Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1201 to 1250 of 2734


C McGhee
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 30/06/2014
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

A very well equipped cottage in a fantastic location with friendly, accomodating owners.

Karen Winfield
Reviewed Askival on 30/06/2014
And awarded it

Askival

This will be our 5th year in this stunning property, fantastic house next to beach, absolutely stunningly breath taking views /wildlife. Wish I could live there permanently !

Fraser Gow
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/06/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Stunning and stylish cottage in great location. In the middle of nowhere yet only 15 minute drive to Portree. Really clean.

Shirley Mcgregor
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 30/06/2014
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We have just returned from the cottage. Location is idilic, cottage is lovely very comfortable, cosy and well equipped. The lock keeper is especially friendly. We have already enquired about returning next year which I think says it all.

Frances Innes
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

We enjoyed our week at Swallow Byre very much. The byre is very comfortable and well equipped. It is in a beautiful very quiet location. The owner was friendly, helpful and gave us a lovely welcome with a bottle of wine, homemade scones and jam. The weather was a bit mixed but there's such a lot to see and do it didn't matter. The midgies were on their best behaviour and we had only a couple bites! We would love to return again another year and would certainly recommend it.

Judy McCulloch
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Donna Collins
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Matheson's Croft House is a little jewel hidden away on the banks of Loch Alsh. The cottage has been very carefully and tastefully renovated; the furnishings are comfy but not fussy. The kitchen is extremely well equipped, and what a treat to have a chance to learn more about a Rayburn! Everything was very clean and in excellent condition. We loved the view across the loch.

Michael Varvill
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/06/2014
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The whole experience of renting Bayside Cottage for a week this month has been delightful. One feels very privileged sitting in the sun, on the decking, drinking G&T whilst watching Great Northern Divers and Eiders a few yards away, following a few hours walking in the Applecross hills.

Patricia Brough
Reviewed Don Cottage on 28/06/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Hi just spent the last 4 days (24th /28th)June 2014 at this Cottage and forgot to write in the visitors book . This cottage and the surroundings are lovely. The cottage has a warm friendly feel to it and the owners left a welcome pack that was greatly appreciated. Everything you need is there on hand, with a lovely log fire all ready for lighting should you feel cold.Would definitely go back and recommend to friends. Its dog friendly too.

Sheila Gregory
Reviewed Christies on 28/06/2014
And awarded it

Christies

This is a great cottage in a wonderful location, high over Scourie Bay. The cottage itself is very warm and comfortable, well equipped. (Should towels perhaps be provided within the hire price?) The position of the cottage is very good for visits to Handa Island, Durness and, to the south, Lochinver. There are many glorious beaches in the area..and the wildlife is amazing! All in all, a peaceful retreat..we would definitely book again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you review and comment regarding towels, unfortunately due to the location of the cottage the owner cannot obtain anyone that could provide a towel washing service in the vicinity, hence they are not supplied. This unfortunately is common in a lot of our more remote Wilderness Cottages.
Thelma Scandrett
Reviewed Giusaichean on 26/06/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Mark Hobbs
Reviewed Kincardine Cottage on 25/06/2014
And awarded it

Kincardine Cottage

Beautiful situation, 1/2 mile up a rough track off the Coylumbridge to Nethy Bridge road. 2 double bedrooms which are very comfortable.. though bathroom is downstairs (quite steep stairs) so be aware of this if you have to get up during the night. Kitchen is well appointed, and Conservatory (modern addition) provides a perfect place to appreciate the sounds of nature. We took a collapsible Bird Table which attracted Woodpeckers & Siskins. Thoroughly enjoyable, if you accept the age & location.

Sam Murphy
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 24/06/2014
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Very central location for walking the great glen. Accommodation was good although the second bedroom was small perhaps better suited for a family than 4 adults. Overall we had a great time and would definitely consider booking this accommodation again if we were in the area.

Lars Gadow
Reviewed Timber House on 24/06/2014
And awarded it

Timber House

A perfect place for holidays on Skye. Fantastic views over the bay.

Teresa Paige
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/06/2014
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

This cottage has the most fantastic setting, with wonderful views of loch ness. the cottage is beautifully decorated with everything you could need, the road up is a bit of a challenge but would not put us off staying again,definitely recommend this cottage, the owners were very helpful too.

Heinke & Axel Renfftlen
Reviewed Callakille on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Callakille

"And the cares of tomorrow can wait 'till this day is done". And we were really far away from all sorrows and trouble, only surrounded by the Atlantic Sea, the Highlands cattles and many many sheep. We felt like in a wonderful dream. The cottage has such stunning views, is so tastefully furnished, a real sanctuary! Best regards from Germany, Heinke & Axel.

Frances Armstrong
Reviewed Toberaie on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Toberaie

If you want a peaceful holiday away from it all then Toberaie is the cottage for you. The only neighbours are the deer and pheasants. The views of the mountains are to die for and the cottage itself was very roomy and comfortable, and very well equipped. We would certainly recommend it.

John
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We loved Katie's Cottage. It was remote, very clean and great for our wee dog. We felt at home and immediately comfortable in the cottage. We struggled with the wood burning stove. Had difficulty keeping it lit, not sure if it was a problem with the stove or our incompetence. Katie's cottage is located amidst beautiful scenery in a stunning part of Skye. We would recommend it without hesitation.

Tim Wilcock
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Very well equipped and comfortable lodge with a fantastic view over the the firth and mountains. A very warm welcome from Donnie was a lovely start to our holiday. This property is very well placed to explore the whole north of Scotland as all routes lead away from Inverness. Nearer home great walks in the surrounding woods and countryside. Plenty of good places to eat locally. Thoroughly recommended.

Huw Lewis
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 23/06/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The modern, well-kept interior and unique location are strong features of this cottage. Walks and bike routes from the door mean you don't need to use the car much once you are here. We've reccomended it to a couple of friends and would definitely return.

Linda Lee
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 20/06/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Ideally situated for town and walking, red squirrels seen playing in the garden. A bird watchers paradise. Everything you could need in the lodge, very clean and comfortable.

Rob Mawson
Reviewed Christies on 20/06/2014
And awarded it

Christies

Very nice cottage, great location with fantastic views over the bay, and still handy for Scourie. Only negative is that there was no garden furniture to enjoy the fine weather and views.

Maria Abrahams
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 20/06/2014
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

A wonderful cottage superb location with views to die for. We found it a home from home in all respects and the privacy was very much appreciated. We found the steep track to the cottage fine as we have a 4x4 but would imagine it to be hard going in the winter but it was all part of the charm of the location. Where else can you sit in the evening eating your supper and see eagles flying over and around you? Superb. Creag nah Iolaire is the best in 10 years of holidaying in the Highlands.

Malcolm Conway
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 17/06/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

carole malcolm and two border terriors stayed at hhc in june for one week lovely cottage visited many places around the area found the secret beach which is a little difficult to get to but worth it the dogs loved it the only down side for us was the garden pond area is totally different to the website pictures it is overgrown and one of are dogs was forever in the pond which is quite dirty

Heather Hart
Reviewed Don Cottage on 16/06/2014
And awarded it

Don Cottage

I dont usually review anything but I had to let people know how nice this cottage is. My husband and I have just spent 2 weeks there with our dog and have thoroughly enjoyed the experience.The cottage contains everything you could ask for equipment wise and is comfortable and very cosy and its location is fabulous . We recommend it most highly.

Frederick Johnson
Reviewed River Cottage on 12/06/2014
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage is a beautiful place for a holiday.Well equipped spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable.Wine flowers and milk was a nice touch. Great outlook over the river and out towards the Loch Ness Valley.It was a holiday of firsts for us first time to Scotland,saw a red squirrel,dolphins,and much more.Ellie, our dog, came away with us so we walked most days.Glen Affric is stunning,favourite walk was Abrichan Forest walk.It was a pleasure to meet the owners. Helpful friendly welcoming,

Robin Thomas
Reviewed Sixgeary on 08/06/2014
And awarded it

Sixgeary

We spotted Sixgeary in the Guardian's review of 'cool cottages' and booked it on impulse for the whole of May. It's in a tiny hamlet, strung out along a coastal lane; grazing sheep and cliffs in front and bracken slopes behind. The place oozes quality; Neff induction hob and ovens in the kitchen (come here if you like to cook), proper hotel standard mattresses and bedlinen, even binoculars for when you sit out on the decking. Exceptionally well thought out and executed. We absolutely loved it.

David & Sue Newby
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 06/06/2014
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

My wife and I have recently spent a week at White-Tail Croft. What a fabulous setting and fabulous Cottage. Whilst very modern it fits the landscape very well. This property is of the very highest standard and we can recommend it to anyone. The only thing I found to be missing was a shaver point in the bathroom. A minor fault I know. We have been with wilderness cottages numerous times and cannot fault them. We will be back to one of their cottages very soon.

Marilyn Hobbs
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/06/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Superb property. Very warm, comfortable and well equipped. Centrally located for Fort Augustus, and Fort William/Inverness. Highly recommended.

Maryse REY
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/06/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We are French and we decided to visit the Highlands in april. We had a lovely week in the Coltsfoots ! The cottage is fully equipped, clean and very cosy. Moreover it is in an ideal spot for anyone who wants to visit the Highlands. We will come again for sure.

Mary Townsend
Reviewed Moll House on 01/06/2014
And awarded it

Moll House

A lovely spacious but cosy house in a peaceful setting and lots of wildlife in area. Access road from Broadford direction very poor but road in Portee direction not quite so bad so used that. Overall a great house, well equipped and comfortable. Little niggles - fridge in utility room not kitchen so rather inconvenient. Extractor fan in master bedroom ensuite didn't work but rattled sometimes. Also broken kitchen window. No major problems and would definitely consider coming again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review, the window had been broken prior to your stay and and a replacement ordered. Unfortunately this was not carried out before your stay due to the the window having to be made, but it has now been replaced. Thank you for the information relating to the en-suite fan, which we have also arranged to have looked at.
John Baynes
Reviewed Ardrannach on 29/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardrannach

wonderful situation, warm and comfortable. reasonable priced

Jane & Dave Francis
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 28/05/2014
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Nigel Buckland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/05/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This property and the location ticked every box and over-delivered on the promises that were laid out in its description. The quality of the accommodation and furnishing is second to none, I don't think I have ever been warmer in the Cairngorms! I would recommend Upper Folds to anyone who wants a remote yet comfortable break away from it all; you won't find any better.

Anita Anderson
Reviewed Giusaichean on 25/05/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Jill Ferrie
Reviewed Brackenhaugh on 25/05/2014
And awarded it

Brackenhaugh

David Brown
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 23/05/2014
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

An exceptionally comfortable and well-equipped house located just outside Ballater. If, like us, you enjoy hill-walking, Braehead Steading makes a great base for reaching the southern Cairngorms and the Mounth. Oh, and there's a distillery just along the road near Balmoral.

Joan Goddard
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 23/05/2014
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a lovely time at Beech Lodge. The cottage was very clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The location is convenient for exploring a wide area as well as local walks and wildlife.Donny and Jean were very friendly and welcoming, and Donny's scones were delicious! We had hoped the weather would be better in the east of Scotland and were proved right; we didn't need our waterproofs all week!

Roger Woodley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 22/05/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Excellent. Ticked all the boxes, including our reluctance to accept a pet friendly cottage, as we did not find a hair or a doggy smell anywhere! Many thanks.

Ray Hughes
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

This is a great property in a beautiful location. The Bothy has everything you need and is very well presented. The owners were very considerate and helpful and we hope to return soon!

Carla
Reviewed Balmachree on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Balmachree

What a welcoming cottage at the end of a 12 hour journey. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Beautiful area with many fabulous walks. Neighboring pub/hotel again offered us a warm welcome. Dogs are allowed. Food was tasty and great value for money. All in all a fabulous week, when even the sun shined down. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Eddie McKinley
Reviewed Fhaireag on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful property. Second year in a row and it just continues to impress. Peaceful and scenic and very dog friendly. Great location to travel round the north of Scotland and take in the odd golf course and distillery as well.

Sue Knight
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Very comfortable. Fabulous view from kitchen window. Peaceful. Everything we needed was provided.

Anita Kevin & Chessie Anderson
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Rob, Noreen & Lauren McMullen
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Phil Nicholson
Reviewed Ardrannach on 19/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Cottage fantastic, only two of us so we rattled around a bit. Weather was poor but it just doesn't matter when your're somewhere so nice. Good walks, boat trips etc. Well recommended.

Cleland
Reviewed The Granary on 19/05/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Very comfortable cottage - enjoyed our week. It is a great location for touring the Highlands and is not too remote. Hope to return soon.

Janine MacNeil
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 19/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed at HHC 10-17 May 2014 and had a fantastic week. The croft is beautiful in every way, we could not fault anything at all. The locations is superb with lovely walks all around and just a short distance from the Loch. We have family in the area and would definitely stay again at this property without hesitation. Thank you! The MacNeil Clan.

Catherine Fenton
Reviewed Station Cottage on 18/05/2014
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A well equipped and delightful cottage. the furnishings and decor are of a high standard and loved the log burner. The garden is great for kids and dogs as it is fully enclosed. Would definitely return to this cottage.

Susan McCrum
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/05/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We are just back from spending the most relaxing week in a county haven. The views are outstanding! The cottage is fully equipped, clean and very cosy. It's also dog friendly with a fenced in garden making it just perfect for our dog who thoroughly enjoyed it too :-) I would definitely recommend staying here. We are already looking at making a return trip.