Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 3232


Caroline
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 06/09/2018
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An extremely well equipped cottage and very comfortable. Lovely Scottish feel to it and peaceful location with friendly neighbour. Delightful 'Welcome' basket and the dogs were thrilled with their treats too! Towels could possibly have been larger, especially for tall chaps! Plenty to do and see nearby for all ages. We certainly hope to return.

Dianne Raisbeck
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 05/09/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Although the pictures of Seal Skerry Lodge are beautiful, its not until you arrive that you realise just how amazing this place really is. Every window is like a picture frame, of an ever changing scenery. Seals galore on the island right in front of the lodge, make breakfast a true delight. Everything in the lodge is to the highest standard, with so much attention to detail. This is without doubt a little slice of heaven & we will defiantly be back. We have stayed in all a number of 5 star properties and this place is by far the best. Peaceful, beautiful & one that should be added to everyone's bucket list !

Amanda
Reviewed Station Cottage on 04/09/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Excellent cottage, spotlessly clean and equipped with everything you need, great location in centre of Nethy Bridge, fabulous enclosed garden for the dog. Definitely will return.

Alexandra
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 03/09/2018
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

We travelled nearly 3 days from the South of Germany to the Shed in Tokavaig and it was so worth it! Mary's house was a dream. Beautifully designed, clean, equipped with everything we could ever wish for. On top of it all: very happily situated with the most amazing views.

JMichaud
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 02/09/2018
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

Great stay of 6 nights in a very quiet place. Lot of things to do in the area in the nature (beach near the hut, walks, Tioram Castle, sea trip in Mallaig, steam train). We saw the pine marten each evening, a fox one evening and deers in the garden one morning! Think of 2 pounds coins to pay electricity, 2 pounds per day for us with use of washing and drying machine each day (camping before and after our stay).

R Cuthill
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 01/09/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely cottage in a beautiful setting. Wonderful views to Skye and we enjoyed watching vehicles travelling up and down the Bealach na Ba to Applecross. Our dog enjoyed paddling in the loch and his walks up the hills. The scenery in the area is just stunning. Can't wait to return.

Mark & Anne Garforth
Reviewed The Granary on 31/08/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

We had a wonderful holiday in Scotland and loved our stay at the Granary which was well kitted out with all modern facilities, lovely kitchen and bathrooms, very clean with plenty of space and just what we needed for a family of four. The flowers were a lovely touch and the shortbread biscuits went down a treat, especially with the kids. Thank you to Yvonne and Colin for their warm hospitality will recommend the cottage to friends and family.

Alan Brownlee
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/08/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Leachachan Barn was excellent. Beautifully appointed, ideally located opposite The Five Sisters of Kintail, a wood burning stove and a welcome bottle of a 10-year old Talisker whisky what more could one want?

Martin Bell
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 30/08/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

A beautiful cottage in a lovely location. As a family we have come to the Scottish Highlands for over 40 years staying in many locations and can honestly say this is one of the top three cottages we have stayed at. It was very roomy, 3 bedrooms each en-suite and the bedrooms were massive with plenty of storage in each. The kitchen was well laid out with everything you would need for a perfect stay. The only negative is I cannot stay there permanently as it is now on the market to sell, and if I had the money I would purchase without delay.

Fiona Harris
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 29/08/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Pristine cottage in a spectacular location with everything that we could wish. We wanted to move in permanently, but unfortunately there was another booking after us!

Ashbys
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 29/08/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Just had another great stay at this beautifully maintained house in a peaceful setting. It is really well placed for both going to the coastal towns and going south towards Aviemore and beyond. Cannot recommend highly enough, we will be back next year (probably for 2 weeks if we can get in).

The Wests
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 29/08/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Beautiful and peaceful location with fantastic views of the Cuillins and out to sea and stunning sunsets (when the weather was right!). The tree swing in the front garden and easy access to the beach was much loved by our 9 year old daughter. Well equipped, clean and comfortable house - perfect size for the three of us. Addition of books and games were a lovely touch. Ideally situated for walking and exploring the island plus easy access to wonderful boat trips from Port Elgol jetty. We had a thoroughly enjoyable holiday and will definitely be back! Thank you!

Alan Clark
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 28/08/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A most delightful cottage, very well equipped and with first class "Fixtures and Fittings" Great views of a very quiet bay, and, most days, the mountains of Ulster. The whole of the peninsular is interesting and very attractive with plenty of excellent eating places. Further afield, Auld Acquaintances in Girvan served up perhaps the finest Risotto ever! The cottage has very intermittent mobile phone signal for texts, and no cover for speech, which makes for a very quiet stay. Moderate broadband service, and adequate TV (if you really need it). Great chance to switch off and enjoy the peace and quiet, the views, and the very fresh air. On the Bucket List to return!!!

Adrian Storey
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/08/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

A fantastic cottage in a stunning location. An evening spent watching 40 + deer grazing from the comfort of an armchair will never be forgotten.

Mark A N
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 28/08/2018
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Littlepark Cottage is a great place to stay if you're looking to get away from it all. The cottage has a nice, homely feel to it and is well appointed. The owner is attentive and we felt that both the owner and Wilderness Cottages had our best interests at heart. Being a dog-friendly place is a great bonus!

Susanne
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 24/08/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

What a beautiful house and what a beautiful location! We loved it very much and we felt comfortable right from the beginning. Hopefully we will be back!

Laura C
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 24/08/2018
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

A beautiful house in a beautiful location!

David Turner
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 23/08/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Fantastic stay at this cottage. Cottage has all you need - just maybe forward plan any meals for the AGA! I would absolutely stay again, no question. You want away from it all - this is where to go!

Mrs Abraham
Reviewed An Airidh on 23/08/2018
And awarded it

An Airidh

Our family spent a week in this lovely, very comfortable cottage. The island is beautiful and the cottage has stunning views around it. We couldnt have been happier in our choice of this cottage and the welcome basket was a very thoughtful gesture. Recommend highly.

Andy & Trisha Corey
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/08/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have just returned from a lovely break in Fersit Log Cottage and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cabin is lovely. It is spacious, well equipped and the furnishings are of a lovely quality. The fenced garden is superb if you have dogs and children so they have a safe envornment to run around and explore. Its lovely to see the wildlife around the cabin, our children enjoyed watching the birds feeding of the decking. The Jacuzzi bath is so relaxing. We had a great time and if you want a holiday thats is relaxing and peaceful. i would not hesitate to recomend this cottage! Thank you.

Richard Wright
Reviewed The Granary on 22/08/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Outstanding property in a great location. Cottage well equipped and very comfortable. Spacious and well laid out. Owners were lovely and helpful.

Ishaan Randeria
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 22/08/2018
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

Sgarbh Lodge is located on a beautiful hillside overlooking the waterfront. With lush green landscapes surrounding it and the infinite views all around it is the perfect place to unwind. The house itself is pretty spacious and clean, with 3 large rooms, a cosy living room and a really spacious kitchen area. It has all the white goods you would require and the owner is very welcoming.

Sarah
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Our second stay in this wonderful, comfy, home-from-home cottage. A great cotttage in a fantastic location. So much to see and do. Fascinating arts and crafts, great places to eat, and inspiring scenery. The cottage and Wilderness Cottages can't be recommended highly enough.

Jjohnstone
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Very pleasant welcoming owners, there if needed. Well equipped, clean cottage with everything you could need. Very comfortable beds. Quiet, scenic location. A very relaxing break thank you.

D.Bakker
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Nice cottage, clean, easy and friendly. We enjoyed our 3 weeks holiday very much!

Timo S.
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

Port Elgol Cottage offers everything, what you need for a perfect stay at the Isle of Skye. First, the views over the Cuillins are breathtaking at any time of the day. Second, the cottage is furnished very tastefully and makes you feel at home immediately. The kitchen is equipped perfectly. On a rainy day, you can choose from a big variety of board games. And when it is sunny, go on a boat trip with Bella Jane and Aqua-X-Plore within 1 minute walking distance. It was our second stay there. And not the last one for sure.

Jayne
Reviewed Don Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Had a wonderful week, staying in Don Cottage.Everything had been thought of and the welcome pack on arrival was very thoughtful and very much appreciated.The cottage was very comfortable and cosy and suited our whole family including our fur baby who enjoyed the local walks.The cottage is an ideal location for exploring Loch Ness and is within walking distance of Drumnadrochit and amenities. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again!

Tom & Susan Parr
Reviewed Charleston on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

A wonderful cottage for families, the views are amazing and it is very peaceful.

Suzanne & Kevin + Lucy & Rosie(Samoyeds)
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 21/08/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our second visit to Shore Cottage and yet again lived up to our expectations. Very peaceful and relaxing, Cottage has everything you need. This time we took a bucket and spade to relive our childhoods by building sandcastles on the beach- lots of fun. Enjoyed early morning walks and exploring the area. Table in conservatory is great for completing jigsaws. We take a new one with us where ever we go. We were visited daily by robins and lots of different birds and even the odd cow came to visit and poked his head over the fence.

Mark Reade
Reviewed Moll House on 20/08/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Alfred
Reviewed Holly Cottage on 18/08/2018
And awarded it

Holly Cottage

Valerie & Sean From England & Gilbert From Fra
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 15/08/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have just spent 2 weeks at Plodda Lodge and it was just paradise! The house is comfortable and welcoming, full of fascinating books and interesting artefacts. The owner Jenny is a genuine nice person who will try her very best to make your stay unforgettable. The location of the house is unique, surrounded by forest and wildlife. The garden is beautiful with numerous bird feeders and a lot of greedy birds to watch from the bay windows. There is also a wonderful vegetable patch, where you can go and pick some fresh vegetables or fruit in season every day! Walking in the woods around the house, we found an abundance of wild berries and went foraging for chanterelles mushrooms, which are a real delicacy.We found a lot of them on more than one occasion and it was a privilege to come back home to cook them right after picking. The glens in the area are majestic and serene. We loved Glen Affric and Glen Cannich but Glen Strathfarrar was beyond beautiful...a true gem! Plodda lodge is a special place..be prepared, you will be very sad when you leave!

Mrs Sharrock
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 15/08/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Great cottage, well equipped and clean. Fabulous location for exploring the island. Great walks around the Glen. Post office/shop at the end of the road sells nearly everything you need. Would definitely like to return.

Ritchie Stace
Reviewed Log House on 15/08/2018
And awarded it

Log House

Lovely Log Cabin situated near Fort Augustus. We all found it very cosy and were able to see the various wildlife around the area. Would recommend it to anybody who wants to get away from it all for a while.

John Mc
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Spent a great week in this modern Croft. The views from the open plan lounge / dining area are fantastic. Two great bedrooms and a sauna included in the ensuite which was great after a day's walking. The Croft has a well equipped kitchen and a log burner. About 15 minutes from Portee the road is single track with passing places as are a lot of the roads on Skye so be prepared. You soon get the hang of it and is well worth it for the delights this Croft offers. For those dependant on their daily fix of wifi and mobile signal think again ...me I loved its absence totally relaxing in great surroundings

Jayne & Michael Olsen
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

We had a fantastic time at The Mill. Everything we needed and more. Bill & Marjory where especially kind and helpful. The welcome hamper was really appreciated. Our teenage boys really loved it to. We had great days out in the surrounding area, but would have enjoyed it just as much anyway. Having no internet and Tv was a bonus. It made proper family time. The only downside was that a week wasn't long enough. We will be coming back in Dec/Jan. Thank you so much

Dave Waghorn
Reviewed Askival on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

Askival

Other than a few minor Hiccups on arrival, the cottage was wonderful. Would we go back? - Yes. Did we want to leave? - No. Highly recommended for a 'get away' holiday.

Alicia
Reviewed The Bothy on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

The Bothy

A very special place: you can see wild animals from your window and at night, when you turn off the lights, all is pitch dark outside.

Allis H
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

We have stayed in a number of cottages in the Black Isle and Reyflat is by far the best maintained. The cottage is spacious, comfortable and clean with fantastic views. Most importantly for me, the owners hadn't scrimped on the mattress and we slept really well.

Dandos
Reviewed The Mill on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

The Mill

Stunning setting, well equipped and beautifully presented property with an absolutely incredible view out of the lounge windows - could never tire of that! Will definitely return.

Linda Davies
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/08/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Wow...thats the word that springs to mind when I remember our time at Moll cottage. Our first visit to Skye and what a wonderful place we chose to stay stunning location amazing views and a lovely cottage equipped with everything you need...lovely comfy bed well equipped kitchenette (combi oven / microwave very easy to use toaster kettle etc) washing machine dryer great shower, towels provided (although just one little niggle the bath towels are on the small side perhaps bath sheets would be better) and a super log burner. Outside is wonderful too total peace and quiet stunning views private beach literally on your doorstep and an amazing variety of sea birds and animals. Regularly visited by oyster catchers, sea ducks, hooded crows the list is endless but the best visitors were 3 seals.. two playing in the loch outside and one basking on a large rock. We loved our stay at Moll and we were sad to leave we will definitely visit again.

Jayne & Michael Olsen
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 12/08/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

The Mill is a fantastic place to stay. Everything you need is there. The welcome hamper was very thoughtful. Bill & Marjory are so lovely and kind, nothing is too much trouble. The library and the snug are brilliant. A Really great range of books to suit all ages and tastes. We had great days out with our two teenage boys and the nights in were great to. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A week was not long enough. We will be back!

James Procter
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 10/08/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

A comfortable and well furnished cottage that is very close to the shore - down the path in the "garden" about 40 yards and through the gate. The beach is excellent - sandy and with rocks and it extends northwards almost a mile and southwards you can pass the point and reach Killingtringan beach at low tide with a bit of rock climbing. We had a bit of difficulty finding track down to cottage on arrival - our Sat Nav wanted to send us to Little Larbrax not Meikle Larbrax so it's best to rely on directions that are given. The conservatory with stove was most useful - logs from Solo garage in Stranraer. It was one of the best cottages we have visited anywhere in Scotland.

Ludka Kucerkova
Reviewed The Stables on 10/08/2018
And awarded it

The Stables

Because we stayed here for the second time, I think that testify for itself :-). Is is a very nice place (Crail) and very cosy home, St Andrews and many other golf courses in short distance. We definitely will be back!

Sam & Matt Cowlen
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 09/08/2018
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

I was very impressed with Cedar Cottage, the photos don't do it justice at all. The Cottage was very clean and we were extremely grateful for the lovely chocolates, biscuits, wine and milk that were awaiting our arrival. The garden was lovely and enclosed so our pooch had lots of freedom without us having to worry. I loved the drive deep into the Woods and the walks just on our doorstep were lovely. We were pleased to wake each morning to a red squirrel, Wood pecker and different birds. We shall most defnitely be back and I already can't wait.

Marie
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/08/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge was the most comfortable and beautiful place for our family of 5 to spend our holiday. Jenny has thought of everything and more to make this a truly wonderful place to occupy both big and little guests whilst relaxing. Full of information about the area and history of the estate. We had lovely weather and made the most of the spectacular scenery at just about every turn we made. The children really enjoyed swimming in the pool at the bottom of the waterfall. And spent many mornings catching brown trout in the river a short walk down the track. The garden was lovely and the children played happily for hours outside and made the most of the fruit and veg available to pick, even turned my 14yr old into a keen cook for a few days. We have really enjoyed our visit to plodda falls and saw many beautiful places during the week, however 2 weeks would really be needed as it's difficult to pull yourself away from the relaxation and comfort of the lodge and garden. Many thanks to Jenny for everything , it really was a fantastic holiday.

Webster Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 09/08/2018
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Simply wonderful, homely cottage with everything you need, including nightly visits into the garden from a number of beautiful deer. Great location, fantastic views, peaceful & relaxing.

Alex, Heidi & Megan
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 08/08/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

No complaints at all, we loved the quietness, nature, darkness at night, etc... Lovely places to go from here, Plockton, Torridon, Isle of Skye, Glenelg ferry, Armadale etc.

Shelagh B
Reviewed The Orchids on 08/08/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

Beautifully laid out house - spacious, bright, high standard throughout. Couldn't have wished for more. All six in our family give The Orchids FIVE STARS! Thank you - we'd love to return!

G Harris
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 06/08/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This is an excellent holiday cottage. Two minutes walk to the beautiful cove by the sea. Superb hospitality from owners and locals. Wonderful stay in fully equipped accommodation.