Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1501 to 1550 of 2734


Vlado, Julie, Daniel & Matthew
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 15/06/2013
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

We spent a week at Oak cottage, and hopefully we will come back next year. The cottage is excellent, fantastic and well equipped in the middle of the beautiful nature. We had a surprise when we arrived- a Welcome pack with a nice card.We recommend to everyone to spend holiday here at Oak Cottage. You can enjoy the nature, little friends (squirrels, rabbits, birds, etc) and fantastic walks around.

Jackie Edwards
Reviewed Timber House on 13/06/2013
And awarded it

Timber House

The Timber House was just what we needed...tranquil, peaceful, a great retreat from the fast pace of every day life. The views from the amazing windows were ever-changing from morning to night....every day offered us something new and unique. We even saw otters! This should be prescribed on the NHS as a stress-management tool...absolutely wonderful.

S Cousans
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 12/06/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

A wonderful well equipped house with a fantastic view. A couple of little gifts on the table on arrival was a welcoming touch.We spent a very comfortable fortnight and would be very happy to return. Skye is an amazing island thank you.

Maureen McKendrick
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 11/06/2013
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

A lovely warm cosy cottage set in a beautiful area with good views all round. Amazing wildlife in the garden red squirrels, pheasant, partridge, rabbits and loads of birds. Ample supply of logs & coal as it was cold at night for May. Plenty to do and see in the area Ospreys at Loch Garten, Highland Folk Museum, Highland Wildlife Park, Cairngorm Funicular Railway all within easy drive. Most enjoyable week chilling out at Cluny Croft.

Angie & Keith Toole
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 10/06/2013
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

What a lovely cottage everything supplied. Sky TV not installed so disapointed there as did say it was when we booked. Also local shop had closed down. That aside a very peaceful and refreshing week.In particular the wild birds, red squirrels and wildlife of the area. Owner comment - unfotunately the local shop has now shut down, the Sky TV has now been replaced with a Freeview system.

David Green
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 10/06/2013
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

The cottage is fantastic! So cozy, finished and furnished to the highest standard. I can't speak highly enough about the cottage. When booking I thought the cottage was more isolated than it was. You have a neigbour either side of you and there are houses dotted around the area. For us this did not detract from the stay. The trotternish peninsula is beautiful. We explored the whole Island and thought the cottage was in the best place. If we could add anything, WIFI would have been nice.

Debbie
Reviewed Achbeag on 09/06/2013
And awarded it

Achbeag

We had a fantastic stay at the Achbeag, this is our fourth cottage with Wilderness cottages. It is in a beautiful location with stunning views however, it is rather remote! We loved this aspect of the cottage, but popping to the shops for milk is a 40 minute round trip. Nonetheless, the amazing mountains to climb and the fabulous beaches to walk with the dog more made up for this fact. I do believe we will be visiting again in 2014. Thank you.

Mark Hobbs
Reviewed Grain Store on 06/06/2013
And awarded it

Grain Store

Lovely week in the Grain Store. Found it very comfortable, and enjoyed being out in the spectacular countryside that surrounds the area. Lots of walks a short distance away, as were the interesting settlements of Tomintoul, Grantown on Spey, and also the Osprey areas. Further afield are Balmoral, Ballater, Rothiemurchus and Aviemore... Each of which can take at least a day of your time to explore. Thanks to Wilderness cottages for providing us with so many wonderful memories.. we will be back.

Vicky Harris
Reviewed Jura on 05/06/2013
And awarded it

Jura

Lovely cottage with stunning views. We had a very relaxing time, the children loved the freedom of being able to go exploring down at the burn. The scenary is breathtaking and there are lots of great walks right from your doorstep. Will definitely return.

Nicky Head
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 05/06/2013
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A fantastic holiday and a fabulous cottage. The photos didn't do it justice. It was brilliantly equipped, lovely and clean and very spacious. The owners were incredibly friendly too, as was a neighbour who lived close to the cottage and offered my two sons a ride on his tractor! We saw red squirrels and hares from the cottage window and had several sightings of curlews, buzzards, red legged partridges etc. We will never forget this truely wonderful holiday! :-)

Tom Edwards
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 05/06/2013
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

An attractive property although some potential bookers may want to know that the sea on the beach is currently (June 2013) occupied by 2 large temporary platforms as pipework is being installed in the seabed. It didn't bother us or interfere with access to sea or beach. The location was great for our 2 dogs - enclosed garden and good indoor space, especially the conservatory/dining room. We do not have a 4 wheel drive and access was ok, although 3 gates were a pain. Well equipped kitchen too.

Marion Bull
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 04/06/2013
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

Wow what a place,the apartment was fantastic,from the views to the comfort.The apartment was spotless & very well equipped. The abbey itself is very impressive & the grounds are kept very well.

Shirley Murray
Reviewed The Granary on 04/06/2013
And awarded it

The Granary

The Granary was a lovely cottage to base our holiday in and explore Inverness, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus and Isle of Skye. It had everything we needed , wifi , dishwasher and washing machine were excellent facilities. Lovely accommodation in a quiet location and dog friendly. We found the cottage very clean and comfortable.We took advantage of the shopping unpacking service which was a wonderful service to offer! Weather was fab, nowhere nicer than Scotland when the sun is shinning!

G Swapp
Reviewed Christies on 04/06/2013
And awarded it

Christies

A comfortable, well equipped cottage with outstanding views. If taking a dog, you need to be aware that the garden is not completely enclosed. The cottage would also benefit from the provision of outdoor seating. The cottage is well situated for exploring North West Scotland and there are several good quality restuarants within a short driving distance.

D Tugwell
Reviewed Wildwood on 04/06/2013
And awarded it

Wildwood

Wildwood is a stunning property set in the perfect wooded location but only a mile from the village. Walks start from every angle on your doorstep, wildlife, peace and quite in equal measure. The property has everything you need, extremely clean and tidy. With two rooms on each floor that are seperate to the living spaces it is perfect for two families or friends. Highly recommended. Thanks.

Stephen & Jo
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 04/06/2013
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a lovely week in Bayside Cottage, it was our third visit to Applecross and the cottage was perfect, all the extra touches were lovely, including the welcome tray and wine, we enjoyed cooking in the well equipped kitchen as well as visiting the fantastic Applecross Inn, we will definitely be back!

Danny Brant
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 02/06/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

We had a great week here. Had a few glorious sunny days which helps. Great walking, wildlife, fishing etc.. The kids loved it. We loved seeing Marley (the name the kids gave the resident deer) most mornings, he even appeared to say goodbye Saturday morning. Kinloch Damph Lodge is very isolated, so make sure you go well stocked up. I'm sure we will be back.

Harald Walz
Reviewed Don Cottage on 01/06/2013
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We had a great week from 18- 25.05.13 in the Don Cottage. We have felt ourselves very well, even over the warm welcome with the small gifts we were very pleased. Even the weather has been kind to us so we could make many trips in the area. The house we can highly recommend, it is cozy, clean, comfortable and the view of the surrounding area is gorgeous. We would like to come back

Janet Voutt
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 30/05/2013
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Peter Woolverton
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 29/05/2013
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Just returned from our 3rd holiday in Hill Cottage, Fanagmore, 6 miles from Scourie. It doesn't get much better - no TV, no phone, no mobile signal, no internet connection, no neighbours, no traffic. Perfect peace - apart from cuckoos cuckooing, stonechats chatting, grasshopper warblers churring, owls hooting, buzzards mewing, geese cackling, gulls screaming, lambs bleating and ewes baaing. Out on the edge and timeless - Sutherland is awesome. All set up seamlessly by Wilderness Cottages.

Gareth Wain
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 28/05/2013
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Ernie & Pat
Reviewed Giusaichean on 28/05/2013
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Margaret & William
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 28/05/2013
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Just returned from a wonderful week in Applecross. Bayside Cottage is cosy and well equipped, superbly situated overlooking the sea towards Skye and just a few steps from the excellent Applecross Inn. The tea and biscuits provided for our arrival plus a bottle of wine in the fridge were a nice welcoming touch. The drive over the pass to get there is dramatic, the landscape everywhere wild with magnificent views. It is great walking country with lots of wildlife. Heartily recommended!

Martin & Carole Lovell
Reviewed Coach House on 28/05/2013
And awarded it

Coach House

Caroline & Andrew
Reviewed Aros Beag on 28/05/2013
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Aros Beag is perfect for a relaxing get away warm, cosy and very well equipped loved the sound system in every room. The ideal location for walking from your front door as this cottage sits alongside The West Highland Way. My morning coffee sitting outside by the river watching Dippers,Oystercatchers and listening to cuckoos was a luxury I will find hard to beat!

Nicola
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 27/05/2013
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

A wonderful week at Stoer Lodge, pure relaxation. Beautifully presented in a traditional school style, yet very homely and cozy. You really couldn't find a more perfect location over looking the almost private, stunning white sand beach! The coastal line all along the area is beautiful and Stoer Lodge provides the comfort from which to explore it. Make sure you stock up on provisions though!

Linda,Chris & Our Dogs Shug & Mali
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 27/05/2013
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Recently had a fantastic week at Katie's cottage with our two dogs. Very well equipped cottage which has been renovated to a lovely standard. Also great to have WIFI as phone signal is very poor on Skye. Would not hesitate to recommend or return to this property. The cottage was extremely cosy and the wood burning stove is excellent!

Liz & Stewart
Reviewed Old Schoolhouse on 24/05/2013
And awarded it

Old Schoolhouse

Steve & Gill
Reviewed The Granary on 24/05/2013
And awarded it

The Granary

Comfortable cottage, in a quiet, ideal position for exploring the Loch Ness area. Beds very comfortable. Second bedroom could benefit from a blackout blind.

Sue & Richard
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 23/05/2013
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

May 11th 2013 What a lovely cottage,a home from home & so clean & cosy. Weather was cold so log burner was great. Fort Augustus is a lovely spot, pubs with good food, shops, & amazing system of locks to watch the boats go through, lovely scenery--just perfect! The wine & milk on arrival was nice as we had come a long way & arrived quite late.

Rex & Julie Brennan
Reviewed Solas on 22/05/2013
And awarded it

Solas

Mr. J.D. Morrison
Reviewed Fhaireag on 21/05/2013
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fhaireag is a wonderful house set amidst stunning scenery, peaceful and secluded but not isolated. Internally the house has EVERYTHING you could wish for. We are planning a return in October or November. A wonderfully peaceful holiday.

Rachel Griffin
Reviewed Achbeag on 20/05/2013
And awarded it

Achbeag

Beautiful, clean cottage in a great location. Dog friendly inside and out. Great for getting away from it all.

Paul & Sylvia Mann
Reviewed Cuilfail on 20/05/2013
And awarded it

Cuilfail

I was staying a cuilfail with my family and Canadian cousins who were over visiting and had the best time, I would thoroughly recommend Cuilfail to visit as it is in an ideal location, easy access to get roundabout in Scotland and we took our dog with us who had the best time running about in the massive enclosed garden, I think he was as depressed as us to be going back home. Well worth a visit.

Stuart Evans
Reviewed Charleston House on 20/05/2013
And awarded it

Charleston House

Rob Taylor
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 20/05/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

What a wonderful place to stay. Great location, combined with a modern, spacious accommodation. My wife and I had a great time, despite the gale force winds and rain! Wifi and Smart TV were a bonus too. Would have given a rating of 5, if there had been a decking/patio area outside to sit and enjoy the spectacular coastline. Loved this region so much,we're looking to purchase a property in the area. Many thanks also to Wilderness Cottages for an excellent, efficient and friendly service.

Jessica&Joe
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 20/05/2013
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Swallow Byre is just wonderful! Very cosy, beautifully furnished and equipped with everything you could possibly need; there's even an aga where we made the best porridge overnight. The surrounding countryside is stunning and there's a beach only 10 mins stroll away where you can watch the sun go down before returning for dinner beside the welcoming wood stove. We will definitely return soon

Fraser&fiona
Reviewed Laracks on 18/05/2013
And awarded it

Laracks

Alan Robb
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 17/05/2013
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Wine and shortbread was a lovely gesture on arrival. Fabulous property in lovely location. Worth repeat visits.

Ann Napier
Reviewed Fhaireag on 13/05/2013
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We had a recent holiday in Fhaireag, the house was beautifully appointed and a delight to spend time in. Everything you needed was there and the property was spotless, linen and beds of high quality, as was all the furniture and fittings. Lovely big garden for the dog and he, like the previous dogs was fascinated by the deer. We saw large hares, grouse amongst plenty of other wild life too. Balcony was great for breakfast we could have done with a few more sunny days, but it was Scotland!

David Topping
Reviewed Glenara on 07/05/2013
And awarded it

Glenara

Enjoyed a week at Glenara with my dog. The cottage is well equipped, comfortable and very clean. Views over the garden great and boats can be seen high above going through the canal locks from the front room. An excellent location and very peaceful. It's good to have a nice owner who is local and who will meet guests on arrival.

Barbara Easy
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 07/05/2013
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Enjoyed a relaxing time at Rowan Ridge. Bungalow is lovely and home from home. Warm clean and tidy with excesses of equipment for the keen cook etc. Pretty walks within the farmland and river runs through walking area. Host very pleasant and friendly. Fresh flowers and tea and coffee on arrival after an 8 hour journey was a nice welcoming touch.

Anna Murray
Reviewed The Bothy on 07/05/2013
And awarded it

The Bothy

This is truly a gem of a cottage and far exceeded our expectations. The cottage is furnished to a very high standard and it very clean and cozy. The extensive gardens are just a delight to wander through. With direct access to the hills what more could you ask for!

Jackie & Gordon
Reviewed River Cottage on 04/05/2013
And awarded it

River Cottage

A warm welcome awaited us on our arrival at River cottage. The setting is lovely and the facilities excellent. Everything you could possibly need for a great holiday

Janet E Vickers
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/04/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Isolation with a capital I. Amazing scenery, and superb property. I have been doing the rounds of scottish holiday properties for the last twenty six years and this has been the best one yet.It lived upto eveything the brochure stated plus more. I would recommend upper folds to one and all, but then it wouldn,t be the best kept secret.I am in the process of booking another trip this year. Thanks wilderness cottages.

Jesper Jorgensen
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 24/04/2013
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Stayed in Pooltiel House week starting Easter weekend. The property is spacious and comfortably laid out. All facilities you could want are there and they are new, functional and of good quality. You have room enough to move around, cook, dine & lounge about comfortably with six people in the house. We had a fantastic week and enjoyed coming back to a spacious, warm and cosy house every day. Slept like a log and woke up with great views; I miss the place - Simply Stunning!

Geoff & Denise
Reviewed Dam Park Cottage on 24/04/2013
And awarded it

Dam Park Cottage

Bob & Shirley
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 18/04/2013
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Lovely little croft cottage tastefully fitted out in a very peaceful spot not far from a quiet, small beach which is just across the road and through a field.The Aga in the kitchen means the cottage is always cosy and the stove in the living room gives added warmth if needed.The beach at Sand en route to Applecross village is also lovely. The Inn there is as excellent for food as ever as is the Walled Garden.Enjoyable, easy walks including Carnach woods, Coral Beach and from Sand to Applecross.

Nick Ratner
Reviewed Upper Folds on 17/04/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely fabulous property. Love the stay and the location. Amazing. The service given by Wilderness Cottages has been second to none.I had a big problem with the timing of the holiday and they sorted everything out, perfectly.I would highly recommend both Upper Folds and Wilderness Cottages. We had snow everyday which is what we wanted and the views were breathtaking.

Yvonne Howard
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 17/04/2013
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn