Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 501 to 520 of 2523


Bothy Bob Does Scourie
Reviewed Christies on 22/04/2016
And awarded it

Christies

Lovely, cosy, gorgeously scenic cottage overlooking the bay at Scourie. Incomparable location with views of Ben Stack and Arkle. Cottage still maintains its authentic heritage but with a hint of luxury with all mod cons and comfort. Excellent base for adults, kids and pets to explore the surrounding area. The kind of place you want to keep to yourself but also too good not to share!

Lisa Dawson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a lovely week at Fersit Lodge. I wanted a week of quiet and certainly found it. The lodge was finished to a high standard, the weather was very kind to us and the sun shone for most of the week enabling us to sit out and enjoy the view. We had our dog with us, I enjoyed being able to take him on lots of walks from the house rather than having to drive. A couple of suggestions, information about dog walks would be helpful and the opportunity to have groceries delivered. The owners were very nice, checking we had settled in and everything was ok.

Chris & Susan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

We had a lovely week here in this perfect cosy cottage, everything we needed to hand in the most idyllic surroundings

John G
Reviewed Aros Beag on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Wonderful location and cottage. Would definitly book again.

Jim W. (Aberdeenshire)
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 21/04/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Very relaxing. Lovely scenery. Lodge was great, a proper home from home. Donnie (lodge owner) always at hand, never needed though, and could not have been nicer.

Catherine Inwood
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

What a lovely cottage! For once, the reality was much, much better than the photos. Large, light rooms with plenty of space for wet coats and muddy boots; a well-laid out kitchen and world-class views over Loch Ness and Urquart Castle. The drive up is steep and rutted but it's worth it!

Jo Oliver
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

The house is very comfortable in a lovely remote location. Car an absolute must. Well specked kitchen.

The Bacon Family & Friends
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Fantastic place to stay in a fabulous location. Warm and comfortable lodge - a haven that we all enjoyed coming back to at the end of a day's exploring. It felt like we had our own private beach and we were lucky to have beautiful weather throughout our stay.

Dawn K
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

The cottage is superb. At the very end of a single track road, it is extremely peaceful and secluded with stunning views over the loch. The cottage is tastefully decorated and has everything you need for a home away from home - although we did find using the Rayburn for cooking a challenge at first! Comfy sofa and beds and a real fire in the lounge. The Wi-Fi is a great bonus too. The area is fantastic for walking or driving and admiring the scenery. We will be back!

Rachel
Reviewed The Orchids on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

The Orchids

Great location and very well equipped house. We had a great stay. Even the little things were thought of. Would definitely recommend it for a chilled out holiday. The admin was quick and efficient too. Thanks

Sharon Davidson
Reviewed Balmachree on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Balmachree

What a fabulous service from the company and an amazing cottage! ( pair of..,) I didn't have high hopes as the photos showed a basic interior but how wrong we were : the house was so comfortable, brilliant layout and lovely and warm with perfect showers and fan breakout spaces and laundry facilities . Only improvement would be placemats and more mugs and cutlery as only 1 set of each .

Linda Gibson
Reviewed An Airidh on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

An Airidh

We stayed at this cottage for a week at the beginning of April. It was very clean and thoughtfully kitted out. The welcome basket was a kind touch and the eggs from the chickens we could see were delicious. In a great position for exploring and walking near and far. Visited some great restaurants and attractions a particular favourite being Skye Weavers. This was a departure for us as we normally choose sunshine holidays but we throughly enjoyed our Scottish home from hom.

Susan & Tom Parr
Reviewed Charleston on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Charleston

A wonderful cottage, with great views and all the amenities of home. In fact we don't want to recommend it, just keep it our little secret!!! If you book a holiday here you will not regret it!

Michael Clark
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

This was our second stay in a year. We used the steading as a base while filming in the Highlands and it was a great place to relax after a long day. Underfloor heating and huge baths made so much difference when it was 2 degrees outside. A very well maintained residence in a great location. As steading has no broadband I brought a wifi dongle with me (EE network) and it got very good 4G reception. Cafe's in nearby Ballater also have wifi, so this was never a problem.

Catherine
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

Wonderful little cottage, great gift basket, warm, plumbing functional, all the amenities of a house, fresh eggs available, easy to access open space behind the cottage to let the dog run around in. Drive there and back was beautiful. Highly recommended.

Amanda Baker
Reviewed Don Cottage on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Lovely accommodation, clean and comfortable supplied with everything you would need. In excellent location for exploring the surrounding area.

Fiona & Robert
Reviewed River Cottage on 20/04/2016
And awarded it

River Cottage

We had a really lovely time at River Cottage. Our dog Mya absolutely loved the garden down to the river. The cottage was very well equipped and had everything we needed for a weeks break. It was very clean and very cosy. There was lots of lovely walks in the area which we enjoyed every day. We would definitely recommend River Cottage to others and would also like to return for another visit in the near future.

Mrs. Clare E Chalmers
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 19/04/2016
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Where to start! What an exceptional house in such a beautiful setting, on the door step of some of the most exquisite scenery. Monroe baggers paradise, which my husband made the most of! We all enjoyed watching the wildlife right outside the windows from badgers to an amazing varieity of birds, including woodpeckers. A short walk from the cottage brings you to the stunning Plodda falls where, if you keep your eyes open, you may catch a Red Squirrel. Horse trekking its also on offer along here. The house itself is lovingly cared for, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean with lots of thoughtful extras, open cupboards to discover toys, jigsaws, hoopla hoops and even golf clubs. A delicious home made lemon drizzle cake awaited our arrival. There are plenty of places to eat out, we enjoyed the nearby Hotels and Drumnadrochit was about 15 minute drive away, offering lovely gift shops, farm shops, and further lunch/dinner venues. Here, we bought some of the largest eggs I have ever come across. The best thing of all for us though, was being able to bring along our two dogs, there were thoughtful extras laid on for them too, including dog towels, feeding bowls and leads. It is not always easy to find a comfortable cottage that accepts dogs as we know only too well, but Guisachan is the rare acception. Don't worry if you are coming without a pet as I mentioned earlier the cottage could not be more well cared for. We will definitely return to this paradise and we cannot wait to do so.

Daisy & Alfie
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 18/04/2016
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

This was a near perfect holiday croft for the week - it is well equipped, warm & cosy with a log stove in the living room & aga in the kitchen, it is dog friendly with a secure garden. Sorting out the kitchen floor, improving the shower and a bit more TLC with the cleaning and decor would lead to perfection. Wilderness Cottages really does live up to its name - the croft is on a skinny road in the middle of nowhere with limited phone reception, that suited us. The croft description is completely accurate - expect peace, tranquillity, amazing views and your own local beach. With only sheep & lambs and hairy cows for neighbours, the demands of modern life seemed a million miles away! This is an excellent location for exploring the Applecross peninsula. Daisy and Alfie - a cockerpoo and a Labrador cross - had a wonderful time walking, swimming, climbing and playing while checking out several walks using Paul & Helen Webster's excellent 40 coast and country walks in Wester Ross and Lochalsh. This was our first trip to the Highlands, definitely not our last! This is just a stunningly beautiful part of the UK and totally worth the long trek north!

Anne, Alan & Alasdair Shand
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/04/2016
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Sitting here on our final night at Tigh-na-Craobh we are feeling a little sad. Jim & Anne-Marie, you have created a little slice of heaven. The views, the design, the layout, the interior (exactly as we'd've done it ourselves), the egyptian cotton bedlinen, the sound system, the champagne flutes, the dishwasher, your lovely housekeeper Nikki who dropped by with a playpen/stair gate for Alasdair and a few toys she had around...thank you for. Looooovely week away from the city. Can we come back in October please? Thanks a million! A, A & A x