Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 541 to 560 of 2651


James & Claire
Reviewed Glenara on 04/03/2016
And awarded it

Glenara

Great. Had a lovely time staying in the cottage. Owner met us on arrival with a warm welcome and also provided some local advice on eateries and trips further afield that interested us. Fantastic views of the river from the cottage and close proximity yet, quiet location to the town. Cottage is very clean, very well located to explore the surrounding areas. We explored Inverness, Isle of Skye and of course the very local area on our stay. It's an old cottage and so the heating is required to be on. Lovely warming fire too. Bathroom and therefore shower is in the eaves of the cottage and can be 'fun' to use but is manageable. I'm 6ft 2 and managed it ok. My girlfriend and I would stay here again.

Gina Thomson
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 03/03/2016
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Superb accommodation. Very clean and everything in plentiful supply. Bathroom superb, extra toilet was an added bonus. Would love to go back. We were there second week in February and were lovely and cosy with central heating and and mulitifuel stove. Loved very minute of our stay. Weather was bright and sunny during our stay but loads of snow. Thank you to the owners.

Phil & Lesley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We spent a February week at this lovely cottage in its stunning location. the view from the lounge window is sublime, we saw from the window, Otter, Seals, Oyster catchers, Whimbrels, Herons, Goosanders, Mergansers, Golden Eagle & Sea Eagle! as well as a great view of a snow capped Skye. The accommodation is well equipped, warm, beds are comfy and have electric blankets! We drove to Loch Maree, Torridon, Gairloch and over the high road to Applecross, all within a reasonable distance. Lochcarron is a short drive away and has a supermarket This is THE place to be for peace and tranquillity and be close to nature.

Brian May
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

I thought Fersit Cottage to be excellent in all respects. I climbed four Munroes from the front door. There was plenty of space in the cottage and it was warm and cosy. Excellent for an away-from-it-all break. I hope to return.

JOHN AND VERONICA COOK
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutly a 5 star lodge, everything, and we mean everything is there for you. We had a wonderful time and so did our dogs. We lead a very busy life and this was exactly what the doctor ordered. First time ever, that I did'nt want to come home. We would have loved to have stayed longer.

Holly
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 02/03/2016
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We were lucky enough to have clear blue skies for a February weekend in Skye! However it wouldn't have mattered if the weather was awful as the Tigh Nighean Bahn was the cosiest accommodation: simple but luxurious with all the home comforts. The views over to Uist were spectacular. It was such a relaxing place to stay; comfy bed, amazing bathroom and a kitchen that meant we could properly self-cater. The cottage is done to a very high standard and the wee treat of a bottle of wine on arrival was lovely. Can't recommend it highly enough.

Teresa From Worcester
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 27/02/2016
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Fantastic holiday! Seal Skerry Lodge is a fabulous property in a fabulous location - watching seals while you wash up is a bonus! The property is warm and well equipped with everything you need for a relaxing holiday. We can recommend the Old Bakery in Dunvegan for crusty bread, the Stein Inn for lunch and the Old Inn at Carbost (bit further afield) for excellent food and service. Lovely walks around about including the Lighthouse at Neist Point or just a stroll down to the jetty. Don't worry about the weather - watching a storm across the Loch or the spectacular waterfalls by the log burner makes for quiet entertainment! Sit back and enjoy!

Jason Ward
Reviewed Aros Beag on 26/02/2016
And awarded it

Aros Beag

I had a brilliant, relaxing time at Aros Beag. Comfortable cosy cottage in an area of stunning beauty with a great little cafe right next door. Nicely situated for munro bagging and walking generally. Main road nearby giving good links to other areas and activities. Friendly hosts, lovely welcome package and easy, hassle free booking.

EFords
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 26/02/2016
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

This is a lovely spacious yet cosy cottage in a great location. it is very well equipped and comfortably furnished. Perfect for 5. We found it good value for money and would highly recommend. thank you for a lovely week .

Henry & Erika
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/02/2016
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had a fantastic few days at Upper Folds. It is at the top of a very long track which is steep in places which when snow has drifted makes a decent 4x4 essential. The cottage was warm when we arrived, with the woodburner stacked and ready to light. The bottle fo wine, milk and biscuits were apprecietaed! The cottage was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The setting is beautiful, with fabulous views over the isolated valley and mountains. We will definately return again. Thank you.

M Hyden
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

Beautiful location, fantastic reception, every little detail is thought out in the cottage. The enclosed garden is fantastic for the dogs to run around in. The area is remote and ideal for getting away, walking, photography, reading and relaxing - I only have praise for the whole experience.

Josephine Brown
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

Braehead steading is a lovely property, beautifully finished and a vey comfortable stay. We stayed while skiing locally and the underfloor heating was lovely to come home to. Very spacious house, will definately be back.

Keith Mendelson
Reviewed Old Stables on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Old Stables

A wonderful house set in a very quiet remote tranquil location three miles from Cannick. Ticked all the boxes for our visit, had a wonderful time.

Richard G
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 24/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Nice clean wooden lodge in the centre of Grantown on Spey, with easy access. We were there to go skiing, as from Grantown you can get to either the Lecht or the Cairngorm slopes at Aviemore. The lodge itself was great, with good cooking facilities, comfortable beds and a very good wood burning stove. Only issue was that all the beds are in one room, which we were aware of when we booked - perhaps some curtains or screens to provide a bit more privacy?

Lou & Paul
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 21/02/2016
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a real 'get away from it' location. A slightly bumpy track that needs careful navigation but safely passable in a VW Golf leads to the cosy cottage that is spacious, clean, well equipped and welcoming. A short stroll is the beach which is rocky opposite the cottage and leads to open flat sands to the north. Every day we were down on the beach looking in rockpools, collecting driftwood and just admiring the views. Our evenings were spent in either the conservatory with multifuel stove, big table and bench seating looking at the twinkling light of Ireland or the comfortable living room with big open fire and sofa. We only saw about 10 other people (at a distance) all week. It is, quite simply, perfect if you want absolute peace and quiet. Beaware that there is no phone signal here (landline for emergency calls is in cottage) so you can leave the 21st century behind.

Mike Hammond
Reviewed Lilybank on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Lilybank

Had a lovely time at Lilybank Cottage, its in a great location by the river lovely and quiet but still only a couple minutes walks from the shop and centre of Fort Augustus. A lovely cottage which is clean and well equipped with everything we needed to have a relaxing break. Would happily return and recommend it to friends and family as a base to explore the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Helen Hodson
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 11/02/2016
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

What a beautiful place to stay. Everything you could possibly need 5* cleanliness. A very warm welcome by the owners. Views of the surrounding area second to none. Didn't really want to leave.

Richard
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 10/02/2016
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stablemate lodge was an excellent and comfortable cottage for 2 or a family group happy to sare the open plan upper floor. With the very effective insulation and woodburner it was one of the warmest and economic cottages we have stayed in in the area. Facilities in Grantown are good. Well equipped kitChen.

Ausra Kennedy
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 07/02/2016
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a beautiful house in an amazing location! We spend 5 days there and wished we stayed longer. As we had a baby and a toddler with us, we weren't able to do much walking and exploring. But the house offered everything we would have wanted so we enjoyed staying in, with the wood burner going , watching the sea and admiring the most fantastic views! Beds were very comfortable we slept very well! Don't worry about bringing any board games-plenty at the house and great variaty. Would recommend to everyone wishing to holiday in Skye! AMAZING!

Martyn
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/02/2016
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We enjoyed our few days away at Don Cottage. The instructions on finding the cottage we followed to the letter as it was dark when we arrived and they were absolutely spot on--it really is nice to get a good set of directions at the end of a tiring journey! Lovely collection of basic essentials and luxury goodies waiting for us on the kitchen table--inc whiskey- and all I had to do was to put a match to the prepared fire. Don Cottage was spotless on our arrival and looking around it is apparent that the owners have enjoyed putting this holiday cottage together. Once we got home in the evening we were more than happy to relax in front of the fire and watch TV and prepare some food--haggis of course on Burns Night. We have a couple of suggestions for making this lovely cottage even more appealing--perhaps a larger TV and a few brighter LED lights mixed in to help with reading and in the kitchen for meal preparation? Eyes going dim is an affliction that makes us older people complain that writing is getting smaller and smaller!! If you stay at Don Cottage you will be warm and comfortable and will be located in a beautiful part of the world and be free to explore it at your leisure! Many thanks