Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1151 to 1200 of 2966


Nikki Young
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/10/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We had a fantastic, relaxing and tranquil stay at Fhaireag. The house was perfect, the bed was really comfortable and the views were stupendous. We explored all around Loch Ness, Inverness and made it to Skye using the old ferry which was a joy. Lady Woofy our Patterdale Terrier loved her stay particularly the adventures and the German Shepherd next door who she fell blissfully in love with. We would love to return

Atte En Diana , Paco En Snowy From Holland
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 01/10/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Steve
Reviewed Charleston on 29/09/2014
And awarded it
Jean Collins
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 25/09/2014
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Second visit this year a lovely cosy cottage, well equipped and a wonderful location. The Aga and stove are great. Both us and our two dogs loved the holidays we had here.

Jean Collins
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/09/2014
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Second visit this year the cottage is cosy, well equipped and yes remote but if you check the map you will already know this bring EVERYTHING with you as nearest spar is in Loch Carran and the Tesco is at Dingwall some 1 1/2 hours away. This area is so beautiful and the scenery changes everyday I cannot recommend enough how much you will enjoy your visit here. There is no hair dryer so bring one with you.

Jacinta & Dave Bennett
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 20/09/2014
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We loved Katie's Cottage. It is just beautiful, inside and out. Our labrador loved the garden! We cooked great meals because the kitchen is so well equipped and the two ovens brilliant. Just a gorgeous place to be for the week. Fantastic location if you like tranquility. Beautiful views, sky amazing on a clear night....bed very comfy....what not to love? Only thing is a bath would have been good after a day of walking. Other than that, we truly loved the cottage and Skye is incredible.

Katherine Davies
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 19/09/2014
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We had a week in early August 2014. Weather mixed but never stopped us from doing fabulous walks in this most special of places and the days when the sun shone is was truly stunning. Swallow Byre was perfect in every way. So comfortable, cosy and well equipped and the welcome from Jane along with her delicious jam and scones on arrival were such a treat. The peace and quiet and sense of being so away from it all was just what was hoped for.

Heather Swain
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 17/09/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Excellent property. Comfortable and immaculately clean. New kitchen a beaut although we sort of missed the Aga! Lovely range cooker - bigger than mine. New chair in lounge and upstairs. Just beautiful. Mustn't say too much as others will book it and we want to come again!

Paul Barrass
Reviewed Don Cottage on 16/09/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely holiday in Don Cottage. Welcome pack much appreciated, a nice touch, even biscuits for our dog. Very clean and well equipped. Open fire was great on the few cold nights we had. Cottage is in very secluded position , which we and our dog loved. Surrounding area is beautiful and excellent woodland walks only a short drive away.

Lynn Mason
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 16/09/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Phil + Karen Appleby
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 15/09/2014
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Combines all the best things from previous cottages but in one location. Pleasant and tranquil even the cows in the field were chilled out. Loads of space and all the facilitys you could possibly want , we had a relaxing holiday and plan to come back again. Thanks to Pat for the warm welcome.

F Murphy
Reviewed Laracks on 14/09/2014
And awarded it

Laracks

Barbara Gray
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 13/09/2014
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Helen Large
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 13/09/2014
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Anke Und Volker Würth & Scot The Dog
Reviewed Christies on 13/09/2014
And awarded it

Christies

Thank you for two wonderful weeks in a lovely spotless cottage in a beautiful setting. It is much better with the new windows! The weather was better than ever so we could stay outside the whole days. Only the mice on the roof have been a little bit annoying. We will come back as sonn as possible.

Russell Walton
Reviewed Balachladdich on 12/09/2014
And awarded it

Balachladdich

Excellent well equipped property. Had a fantastic week and felt really at home. If we stayed in this area again we would definitely stay here !

Jack & Sharon Everitt
Reviewed Sixgeary on 11/09/2014
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We had the privilege of staying in this beautiful cottage in an idyllic location in August 2014. The accommodation was immaculate and the facilities of an extremely high standard. Managers of the property were extremely friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble for them. The location and the views are stunning and we even had the good fortune to see a pod of dolphins directly in front of the cottage. We would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage. Perfect.

Rachel Reynolds
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 09/09/2014
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

We stayed in this property in Deeside recently. It was a fantastic place for us as a family of 5 adults & 2 children, because it was so spacious, & the layout was ideal for us, with 2 bedrooms in one wing of the house & 2 bedrooms in the other wing. (Ideal for 2 families sharing for example). The property was well equipped, nicely maintained & had everything we could have wanted! It was also warm so I'm sure it would be very cosy in colder weather. I would certainly recommend it!

Elizabeth Ingham
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 09/09/2014
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Jayne Hood
Reviewed Upper Folds on 08/09/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Just returned from our first visit to Upper Folds. Truly, an amazing experience. The cottage is just perfect, where everything you could think of to make your stay comfortable, has already been thought of and provided for. The thoughtful little things that greet you such as a nice bottle of wine, short bread and chocolates! Fabulous! The scenery is just as amazing as is the abundence of wild life! It was a joy to stay here and we are already planning next year's visit.

Gareth Hicks
Reviewed The Orchids on 08/09/2014
And awarded it

The Orchids

Lovely cottage/ holiday home. Nice views, clean and tastefully decorated. Would recommend.

Steve Page
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 08/09/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Hi Really enjoyed our stay lovely cottage in great location. Thanks Steve

Derek Mulherron
Reviewed Eilean Mor on 08/09/2014
And awarded it

Eilean Mor

Jonathan Pitches
Reviewed Rhundunan on 07/09/2014
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Rhundunan is an absolutely stunning property in a fabulous location. It's remote, but not impossibly so and the close proximity (about a minute and a half walk) to the magnificent Three Chimneys restaurant is a real bonus. Everything about the property is high quality. We took our 2 teenage sons and had plenty of space -although 6 around the dining table might have felt a little cramped. Views from all windows are spectacular- coral beach, to the seals in the loch & Black Cuillins. Stay there!

Carol Morris
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 07/09/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

My son and I have just returned from an excellent week at White-Tail Croft. It is a luxurious cottage in a beautiful location. Everything was spotlessly clean and the cottage is superbly equipped. The 'welcome' pack was lovely too - we certainly appreciated the wine after a very long journey! But the icing on the cake was having a white-tailed eagle swooping just outside the cottage. Thank you for providing such a wonderful place to stay.

Agnes Reuter
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 07/09/2014
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

In July 2014 we spent three weeks in Carn Loch Cottage and it was fantastic! The cottage is very clean and well equipped with extraordinary views surround the woodlands scenery. The location is near Loch Ness and a good base for trips to Nairn, Loch Gerry, the inner and outer Hebrydes and the Cairngorms. Inverness is only 20 minutes away. We will definately come back with our dog. Thank you very much!

Deb Stockdale
Reviewed The Granary on 07/09/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

We've just spent our honeymoon at the granary.... its a lovely cottage, a home from home, very well equipped. On arrival we found flowers cakes and a bottle of wine, very welcome after a long journey. Would definitely stay there again.

Jayne Hood
Reviewed Upper Folds on 07/09/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Just returned from this wonderful, superb location. Amazing cottage, views, wild life, everything! Had a fabulous time here. Everything you can think of, has been included at Upper Folds. :-) We will be planning a 2nd visit.

Gill Beesley
Reviewed Sealight on 04/09/2014
And awarded it

Sealight

Sealight is a fantastic property in a beautiful location. Everything in the house is very high spec and we had a fabulous week, made even more special by some hot and sunny weather.

Helen Stonnell
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 04/09/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Wonderful cottage, a little rough around the edges, which was fine for a group of people and 2 dogs who enjoyed skiing on loch Oich, walking and relaxing.The position was lovely very accessible to Ben Nevis, Skye and Inverness. We all want to return! Brian from wilderness cottages was very helpful, we were a big group and he was very prompt in replying to queries regarding camping and other accommodation. Would book with them again

Rosalind
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/09/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

23.8-30.8.14.Fantastic cabin in a beautiful setting of woodland and a stream with no other properties in view. Lovely inside of the cabin, furnished to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. En-suite bedrooms were fabulous and very spacious with huge beds. Kitchen had all modern appliances with everything we needed. We enjoyed meals and a bbq on the porch in the sunshine whilst the 2dogs played in the woods and the stream. Idyllic 5 out of 5 we will be back!

Thomas Bock
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 02/09/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We stayed two weeks in a fantastic house with a fantastic view. There is nothing to blame at all. A big surprise was the big outdoor grill. The waeather was good to us, so all in all we had wonderful holidays.

Tracy Search
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey on 02/09/2014
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 3 - Riverside - Abbey

We had an amazing week at the Abbey and it ended way to soon. The staff were friendly, the pool was relaxing, all the extra games were a godsend for the children and the setting was lovely. Fort Augustus itself is charming and the scenery from the Abbey is spectacular. I would definitely recommend it to other friends, I have to one couple and they are already booked to go in November. Amazing. Amazing. Amazing. Thank you

Garry Horlacher
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/09/2014
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

A lovely, homely cottage in a beautiful location, the deck is a great addition to make even more of the spectacular views. Some lovely coastal and glen walks along the peninsula. The pub, 100 metres away has great food and a lively atmosphere. The Potting Shed another fab eatery a mile away. So isolation and community to dip into. We were lucky to add sunshine to the mix. The drive over the pass to Applecross is incredible.

James Bullock
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 01/09/2014
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

The location of the cottage was very good. It was peaceful and suitably remote. It was a picture perfect Scottish cottage. It was well equipped. The only downside that the AGA was a little overpowering for a small cottage, even when we turned it down to the lowest setting. The door knob for the main bedroom fell off and as it been reported by others it was disappointing that it had not been sorted out. We also had to remove dog hairs from the furniture in the lounge - not nice.

John D. Hill
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/09/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful week in peace and solitude with spectacular views from all windows.

Gary Sharp
Reviewed River Cottage on 31/08/2014
And awarded it

River Cottage

Just spent a very enjoyable break at River Cottage. The cottage is comfortable with all the comforts of home. Ideal location for our walking holiday. Peace and tranquility in abundance with great gardens that run down to the river. Our dog made thorough use of the space and enjoyed the odd paddle in the river. Fishing rods provided if this is you bag. Covered decking area great for barbecues and enjoying the odd glass of wine. Owners made sure our stay was first class, a little gem of a property

S Winst
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Roshven on 31/08/2014
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Roshven

The cottage itself is just lovely. It is, however, not a WILDERNESS cottage as there are several other houses very close to it. The other buildings are fortunately hidden by the dense woodland, so there is at least the illusion of being far from civilisation. The extensive fencing makes it impossible to just wander around freely. The wider region is wonderful for hiking, kayaking and relaxing. Electricity is charged completely via a coin-meter, so there are extra costs to be taken into account.

Alicia Masia Moreno
Reviewed The Bothy on 31/08/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Fantastic place

Wendy & Stewart Bithell, Max The Dog.
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 30/08/2014
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

8th visit to this gem. Extra special as it was our 40th wedding anniversary. I cannot fault Poulary, breathtaking views, abundance of wildlife {deer, pinemarten, badgers, osprey, fox} all regular visitors to the garden. The bird table always a hive of activity. Love the log burner and Stanley. Lovely cottage and enclosed garden. Ideal for walking, fishing or just relaxing. Central for visiting lots of places in highlands. Heaven on earth,so peaceful, LOVE it! back again next year, can't wait :)

Lorraine Perryman
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 30/08/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Despite two weeks of solid rain we had a wonderful stay as a family of four. Setting is tranquil and the most idealic location, also a superb base to explore the Highlands.

Chris & Sue Luxford
Reviewed Charleston on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Charleston

Anotherwonderful stay at Charleston. The house is tastefully furnished and very clean. We always come home feeling we have had a proper break. The owners go to so much trouble to think of everything you need and then some. Thats why we are returning again and again.

Paul & Sandra Wright
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Simply the best cottage we have ever holidayed. There wasn't a single detail overlooked. In fact I think my kitchen at home is less well equipped. The cottage was in a beautiful location and so peaceful. A short 10 minute walk - downhill- into Fort Augustus. Owners on hand, very helpful but not intrusive. It was perfect for our needs. I am sure we will be back in the future

David Farquhar
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Seascape cottage is a new build and as expected is extremely well appointed and very, very comfortable.It is warm and well equipped. We found it a very good base to explore the Rhins of Galloway and visit the many beautiful gardens and, not to be missed, the Mull of Galloway. I would recommend a trip to Portpatrick which has good restaurants especially the Fernhill Hotel. We were fortunate to have lovely weather. Chas and Jane, the owners, couldn't be more helpful.

Andrew Wright
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 29/08/2014
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Lovely purpose built holiday accommodation in a perfect location. Very spacious and well equipped. Would recommend The Boathouse and The Bothy for eating out. The swimming pool, games room and outdoor sports facilities keep the kids entertained and there are plenty of pet-friendly local walks. Can't recommend it highly enough - didn't want to leave despite the torrential rain in between the showers.

Teresa Nancarrow
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 28/08/2014
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

A lovely house with everything we needed. The setting was beautiful, very close to Loch Ness and the Caledonian Canel. The Boathouse restaurant in the grounds served lovely food and had wonderful views over the loch. The abbey is a beautiful building. The swimming pool was very nice and clean. There is plenty to do in the area. We had a fantastic family holiday and would recommend this property

Mark Weaver
Reviewed Whitestone on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

Whitestone

Lovely cottage in a beautiful location

Mrs Lynda Jones
Reviewed The Orchids on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

The Orchids

Panoramic views, very comfortable beds, well equipped kitchen, met the landlady Linda very lovely lady and helpful, one bad point because the wind was blowing across the house from left to right there was an odour from the septic tank. Would love to stay there again much to explore on the Island. No information about "bin" day.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mrs Jones, thank you for your review, unfortunately the gardener had accidently damaged the top of the septic tank and there was a small crack in it, and the owner had not been made aware of this. This has now been replaced so this problem is now fixed.
Sue Wells
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/08/2014
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Charming wooden chalet compact but well equipped. Private and lots of visiting birds in the garden plus a pine martin! Dramatic ever changing vistas across the Loch to the hills behind. Good walks. A real retreat for recharging batteries. Our dog also thought it pretty good too!

Michael Beckmann
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 26/08/2014
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a fabulous week in Ceol na Mara. The perfect base to get away from all the hassle which is exactly what we needed and explore the beautiful surrounding area. The views from the living room window on to he Loch Kishorn are absolutely stunning. The bungalow itself is well equipped.