Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1651 to 1700 of 2966


Angela Rumble
Reviewed Christies on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Christies

We spent New Year 2012/2013 staying a Christies. A lovely cozy cottage (once it warmed up!), well appointed, well equipped, fantastic views, small sandy beach within a walk through the garden and adjoining field. That time of year, most places are closed for the season, so go prepared (!), which we did and enjoyed having little to do other than walk, relax and marvel at the scenery. We thoroughly enjoyed our time there and would recommend the cottage.

D Garrison
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 07/01/2013
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This lovely cottage is in a beautiful setting in Glendale with great access to some magnificent sights on Skye. The accommodations are superb and exactly true to the pictures. The underfloor heating is a real treat in the winter and the mud room off the back is very convenient for cleaning off after a muddy hike. With a kitchen and dining area, it's also great for those who love to cook a meal while socializing. Super peaceful and definitely will return.

Trevor Brawn
Reviewed Kinloch Damph Lodge on 04/01/2013
And awarded it

Kinloch Damph Lodge

Great place to stay, wonderful surroundings. Good electric heating, coal fire in lounge, wood-burning stove in large kitchen. All fuel laid on. Conservatory set up as a dining room. There was a power cut on the 29th of December, but after a few hours everything came back on. NOTE: the road to the Lodge is more than 7.5 miles after Lochcarron. The barn in the directions is clearly visible, even at night. There is a roadside sign with the lodge name. The access road is tarmaced.

Gail Irvine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/01/2013
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We stayed here for 4 nights from 28/12/12 to 01/01/13, The cottage was lovely and clean on arrival and had all the mod cons we required for our stay. It nice and warm for our arrival and the heating kept it at a lovely temperture the whole time, my husband also had the coal fire going and it was very very cosy. The setting of the cottage is just perfect, and the surrounding area stunning, even in the mist of winter it was lovely. We would love to return here for another stay.

Sue Robinson
Reviewed Charleston on 03/01/2013
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a fantastic stay at Charleston, a superb well equipped bungalow with great views. Would highly recommend.

Mary-Ellen
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 03/01/2013
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We LOVED our time at Stableman's Lodge. The owner's live adjacent to the property, but always respected our privacy and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed over the Xmas week and enjoyed all the festive touches inside and outside the cottage. There were 2 sledges outside the back door which we made good use of when we went to the Cairngorms. The property is very central but at the same time has a rural outlook. We would definitely stay again and recommend to others.

Cheryl Smith
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/12/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Bayside was everything we'd hoped it would be - cosy; spectacular views out to sea; well equipped kitchen; open fire; comfy beds; amazing outside space and most of all - dog friendly. There are so many beautiful cottages we want to go to but can't because they don't take dogs, so finding Bayside was fantastic. We will definitely go back soon.

Steven, Barbara & Emily Donaldson
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 07/12/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

An amazing property with the most stunning view. Each morning was spent watching the sun rise over the snow-capped Five Sisters of Kintail. Great location with good access to the Isle of Skye, the lovely Glenelg road, Loch Cluanie and even up toward Torridon if you fancy. Excellent for dog owners with a fully enclosed garden and a good skelp of land for the outdoor dog to roam around. Handy path from just outside the property up a hill with lovely views. Can't wait to return.

Carol & Hugh McLelland
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 29/11/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

An excellent place to unwind and recharge! Very well designed cottage with stunning views no matter the weather. Ideal location for wildlife spotting and exhilarating walking.

Jonny Murty
Reviewed Upper Folds on 27/11/2012
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This cottage is amazing. We arrived in the dark and drove down a fairly long, fairly rough landrover track through a river ford and through some woods. Once we finally made it to the cottage the whole property suddenly lit up as we went through the gates (proximity lights). The wood burning stove was on for our arrival and there was a bottle of wine waiting. In the morning we were met by 360 degree views of rolling hills/mountains. We will definitely return to this cottage.

Wendy Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 23/11/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

27/10/12 Wendy, Stewart Bithell (Max the dog) We love this cottage its so cosy, love the log burner, cooking on the stanley, its ideal for visiting many places, October is beautiful time to visit, the autumnal colours are spectacular, scenery is breathtaking, with snow capped mountains, deer in the garden, watching the birds and enjoying nightly visits from the pine marten, we love just relaxing and soaking it all up :) we wouldnt go anywhere else! already booked for next year, plus the property now has wifi.

Nicki Strachan
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 23/11/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Karen Queen
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 21/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Had a fantastic holiday at Swallow Byre. Lovely cottage; well appointed, warm and cosy. A bonus was the wood burner! Although it was November, we were never cold. We enjoyed it so much, we extended our stay. A perfect cottage in a perfect location.

Tracey Tinsley
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 20/11/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Superb property. Very well appointed, warm, comfortable and with stunning views. Highly recommended. A definite "get away from it all" holiday.

Pamela Fraser
Reviewed Roundhouse on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Roundhouse

Andrew
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

Had a fantastic weeks holiday at Red Kite Log Cabin, just outside of Inverness. The location was fantastic for touring the beautiful Scottish Highlands.

Hannah Langdana
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful! An amazing cottage in an excellent location.

Martin Robinson
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 19/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Excellent accommodation. The Raeburn and wood burning stoves made for a very cosy existance during our November stay.

Turner Family
Reviewed Laracks on 16/11/2012
And awarded it

Laracks

Mr. & Mrs. Whitworth
Reviewed Mealishal on 16/11/2012
And awarded it

Mealishal

Anne Bennett
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 13/11/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Lovely comfortable cosy cottage.

Alli Green
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 12/11/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Just back from a week at Leachachan Barn which we just loved. A beautiful location and quality accommodation. We hope to return soon.

Charlotte Hicks
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 12/11/2012
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

3-10 November 2012 Charlie Hicks We had a wonderful time at Stoer Lodge. The house is well equipped and really comfortable, however the real selling point is the location. The views are fabulous and the beach is lovely.

Mike Kemp
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 12/11/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Isabelle
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 11/11/2012
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig Croft was a wonderful base for exploring the Applecross Peninsula and beyond. The cottage was extremely comfortable and well-equipped and the location was just stunning - fabulously remote! The Aga was so useful for drying damp clothes/boots in the evening and the sofas were very comfortable - unusual for a holiday cottage. Highly recommend the Applecross Inn and the Kishorn Seafood Bar for lunch/dinner. We wouldn't hesitate to rebook in future.

Corrie
Reviewed Stac Polly on 09/11/2012
And awarded it

Stac Polly

Just returned from another weekend away with the girls at Stac Polly. What can I say just fantastic! House, Location, Hot Tub. Fantastic weather to top it off. Will return again next year. Can't wait.

Sandra Bodel
Reviewed Balmachree on 09/11/2012
And awarded it

Balmachree

Had a lovely time Balmachree was all it said it would be. Everything we needed and my three dogs loved it as much as we did. Would reccomend it without hesitation to any one thinking of visiting the Highlands. Once again Wilderness cottages came up trumps.

Keith Mayor
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Torvaig Cottage is a delightful place to stay and the open peat fire made everything warm and welcoming. There was fresh milk and bread in the kitchen on out arrival and fresh flowers on the table. Spectacular views and good walks within easy distance. the chickens on the window ledge kept our dog amused and he didn't know if he should chase them or the rabbits! Would recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a restful holiday!

Mr & Mrs Owen
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 5 - Garden Cottage - Abbey

Absolutely fantastic location and accommodation. Facilities and amenities met all expectations. Plenty of space in accommodation, however, would have been nice to have a fenced off area for the dog to be safe in. Would definitely recommend to friends/family and already have done. Would love to come back in the summer time.

Paul Edmondson
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

Stayed 27th Oct to 3rd Nov 2012 beautifully appointed apartment with excellent facilities on site, bottle of wine, biscuits and a pint of milk much appreciated on arrival. Chilled out for a week with my family what more could you ask.

Carole, Mark & Holly-Anne Westbury
Reviewed Fhaireag on 07/11/2012
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Just had yet another brilliant holiday in a wilderness cottage, we have stayed in a few over the last 11yrs and this rates as one of the best. Fantastic views, look out for the deer in a morning and at dusk! Would definitely recommend and we will be back next year.

Helen & Dave Wilcox
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 04/11/2012
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We absolutely love this cottage and if we ever win the lottery we will be talking to the owner pronto! The cottage itself is comfortable, cosy, warm and well furnished with views down Loch Ness to die for. We would sit for hours just looking at the view and watching the birdlife - a perfect chill out.

Karin & Jon Beardmore
Reviewed Callakille on 03/11/2012
And awarded it

Callakille

Claire Comery
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/11/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

I would highly recomend this property,I went there to celebrate my 40th and it was perfect. A lovely secluded log cabin, but still in walking distance of shops and pubs in Fort Augustus. Everything was of a high standard and the beds were huge. The log burner topped it off along with the complimentary bottle of wine. Only thing missing is a hot tub outside. Thanks for a great holiday.

Mandy & Lance Mallinson
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 02/11/2012
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

Had the most wonderful honeymoon in this fantastic cottage, a real home from home, everything you could possibly want for cozy nights in on the fab Island of Skye. Cottage has been done to a very high standard and the little extras (wine, chocs and comp soap etc) were an added bonus. Highly recommend!

Andrew & Jan Simmons
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 02/11/2012
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Katie's Cottage is a delight to stay in. Simply and tastefully furnished and fully equipped for a relaxing stay. We visited at the end of October and it felt warm, cosy and welcoming from the minute we stepped in. The views across the valley are delightful, the night skies are stunning, sheep wander past outside and it is blissfully peaceful. A perfect base from which to explore this corner of Skye or beyond. We plan to return!

Mrs Nic Sheehan
Reviewed Fhaireag on 02/11/2012
And awarded it

Fhaireag

Fantastic house you will not be disappointed. Views stunning, quiet relaxing amazing location. The house has everything that you will need for a great holiday all you will need is your food. There are even cook books in the well stocked kitchen. Would definitely recommend. Five star !!!

Julie Peacock
Reviewed Charleston on 01/11/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

Charleston is a gem of a house. Central to all the main attractions we wanted to,see in the highlands! Wilderness cottages excel at what they do and are on hand to make sure that your holiday goes without a hitch. We would recommend. Lack of wifi advertised caused a few problems though.

Sheila Falcon
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 01/11/2012
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Following our stay at Shore Cottage in May we came back for a second helping in October. Again very lucky with the weather, we had a very relaxing week. Another lovely holiday for us and Ozzy, who was delighted to be reunited with his sofa! Many thanks.

Kevin Harvey
Reviewed Moat House 9 - Abbey on 01/11/2012
And awarded it

Moat House 9 - Abbey

Ideal accommodation for short or long stays. Well furnished throughout and lots of nice touches like milk in the fridge and dishwasher tabs in the cupboard. A member of the management team gave us a guided tour of the Abbey facilities and Moat House 9 itself. It's difficult to comprehend why people stay in hotels when this sort of accommodation is out there and much better value. Highly recommended.

Joe Plowright
Reviewed Toberaie on 01/11/2012
And awarded it

Toberaie

This is a truly wilderness cottage and I had a brilliant week's stay here of true peace. I couldn't have asked for more.

Liz Marsh
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 31/10/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

A RAYSON
Reviewed Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey on 29/10/2012
And awarded it

Courtyard Cottages No 8 - Robertson - Abbey

We( Partner & I, & our dog Maisy ) really enjoyed our stay in Fort Augustus,Cottage was very homely, Dog Friendly, spacious & only a stone throw from Loch Ness. Plenty of walks available along Canals or through the surrounding Forests with stunning views of the Loch. Nice walk to the WaterFall is recommended, even have a go on Zip-line in Forest along the way. Fort Augustus itself offers loads of trips along the Loch, Plenty of places to either eat out or get a Take away.

Jenny Clark
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 24/10/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

We booked this cottage the night before arrival and were delighted when we arrived. The thoughtful touches by the owners were gratefully received. We had a very relaxing week and the cottage was a great base to explore Skye. Lovely walks locally too with spectacular scenery. Would definitely recommend to friends and family!

Alexander Trench
Reviewed Glen View on 23/10/2012
And awarded it

Glen View

B Hanson
Reviewed Wildwood on 23/10/2012
And awarded it

Wildwood

The lodge is exactly as stated. Woodland walks from the doors - ideal forest roads for cycling too. The single track road from Fort Augustus is much better than other single tracks in Scotland. So quiet and peaceful but with the TV to keep grumpy teenagers happy who have an allergy to fresh air - it catered for all. All the rooms were clean and fresh, no evidence of previous dog. Perfect for star gazing with the darker nights. Really enjoyable.

Anthea Gairdner
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 23/10/2012
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

We stayed in Cameron's Cottage at Foyers for a 4 night break in October. Everything was superb. The cottage was exceedingly well equipped,warm and sparkling clean and a "sparkling" welcome awaited us after our spectacular drive through The Highlands. We shall certainly book through Wilderness Cottages again.

Adrian Milne
Reviewed Cuilfail on 23/10/2012
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Culfail is an ideal holiday house, very comfortable with excellent facilities. Six adults and 2 big dogs had a great time. The walk to Foyers Falls was very enjoyable. Good food at the nearby Whitebridge Hotel pub was a bonus.

Clare Cox
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 22/10/2012
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Sharon Cocks
Reviewed Charleston on 22/10/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

We stayed at Charleston for our 2nd time for a week beginning 06/10/12, and what can I say that hasn't already been said, an absolutely fabulous place clean, fresh, wonderful big garden that the dogs both loved, wonderful views, breathtaking position.