Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 901 to 950 of 2902


John & Lesley Wilson
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is one of the best holiday cottages we have stayed in.It was well equipped very clean with lovely furnishings. The views from the floor to ceiling windows give the opportunity to enjoy views across to Ireland (on a clear day) and to observe a vast array of wildlife. It is very peaceful and we would recommend it for those who are want to "get away from it all".

John Hadingham
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Perfect, cosy, well equipped, great location!

Lucinda & Paul Anderton
Reviewed Christies on 19/08/2015
And awarded it

Christies

Another fantastic week at the lovely Christie's! Cottage was as comfy and cosy as ever,view over Scourie Bay...just stunning. Many happy 'kindle moments' had in the window seat! Was great 'catching up' with friendly neighbour,James,and his adorable 4 legged companion,Tizzy! The boat trip James skippers from Kylesku Hotel is highly recommended...scenery,wildlife and information given is fantastic! We'll be back (already planning for 2017)! ????

Stephen & Julie Scragg
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We write these few lines with sad hearts as we know our superb holiday and stay at Bayside cottage is coming to an end for another year. This exceptional pet friendly accommodation is the centre of once again a first class holiday for the second time in 2016. The owners provide first class accommodation with all the home comforts you can think of for both you and your four legged friends you may wish to bring along . A welcome tray to grace any first class letting welcomes you on arrival and that's just the start of a most enjoyable memorable stay at Bayside cottage. The spacious decking area across the road brings in to play a well used and welcome out side dinning and chill out area for all to enjoy. For the times cooking is not on the agenda a short walk down the road brings you to the first class and world renouned Applecross Inn with local produce to tempt you with, ably presented by the owner Judy and her superb team of welcoming staff. To sum up if your desire is for a happy and first class holiday in accommodation and a setting of The highest standard we thoroughly recommend a stay at Bayside cottage . Relax and Enjoy Stephen & Julie Scragg

David Ward
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

A fantastic log cabin in its own wooded area, fully loaded with everything you could ever require... We loved the quiet, tranquil exclusive wood with its own stream nearby, which is full of squirrels,frogs,birds etc. which all visit regularly. Our dog Bailey had the time of his life exploring. Although it is only 5 minutes walk from the centre of Fort Augustus, you feel much further away.. It is a good central location to the highlands. We will definitely return and would recommend The Coltsfoots to anyone looking for this type of holiday.

Mr Michael Rogers
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We have just returned from a weeks break at Shore Cottage. Never before has any holiday lived up to our expectations. Shore Cottage certainly did. We all absolutely loved it, esp our dog Monty, he expects to sleep on our settee at home now as well.

Jackie + Steve
Reviewed Sealight on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Just.......wonderful! Fantastic house, EVERY mod-con, light and roomy with views to die for - what more can we say? We are hoping to return again in 2016 - can't get a better recommendation than that! (Only 'warning' to other guests - we had O2 and Orange/EE phones - neither of which had reception on most of the peninsula; occasionally we noticed that the 'Vodafone' network was available - but that was also patchy. The wifi was BRILLIANT at the house - so we used Skype to keep in touch with family - but best not to rely on phone/text!)

Donald Holden
Reviewed Aros Beag on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Aros Beag

We had a lovely stay in a wonderful cottage. The setting was lovely and the couple that run it were really helpful, they also run a really nice cafe that is a two minute walk from the cottage.

David & Susan,
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Beautiful setting with lovely views over Loch Kishorn towards Skye and into the Applecross peninsula. The cottage itself only metres from the seashore. Lovely cottage, well equipped and comfortable with everything you need for a relaxing break. Well placed for walking and for access to other areas/ activities. Thanks for a great holiday.

Brigitte Gerlach
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 17/08/2015
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Taffs Barn is a very comfortable and well equipped accomodation. The owner was very friendly and we had a warm welcome with scones, clotted cream, marmalade, tea and milk. The cottages is suitable for family with two kids or for two couples as well.

Moira Lavinia Settle
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 17/08/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This holiday (Summer 2015) was our third summer in a row at Hillhead Croft. On our first visit in 2013 we knew that this was a very special place (house and location). One that we would wish to return to many times in years to come and that was reconfirmed in 2015.

J Cook
Reviewed Ardrannach on 16/08/2015
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We were really pleased with our stay at Ardrannach Cottage on the Isle of Skye. The cottage was well appointed and there was bread, milk and ice cream waiting for us on our arrival which was a wonderful surprise. The cottage was in a totally remote area, but only a short walk to the local village which was brilliant. The kids loved the real peat fire and the fact there were chickens walking around the house. We loved staying in the cottage!!

Adrian M
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 16/08/2015
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Very good accommodation in a superb area; remote and quiet, yet within walking distance of Hotel/bar and also a Spar shop for the papers! The cottage is very well equipped with all amenities and everything is of good quality (I imagine because the owners stay there themselves too occasionally). Beds are quite comfy and no noise in the bedrooms/upstairs even when wind & rain is battering from the Atlantic one night! Would stay again there again, as the surrounding area is beautiful and fantastic beaches nearby.

Skyefriend01
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 16/08/2015
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

A beautiful house in a wonderfully tranquil setting overlooking Loch Dunvegan. Spacious and well equipped with everything we needed for a relaxing week.

Harma
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 15/08/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

We had a fantastic week !!! Four seasons in 1 hour, but every minute beautiful. Also good weather. Boat trips, the see, the mountains, birds, dolphins, seals, we had a great time. The house is very warm, well equiped and with superb views. I really recommend this beautiful house and surroundings.

Sandra & Brian Motion
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. It was very clean and had everything you needed to enjoy your stay. The owners even left a lovely welcome pack which was much appreciated. The garden is fully enclosed and was perfect as we had our dog with us. He thoroughly enjoyed the freedom to run around the large garden. There are lots of places to visit in the area and all within a 15-20 minute car journey. You can also have a walk down to The Black Isle Brewery for a wee visit and a taste of their organic beers. Would recommend to friends and family

William Hopkins
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

Fabulous cottage in a great location. We really enjoyed our stay. we will book again.

Mark C
Reviewed Moll House on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Moll House

Moll House is certainly the biggest place we've every stayed in during our 30 years of holidays in Scotland but it was still homely and clean. The weather wasn't fantastic but that didn't spoil our enjoyment of the house and its environs. As promised, there are lovely vistas from every window and it's a very light house. Its position on Skye is ideal for travelling to all parts of the island. Really enjoyed our stay and wish we'd stayed longer.

Judith
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

This cottage suited us perfectly. It had everything we needed for a very comfortable stay. Away from it all, we enjoyed the company of seals and otters every day!

Pete L
Reviewed River Cottage on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

We had a great time here. Lovely location with the river at the bottom of the garden. Very clean and well looked after property. Fully equipped kitchen, good shower, comfy bed. We loved it and and our dog loved it too.

SteveW
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Aileen Todd
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

The cottage was very comfortable and warm and had everything we needed. The enclosed garden was great as we had taken our young dog with us and we all enjoyed the lovely short walks just on the door step.

Robert Flyde
Reviewed The Granary on 13/08/2015
And awarded it

The Granary

We had a fantastic 2 week stay at the Granary. A home from home. Perfect setting and place to stay for days out across the highlands. We went up to John o groats and across to the Isle of Skye. Our children enjoyed the highland wildlife park the best and meeting the polar bears. Fully recommend the granary and we will be back again.

Natalie & Mark
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Delightfully furnished and spotlessly clean, Holly Cottage is ideally located for exploring Inverness and the Highlands. Little touches like fresh flowers, the heating on, wine, shortbread and milk in the fridge were much appreciated.

Linda K
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Beautiful cottage to stay in. Spacious, well planned accomodation. Great views and setting. Very welcoming, especially the cream tea and fresh flowers. Loads to do in the area and great places to eat. Loved the dolphins at Chanonry Point. Definitely recommend it and would love to go again.

Izzy Brook Haslam
Reviewed Eilean Mor on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Eilean Mor

G. Adam
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Kincardine is a lovely cottage in very remote setting with just sheep as neighbours. It is an ideal base for hiking in the Cairngorms National park. Aviemore is about 10 minutes by car offering all services. The conservatory is a perfect place to relax and enjoy the views of the Cairngorms. The large kitchen is well equipped with a large dining table. The cosy living room is the place to sit around the wood burning stove after a day of hiking. The two bedrooms a roomy and offer great views on a sunny morning. The bathroom has an old fashioned bathtub with no shower. It would benefit from a makeover. Our rating is "very good". To make make it "excellent" the cleaner should pay more attention to details like cobwebs in the house and coffee stains in the kitchen. We would defintely recommend Kincardine Cottage to friends and might return.

Loraine
Reviewed Coach House on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Coach House

Stephen Broadley
Reviewed Charleston on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

3rd stay at this superb holiday home.will be returning in 2016.

IAN EVANS
Reviewed Glen View on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

Peter D.
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Lovely cottage which we can just fully recommend! We had wonderful days there, not missing a single thing. Very cozy done up with a lovely garden. If we travel to that area again, Hill Head Croft will be our first choice!

Susan & Bruce
Reviewed South Lodge on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

We had a wonderful time at South Lodge in July. The cottage was beautifully furnished and very well equipped. The surrounding countryside was peaceful and tranquil and we saw plenty of wild life. It was yards from the loch and our Newfoundland had a ball swimming. We enjoyed walking in the local area and had a very relaxing holiday. The wood burning stove was a bonus and we really appreciated a warm fire in the evenings as it was a bit chilly at night. We would recommend the cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all!

Fraser Davidson
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Great stay in this lovely house, would come back to stay in a heartbeat. Clean and fresh, with easy to use appliances with clear operating instructions, information for surrounding area and excellent facilities for our two Labradors. With Inverness only a 15 min drive north and Aviemore a 30 min drive south, it is a great base for exploring the highlands and beyond. Lovely views from the house, nice and quiet but only 5 miles from the A9, our whole family loved it, if you get the chance give this one a try ????

Rachel Coxon
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely fantastic property, the scenery and wildlife is breathtaking and the owners have thought of every last possible thing to make you feel right at home. We didn't want to leave! Thanks again!

Marnie
Reviewed An Acail on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

An Acail

James & Friends
Reviewed Glen View on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Glen View

James & Friends
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

Good location for exploring Highlands and everyone we met there very friendly. Plenty of parking space for more than 2 vehicles when needed However, cottage would benefit from some additions. It has been modernized with good quality wooden doors and furniture throughout and comfortable beds. However, there are no wardrobes, only coat hangers on hooks behind bedroom doors. Also nowhere to hang wet towels, even in family bathroom. Its own washing machine would also be beneficial as it is not always convenient to go to the Castle to use one there when Castle is being occupied.

Elizabeth Harker
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A very comfortable and well equipped cottage. We felt so welcome there with the milk, water and wine in the fridge and biscuits and treats in the cupboard. We have already recommended Cedar Cottage to various friends.

Christine Horton
Reviewed Whitestone on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Whitestone

Whitestone is a very comfortable house with everything you need for a nice relaxed holiday. Lovely well equipped kitchen/dining room, cosy sitting room with wood/coal burning stove, T.V. etc., comfortable settees. We bought coal and kindling wood and lit a fire every evening, weather was dry but cool. Modern bathroom with shower over bath. Beds comfortable. Outside is a small garden and sunny court yard, a pine marten came visiting one evening. We enjoyed the holiday and visited nearby castles, also RSPB reserve at Loch Garten, saw the ospreys. Ballindalloch castle just up the road was lovely, beautiful house and gardens and river walk. Would recommend Whitestone.

Julie O
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

The cottage was very comfortable and had everything we needed -apart from a pair of scissors in the kitchen. Although it was generally clean it could do with a repaint & the bathroom could do with updating. Otherwise we had a lovely stay.

Connie
Reviewed Jura on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Jura

Charming cottage, friendly neighbours and stunning views, but the roads are not for the faint-hearted. If you like it remote and are a fearless driver, this is a great place to stay.

WILLIAM WATTERS
Reviewed Balmachree on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

The accommodation at Balmachree, Whitebridge was an excellent choice for visiting the Loch Ness area, near to Foyers and Fort Augustus, the house was a large 4 double bedroom property and suitable for our three generational family holiday and our four legged friends (3) two large and one small and can highly recommend this cottage to anyone wishing a holiday in "the wilderness" of the Highlands of Scotland.

The MacDonald Clan
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 12/08/2015
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Can't recommend this location and indeed this apartment highly enough!! We arrived in the afternoon, parking couldn't have been close enough and we were given a friendly guided tour of the site before being shown up to the apartment. The apartment itself was immaculate, light and airy with great views across the grounds to the hills. There were plenty of board games for us to play with, well equipped kitchen, even wine, milk, biscuits and tea and coffee ready for us to use! The grounds and other facilities are amazing - but book in advance for the pool - and the billiard room was stunning. We couldn't have stayed anywhere better and all agree that this was our best holiday ever! Even managed a trip to Skye, easily within a day's drive. So thank you for a wonderful apartment, and to anyone else, don't hesitate to book!

Steven Johnstone
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/08/2015
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a lovely week in a beautiful, peaceful location. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable and relaxing stay. It is extremely dog friendly with our dog, Harris, needing a rest when we got home from all the terrific walks we enjoyed right from the doorstep, Harris loved snoozing in front of the log burner in the afternoon after a long morning walk and so did we! The garden is great for dogs and would be fantastic for children too. There were lots of things to do in the local area and slightly further afield especially if you like wildlife and the outdoors. Jenny was a great hostess, ensuring we were settled in well and was very generous with her local knowledge of the estate which enhanced our stay. We will be recommending the cottage to our friends and family and will be back in the future.

Stuart Robinson
Reviewed Coach House on 09/08/2015
And awarded it

Coach House

Jackie Warren
Reviewed Sealight on 06/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

Just........WOW. A FABULOUS holiday home, with all the trappings you could POSSIBLY want for a luxurious stay in a peaceful and beautiful area of Scotland. Kitchen had just about everything imaginable (AND some!), living areas were to die for (my favourite 'bit' was the sun room; my other half just loved the reading area on the mezzanine) and the beds were comfy and warm ( a little TOO warm, we found....... beautifully luxurious duvets!). This would NOT be the place for anyone seeking 'nightlife' - but it was perfect for us as a 50-something couple, looking to 'get away from it all' and treat ourselves to a little luxury. LOADS of room for parking car(s); lockable area for bikes; decking area across the full width of the back of the house, overlooking the loch and hills on the far side. I literally can't find anything to fault (unless there's a miracle cure for midges.......they DID mean that it was tricky to have windows open or sit outside in the evening - but we accepted this would be a problem in deciding to book here in the first place!) Thank you to the owners for sharing their holiday home with us - we had a wonderful holiday and would LOVE to come back! (LOADS of pics taken - but no facility to upload them here)

Ali & Alan Willis
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/07/2015
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Had a wonderful week in the cottage. Its spotlessly clean & comfortable. Views spectacular. Bird table had lots of visitors and fat balls were "stolen" each night we suppose by the pine martens. We did some low level walks and hubby did 3 munro's. Also biked the "road to nowhere", views awesome! Audrey was amazing and went out of her way to make our stay lovely. I even had a glass of bubbly at her cottage, what a lovely lady! Note:Be sure to buy some "Smidge the midge" as midge's are nasty!

Shelley Hudson
Reviewed Franks on 22/07/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Mrs Hazel Wright
Reviewed Franks on 21/07/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Mark Jackson Duxbury
Reviewed Laracks on 20/07/2015
And awarded it

Laracks