Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 2966


Michael Yuille
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 20/04/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

We had a wonderful stay in Port Elgol Cottage which is beautifully situated on the shore at Elgol. The cottage was very cosy and comfortable with great views. It has everything you need for a good holiday.

Brian Stevenson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 18/04/2018
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had a lovely break in Fort Augustus. The cottage is ideally placed just on the edge of town, close to everything you might need. Inside there is ample room for 4, on this occasion there were only 2 of us, which made the place seem much bigger. All you need is provided in the cottage, the only thing my wife missed was Wifi, but no problems other than that. We will visit again in the future.

Mike Gill
Reviewed An Sealladh on 18/04/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

A really nice property and I would definitely recommend it. Has everything you need for a good self catering week. Views towards Suilven. Handy for the village - shop / pub etc. Great location for mountain walking ie Munros & Corbetts. Our Golden Retriever found the deer visits to the garden rather 'interesting'. Paths / parking area would benefit from some moss removal - a bit slippery when wet.

Mrs OD
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

We stayed in the Tor cottage Isle of Harris in April 2018, it became our home away from home, fresh new very clean with everything you need for a comfortable and relaxing stay. It's situated in a picturesque place within a short drive from Tarbert, very quiet. Thank you for our stay, we hope to return.

FionaP
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

This cottage has the most amazing views of Loch Ness and the surrounding countryside. The cottage itself is spacious, very comfortable, well-equipped and was spotlessly clean. There is a perfect space for relaxing in front of the log burner in the evening, another seating area in front of a window looking out across the lake, and the dining area has the best view of them all! Oh that is before you get to the main bedroom and see the seating area there! Duncan gave us a warm welcome and showed us around on arrival. It's a great location for exploring the Great Glen and Glen Affric. I couldn't recommend it more highly!

Mark, Vic & Martha
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We had a sublime time at Swallow Byre. Space, quiet and great beaches to explore. Would recommend a trip to Handa Island. Jane was helpful and around if we needed but not intrusive. Swallow Byre is well-equipped and the Rayburn kept the place warm when needed.

Pete & CaroleRowley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have just booked our 3 year at the cottage which we hope speaks volumes. The cottage is homely and cosy right on the Loch with the most spectacular view. Listening to the lapping water with the silence around you, is very special. Lots of beautiful walks around, it is remote and quiet yet with a cafe and restaurant, a very short drive away and with a pub and Spa 6miles at Loch Carron. Plus seal watching from your lounge window is very special too.

Martin Ogden
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

An excellent property in a fantastic location. The facilities were above average and we would recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable and relaxed holiday. So much so we will be rebooking to stay again.

Lynne Davidson
Reviewed Grain Store on 17/04/2018
And awarded it

Grain Store

We enjoyed a wonderful week in the Grain Store. The property is well equipped with amazing views. The hosts are friendly and helpful - even returning a cuddly toy to us which was left in a bedroom! The local area offers so many activities - we walked and skied and relaxed afterwards, enjoying the beautiful surroundings. Highly recommend and we'll be returning!

David Poulton
Reviewed Upper Folds on 16/04/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We spent a magical week at Upperfolds it was like stepping back in time, the area is stunning and ideal to switch off and unwind. There are plenty of walks to go on and there are also loads of things to do in the area if needs be. We will be back that's for sure.

John ONeill
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 15/04/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

A wee bit of heaven. Cath and Chris were the perfect hosts. Their new lodge is fab and is of a very high standard, the outside hot tub is great to sit back and enjoy the cracking views. I would recommend this lodge to anyone wanting a chilled relaxing break then this is the place.

Catherine Beddison
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 14/04/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

What an idyllic setting and very comfortable house. We had a super holiday, exploring the local area, skiing at the Nevis Range and cycling back and forth to Fort Augustus. Thoroughly recommended for families.

Karen Bardsley
Reviewed Balmachree on 13/04/2018
And awarded it

Balmachree

What a fantastic holiday, the house was perfect, the dogs loved the massive garden. Couldn't work out how to get to the river, but we can do that next time as we will be returning. Ideal for all of us. Just what we were looking for. Highly recommend

Mrs Pascale Jones
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 13/04/2018
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

For our first family time in Scotland, we chose the Isle of Skye and for our first visit on this island, we chose Taigh Druim. Expectations were high on all accounts and they were met a thousand times! What a fantastic property! We love the modern style of the house with those exceptional panoramic windows as well as its colourful decoration. Everything is provided for the comfort and the relaxation of the guests from the comfortable beds, the wood burner, entertainment (books, music, DVDs and board games) to the very well appointed kitchen. We even had the delight to discover a well-kept dry food cupboard. The outide deck is ideal for yoga/Pilates sessions and we could only imagine a hot tub to enjoy at the end of a hiking day. All in all, we are very impressed and we already re-booked the property for 2 weeks next year.

Mrs Miller
Reviewed Ardrannach on 13/04/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This was our second stay at Ardrannach Cottage. I have to say it was another enjoyable holiday. The cottage has everything possibly needed to make you feel at home. Will definitely stay again.

Kevin R
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 12/04/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Definitely in the wilderness, away from it all - delightful and very well appointed property. Friendly hosts and some excellent walks in pretty pristine forest on your doorstep. Great for the dog!

Deborah & Trevor Rivett
Reviewed Fhaireag on 12/04/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is a wonderful holiday home. The location is utterly scenic and this time we experienced every type of weather imaginable making the views from the balconies even more impressive. Wildlife and birdsong abound. It is well equipped, tastefully furnished and warm.

Anne Stevenson
Reviewed Croft 41 on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

Croft 41

Croft 41 is exactly as described and is very well equipped, very contemporary and a wonderful location with delightful views. It is extremely comfortable. There are plenty of walks from the croft and a lovely area to explore.

Indira
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Beautiful, spacious, comfortable, very well-equipped cottage, in idyllic setting. On a bus-route with several buses a day for people without a car.

Karen S
Reviewed The Mill on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

The Mill

Absolutely wonderful week spent at The Mill. The cottage is immaculate and very warm- even with snow on the ground! There is everything you might need provided for you. Of course the views are out of this world and there were endless excellent walks for our 2 springer spaniels. Would highly recommend- certainly the best self catering cottage we have stayed in.

Angela
Reviewed Ardrannach on 11/04/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely cottage with amazing views in a good location. We found the cottage spacious and well equipped and would definitely stay here again when we return to Skye. There is a pleasant 15 minute (with little legs) walk into portree, either along the coast or through a wood which we did a few times. We enjoyed gazing out of the lounge window onto the isle of Raasay and Ben Tianavaig.

Helen Sharpe
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 10/04/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had a wonderful holiday in Hill Head Croft. It was in immaculate order throughout. We were a family of 6 adults and there was plenty of room and the garden is a real bonus especially for our dog Grenson who loved being out there. The area is quite spectacular and we wore ourselves out walking the hills and forests and cycling every day. Cameron's farm shop and cafe is an absolute must with it's warm welcome and great food. It's a beautiful walk from the Croft and a visit to Foyers falls is close by.

Rachael & Stuart Baker
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/04/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary Cottage is stunning. Very warm and welcoming on arrival. Clean and tidy. With everything you need for a quiet and stress free holiday. With views from the kitchen/master bedroom to keep you looking all day. I love the little wildlife log for people to add to. As we've seen a few first's for ourselves including: PineMarten, Golden Eagle and Osprey. Will be returning here Thank you

Natalie & Gordon
Reviewed Toberaie on 10/04/2018
And awarded it

Toberaie

Wonderful cottage, great location & stunning views. We had a fantastic week exploring in the Cairngorms and had everything we needed at Toberaie! Will definitely be back!

Rosie
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 10/04/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Tor Fionn is a beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. The little kitchen was perfectly equipped - we even managed to bake a birthday cake! So many nice touches - the binoculars disappeared into the kids' room as soon as we arrived! Lots of nice walks in the area. We loved visiting Lochcarron weavers, Strome castle, the seal boat trip from Plockton and Eilean Donan castle - and so lovely to return to this cosy cottage and a real wood fire at the end of the day. Thank you so much!

Brian & Yvonne Scott
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 10/04/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

Tranquillity at its best, no phones, TV or broadband. Bliss.

Nina Granitza
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 02/04/2018
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We have a great vacation in Scotland. The house was gorgeous and beautiful secluded, just as I had imagined. The house really had everything you need and was very comfortable. Everything is really like the pictures in the ad.

Sarah Fletcher
Reviewed Heatherbank on 31/03/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Lovely cosy and wonderfully positioned cottage with panoramic views inland to Quinag and over the surrounding crofts of Balchladich. Cottage well equipped and comfortable, with good supply of wood and coal for wood burner. Great fenced outdoor space for dog to roam securely. Handy to get to adjacent areas or just to potter about locally, but good it's apart from the main North Coast 500 which is getting increasingly busy.

Dale Weatherstone
Reviewed Charleston on 29/03/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

A lovely cottage to stay in and the views are amazing. The house was well equipped with everything you would need. The dogs loved the garden. Received a lovely welcome basket. Will be sure to return again soon.

Ian & Rhona Black
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 27/03/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fantastic hideaway. Great cottage with everything you could ask for and more. Beautiful scenery, thoughtful welcome pack and a sauna. We love Skye and this was one of our best finds yet. No hassle from booking, finding the house and even the weather was kind to us. We will be back.

MacMillan
Reviewed Upper Folds on 27/03/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Stunning Cottage & Location loved our stay here would highly recommend.

Lynne D
Reviewed Ardbeg on 22/03/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Lovely property, beautiful views, all you need, as in home from home. Will definately return.

Andy Leicester
Reviewed Rhundunan on 21/03/2018
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Lovely break in a fantastic property, has everything you might need for a 'get away from it all' holiday. Our second visit and well worth it.

Noel Taylor
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 21/03/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Words failed me as we entered the barn and I was blown away by the stunning views of the 5 Sisters. The owners had left a lovely bottle of local whisky and sitting on the comfortable sofa with a glass in one hand, in front of the log fire watching the sun set over the snow capped mountains was breathtaking. We will definitely return. I would recommend this accommodation to anyone. One word of warning, the road to the Barn is very 'rural' so don't take a vehicle with low ground clearance.

Mrs J Miller
Reviewed Ardrannach on 21/03/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We love this cottage. It is in a very pretty location. The cottage is well equipped and very cosy. Could move in and feel quite at home.

Paul & Sue
Reviewed Upper Folds on 20/03/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a fantastic week. The cottage is beautifully maintained and the personal touches we really appreciated. We were snowed in, but this didn't cause a problem as the tranquility and beauty of the surrounding area was so enjoyable, we were kept entertained by the Deer, Hares and Buzzards, and our dog loved playing in the very deep snow. Richard was extremely helpful clearing the track on the Friday evening so that we could drive out at the end of our stay. We hope to plan a return visit, and would certainly recommend Upper Folds if you are looking to really get away from it all.

Kevan & Elizabeth Diston
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/03/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is a beautiful, unique cottage in the woods. A haven for birds and wild life , we loved our stay there. Jenny greeted us on our arrival with fresh eggs and delightful lemon drizzle cake. The cottage is a true delight. Elegantly furnished and a cosy home from home and made possible by Jenny's eye for detail and caring, friendly personality. Our dogs Lilly and Winston loved the secure garden and Forrest walks. Thank you Jenny for a perfect holiday retreat and for making us so welcome.

Janet Goldsworthy
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 15/03/2018
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Had a fabulous 2 weeks in Tigh na Craobh. Perfectly situated to explore the Isle of Skye and up to the usual Wilderness Cottages standard. 15 mins drive from Portree and 10 mins walk from the sea. Would recommend this property for a holiday on Skye.

Carolyne
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry lodge is a great find, well off the beaten track (for us townies). Its very peaceful with beautiful views from every window. We were entertained by seals basking on the small island in the bay and sheep wandering the hills. The man in the fishing boat, also in the bay, even sold us some lobsters he'd caught. The Three Chimneys restaurant is a short drive away if a special night out is required and Dunvegan has a cafe serving huge portions of delicious cakes and home made soups to die for. Did I mention Skye weavers? I could go on for ever. A car is a must if you stay here but the drives are lovely.

Karine
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Great location with fab views, comfortable well equipped house, remote feeling but not far from loads of places to visit and walk, ski, climb also love that you take dogs...thank you!

Mark & Tricia
Reviewed Ardbeg on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated, well equipped with quality items and a fantastic view across the sea to the Isle of Skye. Has everything you need. We enjoyed our stay, this is by far the best cottage we have ever stayed in, we hope to return. Thanks

Margaret
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 14/03/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

A wonderful, well equipped cottage in a beautiful location. Jenny was a great host and makes a fabulous cake-thanks Jenny! Sorry we didn't get completely snowed in - a week was too short. Our hairy companion was also made to feel very welcome and the enclosed garden and surrounding walks were just ideal. Would highly recommend.

Ian & Fiona Thomas
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 11/03/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Stayed for five days from 10th March and wished it was two weeks. Arrival is half a mile down a forestry track to a very private and peaceful cottage in its own grounds, all dog friendly. Very clean on arrival which we made a point of checking as some cottages leave a lot to be desired. Fab layout and apart from a few kitchen items (which I'll notify them of), it has everything you need. So peaceful on a night you hear owls in the woods, which are great for morning dog walks. Only 10 mins or so to Forres which has everything you need. About 40 mins to Aviemore which is fantastic around the Cairngorms. Lovely card and gifts on arrival which was really lovely. House extremely warm, we had to turn all heating down. Will definitely book again. Thank you.

Steve & Nikki Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 08/03/2018
And awarded it

Sealight

Returned to this magical place and had the most relaxing week. We had fantastic sunny, but cold days whilst the rest of the UK was suffering from "the beast from the east". The pine martens came onto the decking for their peanut butter sandwiches and we saw countless deer and buzzards. This wonderful property feels like home, we will return again next year.

Wendy Cook
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/03/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

This is the 3rd visit to this wonderful cottage and it gets better every time. This place is in a fantastic peaceful setting with deer in the garden next door. There are wonderful views from every window and the house benefits from having the lounge upstairs to appreciate the scenic surroundings. There are great walks straight from the door or just a short drive away. The place is equipped with every thing you need for your stay and is very comfortable .

Helen Chaplin
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/03/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This is the best self catering accommodation I have stayed in. We visited with my sister and her husband and they thought just the same. Ideal for two couples as each bedroom is at opposite ends of the Croft with its own bath/shower room. The most fabulous location and views. Everything has been thought of here and the heating is excellent! The sauna is also a real bonus in an already perfect place to stay. I wanted to lift the place up with everything in it and bring it home!

Andy & Camilla
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 05/03/2018
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

We spent a very relaxing week at Arrivain Cottage at the beginning of February. The cottage itself has been lovingly renovated to the highest standard by Jacqui and Jeff and is a great place to spend a week exploring this beautiful area of the Southern Highlands. There are lots of places within reach from the cottage (including walks from the cottage itself if you don't want to get in the car) and it is a great place to come back to after a day out exploring. We particularly enjoyed the peace and quiet which is in abundance here and evenings by the fire.

Steve & Sandra Huxtable
Reviewed Heatherbank on 04/03/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

What an excellent cottage with everything you require for a relaxing break in this beautiful area. The cottage is excellent in all areas, clean, comfortable, warm and has a great log fire to sit in front of after a day's walking in the area. The cottage is set in large grounds and fenced off well for the dog to enjoy. The views are great and there is ample walking information in the cottage, along with books to read and games to play. Lot's of wildlife in the area to see and great beaches to explore locally. Well recommended.

Hayley Walton
Reviewed Charleston on 01/03/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

This was our 5th visit to Charleston. We normally come in October so February was a change for us. As usual the cottage was a home from home, everything you need for a comfortable, relaxing and cozy stay. We ended up being snowed in for 4 days and also had winds of 40 mph, that actually blew the gate post over! What an absolute stunning place to be stuck in, the deer came right up to the garden, red kites flew right above us, we made a snowman and just sat in the conservatory and watched the weather change from day to day. Looking at the availability for the rest of the year for Charleston it just speaks for itself when it's completely booked up!

Rosemary Wallace
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/03/2018
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Well appointed with magnificent views. A sheer delight!