Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1101 to 1150 of 2902


Peter
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/03/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

A fantastic log cabin with a great view of the mountains. The cabin was spotless and well presented, the log burner was brilliant and the road up to the cabin was not bad at all, just take it slowly as there are a few pot holes. Local walks are great. I would recommend this cabin to anybody who wants to relax.

Chris Bryant
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 16/03/2015
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Wanted a " get away from it all " break and this place was perfect. Great attention to detail and good facilities made this cottage a cosy hideaway in a beautiful location on the trotternish peninsula. We were very lucky with the weather, having 3 continuous days of sunshine to explore nearby portree, staffin, coastal walks and hikes up on the trotternish ridge. The cottage was equiped with everything we needed for a comfortable stay, but its worth noting that there are shops or pubs close-by.

Graeme & Sheena
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 13/03/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

The most amazing property, everything has been thought of. We spent 3 nights here in March weather was dramatic to say the least really did have 4 seasons in one day however sitting cosy with glass of wine and the most incredible view could not have been happier. It is perfectly remote with the advantage of only being 20 mins from Portree but if you want my advice take enough provisions so you can just enjoy the peace and quiet. Really hope to return thank you

Laura
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 10/03/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

What a dream come true; views to die for, a sauna to warm you up, a fire to get cozy to and everything in perfect condition. There's almost no traffic as you're on a road with a dead-end, plenty of rabbits and eagles to view from your doorstep and trust me, the cottage is storm proof! We had our honeymoon here this beginning of March and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Don't hesitate, this cottage is the perfect get-away.

Janet Rutherford
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 09/03/2015
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Just come back from a wonderful relaxing week in this gorgeous cottage. The location is fantastic and the cottage is comfortable and cosy. The owners Peter and Ria are very warm and welcoming and have thought of everything you need for a great holiday. We especially liked the wonderfully comfy bed, log burning stove and fantastic views from the deck. We would really look forward to staying here again.

Olivia Swann
Reviewed Solas on 09/03/2015
And awarded it

Solas

Nick & Danny
Reviewed Upper Folds on 09/03/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Had an amazing week at Upper Folds. You will not be disappointed if you are looking for a luxurious cottage in breathtaking surroundings. The owners are so helpful if you have any problems. Highly recommended!!

Colin Woodsford
Reviewed Charleston on 02/03/2015
And awarded it

Charleston

Quite simply one of the best properties we have had the pleasure of staying in Scotland. We have been coming to the highlands for 18 years plus, and this house really felt like a home from home, extremely well equipped and warm, the views from every window are to die for, had the pleasure of many red kites flying over the house and deer passing by. All in all, great house, great location and a great holiday. Thank you

Kathy Fraser
Reviewed River Cottage on 02/03/2015
And awarded it

River Cottage

A great place to stay, warm and cosy in the snowy weather. The view from the verandah on our first morning was a beautiful snowscape with the river running by. Well equipped with comfortable furniture and a really convenient layout. Mac the Springer was made welcome by the hosts who could not have been more helpful. We will definitely try to return to visit all the places and do the walks we didn't have time for this visit.

Joao Povoa
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 28/02/2015
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

There are few places in Europe that you can be nearly isolated from the grey and boring common world, this is definitely one of those magic places! The house is very well decorated and comfortable! I think It will be very hard to find a cottage with this quality!

Julie Penson
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 27/02/2015
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We rented this secluded home as a group including children in February. The postcode takes you to the turning before, so just make sure you drive past here until you see the junction with the Labrador farm on one side and a sign for meikle labrax on the other. The road is rickety but well worth the ride. An absolutely amazing location. The house was warm and welcoming. We walked to the lighthouse (7 miles but well worth it) We loved it as a complete getaway and will def return!!

Martin Billington
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 26/02/2015
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Wonderful location, incredible views, really well equipped cottage, very warm and comfortable, easy to find. 10/10

Lynda Manson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 26/02/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have had a fabulous week-the cottage has everything you need, it was really cosy-in fact the log fire was too efficient so we had to open the patio doors. Great having all the white good you need but most of all fab not to have to use the car.

Norma Pendleton
Reviewed Log House on 26/02/2015
And awarded it

Log House

Log House in Fort Augustus was excellent we had a brilliant long weekend stay, will defiantly be back.

Tracy Jackson
Reviewed Don Cottage on 24/02/2015
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Just returned from a wonderful week at Don Cottage .Situated in the small village/hamlet of Milton nearest facilities are only a mile away in Drumnadrochit . Lovely welcome pack of wine,whiskey,biscuits and milk greeted us on our arrival ...along with a full log basket ,coal bucket and fire set ready to light ,which was much appreciated after a 5 hr winter journey. A lovely cottage in an ideal situation for exploring the Highlands and a spot of Nessie Hunting !!

Kevin Smith
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 23/02/2015
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Love the Smiddy. Takes a dog, great for walks, nearby services, great wee place to hole up and relax. Wood burning stove, nice with the fire on, heat makes the bedroom nice and cosy. Well equipped. Our second visit but would stay again.

Charmaine Desira
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 22/02/2015
And awarded it
Kirsty Licence
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 19/02/2015
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Braehead Steading is a lovely, spacious, clean and well equipped house, and wonderfully warm for a winter break. We had excellent walks just from the back of the house, and used the railway track to cycle over to Glen Tanar. A really good base for skiing, walking and cycling. We left with lots of things remaining to do next time.

Kenneth Graham
Reviewed Moat House 7 - Abbey on 19/02/2015
And awarded it

Moat House 7 - Abbey

Once up the challenging stairs, this proved to be a comfortable flat in lovely unique surrounds. Well equipped it has most items needed for a few days away. However the 2nd bedroom, more convenient than the Master, would be a better utilised as a single room as the double bed takes up most of the floor space. Sound proofing is not brilliant and one is aware of other neighbours at times. Having said that it is a flat and in fairness when it was quiet it was a very peaceful.

Deb & Ian Soutar
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 16/02/2015
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

One of the most magical of holidays. Ardoch Bothy is exceptionally comfortable. We stayed here in January 2015 and it would be fair to say the weather was challenging but we loved every moment. The owners were very attentive in a non-intrusive way. Proof of the pudding is we are returning in June. This will become a regular holiday destination for us.

Hugh McDonald
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 13/02/2015
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Very well appointed apartment in fabulous historic setting. The grounds, cloisters and position on the loch were amazing. Highly recommended. Only thought is to reduce the sauna age please. Our 13 year old son loves them and has used elsewhere for years (Min age is 8 at the Hilton Coylumbridge. He's on adult menus and prices for most things after all). Best meal was at the Boathouse. Thanks to all concerned. Great quiet winter trip.

Heather Walker
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 11/02/2015
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We stayed here for a long weekend in January and had a great stay. The lodge if fab - has everything you could need and is really cosy. The wood stove heated the lodge really well. Even when it was really cold and snowing outside we were snug indoors. Good location - places to eat nearby, although as the lodge was so nice we enjoyed cooking in the lovely kitchen and eating in with a bottle of wine infront of the glowing fire! Nothing negative to say about our stay - would highly recommend :)

Maggie Wright
Reviewed Log House on 04/02/2015
And awarded it

Log House

This is the most perfect log cabin to stay in for such a peaceful relaxing time. It was very clean, well equipped and just beautiful. Wish we had booked more time.

Sean Henderson
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 04/02/2015
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We stayed for 3 nights in January and had an amazing relaxing weekend. The cottage is very clean and had everything we needed.the underfloor heating is brilliant, along with the stove we were very comfortable. It could easily be used to access the hills around loch Tay as it is only a 5 minute drive to Killin. Excellent little cottage, especially for the price. We will be back.

Mike & Helen
Reviewed Fhaireag on 04/02/2015
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Stayed here in mid January 2015. After an 'interesting' 19 miles along a snow track, we finally arrived at our destination and what a place it was. Completely fell in love with the location, desolation and tranquility. Partner fell in love with the wildlife and I want to punch the design of the house when building ours! Definitely recommend this property and we will certainly be back. Just make sure the heating is on! :-)

Liz & Neil
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 27/01/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde

Dave Leigh
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/01/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Stayed here in October 2014, lovely warm and peaceful cottage just a few steps from the loch. Couldn't have asked for more.

Abbi
Reviewed Log House on 10/01/2015
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is a perfect place to get away and relax. Facilities are excellent and so is the cleanliness. Our holiday was just too short, could stay here forever! Can't wait for our next trip!

Tom Ashley
Reviewed Giusaichean on 10/01/2015
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Lisa
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 09/01/2015
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Visited this cottage from the 26 December 2014 to 3 January 2015. Loved every minute of our stay some great views and a well kept house had all our offer and more would stay again anytime of the year. Lots of wildlife around also for such a quiet location.

Lynn Sutton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 08/01/2015
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This is our second visit to The Coltsfoot and it was as good as the first time. Excellent facilities, great setting couldn't ask for more. Everyone should visit if they love a relaxing time.

Richard
Reviewed Toberaie on 07/01/2015
And awarded it

Toberaie

We had a great week in Toberaie. Great place, great host, 100% recommended, thanks

Sue Trend
Reviewed Stac Polly on 03/01/2015
And awarded it

Stac Polly

Lovely week in Achiltibuie. House a little too technical for us but did get to grips with it before leaving. Under floor heating in double room downstairs was not functioning very well.Hot tub a great success, less so the infrared sauna! We know the area very well and Stac Pollaidh was fantastic on Christmas Day.

Irene Gordon
Reviewed Sealight on 31/12/2014
And awarded it

Sealight

An exquisite setting for an outstanding house. We loved the views from every room, the peacefulness and being able to potter out to the beach for shells each day. The owners have catered for everything possible including food for the birds ! The underfloor heating ( our stay was over Xmas ) was delightful and cosy. We didn't want to leave !

Karen Maclellan
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 30/12/2014
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

A stunning house for a break - spotlessly clean - beautifully finished with lovely views from every single window. We booked for Xmas and arrived to a fully decorated xmas tree and 2 dog cages set up for us - complete with treats!! The house is fully equipped and so cosy. The under-floor heating was amazing! thank you for a great break. Karen, Iain, Ann, Chloe and Kyle - and Max and Skye the dogs!!

Marian Buhlea
Reviewed Gate House on 30/12/2014
And awarded it

Gate House

Perfect place, lovely cottage, we had a fabulous holiday! We will return for sure! We recommend it to our friends too! Thank u! Fabulous place.

Sharon Howle
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/12/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We arrived to a lovely welcome a roaring fire chocolates and wine on December 21st ready for our Christmas away and what a perfect setting. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need and is in a beautiful location Christmas morning was spent watching on otter on the loch the setting is breath taking . while we explored the area with our dogs we saw stags an eagle two otters and various other beautiful birds also the road through the mountains to applecross is a must .

Lingity
Reviewed Rhundunan on 23/12/2014
And awarded it

Rhundunan

This is a very beautiful house with everything in it and more you can imagine. We enjoyed the sea view through the big windows very much. It was great how remote and private it felt. An excellent place for a relaxing holiday away from the city.

Bridget Davies
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 17/12/2014
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

Had a great stay at this newly built cottage. The sea is literally a stone throw away & we saw seals & an otter eating a fish just outside the window. Our hosts were very friendly & helpful, & keen to get any feedback we had to offer.

Will Thompson
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 17/12/2014
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

ABSOLUTLEY FANTASTIC Words cannot describe how our weekend stay went, from the drive up in the beautiful countryside to arriving to a very warm welcome from the staff and being showed to a truly beautiful apartment and facilities. We went for my girlfriends birthday and as I have said we both feel that everything from the setting, accommodation ,people was absolutely fantastic. You can probably get something a little cheaper in the area, but NOT BETTER! Thank you all See you soon

HEATHER WATSON
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 07/12/2014
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Just returned from a glorious week at Shore Cottage. What a superb location with great facilities. Very dog friendly which is important to us. Straight out onto the beach every morning, not a soul in sight. We spent most of our time in the sun room complete with doggie couch. The heating was also very good and had to turn off the heater in the bedroom as we were too warm even in November! Cannot fault this property in any way and will definitely be returning.

Helen Janousek
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 01/12/2014
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

What a fantastic holiday we had in such a fantastic house! Pooltiel House is the real deal - incredible views, modern, warm & comfy accommodation & graced with the presence of a pair of sea eagles every day. Wow. If you want a stunning holiday in the wild and remote beauty that Skye has to offer, this is the place for you.

Fania & Mike
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 24/11/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We have just come back from a lovely week in Fort Augustus and the Coltsfoots was the ideal spot - quiet, idyllic setting, with a large garden for the dog. Literally 5 minutes from the centre of Fort Augustus, it was nice to be able to pop in for the papers without having to drive. The chalet is super warm, very well equipped and the milk, biscuits and bottle of wine on arrival was so kind, especially after a long drive to get there. The supply of logs was also very welcomed indeed.

Adri & Margreet (from Holland)
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 20/11/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at The White-Tail Croft in October 2014. Over the cottage is sufficiently described in the other reviews. But, the big windows, the great terrace after cooling down after sauna, great views of the wild land, deer, birds of prey, sun and sunset and the silence are absotlute sublime.

Chris H
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 16/11/2014
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Great view facing the road to Applecross - the location was one of the prime reasons for choosing to book and it did not disappoint. The lodge was well equipped with pretty much everything you could think of for a self-catering stay. Internet access was especially welcome given how relatively remote the location was. The weather during the stay was mixed (though mainly cold it has to be said!) but the house was always comfortable regardless. Really great little place for Highlands vacation.

Craig Silcock
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 10/11/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutely amazing and beautiful place. We really didn't want to leave.

Nikki Warburton
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 09/11/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Wonderful house with spectacular views and a very peaceful setting. The internet was a bonus. House is very well equipped for self catering and had everything we needed. The weather was very mixed but the house was always lovely and warm, made even more cosy with the log fire. We all thoroughly enjoyed the local walks, especially Glomach Falls where we saw lots of deer. Heavenly.

Rena Martin
Reviewed Solas on 06/11/2014
And awarded it

Solas

Mrs Hill
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 03/11/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Absolutely Fantastic week at Fersit log cottage! Lovely welcome pack on arrival and very clean and tidy cottage with lots of space. Was pleased to see that lots of logs were available for the burner unlike other cottages (Non-Wilderness) that we have been to previously. Great facilities in the cottage. Wonderful location - saw deer in the field on a few mornings - lovely wildlife and scenery. We climbed Ben Nevis due to a fabulous week of weather - back to the relaxing retreat of Fersit after!

Ian & Angela
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 01/11/2014
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a fantastically relaxing week in this great lodge. Donald was extremely friendly and the scones and jam he made for our arrival were superb. The lodge is clean, well kept and very well equiped. The views across the Beauly Firth are stunning, you may even spot dolphins in the firth on the short drive to and from Inverness. A great location for exploring the area, or just relaxing and enjoying the view from the lodge.