Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1351 to 1400 of 2775


Richard & Sue King
Reviewed An Airidh on 19/09/2013
And awarded it

An Airidh

Our 2nd visit to An Airidh, this time with a friend. We loved it. Excellent welcome pack was a thoughtful touch. The position is wonderful and the facilities very good (though crockery is awkwardly placed). One slight criticism: the en-suite bathroom really is a wet room (!): there is no slope so a brief shower sends water flowing right across the floor (no point in putting down a bath mat!). The only way to get rid of the water was to push it back with one's feet for ages!

Jo Morrison
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 18/09/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

What can we say? Just read the reviews.... fantastic cottage in a beautiful location. It was truly home from home, warm and cosy, delightfully secluded but close by to great places to visit - not least the beaches, which our Pointer loved! The welcome was great and everything we could hope for was supplied. Very important too for us - and unusual in our experience - the kitchen is properly equipped to self-cater, for people who like to cook!. Hope to return.

Debbie Rose
Reviewed Toberaie on 18/09/2013
And awarded it

Toberaie

Had the most memorable short break to celebrate my parents Ruby anniversary. Made all the more special as Toberaie was once our family home for 3 generations. Toberaie is in one of the most beautiful parts of the Cairngorm National Park and an ideal base for a relaxing family break or as a base to tour the many places of interest around. The house is equipped with all that you may require and furnished in a cosy fashion. We all had a brilliant time and plan to return again for a family break.

Mrs A Teale
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 18/09/2013
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Lovely situation overlooking Loch Kishorn. Very clean, liked the towel for wet paws! Knives could have been sharper and a better tin opener, couldn't figure it out.All in all a smashing cottage to spend a week.

Valerie Adam
Reviewed Fhaireag on 18/09/2013
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Lovely house, everything you could wish for and more. Views from all sides spectacular. Area beautiful, not too far to nearest town. Great area for dogs, plenty walks. The house was stunning, clean and comfortable. Would love to come back again.

Janet Vickers
Reviewed Upper Folds on 18/09/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Our second visit to Upper Folds this year. Absolutely everything about this property is pleasing. The location is comparable to parts of the west coast, the cottage is certainly 5star, furnished to a high standard with very comfortable fixtures and fittings. The garden is a dogs paradise.We are looking forward to our final visit of the year at Christmas.

Robert Taylor
Reviewed River Cottage on 17/09/2013
And awarded it

River Cottage

Had a gr8 time at river cottage 31 Aug to 7 Sept 2013. Had a very warm welcome from owners. Gr8 scenery and beautiful walks. The dogs also had a ball

L Jones
Reviewed Aros Beag on 16/09/2013
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This is a wonderful cottage; the underfloor heating made it v. cosy & meant we didn't care about the wind/rain outside, the jacuzzi bath was a fab way to unwind after long hikes in the spectacular countryside on our doorstep, & the well-equipped kitchen was ideal. We enjoyed the sound-system when watching movies or listening to music, and this is a really nice touch. The owners made us (a same-sex couple) feel very welcome, though very much kept themselves to themselves. Thoroughly recommended.

Norma & Fiona Rait
Reviewed Ardrannach on 13/09/2013
And awarded it

Ardrannach

A very happy week in a beautiful location with our rescue collie, Pippa, which brought back memories of many wonderful holidays in Skye with our late parents. Mr MacPherson was warm, friendly and welcoming, as was Ardrannach! We hope to return as soon as possible to this perfect cottage for touring the Misty Isle.

Silvana McLean
Reviewed An Slinnean on 13/09/2013
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Mike Madden
Reviewed The Haven on 10/09/2013
And awarded it

The Haven

If you want to escape to the country for a bit of serenity then this is certainly a place to choose. Very comfortable and spacious cottage. Mike.

Mark Hodgson
Reviewed Ardrannach on 09/09/2013
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Fantastic location and just as described , very friendly owner and nothing too much trouble.ideal base to tour Skye or sit and admire the views Look forward to visiting again Mark & Jackie Washington

Rebecca Jacobs
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 09/09/2013
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Beautiful cottage, stunning location perfect for a quiet get away, family exploring break , 4 x 4 really means you get to explore properly! Explore all the local glens but give Nessieworld a miss!

Kathryn Roughley
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 09/09/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We stayed in the Burnside Cottage at Geddes, for the 2nd time, and have to say we enjoyed it immensely, again our 2 golden retrievers felt at home and the garden is to die for,! The owners have thought of everything and we cannot fault this cottage in any way... Im sure we will be back again at sometime in the future.

David & Angela Brown
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 09/09/2013
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

We had a wonderful week at Reyflat Barn. The cottage has every comfort you could wish for and the welcome was warm and friendly - the scones were lovely too. It's a great base from which to explore the Black Isle and beyond and we would throughly recommend it if you're looking for peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings. Full marks to Wilderness Cottages: we'll be using you again.

Eddie Brewster
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 09/09/2013
And awarded it
Fam. John Van Der Ster
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 08/09/2013
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Perfect stay in Fort Augustus and in this cottage! The abbey is great, much to do for us and the kids. Also the restaurant is very nice. The cottage has enough space and the 2 bathrooms were great. From Fort Augustus we could travel around Loch Ness and the highlands. Perfect!

Peter & Ceri
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/09/2013
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

I would whole heartedly recommend a stay at Swallow Byre to anyone who wants to escape and enjoy the peace and quiet this cottage provides. A short walk down the lane to the beach and you can enjoy the sunset and seascape as well as the friendly seaside pig. The cottage has everything you need to relax after a day out exploring. We look forward to revisiting the cottage in the future.

Debbie
Reviewed Station Cottage on 05/09/2013
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had a wonderful holiday at station cottage. It's very clean, cosy and welcoming. The cottage is very well situated and in beautiful countryside. We would defiantly recommend it.

Bryan & Andrea Metcalfe
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 04/09/2013
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Fantastic views. Lovely cabin. So peaceful and beautiful. Would certainly reccomend this if a tranquil holiday is what you are after. Andrea and Bryan. W.Yorkshire

Catherine Gruener
Reviewed Solas on 03/09/2013
And awarded it

Solas

Williams
Reviewed Glen View on 02/09/2013
And awarded it

Glen View

Dave Cook
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 02/09/2013
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

My wife and myself plus black lab 'Isla' thoroughly enjoyed this cottage. The location is superb on the shore of the sea loch with many fine walks from the doorstep. The cottage is warm and comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. We would have no hesitation in recommending Ceol na Mara.

Caroline
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 29/08/2013
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Simple and lovely cottage - very comfortable and cosy, with the Aga and good sofas. Fabulous location and the beach was the best - small and pretty and no jellyfish or seaweed. Lovely walks nearby in Applecross and Shieldaig. We would happily return. And maybe we will!

J. Butler
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 28/08/2013
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We agree with everything that others have said. It is difficult to say anything new -the property was just superb. The building was neat and tidy on our arrival and had everything that you could wish for. The time just flew while we were there- there was so much to do and see in the area. If you didn't wish to go anywhere you could just chill out on the patio - we had great fun feeding the birds and watching them.

Peter Sliwinski
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 27/08/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Great! Thank you

Sanders Family
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 27/08/2013
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Very impressed with the layout and how well equipped the Cottage was. the photos really don't do it justice as it is much more spacious than it appears. Every detail has been carefully thought out, huge selection of books, DVDs, board games for hard to occupy children! Well equipped kitchen, logs provided for log burner, and fabulously deep roll top bath for a luxurious soak after a days walking. We ranged in age from 11 to 74 and it suited everyone's needs perfectly. Would highly recommend!

Wendy & Stewart Bithell (max The Dog)
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 26/08/2013
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Aug 3rd -17th, another wonderful holiday at the cottage,love the new kitchen/diner. As well as resident pine marten, woodpeckers and busy bird table! we were visited by 2 young badgers nightly. We spent many hour on the verandah watching osprey hunting on the river. The scenery around cottage as always is breathtaking and we never tire of looking at it or walking in the Glen..Glen Roy and parallell roads was amazing, A visit to Kylerhea on skye otter watching. A perfect place,Paradise :)

Milly Stapley
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 23/08/2013
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Julie Sobutta
Reviewed The Granary on 22/08/2013
And awarded it

The Granary

Second time with Wilderness Cottages. The Granary was a wonderful cottage, in a great location. A lovely host, giving a nice welcome surprise, also passed on a card and momento, on our 25th anniversary. Everything you need. Would definately go back.

Martin Docherty
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 22/08/2013
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A very quiet peaceful stay. Slip road to cottage might be slightly off putting to visitors, but, after the first day you'll get to know every bump and pothole by heart. Don't let this put you off. If you are not used to Rayburn/AGA cooking beware. Keep it simple. The shore line/bay is a superb extra, fishing from the rocks is great fun. Beware the midges on the shore. All in all a great time was had, would like a return visit.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Wilderness Cottages can confirm since the date of this review, the slip road to the cottage has been repaired, and is now perfectly suitable for all cars. Should you prefer to talk to us about your vehicle before booking please contact us on 01463 719219.
Bryan Roberts
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 22/08/2013
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

This spotless. comfortable and well appointed cottage was an absolute joy to live in for a week. The beds were extremely comfortable. The shower was probably the best I had ever used. The heating in the property worked when needed - though that was almost never! There is no scenery, per se, being situated at the end of a rough track in a forest. The birdlife was varied and a welcome visitor. I would definately recommend this to friends and family.

Pat Forrest
Reviewed Achbeag on 21/08/2013
And awarded it

Achbeag

This cottage is wonderfully remote, we loved it! a real getaway property and the property was immaculate.

Mr D Starkie
Reviewed Ardrannach on 21/08/2013
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We were a party of 5 and stayed one week. Pleased with cottage, very clean and well equipped.Lovely views from lounge window. Lots of little extras provided. Home from home.

Mr Clapperton
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 21/08/2013
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We have just returned from a lovely week in Kilmarton Estate Cottage. The cottage was spacious and very well equipped .. the views from the garden stunning. The cottage was quite isolated but our party enjoyed the peace and quiet. The only fly in the ointment we felt was the road into the property which was terribly rough and more suited to a 4x4 than the average family car which one may use to tour the highlands....Nevertheless this did not detract greatly from our enjoyment of the place.

John Douglas
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 14/08/2013
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We stayed in this wonderful cottage for a week in the beginning of August and were so upset when we had to leave! The cottage was so very welcoming, warm and comfortable with views of Loch Ness to die for!! Wonderful location with so many wonderful places to visit. We will definitely be wanting to return again in the near future

Bex Pottruff
Reviewed An Slinnean on 13/08/2013
And awarded it

An Slinnean

Carole Marks
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/08/2013
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Stayed at this property week 27/7/13-2/8/2013 - it's in a lovely location, the property is well equipped and is cosy and comfortable. My grandson and dogs loved chasing each other around the large garden. Over the last few years we have rented several properties through Wilderness Cottages and have never been disappointed, this was the best yet.

Jennifer Whittam
Reviewed Ardrannach on 11/08/2013
And awarded it

Ardrannach

A lovely cottage in a secluded location but with the benefit of being only a 5 minute drive away from Portree. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and it made a perfect base to explore the Isle of Skye. Mr McPherson (host) was incredibly friendly and the flowers, milk and bread was a lovely gesture. After our week at Ardrannach we felt relaxed and were sorry to leave. We hope to return to this tranquil and beautiful place soon.

Janine Morgan
Reviewed Moll House on 10/08/2013
And awarded it

Moll House

Outstanding property, well equipped and the position just stunning. Had a fantastic fortnight, just didn't want to leave!!

John McLoughlin
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 06/08/2013
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

This was our second visit, the property and location are excellent. The cottage is first class and the property gives direct access to views to Skye and Eileen Donan castle. I would highly recommend this to families, so much to see and do in and around the cottage. We will probably go back for a third time!

Julie Davies
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/08/2013
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We stopped at Don cottage in Drumnadrochit, a beautiful cottage with lots of room and a log fire, nice touches were the welcome pack incl poop bags and treats for our westie.

Moira & David Ricketts
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 05/08/2013
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed at Hill Head Croft with our 2 Fox Terriers from 13th to 27th July 2013. There is no doubt that this is a very special place - one we would wish to return to many times for years to come. The house has all the charm and character, style and comfort that any discerning holiday maker and their dogs could wish for. The garden was a delight being in the full bloom of high summer, and for our dogs it was one big adventure playground, playing hide and seek in the shrubs !!! A perfect holiday.

Lee Mcpherson
Reviewed Askival on 04/08/2013
And awarded it

Askival

One of the best places we have stayed in around Scotland, and believe me, we have stayed in some good properties! Superb Cottage - comfortable, well laid out and fully equipped. Unbelievable views, so much space, a superb beach, great walks to Sanna Bay and Ardnamurchan Point over the hills and peace and quiet. The whole area feels like you are on one of the Western Isles without leaving the mainland. Wildlife we saw included Hen Harrier, Golden Eagle and Otter. We will be going back!

Diane & Iain Hill
Reviewed Laracks on 04/08/2013
And awarded it

Laracks

The Muggeridge Family
Reviewed Glen View on 01/08/2013
And awarded it

Glen View

Tobias Lange
Reviewed Sgor Ghaibre on 31/07/2013
And awarded it

Sgor Ghaibre

The Waines Family & Ellie The Dog
Reviewed Fhaireag on 30/07/2013
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag was an amazing property situated in an idyllic location. It was more than we could have hoped for. Plenty of walks & things to do. We were even allowed to take our dog onto a Jacobite cruise on Loch Ness which was lovely. The views from the balcony were amazing & we seen plenty of deer from them most nights. Our weather was an added bonus, I was just disappointed that we didn't get a chance to use the log burner. Would definitely recommend.

Hamish Millar
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 30/07/2013
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Charles & Joanne Martin
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 29/07/2013
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

My wife and I had a fabulous week at The Smiddy. The cottage hadn't changed since were were last there in 2008. The amenities at the cottage are great, everything you need,just like at home. It is a great place to stay for a romantic break, Honeymoon,Anniversary or just to get away from the stress of busy city living. Inverness and the surrounding areas have a lot to offer and there is plenty to see and do. We had the pleasure of seeing Dolphins jumping and playing. Would stay again.