Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1801 to 1850 of 2798


Ann, Joy *& Debbie
Reviewed Laracks on 07/06/2012
And awarded it

Laracks

Marilyn Hobbs
Reviewed Lianachan on 05/06/2012
And awarded it

Lianachan

Andrew Wilson
Reviewed Christies on 04/06/2012
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is a great cottage, well appointed and well situated a short walk down to the beach and within walking distance (weather permitting) to the village which has shop/post office hotel with bar (welcoming with good food). Well located for heading north (we went to Durness, Cape Wrath an Handa) or South (Inverewe Gardens, etc) Great wildlife on Scourie beach - summer plummaged divers, black guillemot, bonxie, iceland gull etc) and further afield saw otters and golden eagles.

Peter & Barbara Edwards
Reviewed Giusaichean on 04/06/2012
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Link Club
Reviewed Balachladdich on 04/06/2012
And awarded it

Balachladdich

Lovely cottage set in idyllic country side just a stones throw or short cycle from Fouils Castle. Ideal location for cyclist and families. The local town is Evanton and the people extremely friendly and helpful. The road in to Evanton is very quiet and suitable for walkers. The cottage its self is set to an extremely high standard and is kitted out with all mod cons including wifi which was installed on our visit. We are considering going again.

Anne Pine
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 04/06/2012
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Our second visit to Creag-nah Iolair over looking Loch Ness and still the most amazing place to stay, we took friends with us this time who were visiting us from the USA and they were just blown away with the cottage and the most spectacular views in the whole of the highlands, we will be back and I suspect that they will also. Anne and Chris Taylor Pine Filey North Yorkshire and Dr and Mrs Mahlon Maris Harrison Arkansas USA

Harry & Chris Osmond
Reviewed Callakille on 04/06/2012
And awarded it

Callakille

Deb Rennie
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 04/06/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

Myself, husband, teenage son, sister and her husband recently had the priveledge of staying at Taigh Druim, we loved the drive to get to the house and were greeted by some beautiful highland cows on the way. The views as we came over the hill to our destination were breath taking. We didn't know which way to look first. The house was lovely very comfortable and warm. It suited our needs perfectly. We even got some snow on our first night. We came all the way from Australia hope to come again

Andrew Jennings
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 03/06/2012
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

A fabulous house, very relaxing, wonderful views and all the comforts of home with sky plus and wifi. The peace and quiet is wonderful and if you get the weather there is no finer place than Skye.

Mrs Ruth Morgan
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 02/06/2012
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

A fantastic place to stay. A warm and well cared for cottage with plenty of space and a good hall for drying wet coats. Mountains reached easily from the door and even with the week of rain we had, we still walked out every day. Only took the car out once all week! Will definitely return.

Sheila Falcon
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 02/06/2012
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore cottage provided a real "away from it all" holiday. The situation is fantastic and the cottage is lovely and very comfortable. Our 16 mth old black lab Ozzy especially enjoyed the beach and the garden - he was in doggie heaven! Glad we had a 4 by 4 for the last part of the journey as the road was a bit scary. However we only ventured into the outside world once during the week and were quite happy about that! A fabulous, relaxing holiday.

Doug Shepherd
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 01/06/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second holiday at Poulary. The cottage itself was very clean and comfortable with everything you might need to enjoy your stay. The fenced garden, and indeed the extended woodland, is ideal for visitors with both children and dogs. Our two dogs were in their element. The location of the cottage makes it easy to visit other places such as Skye, the Great Glen and Glen Affric, to mention but a few. We very much enjoyed our stay at Poulary and would certainly recommend it to anyone.

Clayton Family
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 30/05/2012
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

What a beautiful cottage. Very well presented and such a modern but traditional conversion. The only problem we had was that the only bedroom without an en-suite was the furthest away from the bathroom and we had a lot of trouble with the induction hob. Otherwise it was a lovely place to stay. With 5 adults, a baby and 2 dogs we never felt on top of each other as it is very spacious and not far from the Falls and woodland to walk the dogs.

Kate Helsby
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Christine Berrie
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

This is an excellent cottage, it has everything you could need, almost a home from home. It's very clean and the owners are very friendly. We had a great time and if we decide to visit this part of Scotland again we would book this same cottage again.

Semond
Reviewed Timber House on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Timber House

Timber house is a very pleasant place to stay, contempory house with stunning views. We wish we would have stay even longer. Highly recommended.

Catherine Coffey
Reviewed River Cottage on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage May 11th-May 19th 2012 Lovely cottage in a great location,we were unfortunate to have wet and fairly cold weather ,but it did not spoil our enjoyment.The cottage was warm and cozy ,with everything you could possibly need ,we enjoyed the view down to the river, which was constantly changing due to all the rain.Central for visiting many places of interest.Lovely coffee shops in many of the small towns and villages.we hope to be back sometime in the future.

Nicola Williams
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We already knew Applecross was a great location but the cottage just topped it off. It really was like a home from home. It had everything we needed and was just the right size for four adults, a baby and a dog! The kitchen was well stocked which made cooking meals nice and easy (although we did enjoy eating out at the pub and walled garden!). The amazing weather did help and we got to use the deck loads. Sitting on the comfy chairs watching the sun set was just magical.

Mike Backler
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

First used the cottage in June 2003 and again in June 2006. Most recent visit (June 2012) shows many developments over the years to improve and enhance the superb capabilities. A very clean, cosy cottage which proved ideal for our hillwalking trips. Plentiful local fuel provided for those cold snaps. Much local wildlife around the cottage (red deer, ducks, chaffinches, tits etc). Easy potential to develop links with passing train drivers!

Kathryn Maule
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

This cottage is clean,cosy and comfortable with an open fire at one end and a log burner at the other which really add to the country cottage feel.The view from the cottage is stunning and the land is open to nature and visited by grazing deer on a daily basis. Minor negatives would be better quality pillows, and a signpost on the main road for the cottage as we ended up taking the long route up the hill and almost got lost in the wild not to mention the bashing the bottom of the engine took. Update: There is now a new access road to the cottage.

Nigel Hunter
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Ceol-na-Mara is a great cottage in a fantastic location. The views out to the Cullin Ridge on Skye were staggering. A few niggles. I took my ipod and noticed an ipod dock but no means of conecting the dock to the stereo system. There was a good collection of DVDs although we did notice that for some reason the STV satelite channels didn't work. A dishwasher would have been a plus. I have to say overall the cottage was brilliant and would definitely recommend it. The dogs loved it too.

Hilary Thorniley-Walker
Reviewed Loch Duich Cottage on 29/05/2012
And awarded it

Loch Duich Cottage

Nicola Bandler
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 20/05/2012
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

John & Elaine Lord
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/05/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a wonderful two weeks we had at this lovely remote cosy cottage.The cottage is well equipped and the stanley range was a joy to cook on. This was a great location for the dogs, really secure and there are fantastic walks straight out of the garden accross the river into the pine forests and mountains. The views were spectacular and changed every day, we were also very lucky with the weather. Our two German Shepherds did not want to leave neither did we!! We will certainly be visiting again

Jo Edwards
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Delightful location on Culochy Lock. Great fun watching boats go through. Lock Keeper and his dog very friendly. Kids (both under 4) had a great time. Cottage pleasant, lovely sun room and open fire in lounge with fuel provided - nice touch. Stairs very narrow, steep and winding and difficult to get bags and suitcases up and down. Kitchen/diner good and well equipped but cooker not user friendly. Had plumbing problem and owners quickly responded - well handled.

Helen Shanks
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Harrie Lerman
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

What a lucky find both in the friendliness and service from Wilderness Cottages and the great Torvaig Cottage on the Isle of Skye near Portree. it suited our needs completely with the added bonus of being in a superb location. Everything we needed was provided and Andrew, the owner of the cottage, was extremely generous with his knowledge, peat, and coal. There was a friendly welcome, too, of flowers, bread and milk waiting for us. Torvaig Cottage is a place we look forward to returning.

Kirsty McKay
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We've had another blissful fortnight at this cosy, comfortable cottage. It feels like coming home and it's always a wrench to leave! Everything you could need is provided, as well as the warm welcome of tea, coffee, biscuits and wine - and a ready-to-light real fire! There are lots of great walks and day trips you can do from here, but with it's beautiful scenary, great food at the Inn and Walled Gardens, and a range of birds to watch from your window, you don't actually need to go anywhere!

Kim Massey
Reviewed Giusaichean on 15/05/2012
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Kim Massey
Reviewed Charleston on 15/05/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a lovely time at this cottage. We had great weather most of the time and the view down over the loch was fantastic. We (Chris and myself, and our three labs Wispa, Ben and Bonnie) felt at home in no time. A five star cottage definitely.

Karen Coleman
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Well equipped but for the want of an iron, beautiful location, very quiet except for cuckoos, deer, sea eagles, golden eagles and the very brazen sheep. Cottage was dog tolerable rather than 'friendly' floors very slippy/uneven inside cottage and main gate's bars were too wide apart to allow dogs to roam freely. Had fab weather 22 degress first week in May not at all like the Skye we had packed for ..!

Jane Waterhouse
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautifully converted barn with huge picture windows that make the most of the spectacular view of the Five Sisters of Kintail. Very clean and comfortable but lack of microwave and having fridge, freezer and dishwasher in utility area rather than in the kitchen made things a little awkward. Open plan living would possibly be a problem for families as tv in extension to upstairs bedroom. Overall, well equipped, beautifully appointed and perfectly located for scenery and walks. Would recommend.

Carole Couper
Reviewed Don Cottage on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We had a wonderful time at the cottage, which was very nicely decorated and comfortable. A lot of attention to detail and little touches made a big difference. We would highly recommend the cottage and there is also so much to do in the area...Great value for the money!

J Reynolds
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 11/05/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Loved this place so much! Warm and cosy cottage which has beautiful stonework inside and out. Great for coming home to from a day outside as its well equipped and tastefully decorated. The wood burner stove was also an added bonus. Views and surroundings are all amazing and lots of wildlife on the go. This was our first trip to the area and we were very sad to leave but will definitely be booking again!

Anne
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 09/05/2012
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Loved staying here. It's very cosy and extremely comfortable.Everything is of the highest standard, perfectly clean and well-maintained. The underfoor heating was brilliant over a chilly weekend.It's one of 4 cottages all close together, which isn't mentioned on the website. The welcome basket was much appreciated. Wish we could have stayed longer than just a weekend!

Rakesh Pande
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/05/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Great place to stay.. lovely wooden cottage with a stream flowing by.. The picture on the website does not do justice to the beauty and tranquility of this cottage.. The bed linen and everything else was shining clean.. Hear the birds and the water as you soak in sunshine

Fiona
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 07/05/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Beautiful setting, close enough to Portree for convenience, but far enough away for perfect peace. Well located for touring all of Skye by car. The cottage has everything you need.

Mark Price
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 03/05/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

This is the second time that our group has stayed here and we're already planning the third!Fantastic cottage, couldn't ask for better!

Miss June Jackson
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Burnside of Geddes was such a splendid cottage; very clean with lovely extras supplied including Sticky Toffee Pudding! Clive and Liz were most helpful too. We enjoyed the area visiting the Black Isle and sighting Seals and Dolphins, even though it was raining. Lots of wildlife nearby and we were visited by a Woodpecker, pheasants and many birds. We will definitely recommend this to our friends and hope to return next year.

Tina Cottis
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Hill Head Croft was a great place to stay. Fantastic views and walks right from the door. Very comfortable, well equipped and the log burner and Aga provided extra cosiness with a mixed bag of weather in April. Enclosed garden fab for the dogs, and we all enjoyed finding the secret beach. We explored a lot of the Highlands and the Isle of Skye and saw wild deer, red kites, goats and lots of my favourite Highland Cattle. Missed out on seeing the elusive red squirrel ... but we'll be back!

Dr Catherine Tucker
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed for a week in Beech Lodge at Kirkhill. We received a very warm welcome from Donnie the owner. We were greeted with home baked scones and jam, there were fresh flowers and fruit. It is a lovely modern, immaculate lodge, It was cosy and very comfortable. Excellent walk in shower in main shower room, and also an en suite shower Amazing views of Ben Wyvis from the deck. They have thought of everything in this cottage! A car is absolutely essential here. Would definitely go back again.

Peter MacLeod
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Stayed at The Coltsfoots Fort Augustus South Loch Ness for 3 nights. Accommodation is 1st Class with everything you would require. The log-burner was superb and the logs well stocked. Excellent location and very relaxing. Our Labradoodle Murphy also had a ball!!. Owners are extremely friendly. Would definitely book The Coltsfoots in future.

Tracy Childs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our second visit to Shore Cottage. A few changes at the cottage but still fantastic.

Mick McMahon
Reviewed Rhundunan on 01/05/2012
And awarded it

Rhundunan

April 2012. No complaints at all about this beautiful house.

S Currie
Reviewed Grain Store on 30/04/2012
And awarded it

Grain Store

Excellent standard of accomodation. Owners made us feel very welcome and facilities were a home from home. Even although we had 2 foot of snow over night and minus 5 degrees Celsius the view from the Grain store by the log fire was fab but you do need a 4wd vehicle to navigate the farm track in poor weather. We look forward to returning.

Jo
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 24/04/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

A bijou homely home on Shore Street Applecross. Ideal for the pub, shop and Potting Shed but also a super place to cook your own food, eat in dining room with fab views or if the weather is good on the decking watching sunset. We absolutely love its cosiness and will return again and again.

Pam Mackintosh
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 24/04/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Had a fabulous few days at this gorgeous, cosy cottage. Everything was perfect: - the setting, the woodburner, the comfy bed, the Rayburn, the thoughtful welcome basket etc. Only regret is we couldn't stay longer.

Bev Farrow
Reviewed Ardrannach on 24/04/2012
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This cottage is a little bit of heaven on earth - so peaceful you can hear the birds singing and so much to see from the amazing picture window. Beautiful walks right from the door. And all this only a short walk or drive from Portree. The house was warm and comfortable with everything you could need. The owners made us really welcome and were on hand to answer any queries and with local knowledge. We will be returning - to me that is the best recommendation

Gill Edwards
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 23/04/2012
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Mrs S Bishop
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 20/04/2012
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Loved our stay here, very high standard of cleanliness. Its in a beautiful spot and the scenery is superb. We holiday several times a year and this is one of the cleanest and best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in. Loved it and could have stayed for ever!