Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1651 to 1700 of 2734


Jon
Reviewed Wildwood on 11/03/2013
And awarded it

Wildwood

Very disappointed, not to see the pine martins! We put bread and jam out every morning which disappeared without trace. We arrived when there was remains of snow on the roof and ground, the cottage standing out from the surrounding woodland. Once inside we made ourselves at home very easily, everything we needed was there especially the log fire which our great dane loved to curl up to each night. Extremely enjoyable peaceful stay. Look forward to returning soon (and seeing those pine martins).

Linda Lee
Reviewed Aros Beag on 11/03/2013
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Fantastic cottage, lovely owners but not intrusive. Lovely sitting by the river in the sunshine and great walks from the front door. Cosy warm and loved the underfloor heating.Very clean and well maintained, loved feeding the chickens that visited us every afternoon when we got back from our daily walk. Will definitely return - so many more hills to climb!

Maureen Sidebottom
Reviewed Laracks on 09/03/2013
And awarded it

Laracks

Irene & John McCrystal
Reviewed Roundhouse on 08/03/2013
And awarded it

Roundhouse

Jack
Reviewed Kirk Lodge on 06/03/2013
And awarded it

Kirk Lodge

Ishbel Reid
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 06/03/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

An absolute gem of a cottage! Cosy, warm, immaculate and very superbly appointed.The owners have thought of everything ! Excellent rural location yet within very easy reach of restaurants, a town and activities. Super for the dog. I would highly recommend it for a relaxing holiday in a beautiful area.

Rachel Williams
Reviewed Whitestone on 06/03/2013
And awarded it

Whitestone

We stayed in Whitestone in February 2013 and loved every second of it. This cottage is peaceful, nicely decorated and the garden is superb for wildlife - red squirrels on the bird feeders: almost guaranteed if you keep the feeders topped up! So funny to watch their antics. There is so much to do in the Cairngorms and surrounding area, even in winter. We didn't have time to do it all and will surely be back in the future.

Karen Diamond
Reviewed Callakille on 04/03/2013
And awarded it

Callakille

Shona & Jack Anderson
Reviewed Upper Folds on 18/02/2013
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage is fantastic, a tranquil haven amidst outstanding scenery. When we finally made it to the cottage through a blizzard, we were charmed by the tastefully decorated and furnished, clean, warm accommodation. From the fresh flowers to the wine chilling, every detail has been carefully thought through. We will definitely return, cannot wait.

Mr Rushworth
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 18/02/2013
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

What a stunning property in a stunning location. I can only recommend a stay in Taigh Druim in Elgol. I really hope to go back there some day.

Hugh Gunn
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 05/02/2013
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

Stoer Lodge is a beautiful, well equipped property and provided the perfect getaway for my other half's unwelcome 40th birthday celebrations! Setting off Chinese lanterns in complete darkness from the beach at midnight was truly magical and we will definitely return soon. We visited in January and unfortunately had to leave a day early as the weather really closed in. Thinking back, we should have allowed ourselves to become snowed in, there could be worse places to get stuck!

Joanne Stennett
Reviewed Whitestone on 04/02/2013
And awarded it

Whitestone

A lovely immaculately clean, comfortable and well enquipped cottage. Ideal for us 4 adults, 1 child and 2 dogs. Enclosed garden to keep the pooches safe too. Will hopefully return.

Graham Haigh
Reviewed The Mill on 09/01/2013
And awarded it

The Mill

We have just returned from The Mill in the Scottish Highlands having stayed for a full week including the New Year period. Our stay could not have been better, the Steading is unbelievable and is certainly the best accomodation that we have come across having had many previous holidays in rental cottages. We had a wonderfull time and would recommend the Mill to anyone.

Mike & Pauline Wyeth
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 09/01/2013
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A very well modernised cottage. A well furnished cosy but spacious home from home. Charming rural, quiet, locality. Excellent local pubs, Cawdor Tavern a must for food and atmosphere.We will be back !

Mrs J Rogers
Reviewed Charleston on 09/01/2013
And awarded it

Charleston

We have just returned from spending a wonderful New Year week at Charleston. The house was fantastic for our party: 4 adults, 3 kids and 2 dogs. Facilities were excellent and welcoming touches - wine, shortbread, biscuits for dogs were a lovely added extra. The location is perfect for exploring - Fort Augustus, Inverness, Drumnadrochit and returning to Charleston each evening was a bonus. Wilderness Cottages were great to deal with too.

Christine Dawson
Reviewed Station Cottage on 08/01/2013
And awarded it

Station Cottage

We had wonderful time ar Station Cottage in Nethy Bridge. It was exactly as described and a lot more. It was right on the Speyside Way and so handy to walk the dogs. We were there over New Year and they had put up Christmas Decorations, which added to the cosy feel of the property. The log burning stove was WONDERFUL and we would return in a minute. The local butcher was amazing (just a few doors away.) My brother in law and family came up to do a bit of biking and have booked for Easter.

Nigel Franklin
Reviewed Ardrannach on 08/01/2013
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a stay at Ardrannoch over the Hogmany/New Year holiday and it was very relaxing. The cottage is well laid out and everything was provided, including some eggs, bread, milk & coffee to get us started. The views from the property are superb, although we found out while they call Skye the "Misty Isle"...!!! The enclosed garden was great for our 2 dogs and I'm sure would work as well with children!! We got to see Golden Eagles on Ben Tianavaig

Lin Sanderson
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Kinloch Damph is a great lodge with plenty of room for 10 people provided 4 share a large bedroom with double bed and bunk beds. The lounge is comfortable and has a wood/coal fire, the dining area is great for space and views and the kitchen is homely and has a wood burning stove. A stag visits the property most days, brave as it is a shooting lodge but great to see him! The track to the property is a mile long and quite good although some potholes so care is needed if you arrive in the dark.

Calum Robert Gordon MacKenzie
Reviewed Curlew Cottage on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Curlew Cottage

Cath
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Had a really great New Year staying here 2012/13. It's very wilderness, with views of mountains and a loch and a tame deer that visits evey so often. Very comfortable and cosy rooms with electric heating and coal fires. Quiet, relaxing and everything you'd need. Only thing is it is a hunting, shooting, fishing lodge so if you're squeamish about a deer storage cold room in the garage it might not be ideal!

Angela Rumble
Reviewed Christies on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Christies

We spent New Year 2012/2013 staying a Christies. A lovely cozy cottage (once it warmed up!), well appointed, well equipped, fantastic views, small sandy beach within a walk through the garden and adjoining field. That time of year, most places are closed for the season, so go prepared (!), which we did and enjoyed having little to do other than walk, relax and marvel at the scenery. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend the cottage.

D Garrison
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This lovely cottage is in a beautiful setting in Glendale with great access to some magnificent sights on Skye. The accommodations are superb and exactly true to the pictures. The underfloor heating is a real treat in the winter and the mud room off the back is very convenient for cleaning off after a muddy hike. With a kitchen and dining area, it's also great for those who love to cook a meal while socializing. Super peaceful and definitely will return.

Trevor Brawn
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 04/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Great place to stay, wonderful surroundings. Good electric heating, coal fire in lounge, wood-burning stove in large kitchen. All fuel laid on. Conservatory set up as a dining room. There was a power cut on the 29th of December, but after a few hours everything came back on. NOTE: the road to the Lodge is more than 7.5 miles after Lochcarron. The barn in the directions is clearly visible, even at night. There is a roadside sign with the lodge name. The access road is tarmaced.

Gail Irvine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/01/2013
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We stayed here for 4 nights from 28/12/12 to 01/01/13, The cottage was lovely and clean on arrival and had all the mod cons we required for our stay. It nice and warm for our arrival and the heating kept it at a lovely temperture the whole time, my husband also had the coal fire going and it was very very cosy. The setting of the cottage is just perfect, and the surrounding area stunning, even in the mist of winter it was lovely. We would love to return here for another stay.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Charleston on 03/01/2013
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a fantastic stay at Charleston, a superb well equipped bungalow with great views. Would highly recommend.

Mary-Ellen
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 03/01/2013
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We LOVED our time at Stableman's Lodge. The owner's live adjacent to the property, but always respected our privacy and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed over the Xmas week and enjoyed all the festive touches inside and outside the cottage. There were 2 sledges outside the back door which we made good use of when we went to the Cairngorms. The property is very central but at the same time has a rural outlook. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Cheryl Smith
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/12/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside was everything we'd hoped it would be - cosy; spectacular views out to sea; well equipped kitchen; open fire; comfy beds; amazing outside space and most of all - dog friendly. There are so many beautiful cottages we want to go to but can't because they don't take dogs, so finding Bayside was fantastic. We will definitely go back soon.

Steven, Barbara & Emily Donaldson
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 07/12/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

An amazing property with the most stunning view. Each morning was spent watching the sun rise over the snow-capped Five Sisters of Kintail. Great location with good access to the Isle of Skye, the lovely Glenelg road, Loch Cluanie and even up toward Torridon if you fancy. Excellent for dog owners with a fully enclosed garden and a good skelp of land for the outdoor dog to roam around. Handy path from just outside the property up a hill with lovely views. Can't wait to return.

Carol & Hugh McLelland
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 29/11/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

An excellent place to unwind and recharge! Very well designed cottage with stunning views no matter the weather. Ideal location for wildlife spotting and exhilarating walking.

Jonny Murty
Reviewed Upper Folds on 27/11/2012
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage is amazing. We arrived in the dark and drove down a fairly long, fairly rough landrover track through a river ford and through some woods. Once we finally made it to the cottage the whole property suddenly lit up as we went through the gates (proximity lights). The wood burning stove was on for our arrival and there was a bottle of wine waiting. In the morning we were met by 360 degree views of rolling hills/mountains. We will definitely return to this cottage.

Wendy Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/11/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

27/10/12 Wendy, Stewart Bithell (Max the dog) We love this cottage its so cosy, love the log burner, cooking on the stanley, its ideal for visiting many places, October is beautiful time to visit, the autumnal colours are spectacular, scenery is breathtaking, with snow capped mountains, deer in the garden, watching the birds and enjoying nightly visits from the pine marten, we love just relaxing and soaking it all up :) we wouldnt go anywhere else! already booked for next year, plus the property now has wifi.

Nicki Strachan
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 23/11/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Karen Queen
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 21/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Had a fantastic holiday at Swallow Byre. Lovely cottage; well appointed, warm and cosy. A bonus was the wood burner! Although it was November, we were never cold. We enjoyed it so much, we extended our stay. A perfect cottage in a perfect location.

Tracey Tinsley
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 20/11/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Superb property. Very well appointed, warm, comfortable and with stunning views. Highly recommended. A definite "get away from it all" holiday.

Pamela Fraser
Reviewed Roundhouse on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Roundhouse

Andrew
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Had a fantastic weeks holiday at Red Kite Log Cabin, just outside of Inverness. The location was fantastic for touring the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Hannah Langdana
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! An amazing cottage in an excellent location.

Martin Robinson
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Excellent accommodation. The Raeburn and wood burning stoves made for a very cosy existance during our November stay.

Turner Family
Reviewed Laracks on 16/11/2012
And awarded it

Laracks

Mr. & Mrs. Whitworth
Reviewed Mealishal on 16/11/2012
And awarded it

Mealishal

Anne Bennett
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 13/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Lovely comfortable cosy cottage.

Alli Green
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 12/11/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Just back from a week at Leachachan Barn which we just loved. A beautiful location and quality accommodation. We hope to return soon.

Charlotte Hicks
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 12/11/2012
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

3-10 November 2012 Charlie Hicks We had a wonderful time at Stoer Lodge. The house is well equipped and really comfortable, however the real selling point is the location. The views are fabulous and the beach is lovely.

Mike Kemp
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 12/11/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Isabelle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 11/11/2012
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig Croft was a wonderful base for exploring the Applecross Peninsula and beyond. The cottage was extremely comfortable and well-equipped and the location was just stunning - fabulously remote! The Aga was so useful for drying damp clothes/boots in the evening and the sofas were very comfortable - unusual for a holiday cottage. Highly recommend the Applecross Inn and the Kishorn Seafood Bar for lunch/dinner. We wouldn't hesitate to rebook in future.

Corrie
Reviewed Stac Polly on 09/11/2012
And awarded it

Stac Polly

Just returned from another weekend away with the girls at Stac Polly. What can I say just fantastic! House, Location, Hot Tub. Fantastic weather to top it off. Will return again next year. Can't wait.

Sandra Bodel
Reviewed Balmachree on 09/11/2012
And awarded it

Balmachree

Had a lovely time Balmachree was all it said it would be. Everything we needed and my three dogs loved it as much as we did. Would reccomend it without hesitation to any one thinking of visiting the Highlands. Once again Wilderness cottages came up trumps.

Keith Mayor
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Torvaig Cottage is a delightful place to stay and the open peat fire made everything warm and welcoming. There was fresh milk and bread in the kitchen on out arrival and fresh flowers on the table. Spectacular views and good walks within easy distance. the chickens on the window ledge kept our dog amused and he didn't know if he should chase them or the rabbits! Would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a restful holiday!

Mr & Mrs Owen
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Absolutely fantastic location and accommodation. Facilities and amenities met all expectations. Plenty of space in accommodation, however, would have been nice to have a fenced off area for the dog to be safe in. Would definitely recommend to friends/family and already have done. Would love to come back in the summer time.

Paul Edmondson
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

Stayed 27th Oct to 3rd Nov 2012 beautifully appointed apartment with excellent facilities on site, bottle of wine, biscuits and a pint of milk much appreciated on arrival. Chilled out for a week with my family what more could you ask.