Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 61 to 80 of 2734


Peter Hellsten
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have had the most wonderful time at Plodda Falls Lodge and could not have dreamed of a better place to stay. It surpassed our expectations as it felt more than a real home than a holiday cottage. The kitchen is very well equipped, both living rooms are super cosy, homely and decorated beautifully. We loved all the art work and Jenny, the owner, has gone to great lengths to ensure this historic building retained its character and charm. The surroundings are just breathtaking and we enjoyed stunning woodland walks, the waterfall and gorgeous Glen Afric. This place is a secret gem and we definitely want to return to spend some more relaxing holidays there. Thanks Jenny for making us feel so very welcome. :-)

Ellen Saunders
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

Truly superb accommodation with stunning views of the loch. Highly recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone who appreciates style, quality and an appreciation of nature.

L.Kesselaar
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Very nice comfortable house. Surroundings are beautiful!!

Greig Craig
Reviewed River Cottage on 29/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed here for a week in July 2016. The booking process was easy and Wilderness Cottages were a pleasure to deal with. River cottages itself is immaculate and is an excellent base to explore the surrounding area with Inverness being only 1/2 an hour away. The cottage is equipped with everything you need. Our one and only gripe - please replace the couch. We would've rebooked this year but unfortunately it was unavailable on our dates. so we have booked elsewhere with Wilderness Cottages.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Craig, Thak you for your feedack, the owner has confirmed that the original couch which was a bed settee, was removed and replaced with a comfortable standard sofa.
DORSET
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 23/05/2017
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at Shepherd's Cottage - great views, very quiet location, well furnished and comfortable house. We particularly liked sitting in the garden watching the local birds. A good base for exploring the area - not far to Lochcarron. Only odd thing was to have two single quilts on the main bed but I expect that is because I had requested non feather duvets.

Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second visit to this lovely cottage and we weren't disappointed, still as beautiful as last year. We stayed for 2 weeks and we had amazing changeable weather sun, rain and snow. It was amazing to see in April. We did lots and lots of walking/hiking covered quite a few miles to see out of the world sites. We saw the Pine marten on the first night and loads of deer and some wonderful stags. We thought we wouldn't see the lovely pine marten again, but as we were leaving early on the last day, we saw him again. So thanks again for a brilliant holiday. Hope we can return one day soon.

Steven McGovern
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

This property has a marvellous view of the loch and the ocean. If you enjoy spotting wildlife from an armchair then expect to see golden eagles, red deer, seals, wheatears and we heard cuckoos every day. For dog owners the enclosed garden is great though it does have a tiny brook running through it so you may need to dry your canine off several times a day! Several good walks close to the property including an hour walk from the door which will take you close to a seal colony which has attracted killer whales previously! A slight negative would be the oven control labels have been erased and the key safe to enter the property is so worn it took 15 minutes for me to recover the key on arrival. Both easily rectified- apart from that very good.

Linda Porter
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Excellent cottage, in a perfect location. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Lou & Andrew
Reviewed Jura on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Jura

What a fantastic week we had. Wall to wall sunshine all week. The view from the cottage is just fantastic. The sunroom is such an asset . Also a fabulous place for our dog with the hill behind the cottage. The neighbours were so friendly and helpful....we will definitely book Jura again.

Keith S
Reviewed Ardrannach on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a fabulous week on Skye thanks to the well nigh perfect weather. The cottage proved a comfortable and well-located base. Although, as some previous reviewers have noted, the cottage is a bit dated, it has everything required for a holiday.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A truly outstanding location with stunning scenery and views. The cottage has everything you need and plan ahead for meals before you come and do a shop or noticed Asda deliveries passing, you should then only need to stock up for basics, garage in Fort Augustus is well stocked. The walks for dogs around this area are brilliant and Murphy had a ball exploring everywhere although I did get blisters but well worth it. The weather has been exceptional sun from dawn till dusk every day (coming from East Scotland, maybe it's true, always sunny in the West!!) The walk to Loch Loyne was well worth it (bear left at red phone box if coming from cottage) and Murphy even swan which is a change from his jumping in the water. Bring bird food as the bird table is mesmerising.

Maggie Pickering
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely well equipped cottage in the most glorious location, we suspect we will never be totally happy at any other cottage we ever book as it would be very hard to beat.

Lesley Healy
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a superb cottage with great views. Was extremely clean on arrival and felt very homely. Would definitely recommend staying and we will definitely return.

J Nicholls
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 08/05/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a quiet remote area, It was set out lovely all on one level and light and airy, beautiful scenery all round with lots of walks around the cottage and not far to 3 beaches. Stoer lighthouse was only 2 miles away and worth visiting I didn't get to see any whales or dolphins but lovely views down to Skye and Hebrides. Jane was close by and very helpful and it is some where I would definitely stay again.

S Allan
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tigh Nighean Bhan, a beautiful crofters cottage combining stylish elegance of its interior design with thoughtful period details balanced with modern comforts - plentiful heating and hot water and nice touches - books and maps to help you decide what you would like to do in your time on the Isle of Skye. Thank You.

Marlon & Tracy Sayle
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic property and location. Very comfortable and warm cottage even when it's snowing outside. Abundance of wildlife around the cottage and on the east ridge behind the cottage (we were lucky enough to watch 2 immature golden eagles catching the thermals early one morning while sitting on the plateau). Would we return?.....Absolutely.

David Ball
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 03/05/2017
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Fabulous location to get away from it all. The property its self was 10/10 we felt at home straight away and had everything we needed and more. The only slight complaint i would of had is the cleanness of the property could of had a bit more attention to detail i.e. hovering and dusting in all places and wiping down things in the bathroom that looked stained in places,,,, but the bedding etc was fresh and comfy. The owner Andrew was around on arrival and was great such a friendly guy but never once did he bother us!! Due to our car breaking down we had to extend our stay where Andrew and the team made it possible for us to stay an extra 3 days at a cost price which was very kind of them. All in all a great place and location where i hope to return with my partner again one day.

Lily & AB
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 01/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

It is with the greatest of pleasure that we write this review for Plodda Falls Cottage! From the moment of our arrival at this beautiful location, we feel at home. Jenny's warm welcome is always so looked forward too and, appreciated. The cottage, nestled amongst the trees, is a delight, so very comfortable. The wildlife is wonderful and, on this visit, we were blessed with a sighting of two Pine Matins. The birdsong and the nearby river, are the only sounds to be heard. It would be remiss of me not to mention ..... THE MOST COMFORTABLE BED imaginable, promoting many a good nights sleep! The Great Spotted Woodpecker 'alarm' in the morning always makes us smile. Plodda, a truly magical place. Until the next time......

A, D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 29/04/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

The cottage is outstanding. It is so well designed and built in an amazing location. You can walk straight out the door and start climbing a 780 metre hill (Corryhabbie). There is so much to see and do in the area but the house is so comfortable, warm and provides such scenic views that staying in is always an option. We had snow flurries and bright sun within minutes of each other which added to the enjoyment. The drive in adds in to the experience. We're booking again. The owners have done an excellent job with their vision for the perfect holiday cottage. Many thanks.

Helena Bell
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 27/04/2017
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was the first time that we had taken our 10 months puppy on holiday, so we were apprehensive. We were thrilled with the facilities provided at Katie's Cottage which made it so easy to keep the little fellow happy while at the same time keeping the cottage clean and tidy. The cottage was a wonderful 'home' for our week and we cannot praise it too highly. We were sad to leave.