Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 901 to 950 of 2775


Brenna Musial
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 20/06/2015
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Me and my fiance Garret stayed at Cameron's Cottage on our trip to Scotland through the Highlands and it was by far the highlight of our trip. Morag was a delightful host and we stayed an extra night because of how lovely the cottage and surrounding area was! We could not have had a better experience and cannot wait to go back. I would recommend this to anyone travelling through Scotland, even if it means going out of your way!

Eric & Helen Russell
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 19/06/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Helen and Eric, thank you for your review, we are delighted that you have enjoyed your third visit and we look forward to welcolming you back soon.
Dave McKay
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 13/06/2015
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Sylvia
Reviewed Glenara on 07/06/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

Just had a week in this lovely cottage. Very well equipped, clean and comfortable. Owner was worried about stairs for my 91 y.o. Mother but hand rails on both sides of stairs made it easy for her. Really enjoyed our time there

Henry Moran
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 07/06/2015
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We loved our stay at Hill cottage. It does feel remote - no mobile phone signal, no tv network coverage (there is a tv for DVD's and VHS) and no internet connection but all that means is there is nothing to distract from the most amazing views from the new conservatory. The amount of wildlife we saw just from the house was incredible and the surrounding area has some great walking, beautiful places to explore and some really good places to eat. Would definitely recommend this cottage

Judith Etheridge
Reviewed Askival on 06/06/2015
And awarded it

Askival

It said as it did in the book. Yep it's remote, you need a strong car to manage the roads. But just great. Nearest shop 15 mins away. We got all ours in Fort William before we did the last part of the trip. Everything you would have at home was there. We are already booked up for next year. We saw our 1st otter on our last day at 04.15.

Lee Mellor
Reviewed Franks on 02/06/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Tyne
Reviewed Callakille on 01/06/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Still overwhelmed by the beauty of the cottage and the surrounding. Amazing views over the minch to Raasay and Skye. Could spend the rest of all days on earth just sitting on the bench outside - I literally stopped breathing there. And the rest of all days in universe I'd spend in that fantastic bathroom with it's beautiful Victorian bath tub! Stunning place, romantic couples would love it, too - I was completely on my own and did not miss a thing - but now I do... I miss Callakille

Jane Moore
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/06/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Just come back from fantastic week in this lovely spacious modern home-missing it and the incredible views out the back already. Couldn't wish for a more cosy environment with the under floor heating and wood burning stove to warm up to after a day's walking. Great to be able to drop down the rocks further down from the house and have morning walks down to the local jetty and watch the seals playing. Cannot recommend highly enough.

HEATHER WATSON
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 27/05/2015
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

Spent a fantastic week at Shepherd's Cottage this month. What a beautiful setting. The cottage itself is superb with first class facilities. The surrounding countryside is breath taking with an abundance of wildlife. We took our two dogs who happily dried off in the utility area before entering the cottage. They loved the large garden and surrounding walks. This is one of the best cottages we have stayed in and will definitely return (availability permitting). Highly recommend.

Marilyn Wilkie
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/05/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We spent a really relaxing week in this very comfortable, beautifully clean cottage enjoying the views of the sea. The owners, who live nearby are helpful and very respectful of your privacy. A really enjoyable holiday

Kim Vernon
Reviewed Ardrannach on 26/05/2015
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Second trip to this cottage and just as lovely as last time. The picture window in the lounge is the thing that makes this cottage so special, we spent a lot of time just looking out of the window, watching the bunnies and the scenery. It's also really well located, walkable to Portree over fields and drivable in ten mins and yet feels like the wilderness. Perfect.

Rene Carrons
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 21/05/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Cottage modern warm and welcoming after a short drive from Portree. Road to croft needs a bit of maintenance. Croft itself was done in very good taste and was very clean. wonderful to see wildlife from the large window in the kitchen/diner. From a white tail eagle, golden eagles, buzzards etc to red deer. Just as well I had my own binoculars only thing missing at croft. would recommend this croft to all. Great weeks break.

David Littlejohn
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 20/05/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

We spent a wonderful week in April at Tigh-na-Craobh with wall to wall sunshine, great food and great friends. The house is perfectly located in beautiful Braes, close enough to Portree for essential supplies but far enough away to enjoy great mountain and coast views. The house is nicely designed; and simply decorated and furnished in a contemporary style. We particularly liked the open plan kitchen/living room. Will definitely rent again at some point in the, hopefully, near future.

Tanja & Sandro
Reviewed An Slinnean on 19/05/2015
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Ria Ball
Reviewed Callakille on 08/05/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Such a beautiful, cosy cottage in the most stunning location. We have stayed twice now and can't wait to return again.

Jan Greenway
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 04/05/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Stunning location with wonderful views. Very well equipped property and was spacious enough for our party of 5. This is the cleanest property I have stayed in over the last seven years of holidays in Scotland. Even the Wi-Fi worked very well. You can see plenty from the property and within short walking distance. We saw Sea Eagles and Seals. We boarded the Ferry to Loch Maddie which was lovely as we saw Otters and Dolphins on route. This is our first holiday on Skye which was truly lovely.

Steven Fenton
Reviewed Balmachree on 30/04/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

Stayed here in July 2014. 4 adults, 1 infant, 3 dogs and there felt like there was space for much more! We were so lucky with the weather the week we stayed but even if it wasn't so nice it wouldn't have mattered as the property is perfect and located close to Fort Augustus and the local hotel serves decent food! My little girl & all the dogs loved the massive garden space, genuinely a great property!

Lorna Dudley
Reviewed Charleston on 29/04/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Excellent and beautiful house. Cannot fault anything. The welcome hamper and fresh flowers was much appreciated

Gordon Humber
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 28/04/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Suffice to say that Stoer Lodge is one of the best little get away from it all places I have had the pleasure to stay in. Lovely house, lovely little beach, and absolutely stunning scenery. I would recommend it to anyone who wants to get away from the rat race for a bit

John Hammell
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/04/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a wonderful stay, with the cottage being ideal - an amazing view, excellent weather and a very comfortable place to stay. Our dogs enjoyed the beach and local walks.

Jenny Beaumont
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 25/04/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We've just returned home from a wonderful week in Katie's Cottage. Very well equipped cottage which had everything we needed. Beautiful location and next to the Red Roof Cafe too! Really appreciated the wine, eggs and dog biscuits provided by the owners. It's always a delight to find cottages likes these which will accept two dogs. Great to have the secure garden and useful utility area for the dogs too. The only downside is that the lighting in the bathroom was not good.

Thomas Waugh
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 23/04/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We have just returned from the cottage. Location is idyllic, cottage is lovely has all you need and is very comfortable indeed. The log fire and sun room were especially nice and inviting (My wife says the kitchen was top to, never found the kitchen myself like). The lock keeper is especially friendly and enjoys a good bleether (chat). We have already enquired about returning next year which I think says it all. Highly recommended

Carolyn Galloway
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/04/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage is a cosy home from home with the added benefit of a coal/log fire. It has everything you could wish for a relaxing break in a truly wonderful setting. The decking at the waters edge is the perfect place to watch the sunset with a glass of vino. The Applecross Inn, just yards away, serves delicious food. Fantastic scenery. The drive over the pass is breathtaking and a challenge for the cycle enthusiast.

Carol
Reviewed Fhaireag on 22/04/2015
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fantastic location for a great house! Definitely a home from home. Dogs loved the garden, often disappearing to investigate. Deer at fence line at some point everyday, fortunately dogs weren't loose in garden at the time. House has everything you need, it's far enough away from the A9 to give you the true wilderness feeling but close enough to give great access to all the points we wanted to see. Watch the road to Fort Augustus it's not suitable for dogs that get the least bit travel sick!

Julie
Reviewed Mealishal on 22/04/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Jo Jones & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 21/04/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Fantastic place to stay...the house is so well equipped and the owners thoughtful welcome pack and attention to detail is amazing! The views are wonderful and our whole holiday was totally relaxing. We cannot wait to return. The best place we have stayed in Scotland!

Nathalie, Paul & Laura
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 21/04/2015
And awarded it
Ruth Adams
Reviewed Giusaichean on 18/04/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Clare
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We loved Oak Cottage! Absolutely everything we could have needed was catered for, including a surprise welcome basket which was a lovely touch. The cottage is even lovelier than the pictures suggest, particularly this time of year with all the daffodils in bloom. Our wee 11-month old loved the underfloor heating - as did we, especially given the unexpected chilly weather and April snow showers! We all enjoyed watching the ducks on the pond and the birds in the garden. Highly recommended!

Andrea
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

I loved every minute of my stay at Ardoch Bothy. The views are to die for and the bothy itself is a delight. Everything so thoughtfully done - it was cosy, comfortable and inspiring. I can't wait to go back.

Craig Young
Reviewed Ardrannach on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Nice comfy cottage, stunning views. Only a 20 minute walk to Portree. A couple of nice walks straight from the cottage door.would recommend

J. Charnley
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

This is a fantastic cottage in a spectacular setting. It is immaculately clean and full of everything you could possibly need. The owners have thought of absolutely everything and the cottage feels like a much loved home. A super comfortable bed ensures a great night's sleep after a day of walking, going on one of the excellent boat trips from Elgol, or simply enjoying the views from the garden seating. We were very sad to leave and can't wait to return.

Fergus Macmillan
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 14/04/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is a new cottage which was very comfortable and well presented with lovely views. It sits on a deserted stretch of coastline with an abundance of birdlife, and other wildlife, around the area. The owners who live close by were very friendly to us. It was a perfect place for a relaxing break, and we also enjoyed exploring the Rhins of Galloway, which has some real treats in store for those who look. We did a lot of walking and have returned feeling much healthier.

Jo & Ian Lloyd
Reviewed Coach House on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Coach House

Gloria
Reviewed Mealishal on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Brian Murdoch
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Love this cottage and the beautiful scenery surrounding it. Have been coming here for many years now and will continue for many more.

Tracy Strachan
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Beautifully appointed large cottage fully equipped. Spotlessly clean and very comfortable. Stunning location and views with an abundance of great walks. The owners even thought of treats for the dogs along with beds and water bowls!

John Hartshorn
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

A fantastic property - possibly one of the best views there is, and with a wonderful deck overlooking the loch, harbour, and into the Cuillin. It's well equipped, super clean, everything works. There are great walks from the front door (Camasunary is a must, as is the Spar Cave). Elgol has a good little shop and a fantastic coffee shop. Wilderness Cottages are also very efficient, and the information pack was excellent. I thoroughly recommend both this cottage, and also Wilderness Cottage.

Mrs Heather Waugh
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 13/04/2015
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Holly
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 11/04/2015
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Great cabin in an absolutely beautiful location. We stayed for five days before Easter and it was a wonderfully refreshing break away from Edinburgh.

L Wilson
Reviewed Drumfad Cottage on 09/04/2015
And awarded it

Drumfad Cottage

This is a lovely cottage in an ideal location for exploring the local area. It is furnished to a high standard and has everything you need for a self catering holiday. The garden is very spacious and fully enclosed so was ideal for our dog. Cons: There is wifi, but it is an extension of the owners wifi so it was a bit intermittent. The property is adjoined to the Drumfad Barn and there is a connecting door between the two properties at the lounge area, so noise carries.

Gabi
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 08/04/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Very tasteful renovated cottage. Everything seems to be thought through. On our arrival we also found milk in the fridge, tea, coffee and some nice shortbread. It is in the countryside so you need a car. Next shops about 5 mile away. Good access to Glen Afric (about 1 hours drive).

Mrs Gillian Deller
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 08/04/2015
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We all loved this cottage. It was perfectly clean and beautifully decorated, with a lovely homely feel. The garden was perfect for our dog, who loved going out and running around. We appreciated the welcome pack which included some treats for our dog as well as a bottle of wine, sweets and biscuits for us. The situation of the cottage was lovely and would be perfect in the summer although a car was definitely necessary, as the nearest shops were in Nairn about 3-4 miles away. We will return!

Mr A O Wilcock
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 08/04/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

28th March-4th April 2015. Excellent facilities and location. Weather was not good (snow, hail, rain, gale force winds !!) but didn't stop us from visiting Mull of Galloway, Port Patrick, Logan Gardens etc etc. All easily reached on quiet roads. Property was/is very comfortable, very warm (much needed for us) and peaceful. Directions were also excellent. Ideal for birdwatching and walking. Would love to return during the spring (warmer?) months to witness the wild flowers.Thank you.

J Franks
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/04/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This is an incredible place to stay, both in terms of the location and the stylish property that has been developed to sit so beautifully within the landscape. Warm, well equipped and with stunning views it is an oasis of calm, and a lovely home to return to. It's easy to explore the northern parts of Skye from White-Tail Croft and after windy and wet days (always with some sunshine!) a sauna is a fabulous bonus too. Great memories of a wonderful holiday, in no small part thanks to this croft.

Neville Poole
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 05/04/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Fantastic week. Holiday home well met expectations, lovely open plan living with exceptional views. It was well worth the long drive and will definitely return at some time in the future

Mark & Jackie Stevens & Family
Reviewed The Bell on 03/04/2015
And awarded it

The Bell

Wendy Gray
Reviewed Upper Folds on 03/04/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Beautiful cottage, very comfortable and warm, loved the remoteness. Wildlife was entertaining, especially the "boxing hares".

Eric & Helel Russell
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 01/04/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde