Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1151 to 1200 of 2902


Sue Davis
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

our third visit with Wendy Stewart and(max the dog)to this lovely remote cottage, love how the kitchen diner has been done since we last came, we had lots of walks through the forest and along the single track road both ways, so much wildlife to see here, even got a photo this time of the pine martin on his evening visit outside the patio door. A great location if you just want to chill and get away from it all.

Martin Coburn
Reviewed Aros Beag on 17/08/2014
And awarded it

Aros Beag

I booked this cottage for my wife's 40th birthday and boy did it delliver; a wonderful little cottage in a fantastic location. On arrival Diane was very helpful and explained everythng. The music system with the wi fi was very handy - we listened to music on the tablet as well as the radio. Had a lovely time overall and we even managed to visit Loch Ness and climb Ben Nevis. I would happily recommend this cottage to anyone who is looking to stay in Scotland.

Michelle Anslow
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/08/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We loved Stablemans Lodge. Six of us stayed for a week in August and had the most amazing time. The delightful lodge only added to our experience. Perfectly positioned between the town and countryside, the lodge was homely and was equipped with everything we needed. The owners live next door and were very nice and never intrusive. It comfortably housed 6 of us. We made use of the beautiful wood burner in the evenings. Would recommend this Lodge as an ideal base for exploring the Highlands.

Di Bulter
Reviewed An Airidh on 15/08/2014
And awarded it

An Airidh

This cottage is well situated and nicely appointed with just about everything one could wish for. One can see that a great deal of thought has gone into making this a great place to stay. The rooms are all very comfortable and the views are lovely. The welcome basket was very thoughtful and much appreciated. The only very minor points are rather tepid hot water in the shower (the wet room can be mopped down with the mop provided!) and no tongs in the kitchen for cooking!

Peter Hird & Beth Gwynne
Reviewed Giusaichean on 14/08/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Viv Wight
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 14/08/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An excellent property, seemed small from the outside but lots of space inside and an excellent garden for all kinds of games. Very clean, bright and lots of lovely little extras which made the holiday very special.

Mattsimpson
Reviewed Don Cottage on 11/08/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

An excellent location with fantastic views. The cottage is very comfortable with nice furnishings, perfect for exploring Loch Ness.

Craig Civil
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 10/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Location, location, location. Taigh Druim is in a fabulous location. Get the good weather and the views to the Cuillins are the best. Get the bad weather and you can be cosy inside and look out of one of three great views which, when we were there, each had different weather going on. Elgol is a lovely place to be.

Ute Viell
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/08/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We spent two weeks in this lovely and cosy cottage with our friends and three children. Everything was very fine and clean, we found everything we needed. Especially we loved the excellent equipped kitchen and the log fire, which we lit nearly every evening. And of course the sun room, which invites to sit and look over the canal. We enjoyed the silence in this remote property. Upstairs it is a little bit narrow, but if you are under 1,80 m it is okay. We will come back for sure!

Anne Turton
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 07/08/2014
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

A delightful cottage with everything you could possibly need. Excellent location, perfect for exploring the Trotternish peninsular - the Quiraing is a must. We highly recommend Tigh Nighean Barn.

Pippa McKean
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 06/08/2014
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

We were actually upgraded from woodpecker pad to nearby Cathies Cottage, presumably because previous guest wanted to extend their stay in woodpecker pad- and I can understand why. It is a truly stunning location. It was nice to have somewhere really live up to the claim of being dog friendly. Ther is and extensive network of beautiful walks within the grounds . Cottage itself was large, tasteful and comfortable. We all had plenty of space to enjoy indoors and out.

Paul Kirkwood
Reviewed Christies on 05/08/2014
And awarded it

Christies

The location is brilliant. You are no more than an hour from Durness (for Cape Wrath), Ullapool and the starts of walks up Suilven and Stac Pollaidh and to Sandwood Bay. The cottage is very peaceful, cosy and well appointed with a stunning view over the bay and village from the garden. Just a desperate pity there's no seat from which to sit and enjoy it! Odd that there was no visitors' book either. Soft, comfortable beds and friendly neighbour.

Martyn West
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 03/08/2014
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

Arrive via a little used coastal road to a great cottage in a great location, just a few steps from the sea. Very well equipped with everything you'd need. The weather on Skye was outstanding which certainly helped but, good weather or bad, this is a lovely place. We saw lots of wildlife from the cottage - Red Deer, Buzzards, Otters, Seals etc. The only small downside was the settee - not very comfortable. Overall though, a great place

Brigitte Müller
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 03/08/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

The 5 of us spent 2 beautiful weeks in a house with stunning view on the sea and the small islands just off the coast. The house itself very comfortable and well equipped with room and space for good an bad weather - in July 2014 just 2 or 3 days of fog, rain and wind to make the difference to the days of mediterranean climate! Marvellous hikes in the surroudings possible or just relax on the terrace, reading a good book and letting your eye wander over the water or a boat leaving or coming in.

Taylor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 02/08/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Good well equipped clean cottage in a good central area. Lovely view from front but whole cottage was rather dark - would benefit greatly from shrub clearing/tree lopping!

Regina & Andreas Cama
Reviewed Kenaclacher Steading on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Kenaclacher Steading

Julia Ranger
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Katies cottage is fantastic, beautifully decorated throughout,very clean, tidy and everything you could need and may have forgotten supplied ie tin foil, cooking oil, very thoughtfull. Plenty of wonderfull places to visit in the area, stunning views, great local shop(alladins cave) an abundance of tea and craft shops...we loved it, would happily return.

Stephanie
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 01/08/2014
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A fantastic cottage with amazing sea views. Spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished with all home comforts, great for kids and dogs with a small beach 2 mins walk away. We saw lots of local wildlife including a group of seals just off the beach! Lovely owners who took great care of us; they were very helpful with great knowledge of the area. Loads of interesting places to visit locally, all within a short drive. A lovely place for a very relaxing holiday - we would highly recommend it.

Yvonne Wattam
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 01/08/2014
And awarded it
K.McGowan
Reviewed Aros nan Aisling on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Aros nan Aisling

We had a lovely week here.....The house was very well furnished and comfortable with beautiful views out to sea. Lots of scenic walks near the house down to the coastline and up to Stoer Lighthouse. There was lots to do for all ages including sea kayaking, visiting Handa Island to see the Puffins, enjoying some excellent seafood in local restaurants and just exploring the stunning coastline extending up to Durness, with all the islands, inlets and lochs.

Marcel & Family From Switzerland
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautiful house, great and quiet location. It was a perfect start into our holidays to get away from everydays stress. Well the nice weather we enjoyed during the whole week was probably helping out a bit here. Who said it always rains in Scotland?

Craig & Mel
Reviewed The Bothy on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just returned home from a week in this delightful cottage and have to say we had a wonderful time, it is set in beautiful gardens (which the dog loved). The kitchen has every utensil you could think of, the beds are large and so so comfortable, such a peaceful and relaxing week a great place to stay

David Rout
Reviewed Moll House on 31/07/2014
And awarded it

Moll House

You could not wish for a better location although the single lane approach road is a good introduction to driving in some of the more remote parts of the island. The approach from the Portree direction is shorter. The house was immaculate when we arrived and was well equipped. The five of us (all adults) had plenty of space to enjoy. The wildlife seen from the kitchen window was amazing and as the house is right on the shore of the loch it included seals, otters and a large variety of bird life.

Stuart Dalgarno.
Reviewed Sealight on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Sealight

We stayed mid July. The property has been newly built and is simply stunning. A fantastic house,fittings and furnishings with a fantastic view. Off the beaten track it is a quiet and stress free location. Lots of wildlife to see including a pine martin that came to visit on the decking.Highly recommended.

C Burrows
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Excellent week in a well equipped and clean cottage. The location is perfect with a two minute stroll into Fort Augustus for all amenities. Milk and bottle of wine a very welcoming touch.

Jennifer Hudson
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

we have just returned from a week in woodside lodge, the cottage was like home from home, cosy with everything you could possibly need. the views are stunning, and the surroundings awesome. theres so much to do in this beautiful location! we didnt get to meet the owners as we were so busy but they were just on the end of the phone. only thing i would say is can you make the entrance sign bigger as we missed it completely!

Stephanie McElroy
Reviewed An Slinnean on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Alex
Reviewed Moat House 7 - Abbey on 30/07/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 7 - Abbey

Excelent appartment, excelent location, excelent facilities. In minutes you fill like at home and you are sad when leaving ... simply enjoy the days :)

Lance & Gillian Defty
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 29/07/2014
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

A lovely lodge, very comfortable and clean with all amenities needed, it is situated in a beautiful location with stunning view over Loch Kishorn, very secluded and peaceful with some wonderful wildlife to watch, we would definitely consider going back again. Well worth considering to get away into the unspoilt countryside around about and is an ideal base to explore this area of Scotland.

Jackie Dawber
Reviewed Glenara on 29/07/2014
And awarded it

Glenara

Cottage ideally situated between river and canal. Picture postcard. Couldn't get any better. Comfortable and clean. All home comforts. Garden secure for dog. Weather was brilliant so added to most enjoyable and much needed holiday. Owner on hand to meet and greet - nice personal touch. Fort Augustus was utterly delightful and picturesque area.

Michelle Schnider & Didier Prongué
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 29/07/2014
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We were the whole July in this really FANTASTIC house and enjoyed every second! Stunning view, wonderful interior (I love the new rangemaster in the kitchen), cool wildlife around and the house has the perfect position to make day trips to explore Scotland. Thank you sooooo much! We'll for sure come again as soon as possible! We love Scoland and this cottage made it even better!!!! Thank you Duncan and Family!

Anthea Banks
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 29/07/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had an excellent time here and can not wait to come back again. The cottage has everything you could possibly want to a very high standard. The views are breathtaking and the wildlife a delight. If you are thinking of visiting Scotland I can not recommend Poulary Cottage highly enough.

Craig Civil
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 29/07/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

A really nice place to stay. We liked the new contemporary style and everything was smart and clean. Some nice welcome touches that were appreciated after a long drive. White Tail Croft is in a very quiet location with lots of wildlife on the doorstep and yet only a 15 minute fun drive to Portree and the shops and fuel. The weather when we there was amazing with 5 days of hot sunny weather that enabled us to fully see the place at its best. Great view to the Cuillins on a cloud free evening

Leigh & Owen Murdie
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 27/07/2014
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What can we say about Plodda Falls Lodge ... quiet, pristine, comfortable, cosy, amazing. 3 adults, 2 kids under 2 and 2 dogs and we absolutely loved it. Fresh air, peace & quiet and plenty of room for the kids in the garden. My husband thoroughly enjoyed the cake Jenny made for us and our daughter loved watching the birds on the birdtable. The rooms are immaculate and the main bedroom bed was fantastic, the carving on it is 1st class. Loved it so much we've booked for next year.

Cochois
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 21/07/2014
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Very nice cottage, full equiped, so lovely, large rooms, very comfortable, but hot water stop at ten pm, what a pity !!! Very nice environment around the house, to share with a deer and a pine-marten, also perfectly suitable for a dog. But be carefull of mosquitos... We liked Scotland a lot, and we were lucky because we had a lot of sun !

Andy McGregor
Reviewed River Cottage on 20/07/2014
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed here for a week , lovely clean cottage with everything you would need. The cottage was in a peaceful area with a view of the river. Would recommend to anyone who wishes a quiet time away .Bottle of wine on arrival was a nice thought.

Alan & Jennifer Hudson
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 20/07/2014
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

A lovely well equiped cottage in a fantastic location. The viiews are stunning and it a great base for travelling. Recommend the drive through applecross mountains, scary at times but breathtaking! Lots of information in the cottage on things to do.

Katia
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 19/07/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Rhona Scott
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 14/07/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Just spent the most relaxing, glorious week in this gorgeous cottage. Myself, husband and little dog have never felt so relaxed and refreshed after a week away. The view from the window and garden is just stunning. We watched seals and otters, sitting in the cottage of an evening. We travelled around the area, a couple of days during the week, however we were just desperate to get back to the cottage, to just relax and appreciate the most stunning and awesome view. Can't wait to return !!!

Janet Vickers
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 10/07/2014
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

I have recently spent a week at this lovely cottage, comfortable and cosy and equipped to a good standard. However dog owners should take note that although the garden is fully fenced and dog proof, the fences are quite low. Lovely area and situated within easy reach of the lovely beach at Nairn.

Janet E Vickers
Reviewed Upper Folds on 10/07/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

I have just returned from my fourth visist to this lovely cottage. Everything just as we left it at Christmas, never fails to disappoint. Sitting in the livingroom watching the herd of 36 deer close by.WOW! Well done to Richard and Leigh-anne for the continued high standard, still worth a 5 star rating.

Nicola O'Neill
Reviewed Christies on 07/07/2014
And awarded it

Christies

The most wonderful place to completely chill. Just could not stop looking at the breathtaking views, whether it be sunny, cloudy or rainy absolutely stunning. Comfortable cottage with a really lovely kitchen - lounge area with log burner. Visitor book would be an idea to leave tips for future guests & an outdoor bench would be lovely to soak up that view. We will return.

Steph
Reviewed Rowan Cottage - Arrina on 04/07/2014
And awarded it

Rowan Cottage - Arrina

Perfect cottage for the 2 of us - probably the nicest one we have ever stayed in. It is extremely well appointed and comfortable. Convenient location for exploring Applecross and Torridon areas with lovely beaches and stunning mountain scenery within easy reach. Plenty of eating out choices within a short drive. We loved it and highly recommend a stay in this lovely cottage.

Elaine Lord
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 02/07/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second visit to Poulary Cottage and again we had two fabulous weeks, we loved the new kitchen layout and were very pleased that you had left the good old Stanley Range in place, we love the way it cooks. Audrey was there when we arrived and gave us a lovely friendly welcome. The cottage was spotless. We were visited by the Pine Martin, Badger and Woodpeckers on a daily basis and met many of the local deer. Our two German Shepherds had a fabulous time in the secure garden. Thank you

M. Cattan
Reviewed Glen View on 01/07/2014
And awarded it

Glen View

Penny & Ed Goater
Reviewed Glen View on 01/07/2014
And awarded it

Glen View

Penny & Ed Goater
Reviewed Solas on 01/07/2014
And awarded it

Solas

Emma Watts
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 01/07/2014
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We LOVED this cottage! Conveniently located for Portree with a quick walk down the hill, yet feels like it's in the middle of nowhere. The views are beyond words, we had no rain at all which helped! The owner farms the land so was around a lot and let the kids help with cows, chickens, dogs etc- they loved it! The cottage had a really homely feel, and was warm and not damp like other stone cottages I have stayed in. It was also really spacious with a pretty garden. Thoroughly recommend!!!

Mrs Heather Graham
Reviewed Highland Coach House on 30/06/2014
And awarded it

Highland Coach House

Perfect luxury. I am not connected in anyway to the property owner/s.

Sandra Hewitson
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 30/06/2014
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Great cottage tucked away on the hill above Portree. Very comfortable cottage has everything you could need including some lovely walks roundabout the property. Ideally situated for exploring the island. My two dogs had a great stay to and were kept entertained by the chickens in the next field!