Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 441 to 460 of 2523


C. McC.
Reviewed River Cottage on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

Perfect Highland Hideaway. Spent Christmas week here. Cosy and comfy. Very handy for Inverness and Fort Augustus. Total peace and quiet with only the sound of the river in the distance.

Rebecca & Mustafa
Reviewed Timber House on 30/12/2015
And awarded it

Timber House

The most perfect time in the most perfect house. Views from every window. You really can't capture how great it is to live in this space with a photograph. Go!

A. Steyn
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 28/12/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Looking for a quiet retreat in the Highlands, we came across the Old Smiddy. And we were not disappointed. It is a charming, beautifully restored, perfect get away from the madness of city life, with nights spent around the wood burning oven. It was exceptionally clean and the owners were a pleasure to talk to. Best of all, they knew exactly how to be hospitable without getting in your personal space during the stay. This is a rare quality. My only complaint was the absence of WiFi, which, for a techie like me would have been nice to have. But it cannot possibly detract from the little gem that is the Old Smiddy.

The Connetts
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/12/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don cottage is set back in a secluded location yet not too far from amenities. The cottage had a good layout and all the rooms were of a good size. The kitchen had everything you needed and the welcome pack left by the owner was greatly received. Ideally situated for exploring the surrounding area - Glen Affric, Loch Mullardoch and the Black Isle all well worth a visit. Would love to come back one day.

Shelagh
Reviewed Sealight on 21/12/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We loved this house. Wonderful remote location with a lovely outlook onto Loch Sunart. The house itself is a wonderful design and has everything you could ask for. If we were back in the Western Highlands again, I would not hesitate to book this house. If you are looking for peace and quiet in comfort, this fits the bill.

James Anderson
Reviewed Mealishal on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

David Penn
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Fantastic place, well laid out building for 6 persons.3 en-suite and a bathroom, what more can you ask for.

Helen G
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 16/12/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We arrived at this cottage on the worst night of the recent storms in pitch black. The cottage was warm and so welcoming. Tea, coffee, milk, bread and eggs waited for us. The photos do not do this property justice. The beach is fantastic, sandy and rock pools and we didn't see anyone else during our stay. We took 3 terriers and they loved it. It is secluded and the track needs care but a super property. There is a conservatory where the dogs were happy to stay in . Can't fault the property.

Stephen Dicken
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 09/12/2015
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Perfect solitude and very well equiped cottage. Driveway down to cottage could do with some maintenance but would not stop me going again

Steven Kerry Anne Marty
Reviewed Upper Folds on 09/12/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Excellent cottage in a very peaceful location. The whole place is self sufficient and very clean with great views over the hills. All in all an amazing place and we will definitly be back!

Janet Goldsworthy
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 08/12/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We stayed in Coltsfoots Cottage for the last 2 weeks of October. The log cabin is superb and I would recommend it to anyone who is thinking of staying there. The owners, who live nearby are very helpful and friendly but not intrusive. The cabin is in a wonderful location with no other properties in view, although only a short walk from Fort Augustus. It is very comfortable and warm and with everything you could need.

Malcolm Douglas
Reviewed River Cottage on 07/12/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

A great week in a wonderful part of the world. River Cottage was all that we hoped for, warm and comfortable with everything we needed and in a great location. Beautiful walks every day with Homer our Black Lab who by the end of the week was exhausted but in a happy way. And although it was November the weather was good to us as well.

Bill Archibald
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely, clean and well planned cottage with amazing views that change by the hour. Very cosy with underfloor heating and a cracking log burner. Very impressed!

Joan & Geoff
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Pine Lodge is accessed via a very steep short track. In the trees above Loch Kishorn, with views across the water to the spectacular pass to Applecross. Spotlessly clean, comfortably furnished and warm. Small but perfectly formed. If the local Pine Marten had been any friendlier it would have joined us on the settee watching Eastenders! We would happily return.

Michael Cooper
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

We saw Leachachan Barn on line when we were looking for somewhere to go on Honeymoon and came across the barn it looked perfect both in facilities and location. When we arrived we were blown away it was as described but so much more. We spent the last week completely chilled out enjoying the Wood burning stove and comfy couches whilst the rain sleat snow and sunshine went about its daily business providing hourly changes in the view. The bottle of Whiskey was a lovely touch and went down well!! We can't recommend the barn highly enough and will be back for sure. You made our honeymoon perfect. Thankyou Michael & Lynne and Wee Kodi

Abe Ahmed
Reviewed Don Cottage on 30/11/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

My wife and I were very pleased with our stay here. The cottage exceeded our expectations! If you want to stay in a quiet, self-catering cottage with plenty of space, this offers amazing facilities for an outstanding price.

Kay Walker
Reviewed Franks on 25/11/2015
And awarded it

Franks

Allison Green
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 24/11/2015
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

After our 4th visit to the Barn we have returned home refreshed and relaxed from such a lovely stay. We never tire of the view over Loch Duich and the 5 Sisters, from the comfort of the living room and the wood burner. A very special place to stay.

Rachael
Reviewed Callakille on 23/11/2015
And awarded it

Callakille

Callakille was everything we expected and more. A beautiful spot on the coast in the middle of the inspiring landscape of North West Scotland our cosy cottage was the perfect hideaway. The kitchen was well equipped, the bathroom sizeable and warm with the bonus of underfloor heating and unspoilt views to the Isle of Raasay and Skye from the rolltop bath. The local village of Applecross 8 miles away was quiet in November and we enjoyed a few beers and good food in the friendly local pub. We would highly recommend this place.

Jean & David Parkin
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 22/11/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely welcoming cottage. Fantastic views from window and patio. Very well equipped and very comfortable bed. Rocky shoreline just feet away from the door with a beach when tide out. Seals seen every day and an otter on the rocks one morning. Felt very privileged to see a sea eagle one day when having coffee sat outside. Good walks for our two dogs. Was plenty to see scenic wise and awe inspiring comes to mind. We had some groceries delivered from the Spar shop in Lochcarron which were all put away in the fridge when we arrived, excellent service. We had amazing weather but we would have enjoyed it whatever. Ideal holiday if like us you value a cottage in a peaceful location with scenery and wildlife on your doorstep.