful.

Edward
Reviewed Callakille on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

A beautiful little house where one can really relax and unwind. Light the woodburner or soak in the roll top bath. We were lucky with a whole week of fantastic weather but it would have been enjoyed regardless. An excellent little shop in Applecross for most needs. The pub there was fantastic. Friendly staff and amazing food. Four visits for either lunch or dinner! Top tip... apparently Tesco will deliver to the cottage! Go, you will love it.

David Mason
Reviewed The Bothy on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Bothy

Had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Bothy. Everything you need day to day is at hand.

Carol S
Reviewed The Mill on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Mill

We stayed in The Grain Store in 2014 and loved it so much we returned this year, although with a 2nd dog we needed the extra space of The Mill this time. These are excellent 'home from home' properties with commanding views down the glen. The wifi is a bit ropey so not suitable for taking any work away with you, so that's another thing in favour of staying here. Double bed could be doing with upgrading but it didn't affect sleep so not a big deal. There isn't an enclosed garden area to let dogs roam but a training line attached to sturdy fence post sorted that. Weather was fantastic again this year too letting us enjoy the peace and quiet outdoors as much as possible. Great walks in the area for dog lovers.

Henk Wesselink
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Amazing location & beautiful cottage with a fabulous Rayburn to cook on and stay warm. Had an amazing relaxing time away! Thank you again!

Michael Clark
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We used Braehead Steading as a location base while filming in the area. We all fell in love with the place and were really happy with the rooms and facilities. The dining table was well used by cast and crew, seating up to 8 people, it made a big difference to meetings and the great meals prepared in the kitchen. Very enjoyable stay - highly recommended.

Silke Goetzmann
Reviewed Don Cottage on 12/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don Cottage is a beautiful and cosy holiday home. Sitting in front of the house, a cup of coffee with me and enjoying the marvellous landscape was my favorite start of day. Thanks for the lovely welcome present. We have enjoyed the holidays at Don Cottage and we would return tomorrow if it would be possible ;-) The only criticism or perhaps I should say the only suggestion for the ad : " Walking distance " is a very relative term . ;-)

Paul & Jacqui
Reviewed The Orchids on 12/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

This property offers everything you could want or need for a holiday in Skye, the scenery is quite special and it is very peaceful. You wouldn't be disappointed. For us a it was a lovely place to spend our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Thank you Linda.

The Menneer Family
Reviewed Sixgeary on 11/09/2015
And awarded it

Sixgeary

What a fabulous property! We couldn't have wished for any more - apart from having another week's stay here! Everything was spotlessly clean on arrival and we had everything we could possibly need. The view was spectacular, even on a rainy day. Plenty to see and do nearby, but remote enough to escape from everything.

Mike & Julie Whitehead
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 10/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Had a great week at Fersit log cottage. Very clean and tidy on arrival . wonderful views all around , and so peaceful. Deer,barn owl and red squirrel visited the garden regularly. wot a wonderful place . hope to go back one day.

Heather & Tony Carpenter
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 10/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre has everything to make a most enjoyable and relaxing holiday. The location, the facilities and the friendliness extended to us by Jane was outstanding. We would happily recommend Swallow Byre to anyone who wants a most restful break.

Matthew
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Sadly we were not blessed with the weather the week we stayed but the views and the property more than made up for that. It was a great lodge that provided a good mix of luxury and isolation. Skye is a beautiful island and if we choose to come again we would definitely stay here. Thank you for a memorable honeymoon.

Geoff Gowers
Reviewed The Bell on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

The Bell

Connie Wallace
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

The cottage was exactly as described in the description and a few reviewers pointed out other aspects of the cottage, i.e. it is 0.4 mile off the paved road down a somewhat potholed gravel driveway, but we managed it just fine in a sedan. The seclusion is very much a part of the cottage's charm. The water is somewhat "peaty" so if that offends you, take bottled water to drink. The cottage is in a wonderful setting and there are several hiking & biking destinations that start right there at the front door. It was very comfortable and cozy and a fire in the wood stove in the sitting room was very nice at night.

Pam & Bob Kent
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage on the Applecross Peninsula is a wonderful little cottage. All you could need and the kitchen has everything you would need in a kitchen. Even the dogs felt welcome with a 'Boneo' each and water bowl. The beach is too rocky for your dog in front of the cottage but only 4 miles away is the best beach any dog would love . For me personally the lounge furniture is not very comfortable though is in keeping with the cottage .

Alexandre
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, very clean and tidy. Warm welcome from the owner. Equipement & furniture are of quality, everything look as new. Very well situated. We spent a nice week there, touring in Northern Highland.

Andrea
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Debra
Reviewed Upper Folds on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a wonderful find!! Beautiful cottage in the most peaceful and stunning setting.All of the small gestures on arrival like the milk and wine, the fire ready to light and the heating on made us feel very welcome, our dogs had a great time in the garden and we now feel recharged and rested after a few days....will definitely be back, we couldn't have asked for more

Gill & John
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A fabulous house in a fabulous location.

Helen M Bale
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a marvellous holiday cottage with everything suppied. Comfortable and warm with lovely views and wildlife. We would recommend it to all holiday makers wishing to have a lovely holiday in Scotland.....we shall return!

Karen, David, Jessica (5) & Jack The Cocker Spanie
Reviewed South Lodge on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is in a beautiful location, if a little out of the way but that is what attracted us to it. There is everything you need in the cottage and it was a fantastic base to come back to after a days exploring. There are a few walks from the doorstep, one to a beautiful beach which we had all to ourselves for the day. The cottage wasn't immaculately clean when we arrived - we ended up having to push the hoover round, but the bedding and towels were spotless. The grass had been cut and strimmed the day we arrived which looked pretty but the grass ended up being walked into the cottage and ended up everywhere! We had an issue with the smoke / CO2 alarm but this was quickly resolved with an email to the owners and a new one was delivered the following day, along with a bird table for the garden - a brilliant addition! On the whole, the cottage is lovely, comfortable and was more than adequate for what we needed - a brilliant week was had by all! We were even blessed with Scottish sunshine for the majority of the week!!

Bron & Jenn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 07/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We really enjoyed our stay at Don Cottage. The location was superb, the house comfortable and the gifts on arrival were really appreciated. Thank you.

Kim & John Winter
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What can we say about Marnie's Croft - it really was an amazing place to stay! We stayed as a family of four with our dog, the views over Loch Ness and Urqhuart Castle are truly amazing and to see the sun rise over the Loch in the mornings is truly memorable. The croft is extremely clean, and well maintained, the kitchen has a very good supply of utensils and we were glad to have a washing machine and tumble dryer to use as well. Heating was night storage heaters and we also used the wood burner with lots of wood and an axe supplied! The bedrooms are comfortable and it was lovely to have two bathrooms.We spent a wonderful week here and explored all of the Highlands - we would thoroughly recommend Marnie's Croft to anyone looking to stay somewhere truly special with beautiful gardens and we even saw the deer! Would love to come again.

Christian & Pascale, France
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a very pleasant stay in Beech Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable and includes everything we need ! It is very quiet and the landscape is beautiful. The owner is very friendly ! Scotland and Beech Lodge are fantastic !

Arijit
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 04/09/2015
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

I visited this cottage and stayed there for 3 nights with my friend and family. It was really an wonderful experience and I loved every moment of the stay. The cottage was clean and tidy. Kitchen was very good and well equipped. The swimming pool was awesome. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very also clean and linens /towels were fresh and nice. Cottage was fantastically located near Loch Ness and the stream behind the cottage was pleasure to watch. I wish to visit the cottage again and will recommend all to go there.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a fantastic stay at The Coltsfoots and were made to feel immediately welcome on our arrival - the wine and shortbread was greatly appreciated! The location is fantastic for exploring the Highlands and we certainly made the most of the sunshine during the first days of our visit, even squeezing in a barbecue using the facilities provided. The cabin has everything you need, including a wood burning fire which we used towards the end of our stay as the nights grew a little colder. Everything in the cabin is well apportioned; the bedrooms are large and comfortable with excellent showering facilities. The living area has comfy sofas and we had plenty of choice of DVDs to keep the kids happy in the evenings. The kids loved the outdoor area, playing football, cricket and fishing in the stream. We couldn't have wished for a better location - the village is only a five minute walk with a couple of nice pubs offering local real ales and food. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Highlands. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Tjorven
Reviewed Franks on 02/09/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Vesna & Andi
Reviewed Callakille on 02/09/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Absolutely beautiful cottage. Very stylish interior, everything fits perfectly together and gives you a warm welcome. As you can only hear the wind, the sheep and the ocean. we found it very relaxing! We enjoyed every minute here und plan to come back soon! :-)

Nelly & Derek
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

What a fabulous place, equipped with everything you could need and more. Owner only a phone all away if needed and supplier of best eggs you ever had!!!!!. Drive is a bit steep but it takes you to a nicely secluded spot over looking some fantastic scenery and birds and wild life in the garden so no need to move for entertainment if you did not want to. Would recommend for everybody.

John, Julie & Ben Reay
Reviewed The Orchids on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

The Orchids is a beautiful cottage set in an idyllic location. The cottage is spacious and comfortable with a well equipped kitchen containing modern appliances and high quality equipment. Overlooking Loch Dunvegan and only a short walk from the jetty, the cottage enjoys outstanding views of Dunvegan Castle and the Cuillin mountains in the distance. An ideal location to relax and unwind from the stresses of life, yet close to Dunevgan which has an array of shops and restaurants,

Julie Martin
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Holly Cottage, it is clean, spacious, comfortable, beautifully furnished and we received a warm welcome by the lovely owners. We found the area a good base from which to explore the Highlands and would recommend Holly Cottage to friends and family.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Kimberley House on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Kimberley House

Wonderful accommodation. We have been visiting Findhorn for many years and stayed in many holiday lets - this is the best by miles . We have already rebooked for 2 weeks next year. Many thanks to Loraine for bring the perfect host.

Steve & Heather Lawrence (Kent)
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 01/09/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

A fantastic place to get away from it all and a good central base to see most of the Highlands. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would expect from your own home comforts. It is is very well presented, clean and very warm if you choose to light the log fire. If you are planning to eat in, then the nearest large supermarket is in Fort William so this needs to be taken into consideration. Fort Augustus has a reasonable Londis store and a very good Butchers and chip shop. The surrounding pubs offer a wide range of food and drink to accommodate everyone's taste. I would highly recommend the cottage to anyone who wishes to have a relaxing, get away from it all holiday. A return visit is being planned

Judith Tait
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

We had an amazing stay at the Cattle Shed. The cottage is of a very high standard and the views are breath taking. Everything was great from the beginning to the end of our holiday. We had our dog with us and there were so many wonderful walks just behind the cottage in the forest trail. We plan to return and would definitely recommend to friends and family.

Rachael Harvey
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

This was our first visit to Scotland and we were not disappointed! The accommodation was wonderful and spacious and the views (particularly the sunsets) were absolutely spectacular! Far enough from civilisation to be incredibly peaceful, but near enough to get shopping (although our Tesco home delivery driver wasn't terribly impressed!) The cottage was absolutely wonderful and had everything we could possibly need. Fantastic holiday.

Ruth123
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

We stayed here as 2 families of 4 and found the house to be perfect for our needs. Spacious and well equipped with a large garden which was very safe for the kids. Good wifi and sky tv too if you need it. The local pub also very friendly and good pub grub. Great base to explore the highlands. We will definitely stay again. If you are staying at Balmachree we can highly recommend the walk across the road to the falls of foyers aprox 10 miles round trip but an easy and enjoyable walk for most abilities.

Mim664
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed in Seal Skerry Lodge and had an amazing week. The accommodation was spotless on arrival and had all the home comforts you could possibly need. The only thing we found missing that we needed was a potatoe masher, we resorted to a fork which did the job perfectly. The views over the Loch and out to the Hebrides were breathtaking. We had lovely weather for most of the holiday, the one completely rainy day was made bearable by the lovely house to relax in during the day and a delicious meal at The Old School resteraunt in Dunvegan in the evening. We would recommend a visit to Neist Point to see the sunset and also to go during the day to walk to the lighthouse. The boat ride from Dunvegan castle to see the seals was also a highlight for some of our party! We managed a swim at coral beach, worth a visit even if the weather isn't warm enough to swim. In summary fantastic accommodation in an awe inspiring place!

S Riding
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

What a fantastic little cottage. When we arrived after a long drive the cottage was clean and welcoming, there were eggs, milk, bread, and butter in the fridge plus tea, coffee, sugar and other bits and pieces in the cupboard. The cottage is quite spacious and we immediately felt at home. The kitchen is very well equipped and a washing machine is housed in the shed round the back. The conservatory has a sofa for dogs, a very nice touch for those dogs used to curling up on the couch at home and this is where we spent most of our time when not out. There's a phone in the cottage for incoming and local calls so family can still get hold of you in an emergency and also a TV with free view. The garden has a barbecue, table and chairs and there are a couple of deck chairs in the shed. The garden is overgrown away from the cottage but a nice grassy path has been cut through to get down to the beach. The beach is a lot closer than it looked in the photos and has large stretches of sand surrounded by rocks, perfect for dogs to chase balls and swim. The cows do wander quite close to the cottage and were even down on the beach one morning but they tended to move off when they saw us coming. This cottage provided everything we wanted in a holiday - privacy, peace and quiet, fantastic views, and space for the dogs to roam. Highly recommended.

Karen Farr
Reviewed Mealishal on 30/08/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal