Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 151 to 200 of 2966


Tom, Yorkshire
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 28/07/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

A clean, comfortable and conveniently located cottage provided all we needed including a garden to sit out in. Just a quick drive or short pleasant walk into Portree. Good cliff top walks from the door and lovely to be woken each morning by cuckoos.

Michael Taylor
Reviewed Callakille on 27/07/2018
And awarded it

Callakille

Had an amazing week in Burnside. We are reasonably familiar with the location and the description sounded excellent. It didn't disappoint. Negatives first; property was advertised as having wi-fi- it didn't at the time of our stay, although broadband is supposedly coming on the back of a cable the MOD have just ran across the Bealach. That said O2 coverage was just passable; sit upstairs or stand on the rock in the garden... Water from the private burn is brown-didn't try drinking it so would bring bottled, (at least to start with) Everything else was spot on; great accommodation, beautifully executed, amazing views (summer solstice so still able to see across to Rhona at 1.30am....) And last but not least, the wildlife........As a small taster our last night was wrapped up by the silhouette of a fox trotting along the bench at the cliff edge. Magical.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Michael, we are unsure as to where you saw that the property had wifi advertised, as this, due to the loaction, has never been available at this property. Having read your review, the lack of this certainly does not seem to have been a problem and thank you for proving your feedback.
Jim,Jean,Ciaran
Reviewed Reyflat Barn on 26/07/2018
And awarded it

Reyflat Barn

We had a wonderful stay at Reyflat Barn, everything you would need at home was here, the quiet, the views and the balcony amazing, not forgetting the lovely welcome from Pat and the homemade scones on arrival delicious,

Lucy J
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/07/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Wow, what an amazing place! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Upper Folds. The cottage is a perfect, remote location - no internet or phone signal so great to switch off from the world and relax. The road/track to get to it is certainly interesting but also all part of the fun and adventure, do not underestimate the need for a 4x4 to get there, we were very grateful!! We loved looking through the pictures of the cottage being built and some of the snow pictures, it would be spectacular in the winter. Would love to see more on the history of the land/area etc. Inside and out it is so well kept, tidy and very clean, it has all the facilities you could need, especially a nice comfy bed and sofa. We did find there was quite a drive to several places we went for days out, most places were taking 1 - 1.5 hours to get to, but we were in no rush. Would highly recommend and would definitely return.

Callum Maley
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 25/07/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

First time staying at Poulary and we weren't disappointed. The views from the decking and kitchen window are breathtaking. We saw an abundance of wildlife (red stag, golden eagle and pine marten to name a few). The drive to the end of the road was fantastic. I highly recommend this beautiful cottage and it's stunning surroundings. Our dogs loved the garden and all the walks from the doorstep. Hope to return one day.

Lynne Paterson
Reviewed The Orchids on 25/07/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

Spent a lovely week here with the family in July 2018. The house was superb, had every convenience available to us and was in the most glorious location. This was really as good as the advertised version. It was close enough to access all parts of the island but if you didn't want to venture out and fancied a lazy day, then the views across Dunvegan Loch were magnificent and many an hour could be whiled away just looking out the windows at the wildlife. We hope to return in the future.

Ian Wardlaw
Reviewed Ardbeg on 24/07/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

We stayed at this wonderful cottage for a week. Absolutely 1st class accommodation with a superb elevated aspect overlooking Gairloch bay and the Isle of Skye. We have stayed on the west coast many times but by far this is the best place. I will definitely be recommending this to family and friends.

Pascal
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 24/07/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Excellent setting and marvelous views on the bay. Lovely cottage, very comfortable and cosy interiors. One thing: get some new frying pans (as most cottages should)!

Greig Donaldson
Reviewed Log House on 24/07/2018
And awarded it

Log House

We had a fantastic stay again at the Log House. This was our 4th visit & we will definitely be back. The decking out front is a brilliant addition to the cabin, allowing an outside space where the famous midgies dont get you. The wildlife just outside the cabin is incredible & as always we were sad to leave this incredible place. Can't rate this location or Log House high enough, it's incredible!!!

Beverley
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 24/07/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cosy cottage a short walk from the centre of Portree but distant enough to feel remote. Owners introduced themselves and were so friendly and approachable and allowed the children to give their horses apples. Very well supplied cottage that met all our needs and lots of fascinating books to read. Both children and adults loved our stay and enjoyed the fire one night. We are looking to book again the week was so relaxing with lots of beautiful climbs/walks and rest.

Jeremy
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 24/07/2018
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

We really enjoyed our stay in Taffs Barn. It was clean, comfortable, a good size, well appointed and in a serene location with great views. The owner greeted us shortly after our arrival, was very friendly, and even left us some delicious scones with clotted cream and jam. I'd very happily stay there again.

Liz & Pete From Melbourne
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 24/07/2018
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

Fabulous lodge, super kitchen and an ensuite in every room. Spotlessly clean and absolutely stunning views...just wonderful!

Dennis Bluemel
Reviewed Charleston on 23/07/2018
And awarded it

Charleston

Property was amazing, couldn't fault it in anyway. So very comfortable. Dogs loved the garden which was enclosed. Lovely welcome pack. Just like home from home. Plenty of wildlife to see from property. Only one suggestion is a sign on the road showing direction of property as not too easy to find.

Dawn Helliwell
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 22/07/2018
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

A beautiful cottage in an idylic situation. So peaceful and quiet and the views each morning to wake up to were wonderful. Well equipped and very comfortable. Lovely garden. Could use a dishwasher maybe in the kitchen. Loved the aga. Further garden furniture would also be great. Overall a lovely week in a beautiful part of the country.

C Cranston
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 21/07/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

A very enjoyable holiday, cottage was excellent and very well equipped.

Richardy
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Second time there, this time in a heatwave! Fantastic location, great cottage and excellent welcome from the owners. Looking forward to next time!

Kay Ward
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We loved staying at the Coltsfoots. The lodge was very clean with everything we needed. We loved sitting out on the terrace morning and evening in a very quiet and peaceful setting. The lodge is not isolated but is very quiet. We drove to Ben Nevis from here, Loch Arkaig, Glen Roy and the river Garry but there are plenty of places around Loch Ness. Fort Augustus is a great, touristy town with lots to see and do and with several pubs serving very good food. Overall a brilliant holiday with amazing weather in a cosy and comfortable lodge.

Caroline Verden
Reviewed An Sealladh on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

A lovely well equipped property with plenty of space for 6 people and secure storage for bikes, kyats etc. Great location with a garden, views towards Suilven and within walking distance of a variety of local shops and restaurants. The area has spectacular scenery great mountain walking and fantastic beaches to explore.

Claire Bell
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Had a fantastic time staying here, the lodge is beautiful! My children had fun staying here, the beds were comfortable, very clean, had everything we needed, and the personal touches made it all the more welcoming. Definitely recommend 5*****

Len Collard
Reviewed Station Cottage on 20/07/2018
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had a great two weeks in the lovely Station Cottage.The cottage has all you would need, including the location.Weather was great, with lots of wildlife on the door step, we had a roe buck in the garden one morning. Garden is large and secure our two dogs, enjoyed it. Will return.

Alan & Pauline
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 19/07/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a lovely peaceful week at Plooda Falls Lodge which is set in lovely surroundings with many walks nearby. The Lodge was spotlessly clean and Jenny made us very welcome, especially leaving us with a very tasty black currant cake. Highly recommended.

Richard Scrimshaw
Reviewed Taffs Barn on 19/07/2018
And awarded it

Taffs Barn

We were delighted with this property, it enjoys a lovely quiet location with open views over the surrounding fields and countryside, and offers spacious well appointed accommodation. It is also a great base to visit the surrounding area including the chance to see the wild dolphins in the Moray & Cromarty Firths, we also had great views of a red kite that appears to live in the area. The owner is very pleasant and makes welcoming scones that are delicious.

Andy Ledger
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 19/07/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

A wonderful, relaxing break. The hot-tub was great & the views were beautiful. Other parts of Skye can get quite crowded, but you can find real solitude here. The newly built cottage was well-equipped. The wifi was really good (an unusual bonus in a place like this) & the shower was the best I have ever experienced.

Kim Morrison
Reviewed The Granary on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Amazing cottage. The house had everything we needed and was so pleased with all the extras for our two-year-old like stair gates, a travel cot with a mattress, and a high chair! The owners were so lovely and really helpful with tips for things to do in the local area. Would definitely return as it's such a lovely corner of the country to stay in.

P Durno
Reviewed Cuilfail on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Excellent accommodation thank you we had a great holiday, the dogs really enjoyed the very large enclosed garden and we really enjoyed the comforts. Thanks again!

Andrew & Rosemary, Cumbria.
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We chose The Smiddy for its location and from its photographs its imaginatively designed interior. We enjoyed our weeks stay, arriving on bicycles from the west coast. Comfortable bedding, attention to detail in fixtures & furnishings keeping in tune with its former purpose, and a good selection of kitchen ware suitable for a self catering week. There are woodland walks from the property (up into Belladrum woods) & further east fine woodlands of the UK's tallest trees at Dughall Mor. Bus stop for Inverness across the road, and Beauly train station less than 5mls away. Our hosts were very welcome and informative and were available if needed. These points all made for our wedding anniversary to be memorable week. Thankyou.

Sharon
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 17/07/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Great stay at Score Bay cottage. Very nice, clean, spacious and well equipped cottage. Comfortable beds and very nice large tub that's great for soaking after a day of hiking. We loved the view from our cottage of the Outer Hebrides. Even though the road was between us and the water, we were well set back with a large field in front. The location is very peaceful and quiet. We liked being on this side of Skye Island with some great walks and beautiful scenery nearby. Highly recommended.

J Nelson
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Comfortable, spacious cottage. Well equipped. Nice short walking distance into village. Had fun in tennis courts and playpark behind cottage.

Ann L
Reviewed The Orchids on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

Fantastic cottage, extremely spacious, well equipped, comfortable and very clean. We had a great week even though the weather was mixed, a couple of days we didn't even go out, we just stayed and enjoyed the spectacular views.

William R Rodger
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Had a lovely stay at Stablemans lodge ,nice clean house i would highly recommend it

PaulineP
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnie''s Croft, what an absolute gem. Beautiful, comfortable cottage with fantastic views up Loch Ness. Watch out for the deer in the garden each evening. House sits high on the hill above Urquhart Castle so be prepared to have nerves of steel for the drive up to the house.....but once you get there, you will not want to leave. It is wonderful. Owners very helpful and able to contact if ever needed. A little gem up at Loch Ness. Would definitely recommend.

Bridget Impey
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

This was a return visit to this very special place and we enjoyed it even more than the first. The house does all the things a good house should, it being welcoming, giving a feeling of spaciousness, and being calm and comfortable. The weather was superb, we watched deer and eagles and the hooting of owls lulled us to sleep. What a very very special place. Even though we live in Johannesburg we will be back.

Al Shaw
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/07/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

This was the most relaxing and homely cottage we have stayed at. No hassle, no fuss. It was central to the places we went to and the peace and tranquility were priceless.

Bernadette
Reviewed Cuilfail on 11/07/2018
And awarded it

Cuilfail

The setting of Cuilfail is beautiful, with a large garden, view on the mountain behind, and a quiet road in front. We were with 6 persons. The 5 garden chairs are weak, one is deficient. The house has enough room for six persons. There are 2 bathrooms, but only the one downstairs has a shower. So all the six habitants came to use that one shower. This wasn't the intention of the 2 persons that slept downstairs. We couldn't deprive 4 persons of a shower, but had wished to have our private bathroom. It would be easy to add a shower upstairs, above the bathtub. The bed downstairs is large enough, but is very hard. We could feel the iron spirals in our body. The kitchen is sufficient, but we missed a orange press, which can be a simple one. The washing machine and dish washer are good. The electric stove has been cleaned so often, that all the digits are invisible, so we had to guess how is works. It would be convenient to have a one-page manual. For the rest it is a splendid house, near the beautiful falls of Foyers and near Loch Ness. Plenty of opportunities to make beautiful walks.

John & Heather Wilkinson
Reviewed River Cottage on 11/07/2018
And awarded it

River Cottage

The cottage is excellent: clean and well-appointed with everything you could need in a superb location handy for so many holiday destinations. Very comfortable as well, seat and bed-wise: we were especially taken with the large shower room with bench seat! We would have classed it as (5) excellent but for three minor quibbles. I. We weren't sure which cottage it was and went to the next one along by mistake. It should maybe be stressed that it is in the grounds of the first big house, second turn to the left off the road. 2. Wifi is poor to occasionally non-existent: this didn't affect us as we're used to it here, but others should perhaps be warned. 3. We couldn't get the TV and DVD to link up despite the instructions in the folder. Apart from these wee niggles (and the cloudy weather!) we thoroughly enjoyed our stay... and no midges!

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear John and Heather, thank you for your feedback. We have had a look at the directions we provide and apologise if these were not clear for you. The owner has confirmed that a booster, has now been added to the wifi, however in remote locations, the wifi is generally slower than town or city locations and is only really suitable for internet browsing and checking emails, streaming films would not be possible. The owner has checked the TV and DVD and this is working, had you contacted them during your stay, they could have demonstraed how this worked.
Cuthbertson, Crieff
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 07/07/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Magical haven aptly describes this cottage. Sitting out looking over the crofts. Sun, sun, sun, beautifully clean award winning beaches, excellent bookshop 2-3 miles south of Lochinver, pie shop well worth a couple of visits.A landscape and roads that you have got to be there to appreciate.

M.H.&V.H.
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 05/07/2018
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

A delightful, comfortable little cottage. In a wonderful isolated location, yet within easy reach of all parts of Skye. Lack of food prep surface in the kitchen area is awkward if you want to eat in, and we sometimes found the random noise of the water pump irritating. Most days the distant hum of salmon farm machinery could be heard, but generally it was a blissful place to be. We enjoyed watching the birds, particularly the oystercatchers. If returning to Skye, we would probably choose to stay at Moll Cottage again.

John & Pam
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 05/07/2018
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Oak Cottage is a lovely comfortable cottage and very well equipped and is the perfect place for a peaceful relaxing holiday with stunning scenery and fantastic wildlife from the windows. It is a good base for exploring this beautiful area of Scotland.

Lynda B
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

Easter Drumine Cottage was in a lovely location, very peaceful and quiet. The cottage and facilities were excellent. Would certainly visit again.

Brenda Davies
Reviewed Moll House on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Moll House

Dawn Netley
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 04/07/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a great time staying in Katie's Cottage on the Isle of Skye. The cottage was surprisingly spacious for a 2 bed. Our dogs loved the garden and were happy to make the utility room their own. The cottage was in a superb location with beautiful countryside and a lovely crofters restaurant next door to the cottage, who served delicious home grown food. We shall miss walking out the gate to the sheep roaming freely.

Pauline Pausch
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Tor Cottage is so perfect, it is difficult to know where to start. Firstly, a lovely welcome from Ruth and John who were perfect hosts. The views are absolutely stunning - we were so lucky with the weather and had brilliant sunshine all week, but I think even in poor weather, it will have a different charm. To be honest, it does not feel like a holiday house at all, rather you are staying in a lovely home. The location is great - a perfect base for exploring Harris, with lovely beaches within 30 minutes and close to Tarbert. Also lots of excellent walks within easy reach. Ruth and John have lots of information in the house and are only too happy to help out with tips and advice if you want them. Tor Cottage is definitely 5* - a very high specification on finishes in the house along with top of the range appliances, a properly equipped kitchen and thoughtful attention to detail (lovely soaps, dishwasher and laundry tabs, treats and toys for the dogs and more). It is a real home from home (or better!). There is a lovely deck area to sit out on and enjoy the sun going down. It is also totally peaceful. A fantastic week. We would highly recommend this property.

Dawn Birch
Reviewed Rhundunan on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Rhundunan

A very well equipped and comfortable cottage with beautiful views in a peaceful location. I would love to return!

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

Lovely cottage with everything you would need lovely views over Lochcarron would recommend to all...

Judy C
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

We spent a lovely week in this house which is situated in a stunning part of the West coast with spectacular views. It was lovely having direct access to the beach and walked to Clachtoll Broch and Beach. The weather couldn't have been better. Would love to come back some time.

Brenda Davies
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 03/07/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

We were absolutely delighted with the cottage, both for its comfort but especially for its location.

Carol Price-Thomas
Reviewed Sgarbh Lodge on 02/07/2018
And awarded it

Sgarbh Lodge

Sgarbh Lodge was a wonderful place to stay, the location was stunning and very peaceful. The amenities in the house were excellent and the beds very comfortable. It is a short 5 minute walk down to the small harbour to watch the sunset, where we saw seals playing and the Isles of Harris & Lewis in the distance. At breakfast we saw a pod of dolphins fishing, it is a truly magical place. The shops are quite some distance from the property so I would advise to bring plenty of supplies with you. There is a large freezer so you can bring meat and bread etc and pop it in the freezer for later on in the week. We also took our own BBQ as the weather was really good and we used it a lot.

UK Tourist
Reviewed Campbell House on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Campbell House

Traditionally furnished and spacious accommodation in excellent position overlooking the loch. It's got everything you need and was spotless. We didn't have the best weather for June so didn't make use of the large garden but the house was warm and comfortable to return to after the day's activities!

M.a. De Wolff
Reviewed Fhaireag on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We enjoyed our stay in fhaireag very much and will come back in the near future. Love Schotland.

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/06/2018
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Cluny cottage was fantastic it is so roomy and has everything you need. The location is idea for visiting the surrounding area.. I would highly recommend this place to all.