Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 150 of 3232


Jane Easton
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

If you enjoy peace and tranquillity, excellent accommodation, and great sea views, Seascape is the place to stay. And even more so if you have dogs with two sandy bays a short trek through an adjoining field. Chas and Jane, the owners, are engaging yet discreet. I have no hesitation in highly recommending Seascape as a base from which to explore the surrounding Galloway area.

Ceiriog
Reviewed Foiseil Cottage on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Foiseil Cottage

Very nice property.

Isobel Hardy
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Very well equipped, and cosy cottage. Even though the wind roared we were warm and comfortable inside! Books, DVDs and jigsaws available, as well as Wifi and good mobile reception which we hadn't bargained for, being in a remote part of Scotland. Excellent fish and chip van operates twice a week and fish van calls once a week so we were able to enjoy really fresh fish and shellfish.

Gary Loftus
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Really lost for words, I have never stayed in such a beautiful place , the owners have made a stunning job of renovating the Barn . But when you sit on the sofa with the log fire burning looking out over Loch Duich and the Five Sisters Of Kintail its the most relaxing place in the world. The barn as everything you need and more , 5 star does not do this place justice I would give our holiday experience 20 out of 10. Will definitely be back soon !!!! Thank you Wilderness Cottage's and the owners of Leachachan Barn for such a fantastic Holiday Experience.

Cathy Jones
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 01/10/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Could not have been better, lovely clean cosy cottage, Jane the owner very helpful and enthusiastic. Superb part of Scotland.

Maciej
Reviewed Ardrannach on 29/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had absolutely great stay at Ardrannach. Perfect base to explore Skye. Cottage has everything you need to enjoy your holiday.

Steve
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/09/2018
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Great week at Hill Cottage. A chilled out getaway from it all. Miles from anywhere. Lovely scenery. Cottage is well stocked with everything you need for a peaceful break. Conservatory is lovely and every morning sat in there listening to radio 2 watching the sunrise, sheep coming down from the hills and fishing boats going out. Only downside is shower. Small and temperamental. Don't see point in having limited wifi... would rather there not be any. We went as a couple and it brought us even closer together. No life distractions. Wish we could live there full time. Amazing place.

Alison Billing
Reviewed Moll House on 26/09/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Fiona Warner
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Lovely cottage with lovely walks from the door. Enjoyed the boats going by, quite a busy place for walkers, cyclists and boaters. Beware there is a weir which floods and can prevent getting car to and from cottage. Flooded while we were there. Lovely large secure garden for dogs. Has everything you can need and cosy log fire with wood supplied. Hope to go again.

Lonneke
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Matheson's Croft House was even better than expected after reading all the positive reviews. The house comes with everything you will need for a pleasant stay, even spare light bulbs. And those views! What a wonderful way to wake up in the morning after a good nights sleep in one of the comfy beds. Loved the Rayburn, which comes with a good manual, and the fireplace. Would love to go back!

Harald & Doris
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

We read several stories about The Shed before and have seen many pictures, however, the reality is even better. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, all necessary items are available. The house is very spacious, has an excellent ground plan and spectecular views from almost all rooms. And an outdoor shower (with warm water) - not to be missed. We certainly will try to come back - even if its quite far from Austria.

Fiona Prichard & Mike Swift
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We had a wonderful week in this lovely cottage even though the weather was terrible! So cosy and welcoming to come home, lots of hot water for baths and showers and lots of space to dry out our walking gear! A very tastefully appointed Cottage - and really spacious for two. One very small point- maybe add two champagne glasses??! Oh, and a teapot and tea cosy! We loved it/ thank you wilderness cottages!

C McGhee
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

If you want privacy, this is the place to go. The owners kindly provide as much wood as you need for the log burner, and we found plenty of bird food left for the many garden birds that feed just outside the kitchen window. There are loads of walks and things to do nearby. When we first arrived, the house is further away down both the single road and then the rough track than we thought, so we were anxious that we had missed it. You have to pass the log cabin and go down a steep hill to arrive.

Sue Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

Once again a memorable stay at Charleston. Beautiful space and accommodation. Always a quiet corner to relax in with those fantastic views that you never tire of! Watch out for the herd of deer in the evenings and the resident hare. Always nice to have a chat with the cows or sheep in surrounding fields! I am afraid we cannot fault it hence our fifth visit.

Bianca & Ian (plus Amaya & Wile E. Coyote)
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We absolutely loved our stay at Plodda Falls Lodge. The only regret we had was that we only booked one week. We will definitely return again. The house is fully equipped with everything you need for cosy evenings in and its location makes it perfect for both walks in the local woods, the Plodda Falls were a very special experience, and for excursions to Loch Ness and Inverness. Jenny was an extremely nice host, her welcome cake was out of this world and we loved chatting about the area and dogs with her. It was an overall PERFECT holiday.

John Lawson
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely cottage in great location. Weather foul but that's Scotland. Wooden floors throughout are great for dog owners but very slippery for the less mobile as is the shower cubicle in downstairs en suite. A towel rail near the sink and shower would be helpful with a rubber mat for the shower. This said this is a quality cottage with all requirements for a great holiday.

Chris Knaggs
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We had a very enjoyable stay at Torvaig cottage. It is situated in a great spot right next to Portree and provides easy access to all of the main routes around the island, making it an ideal place to stay if you're wanting to explore the island.

Keith James
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 25/09/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We were lucky to have great weather while on Skye. The location of the cottage was superb for our requirements. Well equiped and comfortable. There was a problem with the AGA, but someone did come out, however it didnt resolve the amount of heat it gave out, not enough for cooking. Last day lock on front door went and the bathroom lights kept shorting, owner cntactable, amenable and helpful. Didnt use any of the outdoor items apart from the bench table and seat to watch the glorious sunsets and stars at nigh, great dark sky. Would book and recommend again without hesitation, even with the slight issues we had.

Val Smith
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 24/09/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Good value. Great views. Everything needed was supplied. Warning, there is an undercounter fridge/freeze so it is tiny.

Julie Lewis
Reviewed Moll House on 23/09/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Craig D
Reviewed Sixgeary on 21/09/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

Wow, what a beautiful place to spend some time on the Isle of Skye! We had a fantastic weeks break at Sixgeary, the cottage is finished internally to a high standard with all the facilities you require. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable and warm, we enjoyed cosy evenings in front of the log burner, sitting outside stargazing at night and had some great weather whilst we were there. Fresh eggs and marmalade available from Fiona at the end of the road contributed to some great breakfasts!! There is no doubt the island is busier than when we were last there but Sixgeary is certainly a place where you can relax and escape from your normal routine!! We will definitely return!!

Elaine & Ron
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 19/09/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We were delighted with Oak Cottage. It was bright, clean, warm, cosy, well equipped and set in a lovely position to enjoy the numerous local wildlife. Daily we saw red squirrels and numerous other birds. Also in the evening a group of deer. We hopefully will be back before too long. The owners Alma and Chris are very friendly and helpful.

Vicky & Richard
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/09/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a wonderful week at this beautiful house, the setting is absolutely stunning. Being able to walk out of the garden straight into the forest was perfect. The house is secluded enough to enjoy peace and quiet but, also in a good location to explore the surrounding eastern highlands. The log burner made for nice cosy evenings after a day of walking and exploring. We saw lots of wildlife including red squirrels and managed to record a pine marten on the wildlife cam provided by the owners. Jenny is a lovely host and was helpful and on hand but not at all intrusive. Thank you for a great holiday!

Lottie
Reviewed Toberaie on 19/09/2018
And awarded it

Toberaie

A wonderful position with stunning views of the Cairngorms and good access for walks. Comfortable house with plenty of space for boots and coats. Compact but well equipped kitchen.

Daniel Stimson
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 18/09/2018
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

The process of searching and booking a cottage through WildernessCottages was immemorable- a good thing as nothing stood out as difficult. It is however the first time I have used the website so cannot make any constructive criticism.

Mary Ramsay
Reviewed River Cottage on 18/09/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

Once more an enjoyable holiday no thanks to the weather which was rather inclement but then this is Scotland. The cottage was as comfortable as ever. Wifi if you can't do without it, was rather intermittent but not the end of the world.

Lynne Etheridge
Reviewed The Granary on 18/09/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely little cottage in a beautiful setting. The cottage had everything needed for an excellent stay. Owners (who live in adjacent property) very friendly and helpful. Only one issue, if using sat nav, post code will take you to the wrong property.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Etheridge, thank you for your feedback, unfortunately it is very common in rural Scotland, that the post code will cover multiple properties, hence why we provide detailed directions to find each property. We do offer our sincere apologies for any inconvenience that this caused.
Paul Virgo
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 17/09/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Really excellent property and welcoming owners could not have asked for a better weeks stay on Harris!

Stephen Cowell
Reviewed Ardbeg on 17/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Lovely house and gardens with wonderful views from the lounges and the large decked balcony. The rear garden is enclosed and safe for dogs with a gate at the top for direct access to the fells. This house is in a fantastic elevated position in a wonderful part of Scotland and only a few minutes from beaches and a few shops, pubs and restaurants. An exceptional property and well equipped.

Jan& Don Parker
Reviewed Campbell House on 17/09/2018
And awarded it

Campbell House

Couldn't fault Campbell House comfortable home from home feel and the outlook was amazing.Thanks to Agnes for a warm welcome.

Paul & Wendy
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 17/09/2018
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

This is a perfect location for any kind of weather. No need to drive anywhere unless there really is something you want to see or do. Just wander round the bay and across the cliff paths, watch the sea and the gannets diving, count the number of people who come to photograph the honeycomb rock, enjoy the waves, take a sea trip if there are no waves, watch the photoshoots for weddings, and sit in the garden at night with the stars overhead and the bats swooping to take the moths. You don't need a weather forecast - you can see the rain coming, as we did, frequently. But without the rain we wouldn't have had rainbows. All wonderfully photogenic. The cottage is cosy and obviously loved and used as a home from home.

Gwen & Ray
Reviewed Askival on 17/09/2018
And awarded it

Askival

Another fabulous week at Askival (our 4th stay). Lovely and clean and tidy, some nice additions e.g. panoramic photo over the fireplace (though we still absolutely love all of Mr. Grier's prints). Amazing scenery,dark skies, beautiful beaches, fabulous wildlife, peace and quiet - heaven! Hope to be back next year.

Michael
Reviewed Ardbeg on 16/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Lovely location with a fabulous view of the loch. The house is well appointed and recently refurbished to a high standard. We loved our stay!

Gin - Cambs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/09/2018
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

I don't want to leave a review for Shore Cottage because if I do, everyone will want to stay there and it won't be free for me to return!!!

Gary B.
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 14/09/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

A lovely well presented cottage in a very beautiful location. An ideal location for us as we spend a lot of time in the mountains. A short walk from the local Spar shop, cafe and the Lochcarron Bistro. Can't really ask for more from a holiday cottage.

Louise Nixon
Reviewed Ardrannach on 14/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Lovely setting and views, superb views over loch and mountains. Warm and clean open peat fire and welcome pack included. Convenient location near to Portree. We would love to return.

Carla & Douglas Robertson
Reviewed The Mill at Glenlivet on 13/09/2018
And awarded it

The Mill at Glenlivet

If you're looking for complete peace and quiet to rejuvenate (and the gift of no phone reception!), beautiful views over the rolling countryside of Glenlivet Estate, invigorating walks, and day-trips to renowned whisky distilleries, castles, and Cairngorm ski resorts in winter, then the remote Mill perched on a hilltop is the ideal breakaway for you. The Mill is kitted out with everything you need to have a very comfortable stay, including an open fireplace and a wonderful library filled with books from owner Marjorie's treasure-trove bookshop, The Bookmark, in Grantown-in-Spey (be sure to pop in there too). Marjorie and Bill are wonderful hosts -- thank you! We hope to return one day soon.

Carla & Douglas Robertson
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 13/09/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Matheson's Croft House is an idyllic holiday home right on the banks of Loch Alsh - you couldn't ask for a more breathtaking view and a better home base for exploring the west coast and Skye. The house itself has every convenience you could hope for, including a Rayburn oven which makes the most scrumptious roasts, and lovely open fireplaces. It was wonderful to wake up every morning to complete peace and quiet and the most beautiful views from all the windows. We also spotted red deer and herons a few times in the garden. Don't hesitate -- just book. We hope to return sometime soon, as we left completely rejuvenated and in love with the west coast.

Sue & Col Kelly
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 13/09/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

An absolutely outstanding lodge very well presented with great walks from the door. Peaceful and relaxing. Would highly recommend.

Trevor Farthing
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

The cottage is terrific, very well equipped with quality items. It is extremely peaceful and in a beautiful location. The hosts are very friendly and helpful and there is much to see in the area, we loved our time there and hope to return soon. If you are looking for a holiday away from it all with peace, quiet and beauty all around look no further.

Lloyd
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

We've just returned from a brilliant week at Matheson's Croft House. The location is amazing - right on the edge of the Loch and totally secluded but within an easy drive of Kyle and Skye. The house is well furnished and was spotlessly clean throughout. Fresh milk in the fridge on arrival was a nice touch. Our kids loved the garden with the tree swings and so much space to explore. We'd definitely return! One suggestion - the track to the house has a big pothole which could do with some attention.

Susan Mordecai
Reviewed Heatherbank on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Heatherbank

Lovely cottage with beautiful views from the garden which is very secure, our Jack Russell X Ronnie loved it. We did lots of great walks in the Glens, Lochs and at the beach. The cottage was well equipped, very cosy also.

Gareth Shone
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Absolutely perfect location.Quiet,peaceful ... underfloor heating took some getting used to, felt good though. Well maintained and clean cottage. Plenty of wildlife to see out of the front room window. Will most definitely be booking this particular cottage again!

Norman Thornton
Reviewed Ardbeg on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

Wonderful Base to explore this Scenic Area. Watched Dolphins playing in the loch from the deck [with binoculars] and Pine Martins in the Garden, a Kite was nose to nose with my wife through the glass of the deck. The House had everything we could wish for all to tasteful standard, views across to Skye.

Petere
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

Lovely spot, lovely house :-)

Michele Hartnell
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Fersit log cottage ... great location, lovely cottage. Great to just relax and while away the hours watching the wildlife. However, it should be noted that in winter if snow is forecast it is not accessible by normal vehicles as we found out in Feb18. That aside, a fabulous, homely place. (could do with a few more kitchen utensils though ... not everyone like ready meals?)

Angela & Steve
Reviewed Aros Beag on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Very nice cottage, beautifully and conveniently situated for walks from the door, west coast railway and drives out.

Steffen Zacke
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

The cottage is situated in a spectacular location at the foot of the mountains, right at the edge of the sea. There are only three houses along a road, that follows the coastline for several miles (the road itself is not for the faint hearted, as it has quite a few deep potholes; but it is manageable with an ordinary car). The house itself is a very nicely renovated traditional cottage. It is well equipped and it is the perfect hideaway for a romantic week for two. It is well away from the hubbub of Skye and as long as the midges allow, sitting on the porch and enjoying the evening with a glass of wine is hard to beat. I can definitely recommend staying in Moll Cottage.

David & Lynn Mason
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 12/09/2018
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

This is our fourth holiday with wilderness cottages in the last five years. As usual we had a great holiday and overall experience. Cedar Cottage is one of the best locations we have visited. Very comfortable and we'll equipped. Nicely located for exploring the local attractions.

Stephen H.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/09/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The house is just perfect. Located just 15-20 minutes from Portree but in it's own little wilderness at the end of a valley, with spectacular views of the Cullins. The house was spotlessly clean with a lot of attention paid to all kinds of details - it feels like a real home that someone has put a lot of effort into and not just a place that gets rented out. We loved it.