Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1251 to 1300 of 2798


Marilyn Hobbs
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/06/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Superb property. Very warm, comfortable and well equipped. Centrally located for Fort Augustus, and Fort William/Inverness. Highly recommended.

Maryse REY
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/06/2014
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We are French and we decided to visit the Highlands in april. We had a lovely week in the Coltsfoots ! The cottage is fully equipped, clean and very cosy. Moreover it is in an ideal spot for anyone who wants to visit the Highlands. We will come again for sure.

Mary Townsend
Reviewed Moll House on 01/06/2014
And awarded it

Moll House

A lovely spacious but cosy house in a peaceful setting and lots of wildlife in area. Access road from Broadford direction very poor but road in Portee direction not quite so bad so used that. Overall a great house, well equipped and comfortable. Little niggles - fridge in utility room not kitchen so rather inconvenient. Extractor fan in master bedroom ensuite didn't work but rattled sometimes. Also broken kitchen window. No major problems and would definitely consider coming again.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Thank you for your review, the window had been broken prior to your stay and and a replacement ordered. Unfortunately this was not carried out before your stay due to the the window having to be made, but it has now been replaced. Thank you for the information relating to the en-suite fan, which we have also arranged to have looked at.
John Baynes
Reviewed Ardrannach on 29/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardrannach

wonderful situation, warm and comfortable. reasonable priced

Jane & Dave Francis
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 28/05/2014
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Nigel Buckland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 28/05/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This property and the location ticked every box and over-delivered on the promises that were laid out in its description. The quality of the accommodation and furnishing is second to none, I don't think I have ever been warmer in the Cairngorms! I would recommend Upper Folds to anyone who wants a remote yet comfortable break away from it all; you won't find any better.

Anita Anderson
Reviewed Giusaichean on 25/05/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Jill Ferrie
Reviewed Brackenhaugh on 25/05/2014
And awarded it

Brackenhaugh

David Brown
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 23/05/2014
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

An exceptionally comfortable and well-equipped house located just outside Ballater. If, like us, you enjoy hill-walking, Braehead Steading makes a great base for reaching the southern Cairngorms and the Mounth. Oh, and there's a distillery just along the road near Balmoral.

Joan Goddard
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 23/05/2014
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We had a lovely time at Beech Lodge. The cottage was very clean, well-equipped and comfortable. The location is convenient for exploring a wide area as well as local walks and wildlife.Donny and Jean were very friendly and welcoming, and Donny's scones were delicious! We had hoped the weather would be better in the east of Scotland and were proved right; we didn't need our waterproofs all week!

Roger Woodley
Reviewed Upper Folds on 22/05/2014
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Excellent. Ticked all the boxes, including our reluctance to accept a pet friendly cottage, as we did not find a hair or a doggy smell anywhere! Many thanks.

Ray Hughes
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

This is a great property in a beautiful location. The Bothy has everything you need and is very well presented. The owners were very considerate and helpful and we hope to return soon!

Carla
Reviewed Balmachree on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Balmachree

What a welcoming cottage at the end of a 12 hour journey. Spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Beautiful area with many fabulous walks. Neighboring pub/hotel again offered us a warm welcome. Dogs are allowed. Food was tasty and great value for money. All in all a fabulous week, when even the sun shined down. Would definitely recommend this cottage.

Eddie McKinley
Reviewed Fhaireag on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Wonderful property. Second year in a row and it just continues to impress. Peaceful and scenic and very dog friendly. Great location to travel round the north of Scotland and take in the odd golf course and distillery as well.

Sue Knight
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Very comfortable. Fabulous view from kitchen window. Peaceful. Everything we needed was provided.

Anita Kevin & Chessie Anderson
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Rob, Noreen & Lauren McMullen
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/05/2014
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Phil Nicholson
Reviewed Ardrannach on 19/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Cottage fantastic, only two of us so we rattled around a bit. Weather was poor but it just doesn't matter when your're somewhere so nice. Good walks, boat trips etc. Well recommended.

Cleland
Reviewed The Granary on 19/05/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Very comfortable cottage - enjoyed our week. It is a great location for touring the Highlands and is not too remote. Hope to return soon.

Janine MacNeil
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 19/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed at HHC 10-17 May 2014 and had a fantastic week. The croft is beautiful in every way, we could not fault anything at all. The locations is superb with lovely walks all around and just a short distance from the Loch. We have family in the area and would definitely stay again at this property without hesitation. Thank you! The MacNeil Clan.

Catherine Fenton
Reviewed Station Cottage on 18/05/2014
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A well equipped and delightful cottage. the furnishings and decor are of a high standard and loved the log burner. The garden is great for kids and dogs as it is fully enclosed. Would definitely return to this cottage.

Susan McCrum
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/05/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We are just back from spending the most relaxing week in a county haven. The views are outstanding! The cottage is fully equipped, clean and very cosy. It's also dog friendly with a fenced in garden making it just perfect for our dog who thoroughly enjoyed it too :-) I would definitely recommend staying here. We are already looking at making a return trip.

Mark Wood
Reviewed Glen View on 17/05/2014
And awarded it

Glen View

Catriona Miller
Reviewed Ardrannach on 16/05/2014
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Great week at Ardrannach. Views from cottage were wonderful enhanced by unexpected good weather. Very peaceful yet still close to amenities. Great touring base. Very warm welcome from host. Ideal for my elderly father who has reduced mobility & for us as within walking distance to Portree with some super walks on the doorstep to take the dog. Will hopefully return in the future.

Rhonda Hebb
Reviewed An Airidh on 16/05/2014
And awarded it

An Airidh

My girlfriend and I were so comfortable at this lovely cottage.Every detail was thought of and a lovely welcoming basket was provided for us. We had lovely weather too and were able to take advantage of sitting outside on the patio and take in the wonderful Harlosh views.I will most definatley return to this gem.

Michael Sage
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 16/05/2014
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

What a place! Truly fantastic - superb location and so well presented great place to get away and relax! Only negatives if I had to say any - no wifi - but then if you are getting away why would you need it - and the council could do with cleaning the beach in only one area due to washed ashore rubbish! Note no negatives for the property or location as were superb! As for the rubbish this is not noticeable and the surroundings could not be better! Thank you

Thomas S
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 15/05/2014
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

A memorable holiday in an indescribably amazing spot. Absolute silence. Best kitchen-window view ever. Incredible night sky - absolutely no light pollution whatsoever allows you to spend hours looking up at thousands of stars. Despite the remoteness, lots of local attractions, beautiful beaches and mountains/scenery to explore. Very cosy and warm cottage, easy to be nice and snug on a rainy day. Only downside was staying for one week instead of two - hope to be back again for longer!

Sue Holden
Reviewed River Cottage on 15/05/2014
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was a great place to stay, easy walk into Drumnadrochit, and easy access to both Glen Affric which is stunning and not far from Inverness and access to the Black Isle. The owners were very helpful and made me feel very welcome. It is in the lovely location and the dog loved the river being so close too.

Rob, Noreen & Lauren McMullen
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 12/05/2014
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We had a fantastic peaceful break at Guisachan Lodge. The cottage is in a great spot and ideal for anyone who wants to get away from the rat race and relax in complete comfort. The wildlife we experienced in the cottage grounds was amazing, with regular visits from Pine Martin, Hare, Red Squirrel and perhaps best of all Badgers, not to mention plenty of bird life. We would recommend a stay at Guisachan Lodge to anyone who has a love of wildlife and who enjoys peace and tranquility.

Andy & Kay Burnett
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 11/05/2014
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

Fantastic location close to all the main points of interest on the Black Isle, with brilliant views down the Fairy Glen to Rosemarkie and the chance to see Dolphins at Chanonry Point. The Barn is very well equipped, warm and cosy, with Sky and wifi and a deck to take breakfast on. There are great restaurants and pubs in the area serving local produce to a high standard. Home from home for us, and we would come again with a bigger group when the other barn is ready. Thanks again to Pat and family

Boyd
Reviewed An Acail on 11/05/2014
And awarded it

An Acail

Timpson
Reviewed Silver Birch Lodge on 10/05/2014
And awarded it

Silver Birch Lodge

Colin Gundry
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/05/2014
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We had a wonderful fortnight over Easter 2014. A great location for the northern Munroes. Accommodation was fantastic - dormitory sleeping was fine for us hardy mountain types! The owners were very friendly and helpful...especially when my morning porridge boiled over the wonderful log stove! Don't be put off by the bar at the end of the lane...its a bonus ( I made great use of it after a hrs day on the Cairngorms) and is not noisy at all. There's a fab' Co-Op in Grantown too. Will return!

Eleanor McFarlane
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 08/05/2014
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Had a great week's holiday at The Tree House. New property with everything you need. Well located, very clean and cosy. Nice to relax on the big comfortable sofa in front of the wood-burner after being out walking all day - only difficulty is trying to stay awake !! There is a nice desk/study area which is handy if you unfortunately need to work while on holiday (our kids were studying for exams so it came in handy !).

Jackie & Chris Burke
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 07/05/2014
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

What a wonderful cottage. It has everything you need and the location is remote which suited us. The log burner is a treat on chilly nights and the bed is so comfortable you will never want to leave. The owner Jenny's own house is about a mile down the road - close if you need help with something but never obtrusive. The bird table has lots of visitors and you can walk/bike straight from your front door. Booked again to visit in October.

Mrs Margaret Knapton
Reviewed The Bothy on 03/05/2014
And awarded it

The Bothy

Just returned from a week staying here. The Bothy is a well equipped and cosy property, the beds are especially comfy even more so after a long day walking in the local area. Many walks within easy reach of this property for all levels of fitness and abilities from Munros to easier low level walks. There are numerous places to visit within easy driving distance and good places to eat out. There is an adequate shop at Lochcarron where there is also a garage. Overall well worth a visit

Ian Lawless
Reviewed Jura on 03/05/2014
And awarded it

Jura

Warm and cosy cottage with wonderful views. Fairly remote(12 miles to nearest shop) but with very helpful neighbours and perfect for peace and quiet. Generously equipped but could do with knife sharpener and some new crockery and glasses and possibly a larger fridge freezer especially for four people.

Lindsay
Reviewed The Granary on 02/05/2014
And awarded it

The Granary

Nice house to spend the week for 2 adults and 2 kids, plus dog. Lots of good walks closeby, and in a good location. Even got enough sun in April to sit in the garden.

John & Karen Edgington
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 02/05/2014
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

A stunning tranquil location set in private woodland with views across the loch with the mountains as a backdrop. The wildlife is amazing as to is the lodge, a true home from home and well equipped too. John and Sally are like old friends and nothing is too much trouble to make your stay relaxing. The locals are welcoming too and always give a friendly wave and happy to chat. A wonderful holiday and we were blessed with 6 days of pure sunshine. Will be booking again for sure.

Sally Towlson
Reviewed Aros Beag on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Great cottage, well equipped, nicely decorated. Under floor heating a real luxury - fab in the bathroom in the mornings! The music system was also much appreciated - now thinking of installing something similar at home! Location was perfect for us, with plenty of hill walking options in the vicinity. Also saw oystercatchers on the river from the bedroom window.

Carole, Mark & Holly-Anne
Reviewed Fhaireag on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just back from another fantastic week in this cottage. Excellent facilities and maintained to a very high standard. We saw lots of wildlife, deer in the garden, hare's running down the lane. We even saw Osprey this year on Loch Inch. We had the added bonus of great weather (20 degrees and sunny one day). We will be back next year.

SUE BROCK
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 01/05/2014
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

WONDERFUL LOCATION, BEAUTIFUL SCENERY. THE ACCOMMODATION WAS EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE AND THE DOGS ABSOLUTELY LOVED THE BEACH! SAW PORPOSE IN THE BAY - WONDERFUL!

Alisdair Fitch
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 30/04/2014
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Great cottage. Great location for visiting the numerous sites in the area. The cottage was well kitted out and maintained to a high standard. Our 4 yr old daughter loved everything... Sheep sleeping in the garden, looking for 'things' in the rock pools, the compost heap, exploring the heather hillocks, watching the deer on the drive, the silence at night, the shutters in the bed room and that her toys had their own bed! Wife loved the aga and the weather, I loved it all-rain or shine! Bliss

Paolo Sandro
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 30/04/2014
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

The Tree House on Skye is a five stars experience. Location is great, not to far from Portree (supermarket within 15 minutes by car) but still you retain your privacy. The house in itself is perfectly built and offers all comforts: it is warm and full of light during the day, cozy at night (the stove!); the kitchen has every possible item you might need, and all of good quality; the beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms are great! Overall, a great place to stay on breathtaking Skye!

Sue Hill
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 28/04/2014
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We (including the dogs) love the cottage, love the location and love the fantastic walks all around - just 1 week is never enough.

Helen Laird
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 20/04/2014
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

This property is a must if you want a relaxing holiday. Our dogs loved the garden, which was safe and enclosed. The property was immaculate and well presented. The owners welcome was very warm and inviting, including the dog treats. Well deserving of return visits.

Lisa Watts
Reviewed Wildwood on 19/04/2014
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful furnished cottage with woodland stunning views. Fantastic holiday overall lots to do and see. Would highly recommend this cottage and it's location.

Catherine Beddison
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 17/04/2014
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Superb views and plenty of home comforts in this stylish house. Bit scarily windy on the cliff top whist we were there, but situation is idyllic on a peaceful day.

Patty
Reviewed Kilcamb on 17/04/2014
And awarded it

Kilcamb

Jonathan Mosley
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 16/04/2014
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

This is a stunning property and the owner was so incredibly helpful. Couldn't fault it and we'd definitely come again!