Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 901 to 950 of 2651


Sandra P
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous cottage in a lovely location. the cottage was very clean and comfortable with every amenity you require.The walks from the cottage were stunning and the people were really friendly. All in all a wonderful holiday.

Ian Lee
Reviewed Sealight on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We stayed at Sealight for two weeks in August 2015, the property is modern, very well equipped and tastefully decorated. The views from Sealight are splendid looking out to the loch and to the mountains beyond, The surrounding area is quiet, lots of good walks and climbs and an abundance of wildlife, we saw deer, pine martins, birds of prey and in the loch, seals and porpoises. We have stayed in many holiday cottages across Britain over the last ten years but Sealight is certainly the best, we would definately holiday there again.

Val Hindmarsh
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Great location with spectacular views over Skye, Rona and Raasay and in the other direction the Torridon Mountains. Good condition generally and well resourced. Aga needs some work on it to clean thoroughly but we enjoyed cooking on it. Ironing board, but apparently no iron - or couldn't find it. Be ready for lots of silence only punctuated by sheep and highland cattle. Great eateries within a reasonable distance. Walking and wild swimming for those who are inclined. All in all, no complaints!

Catriona Akana
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a wonderful week in this lovely, comfortable, warm and very well-equipped cottage. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, teeming with wildlife including deer, red squirrels, and lots of birds. It is beautifully quiet and rural, excellent walking country and also within easy reach of larger centres like Inverness. We hope to return soon!

Margaret Steed
Reviewed Lilybank on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

Stayed at Lilybank with my husband, and our son and his wife, and their two little girls. We had a wonderful time, the cottage was beautiful, and the views were awesome. had fantastic holiday and have recommended Wilderness to our friends and relatives. will definitely be booking with you again.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have stayed in other Wilderness cottages that have been much more out in the wilds and really off the beaten track. Fersit is a very small hamlet consisting of around 8 other houses. There are some lovely challenging and non challenging walks straight from the front door so something for everyone. The ever changing views from the large windows were dramatic at times. We were blessed with 5 days of sunny warm still dry days (not what I was expecting) and this in turn meant that the midges were at their worst in the evening so no chance to sit out on the patio. The log cottage was well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc.) spacious and clean. Don't expect great wifi here (but you are on a wilderness holiday after all so why would you need it?) as it is very slow. It has been a great place to chill out and see some great Scottish views.

Gordon Riksen
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Beautiful, well finished cottage but it's all about the Seascape. Fantastic views and lovely beaches. If it's a relaxing break away from it all you're after then this is the one. We would happily go back. That says it all I think. Thanks to Jane for the warm welcome.

Chris Stark
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge - really lovely house in a stunning location. Family of 4 fitted in really well and the overall provision of "Stuff" in the house is great. Really lovely place and we'd love to go back again.

M Taylor
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Comfortable cottage in great location. Weather was good too so all made for excellent holiday break.

Paul Johnston
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Had an excellent holiday at this fabulous cottage. The cottage was well equipped and ideally located with plenty of places to visit locally. Couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough.

Falk & Janina
Reviewed South Lodge on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

A beautiful, secluded cottage with a wonderful view. Had a very relaxing stay! Nice beaches nearby, even if it needs a little effort to reach them. A lot of wildlife to see. Next supermarket (and Pub) in Tarbert is around 12 miles away and there's only a single track road leading there. You should give that a thought! The cottage provides everything to get over even the worst weather conditions (which we had for an entire day). Loads of DVDs, BluRays and books to find as well as a sky TV bundle! When we arrived, the cottage was cleaned all right but there may be some space for improvement. Nonetheless we would book the cottage definitely again!!! Strongly recommended in order to escape the hurley-burley of city life!!!! But careful! You may not wanna leave again!

Phil Walters
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely stunning cottage, clean, every possible extra in a superb rural wilderness location. Amazing scenery, wildlife in fact if you did not see this outstanding cottage you could never dream of such heaven. Warm, toasty, peaceful. This is an absolute must for anyone wanting the ultimate "get away from it all." We will be back as soon as we can.......superb in every possible way.

Susie Parr
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely cottage and great views. Owners really helpful. Weather was great for our holiday with plenty of things to do and walks to take.

The Bears
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We could have banqueted on the view forever. The Croft was spotless and had all that wanted. The sauna was wonderful after a days walking. We will definitely return. Sheer perfection.

Sarah W
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig croft is beautifully remote and well equipped. We had a problem with the shower during our stay which was fixed in good time. The croft was ideal for my all the family and our dogs too and would stay there again.

Nick, Elmie, Aaron & April Eady
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Sonia Heale
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Sharon Butterworth
Reviewed Mealishal on 21/08/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Teresa P
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/08/2015
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

this is the second time we have stayed at this cottage and it was just as good as the first. the cottage is very well equipped with all the kitchen equipment needed and it has the most fantastic views. the road up to the cottage is challenging and our car did struggle a bit but we managed to get there ok. it was very well positioned for walks and sightseeing. we saw deer, pheasants and lots of birds in the garden.

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Christies

Another fantastic week at the lovely Christie's! Cottage was as comfy and cosy as ever,view over Scourie Bay...just stunning. Many happy 'kindle moments' had in the window seat! Was great 'catching up' with friendly neighbour,James,and his adorable 4 legged companion,Tizzy! The boat trip James skippers from Kylesku Hotel is highly recommended...scenery,wildlife and information given is fantastic! We'll be back (already planning for 2017)! ????

Colin Winfield
Reviewed Glenara on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

A charming and perfectly located cottage with everything we needed. A good selection of shops and restaurants available within walking distance. Centrally positioned for easy access to many tourist attractions.

Chris And Emma Ing
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

An exceptionally well appointed and well maintained lodge: you will need for nothing here! The lodge was delightfully furnished and comfortable and Jenny, the owner, was careful to ensure we had everything we wanted. Best of all, however, is the setting...the smell of green, the quiet, the beautiful woods, parkland and burn. We swam in pools and under waterfalls most days, and were able to walk on the high hills of Glen Affric, arguably, Scotland's most beautiful glen.

John & Lesley Wilson
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in.It was well equipped very clean with lovely furnishings. The views from the floor to ceiling windows give the opportunity to enjoy views across to Ireland (on a clear day) and to observe a vast array of wildlife. It is very peaceful and we would recommend it for those who are want to "get away from it all".

John Hadingham
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Perfect, cosy, well equipped, great location!

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Christies

Another fantastic week at the lovely Christie's! Cottage was as comfy and cosy as ever,view over Scourie Bay...just stunning. Many happy 'kindle moments' had in the window seat! Was great 'catching up' with friendly neighbour,James,and his adorable 4 legged companion,Tizzy! The boat trip James skippers from Kylesku Hotel is highly recommended...scenery,wildlife and information given is fantastic! We'll be back (already planning for 2017)! ????

Stephen & Julie Scragg
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We write these few lines with sad hearts as we know our superb holiday and stay at Bayside cottage is coming to an end for another year. This exceptional pet friendly accommodation is the centre of once again a first class holiday for the second time in 2016. The owners provide first class accommodation with all the home comforts you can think of for both you and your four legged friends you may wish to bring along . A welcome tray to grace any first class letting welcomes you on arrival and that's just the start of a most enjoyable memorable stay at Bayside cottage. The spacious decking area across the road brings in to play a well used and welcome out side dinning and chill out area for all to enjoy. For the times cooking is not on the agenda a short walk down the road brings you to the first class and world renouned Applecross Inn with local produce to tempt you with, ably presented by the owner Judy and her superb team of welcoming staff. To sum up if your desire is for a happy and first class holiday in accommodation and a setting of The highest standard we thoroughly recommend a stay at Bayside cottage . Relax and Enjoy Stephen & Julie Scragg

David Ward
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A fantastic log cabin in its own wooded area, fully loaded with everything you could ever require... We loved the quiet, tranquil exclusive wood with its own stream nearby, which is full of squirrels,frogs,birds etc. which all visit regularly. Our dog Bailey had the time of his life exploring. Although it is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Fort Augustus, you feel much further away.. It is a good central location to the highlands. We will definitely return and would recommend The Coltsfoots to anyone looking for this type of holiday.

Mr Michael Rogers
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We have just returned from a weeks break at Shore Cottage. Never before has any holiday lived up to our expectations. Shore Cottage certainly did. We all absolutely loved it, esp our dog Monty, he expects to sleep on our settee at home now as well.

Jackie + Steve
Reviewed Sealight on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Just.......wonderful! Fantastic house, EVERY mod-con, light and roomy with views to die for - what more can we say? We are hoping to return again in 2016 - can't get a better recommendation than that! (Only 'warning' to other guests - we had O2 and Orange/EE phones - neither of which had reception on most of the peninsula; occasionally we noticed that the 'Vodafone' network was available - but that was also patchy. The wifi was BRILLIANT at the house - so we used Skype to keep in touch with family - but best not to rely on phone/text!)

Donald Holden
Reviewed Aros Beag on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a lovely stay in a wonderful cottage. The setting was lovely and the couple that run it were really helpful, they also run a really nice cafe that is a two minute walk from the cottage.

David & Susan,
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Beautiful setting with lovely views over Loch Kishorn towards Skye and into the Applecross peninsula. The cottage itself only metres from the seashore. Lovely cottage, well equipped and comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing break. Well placed for walking and for access to other areas/ activities. Thanks for a great holiday.

Brigitte Gerlach
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 17/08/2015
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Taffs Barn is a very comfortable and well equipped accomodation. The owner was very friendly and we had a warm welcome with scones, clotted cream, marmalade, tea and milk. The cottages is suitable for family with two kids or for two couples as well.

Moira Lavinia Settle
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 17/08/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This holiday (Summer 2015) was our third summer in a row at Hillhead Croft. On our first visit in 2013 we knew that this was a very special place (house and location). One that we would wish to return to many times in years to come and that was reconfirmed in 2015.

J Cook
Reviewed Ardrannach on 16/08/2015
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We were really pleased with our stay at Ardrannach Cottage on the Isle of Skye. The cottage was well appointed and there was bread, milk and ice cream waiting for us on our arrival which was a wonderful surprise. The cottage was in a totally remote area, but only a short walk to the local village which was brilliant. The kids loved the real peat fire and the fact there were chickens walking around the house. We loved staying in the cottage!!

Adrian M
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 16/08/2015
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Very good accommodation in a superb area; remote and quiet, yet within walking distance of Hotel/bar and also a Spar shop for the papers! The cottage is very well equipped with all amenities and everything is of good quality (I imagine because the owners stay there themselves too occasionally). Beds are quite comfy and no noise in the bedrooms/upstairs even when wind & rain is battering from the Atlantic one night! Would stay again there again, as the surrounding area is beautiful and fantastic beaches nearby.

Skyefriend01
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 16/08/2015
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

A beautiful house in a wonderfully tranquil setting overlooking Loch Dunvegan. Spacious and well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing week.

Harma
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 15/08/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We had a fantastic week !!! Four seasons in 1 hour, but every minute beautiful. Also good weather. Boat trips, the see, the mountains, birds, dolphins, seals, we had a great time. The house is very warm, well equiped and with superb views. I really recommend this beautiful house and surroundings.

Sandra & Brian Motion
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. It was very clean and had everything you needed to enjoy your stay. The owners even left a lovely welcome pack which was much appreciated. The garden is fully enclosed and was perfect as we had our dog with us. He thoroughly enjoyed the freedom to run around the large garden. There are lots of places to visit in the area and all within a 15-20 minute car journey. You can also have a walk down to The Black Isle Brewery for a wee visit and a taste of their organic beers. Would recommend to friends and family

William Hopkins
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Fabulous cottage in a great location. We really enjoyed our stay. we will book again.

Mark C
Reviewed Moll House on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Moll House

Moll House is certainly the biggest place we've every stayed in during our 30 years of holidays in Scotland but it was still homely and clean. The weather wasn't fantastic but that didn't spoil our enjoyment of the house and its environs. As promised, there are lovely vistas from every window and it's a very light house. Its position on Skye is ideal for travelling to all parts of the island. Really enjoyed our stay and wish we'd stayed longer.

Judith
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

This cottage suited us perfectly. It had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. Away from it all, we enjoyed the company of seals and otters every day!

Pete L
Reviewed River Cottage on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

We had a great time here. Lovely location with the river at the bottom of the garden. Very clean and well looked after property. Fully equipped kitchen, good shower, comfy bed. We loved it and and our dog loved it too.

SteveW
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Aileen Todd
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

The cottage was very comfortable and warm and had everything we needed. The enclosed garden was great as we had taken our young dog with us and we all enjoyed the lovely short walks just on the door step.

Robert Flyde
Reviewed The Granary on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

We had a fantastic 2 week stay at the Granary. A home from home. Perfect setting and place to stay for days out across the highlands. We went up to John o groats and across to the Isle of Skye. Our children enjoyed the highland wildlife park the best and meeting the polar bears. Fully recommend the granary and we will be back again.

Natalie & Mark
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Delightfully furnished and spotlessly clean, Holly Cottage is ideally located for exploring Inverness and the Highlands. Little touches like fresh flowers, the heating on, wine, shortbread and milk in the fridge were much appreciated.

Linda K
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Beautiful cottage to stay in. Spacious, well planned accomodation. Great views and setting. Very welcoming, especially the cream tea and fresh flowers. Loads to do in the area and great places to eat. Loved the dolphins at Chanonry Point. Definitely recommend it and would love to go again.

Izzy Brook Haslam
Reviewed Eilean Mor on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Eilean Mor

G. Adam
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Kincardine is a lovely cottage in very remote setting with just sheep as neighbours. It is an ideal base for hiking in the Cairngorms National park. Aviemore is about 10 minutes by car offering all services. The conservatory is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the views of the Cairngorms. The large kitchen is well equipped with a large dining table. The cosy living room is the place to sit around the wood burning stove after a day of hiking. The two bedrooms a roomy and offer great views on a sunny morning. The bathroom has an old fashioned bathtub with no shower. It would benefit from a makeover. Our rating is "very good". To make make it "excellent" the cleaner should pay more attention to details like cobwebs in the house and coffee stains in the kitchen. We would defintely recommend Kincardine Cottage to friends and might return.

Loraine
Reviewed Coach House on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Coach House