Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 721 to 740 of 2651


Ruth123
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Balmachree

We stayed here as 2 families of 4 and found the house to be perfect for our needs. Spacious and well equipped with a large garden which was very safe for the kids. Good wifi and sky tv too if you need it. The local pub also very friendly and good pub grub. Great base to explore the highlands. We will definitely stay again. If you are staying at Balmachree we can highly recommend the walk across the road to the falls of foyers aprox 10 miles round trip but an easy and enjoyable walk for most abilities.

Mim664
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

We stayed in Seal Skerry Lodge and had an amazing week. The accommodation was spotless on arrival and had all the home comforts you could possibly need. The only thing we found missing that we needed was a potatoe masher, we resorted to a fork which did the job perfectly. The views over the Loch and out to the Hebrides were breathtaking. We had lovely weather for most of the holiday, the one completely rainy day was made bearable by the lovely house to relax in during the day and a delicious meal at The Old School resteraunt in Dunvegan in the evening. We would recommend a visit to Neist Point to see the sunset and also to go during the day to walk to the lighthouse. The boat ride from Dunvegan castle to see the seals was also a highlight for some of our party! We managed a swim at coral beach, worth a visit even if the weather isn't warm enough to swim. In summary fantastic accommodation in an awe inspiring place!

S Riding
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 31/08/2015
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

What a fantastic little cottage. When we arrived after a long drive the cottage was clean and welcoming, there were eggs, milk, bread, and butter in the fridge plus tea, coffee, sugar and other bits and pieces in the cupboard. The cottage is quite spacious and we immediately felt at home. The kitchen is very well equipped and a washing machine is housed in the shed round the back. The conservatory has a sofa for dogs, a very nice touch for those dogs used to curling up on the couch at home and this is where we spent most of our time when not out. There's a phone in the cottage for incoming and local calls so family can still get hold of you in an emergency and also a TV with free view. The garden has a barbecue, table and chairs and there are a couple of deck chairs in the shed. The garden is overgrown away from the cottage but a nice grassy path has been cut through to get down to the beach. The beach is a lot closer than it looked in the photos and has large stretches of sand surrounded by rocks, perfect for dogs to chase balls and swim. The cows do wander quite close to the cottage and were even down on the beach one morning but they tended to move off when they saw us coming. This cottage provided everything we wanted in a holiday - privacy, peace and quiet, fantastic views, and space for the dogs to roam. Highly recommended.

Karen Farr
Reviewed Mealishal on 30/08/2015
And awarded it

Mealishal

Sandra P
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous cottage in a lovely location. the cottage was very clean and comfortable with every amenity you require.The walks from the cottage were stunning and the people were really friendly. All in all a wonderful holiday.

Ian Lee
Reviewed Sealight on 29/08/2015
And awarded it

Sealight

We stayed at Sealight for two weeks in August 2015, the property is modern, very well equipped and tastefully decorated. The views from Sealight are splendid looking out to the loch and to the mountains beyond, The surrounding area is quiet, lots of good walks and climbs and an abundance of wildlife, we saw deer, pine martins, birds of prey and in the loch, seals and porpoises. We have stayed in many holiday cottages across Britain over the last ten years but Sealight is certainly the best, we would definately holiday there again.

Val Hindmarsh
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Great location with spectacular views over Skye, Rona and Raasay and in the other direction the Torridon Mountains. Good condition generally and well resourced. Aga needs some work on it to clean thoroughly but we enjoyed cooking on it. Ironing board, but apparently no iron - or couldn't find it. Be ready for lots of silence only punctuated by sheep and highland cattle. Great eateries within a reasonable distance. Walking and wild swimming for those who are inclined. All in all, no complaints!

Catriona Akana
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a wonderful week in this lovely, comfortable, warm and very well-equipped cottage. The surrounding countryside is beautiful, teeming with wildlife including deer, red squirrels, and lots of birds. It is beautifully quiet and rural, excellent walking country and also within easy reach of larger centres like Inverness. We hope to return soon!

Margaret Steed
Reviewed Lilybank on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Lilybank

Stayed at Lilybank with my husband, and our son and his wife, and their two little girls. We had a wonderful time, the cottage was beautiful, and the views were awesome. had fantastic holiday and have recommended Wilderness to our friends and relatives. will definitely be booking with you again.

Mark Griffiths
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2015
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We have stayed in other Wilderness cottages that have been much more out in the wilds and really off the beaten track. Fersit is a very small hamlet consisting of around 8 other houses. There are some lovely challenging and non challenging walks straight from the front door so something for everyone. The ever changing views from the large windows were dramatic at times. We were blessed with 5 days of sunny warm still dry days (not what I was expecting) and this in turn meant that the midges were at their worst in the evening so no chance to sit out on the patio. The log cottage was well equipped (dishwasher, washing machine, dryer etc.) spacious and clean. Don't expect great wifi here (but you are on a wilderness holiday after all so why would you need it?) as it is very slow. It has been a great place to chill out and see some great Scottish views.

Gordon Riksen
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Beautiful, well finished cottage but it's all about the Seascape. Fantastic views and lovely beaches. If it's a relaxing break away from it all you're after then this is the one. We would happily go back. That says it all I think. Thanks to Jane for the warm welcome.

Chris Stark
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/08/2015
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

Seal Skerry Lodge - really lovely house in a stunning location. Family of 4 fitted in really well and the overall provision of "Stuff" in the house is great. Really lovely place and we'd love to go back again.

M Taylor
Reviewed Cnoc Ard on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Cnoc Ard

Comfortable cottage in great location. Weather was good too so all made for excellent holiday break.

Paul Johnston
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Had an excellent holiday at this fabulous cottage. The cottage was well equipped and ideally located with plenty of places to visit locally. Couldn't recommend this cottage highly enough.

Falk & Janina
Reviewed South Lodge on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

South Lodge

A beautiful, secluded cottage with a wonderful view. Had a very relaxing stay! Nice beaches nearby, even if it needs a little effort to reach them. A lot of wildlife to see. Next supermarket (and Pub) in Tarbert is around 12 miles away and there's only a single track road leading there. You should give that a thought! The cottage provides everything to get over even the worst weather conditions (which we had for an entire day). Loads of DVDs, BluRays and books to find as well as a sky TV bundle! When we arrived, the cottage was cleaned all right but there may be some space for improvement. Nonetheless we would book the cottage definitely again!!! Strongly recommended in order to escape the hurley-burley of city life!!!! But careful! You may not wanna leave again!

Phil Walters
Reviewed Upper Folds on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Absolutely stunning cottage, clean, every possible extra in a superb rural wilderness location. Amazing scenery, wildlife in fact if you did not see this outstanding cottage you could never dream of such heaven. Warm, toasty, peaceful. This is an absolute must for anyone wanting the ultimate "get away from it all." We will be back as soon as we can.......superb in every possible way.

Susie Parr
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Lovely cottage and great views. Owners really helpful. Weather was great for our holiday with plenty of things to do and walks to take.

The Bears
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 25/08/2015
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We could have banqueted on the view forever. The Croft was spotless and had all that wanted. The sauna was wonderful after a days walking. We will definitely return. Sheer perfection.

Sarah W
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig croft is beautifully remote and well equipped. We had a problem with the shower during our stay which was fixed in good time. The croft was ideal for my all the family and our dogs too and would stay there again.

Nick, Elmie, Aaron & April Eady
Reviewed Tigh na H-Eilde on 24/08/2015
And awarded it

Tigh na H-Eilde