Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 901 to 950 of 2798


Robert & Linda
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 27/09/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Highly recommended. This is a very nicely appointed and well kept cottage in an idyllic location. With fantastic views out to sea and just a short walk to quiet bays on a rugged coastline it's a wonderful place for a peaceful holiday.

Carol Pascall
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fabulous place, great setting had everything you could possibly want or need, brilliant place to go back to after being out all day to chill out and relax, we loved it. Our dog's Skye & Ollie loved it too and for us just to let them out and know they were safe and secure in the massive fenced garden was great. The midges were a bit of a pain at this time of year but it didn't spoil things. We highly recommend Fersit Lodge if you want peace and quiet with gorgeous views with lovely walks.

Mark Peacock
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 25/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

lodge very well placed and equipped ensuring a comfortable base from which to explore the area. Owner, Donnie very accomodating and helpful. A very pleasant stay.. Many thanks

Kathy B.
Reviewed Giusaichean on 23/09/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Sue Beale
Reviewed Glenara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a fantastic week staying at Glenara which is a warm, comfortable, well positioned cottage down a tiny lane, opposite the top of the locks. The front room has an open fire and overlooks the lane towards the locks. The back room has a ceiling to floor window which made the room feel very light, with an amazing elevated view of the well-kept big garden, trees and the river. Both rooms have a TV. Well equipped kitchen and easy to use cooker and microwave. The main bedroom is downstairs, with single bedroom upstairs. Very comfortable double bed. We absolutely loved Glenara which was perfectly located away from any traffic but has everything a short walk away. Fort Augustus is a bustling little place with good pubs, chip shop, gift shops and lots of boats to watch as they travel through the locks into Loch Ness which is a 10 minute walk away. The view of Loch Ness as you're walking towards it from the bridge in Fort Augustus is stunning. The owner Rob was very friendly too, he met us on arrival and showed us around which after a very long car journey, was appreciated. We were also lucky with the weather - sunshine every day!

Jane Parfitt
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

An excellent place to stay. definitely in the wilderness but not too remote. we could see the stars at night and loved watching the light from the Stoer lighthouse swing round in the distance. a stunning location in Assynt and a perfect base to come back to after active days walking the mountains and sea cliffs, beaches, lochs and woodlands nearby. it was beautifully decorated and well equipped and had a log burner too. we particularly loved cooking with the Rayburn, never done this before but it cooked things so much better than with a conventional cooker. we can thoroughly recommend it on every level.

Ishbel Orrh
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

What a week we had at Stoer Lodge! All the family gathered for a rare get together and were thrilled when we saw our home for the week, so comfortable and welcoming, with every possible need supplied for our stay. Huge sitting room, with large table for family meals and a log burner to gather round at night. However, hardly required, as we chose possibly the best week in Assynt this summer. Wall to wall blue skies, with the temperature climbing to 23 degrees at one point. And the lodge was a perfect base for all the beautiful beaches, walks and Munro bagging the family enjoyed. Will be back!

Fred & Shirley Patterson
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Cottage is set in a lovely location lots of birds and wildlife ,the cottage has everything you need to make your stay enjoyable. The owner Jenny is lovely and nothing is a bother. My wife and I certainly enjoyed our stay and we will return again. Thanks again Jenny for an enjoyable stay.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Askival

Fantastic family house in a wonderful setting. Amazing views from every window, not many places where you can see a pod of dolphins from your bedroom window! Lovely walks straight from the house, some quite boggy so take your wellies. The place could do with a bit of TLC, but overall it is a truly wonderful, comfortable home. Worth going just for the views, day and night (the stars), and the chance of seeing lots of wildlife (seal and otter in the bay too!). Already planning to book for next year, only wish there was a discount for couples who only use one of the three big bedrooms!

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A very well equipped house in a brilliant spot. There is so much to see and do in the area one week was really not long enough.

Cath McGhee
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 22/09/2015
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A roomy house with a wonderful view in a superb location. We saw sea eagles most days and if like us you go to Skye regularly, so are not doing the Skye tour, there are so many local walks to do - you don't need to get into your car much after the long journey to get there.

Gillian Thompson
Reviewed Sealight on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Lovely house, very well appointed and perfectly situated overlooking loch sunart. Lots of lovely walks nearby and easy access to Mull. We had Pine Martens on the decking every night! Great sightings, highly recommend.

Mr I Sim
Reviewed An Airidh on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

An Airidh

We had an excellent 2 weeks in this well equipped, comfortable cottage. The standard of this accommodation is exceptionally high. The cottage is well situated with stunning views. If it's not 5 star rating, it should be!

Liz Yule
Reviewed Solas on 21/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Graham Venning
Reviewed Solas on 19/09/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Sheila Capewell
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We loved the cottage. You can't beat the location. My grandparents lived on Shore Street just four houses from Bayside so for me it was like reliving my childhood except the road is now much busier than 35 years ago. The road would be a problem with young kids. The cottage was warm and cosy and had everything we needed including a highchair and cot for our one year old grandson. The welcome tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge are a lovely touch. The deck on the shore is great. We had fabulous weather so we sat out on it eating and drinking. Great meals at the Applecross Inn and the Walled Garden as always. We'll be back.

Austin
Reviewed The Granary on 18/09/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

Very nice place to stay - comfortable, quiet, well-equipped, and within walking distance of the village. Highly recommended.

James H
Reviewed Rhundunan on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Rhundunan

One word: Superb. Excellent in every way.

David Carr
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 17/09/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a great place to stay and unwind. The view out from the cottage is to die for. Owners are very friendly. A great welcome was given and we were sad to leave. One thing to mention is no mobile signal at cottage so great for complete isolation.

P Thompson
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 16/09/2015
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

The cottage was a warm and cosy. However it did suffer as there is no upstairs toilet. Also the drive leaves a lot to be desired as the gravel approach is a difficult to drive over. Also the gate needs attention - it's difficult to open and shut. The matress in the double bedroom needs replacing. Otherwise all was fine.

Sandie
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 15/09/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

If peace & tranquility with stunning views are on your wish list, this is the place for you.

Nic Sheehan
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Had a fantastic stay !

MIke Ryan
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The cabin was in an ideal location for us and our two chocolate labradors. Fort Augustus is only a short 10 minute walk away, but you would never know. The location was so quiet. Great base for local walks and day trips. The cabin is equipped really well, to a high standard and is probably the cleanest place I have ever stayed. The owners really have though of everything.

Rosemary Wentworth
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We found Torvaig Cottage very comfortable and warm. The owners were welcoming and helpful.

Edward
Reviewed Callakille on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

A beautiful little house where one can really relax and unwind. Light the woodburner or soak in the roll top bath. We were lucky with a whole week of fantastic weather but it would have been enjoyed regardless. An excellent little shop in Applecross for most needs. The pub there was fantastic. Friendly staff and amazing food. Four visits for either lunch or dinner! Top tip... apparently Tesco will deliver to the cottage! Go, you will love it.

David Mason
Reviewed The Bothy on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Bothy

Had a very comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Bothy. Everything you need day to day is at hand.

Carol S
Reviewed The Mill on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

The Mill

We stayed in The Grain Store in 2014 and loved it so much we returned this year, although with a 2nd dog we needed the extra space of The Mill this time. These are excellent 'home from home' properties with commanding views down the glen. The wifi is a bit ropey so not suitable for taking any work away with you, so that's another thing in favour of staying here. Double bed could be doing with upgrading but it didn't affect sleep so not a big deal. There isn't an enclosed garden area to let dogs roam but a training line attached to sturdy fence post sorted that. Weather was fantastic again this year too letting us enjoy the peace and quiet outdoors as much as possible. Great walks in the area for dog lovers.

Henk Wesselink
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Amazing location & beautiful cottage with a fabulous Rayburn to cook on and stay warm. Had an amazing relaxing time away! Thank you again!

Michael Clark
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 14/09/2015
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We used Braehead Steading as a location base while filming in the area. We all fell in love with the place and were really happy with the rooms and facilities. The dining table was well used by cast and crew, seating up to 8 people, it made a big difference to meetings and the great meals prepared in the kitchen. Very enjoyable stay - highly recommended.

Silke Goetzmann
Reviewed Don Cottage on 12/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don Cottage is a beautiful and cosy holiday home. Sitting in front of the house, a cup of coffee with me and enjoying the marvellous landscape was my favorite start of day. Thanks for the lovely welcome present. We have enjoyed the holidays at Don Cottage and we would return tomorrow if it would be possible ;-) The only criticism or perhaps I should say the only suggestion for the ad : " Walking distance " is a very relative term . ;-)

Paul & Jacqui
Reviewed The Orchids on 12/09/2015
And awarded it

The Orchids

This property offers everything you could want or need for a holiday in Skye, the scenery is quite special and it is very peaceful. You wouldn't be disappointed. For us a it was a lovely place to spend our 30th Wedding Anniversary. Thank you Linda.

The Menneer Family
Reviewed Sixgeary on 11/09/2015
And awarded it

Sixgeary

What a fabulous property! We couldn't have wished for any more - apart from having another week's stay here! Everything was spotlessly clean on arrival and we had everything we could possibly need. The view was spectacular, even on a rainy day. Plenty to see and do nearby, but remote enough to escape from everything.

Mike & Julie Whitehead
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 10/09/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Had a great week at Fersit log cottage. Very clean and tidy on arrival . wonderful views all around , and so peaceful. Deer,barn owl and red squirrel visited the garden regularly. wot a wonderful place . hope to go back one day.

Heather & Tony Carpenter
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 10/09/2015
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre has everything to make a most enjoyable and relaxing holiday. The location, the facilities and the friendliness extended to us by Jane was outstanding. We would happily recommend Swallow Byre to anyone who wants a most restful break.

Matthew
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Sadly we were not blessed with the weather the week we stayed but the views and the property more than made up for that. It was a great lodge that provided a good mix of luxury and isolation. Skye is a beautiful island and if we choose to come again we would definitely stay here. Thank you for a memorable honeymoon.

Geoff Gowers
Reviewed The Bell on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

The Bell

Connie Wallace
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 09/09/2015
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

The cottage was exactly as described in the description and a few reviewers pointed out other aspects of the cottage, i.e. it is 0.4 mile off the paved road down a somewhat potholed gravel driveway, but we managed it just fine in a sedan. The seclusion is very much a part of the cottage's charm. The water is somewhat "peaty" so if that offends you, take bottled water to drink. The cottage is in a wonderful setting and there are several hiking & biking destinations that start right there at the front door. It was very comfortable and cozy and a fire in the wood stove in the sitting room was very nice at night.

Pam & Bob Kent
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside Cottage on the Applecross Peninsula is a wonderful little cottage. All you could need and the kitchen has everything you would need in a kitchen. Even the dogs felt welcome with a 'Boneo' each and water bowl. The beach is too rocky for your dog in front of the cottage but only 4 miles away is the best beach any dog would love . For me personally the lounge furniture is not very comfortable though is in keeping with the cottage .

Alexandre
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Nice cottage, very clean and tidy. Warm welcome from the owner. Equipement & furniture are of quality, everything look as new. Very well situated. We spent a nice week there, touring in Northern Highland.

Andrea
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Debra
Reviewed Upper Folds on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

What a wonderful find!! Beautiful cottage in the most peaceful and stunning setting.All of the small gestures on arrival like the milk and wine, the fire ready to light and the heating on made us feel very welcome, our dogs had a great time in the garden and we now feel recharged and rested after a few days....will definitely be back, we couldn't have asked for more

Gill & John
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

A fabulous house in a fabulous location.

Helen M Bale
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a marvellous holiday cottage with everything suppied. Comfortable and warm with lovely views and wildlife. We would recommend it to all holiday makers wishing to have a lovely holiday in Scotland.....we shall return!

Karen, David, Jessica (5) & Jack The Cocker Spanie
Reviewed South Lodge on 08/09/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge is in a beautiful location, if a little out of the way but that is what attracted us to it. There is everything you need in the cottage and it was a fantastic base to come back to after a days exploring. There are a few walks from the doorstep, one to a beautiful beach which we had all to ourselves for the day. The cottage wasn't immaculately clean when we arrived - we ended up having to push the hoover round, but the bedding and towels were spotless. The grass had been cut and strimmed the day we arrived which looked pretty but the grass ended up being walked into the cottage and ended up everywhere! We had an issue with the smoke / CO2 alarm but this was quickly resolved with an email to the owners and a new one was delivered the following day, along with a bird table for the garden - a brilliant addition! On the whole, the cottage is lovely, comfortable and was more than adequate for what we needed - a brilliant week was had by all! We were even blessed with Scottish sunshine for the majority of the week!!

Bron & Jenn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 07/09/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We really enjoyed our stay at Don Cottage. The location was superb, the house comfortable and the gifts on arrival were really appreciated. Thank you.

Kim & John Winter
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What can we say about Marnie's Croft - it really was an amazing place to stay! We stayed as a family of four with our dog, the views over Loch Ness and Urqhuart Castle are truly amazing and to see the sun rise over the Loch in the mornings is truly memorable. The croft is extremely clean, and well maintained, the kitchen has a very good supply of utensils and we were glad to have a washing machine and tumble dryer to use as well. Heating was night storage heaters and we also used the wood burner with lots of wood and an axe supplied! The bedrooms are comfortable and it was lovely to have two bathrooms.We spent a wonderful week here and explored all of the Highlands - we would thoroughly recommend Marnie's Croft to anyone looking to stay somewhere truly special with beautiful gardens and we even saw the deer! Would love to come again.

Christian & Pascale, France
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 06/09/2015
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a very pleasant stay in Beech Lodge. The cottage is very comfortable and includes everything we need ! It is very quiet and the landscape is beautiful. The owner is very friendly ! Scotland and Beech Lodge are fantastic !

Arijit
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 04/09/2015
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

I visited this cottage and stayed there for 3 nights with my friend and family. It was really an wonderful experience and I loved every moment of the stay. The cottage was clean and tidy. Kitchen was very good and well equipped. The swimming pool was awesome. Bathrooms and bedrooms were very also clean and linens /towels were fresh and nice. Cottage was fantastically located near Loch Ness and the stream behind the cottage was pleasure to watch. I wish to visit the cottage again and will recommend all to go there.

Richard Flyde
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/09/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We had a fantastic stay at The Coltsfoots and were made to feel immediately welcome on our arrival - the wine and shortbread was greatly appreciated! The location is fantastic for exploring the Highlands and we certainly made the most of the sunshine during the first days of our visit, even squeezing in a barbecue using the facilities provided. The cabin has everything you need, including a wood burning fire which we used towards the end of our stay as the nights grew a little colder. Everything in the cabin is well apportioned; the bedrooms are large and comfortable with excellent showering facilities. The living area has comfy sofas and we had plenty of choice of DVDs to keep the kids happy in the evenings. The kids loved the outdoor area, playing football, cricket and fishing in the stream. We couldn't have wished for a better location - the village is only a five minute walk with a couple of nice pubs offering local real ales and food. We would highly recommend to anyone wanting to explore the Highlands. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Tjorven
Reviewed Franks on 02/09/2015
And awarded it

Franks