Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1801 to 1850 of 2902


Nicola Bandler
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 20/05/2012
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

John & Elaine Lord
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 17/05/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a wonderful two weeks we had at this lovely remote cosy cottage.The cottage is well equipped and the stanley range was a joy to cook on. This was a great location for the dogs, really secure and there are fantastic walks straight out of the garden accross the river into the pine forests and mountains. The views were spectacular and changed every day, we were also very lucky with the weather. Our two German Shepherds did not want to leave neither did we!! We will certainly be visiting again

Jo Edwards
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Delightful location on Culochy Lock. Great fun watching boats go through. Lock Keeper and his dog very friendly. Kids (both under 4) had a great time. Cottage pleasant, lovely sun room and open fire in lounge with fuel provided - nice touch. Stairs very narrow, steep and winding and difficult to get bags and suitcases up and down. Kitchen/diner good and well equipped but cooker not user friendly. Had plumbing problem and owners quickly responded - well handled.

Helen Shanks
Reviewed Macrae Croft on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Macrae Croft

Harrie Lerman
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

What a lucky find both in the friendliness and service from Wilderness Cottages and the great Torvaig Cottage on the Isle of Skye near Portree. it suited our needs completely with the added bonus of being in a superb location. Everything we needed was provided and Andrew, the owner of the cottage, was extremely generous with his knowledge, peat, and coal. There was a friendly welcome, too, of flowers, bread and milk waiting for us. Torvaig Cottage is a place we look forward to returning.

Kirsty McKay
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 16/05/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We've had another blissful fortnight at this cosy, comfortable cottage. It feels like coming home and it's always a wrench to leave! Everything you could need is provided, as well as the warm welcome of tea, coffee, biscuits and wine - and a ready-to-light real fire! There are lots of great walks and day trips you can do from here, but with it's beautiful scenary, great food at the Inn and Walled Gardens, and a range of birds to watch from your window, you don't actually need to go anywhere!

Kim Massey
Reviewed Giusaichean on 15/05/2012
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Kim Massey
Reviewed Charleston on 15/05/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

We had a lovely time at this cottage. We had great weather most of the time and the view down over the loch was fantastic. We (Chris and myself, and our three labs Wispa, Ben and Bonnie) felt at home in no time. A five star cottage definitely.

Karen Coleman
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Well equipped but for the want of an iron, beautiful location, very quiet except for cuckoos, deer, sea eagles, golden eagles and the very brazen sheep. Cottage was dog tolerable rather than 'friendly' floors very slippy/uneven inside cottage and main gate's bars were too wide apart to allow dogs to roam freely. Had fab weather 22 degress first week in May not at all like the Skye we had packed for ..!

Jane Waterhouse
Reviewed Leachachan Barn on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Leachachan Barn

Beautifully converted barn with huge picture windows that make the most of the spectacular view of the Five Sisters of Kintail. Very clean and comfortable but lack of microwave and having fridge, freezer and dishwasher in utility area rather than in the kitchen made things a little awkward. Open plan living would possibly be a problem for families as tv in extension to upstairs bedroom. Overall, well equipped, beautifully appointed and perfectly located for scenery and walks. Would recommend.

Carole Couper
Reviewed Don Cottage on 13/05/2012
And awarded it

Don Cottage

We had a wonderful time at the cottage, which was very nicely decorated and comfortable. A lot of attention to detail and little touches made a big difference. We would highly recommend the cottage and there is also so much to do in the area...Great value for the money!

J Reynolds
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 11/05/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Loved this place so much! Warm and cosy cottage which has beautiful stonework inside and out. Great for coming home to from a day outside as its well equipped and tastefully decorated. The wood burner stove was also an added bonus. Views and surroundings are all amazing and lots of wildlife on the go. This was our first trip to the area and we were very sad to leave but will definitely be booking again!

Anne
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 09/05/2012
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Loved staying here. It's very cosy and extremely comfortable.Everything is of the highest standard, perfectly clean and well-maintained. The underfoor heating was brilliant over a chilly weekend.It's one of 4 cottages all close together, which isn't mentioned on the website. The welcome basket was much appreciated. Wish we could have stayed longer than just a weekend!

Rakesh Pande
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 09/05/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Great place to stay.. lovely wooden cottage with a stream flowing by.. The picture on the website does not do justice to the beauty and tranquility of this cottage.. The bed linen and everything else was shining clean.. Hear the birds and the water as you soak in sunshine

Fiona
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 07/05/2012
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Beautiful setting, close enough to Portree for convenience, but far enough away for perfect peace. Well located for touring all of Skye by car. The cottage has everything you need.

Mark Price
Reviewed Taigh Druim on 03/05/2012
And awarded it

Taigh Druim

This is the second time that our group has stayed here and we're already planning the third!Fantastic cottage, couldn't ask for better!

Miss June Jackson
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Burnside of Geddes was such a splendid cottage; very clean with lovely extras supplied including Sticky Toffee Pudding! Clive and Liz were most helpful too. We enjoyed the area visiting the Black Isle and sighting Seals and Dolphins, even though it was raining. Lots of wildlife nearby and we were visited by a Woodpecker, pheasants and many birds. We will definitely recommend this to our friends and hope to return next year.

Tina Cottis
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Hill Head Croft was a great place to stay. Fantastic views and walks right from the door. Very comfortable, well equipped and the log burner and Aga provided extra cosiness with a mixed bag of weather in April. Enclosed garden fab for the dogs, and we all enjoyed finding the secret beach. We explored a lot of the Highlands and the Isle of Skye and saw wild deer, red kites, goats and lots of my favourite Highland Cattle. Missed out on seeing the elusive red squirrel ... but we'll be back!

Dr Catherine Tucker
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

We stayed for a week in Beech Lodge at Kirkhill. We received a very warm welcome from Donnie the owner. We were greeted with home baked scones and jam, there were fresh flowers and fruit. It is a lovely modern, immaculate lodge, It was cosy and very comfortable. Excellent walk in shower in main shower room, and also an en suite shower Amazing views of Ben Wyvis from the deck. They have thought of everything in this cottage! A car is absolutely essential here. Would definitely go back again.

Peter MacLeod
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Stayed at The Coltsfoots Fort Augustus South Loch Ness for 3 nights. Accommodation is 1st Class with everything you would require. The log-burner was superb and the logs well stocked. Excellent location and very relaxing. Our Labradoodle Murphy also had a ball!!. Owners are extremely friendly. Would definitely book The Coltsfoots in future.

Tracy Childs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 02/05/2012
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

This was our second visit to Shore Cottage. A few changes at the cottage but still fantastic.

Mick McMahon
Reviewed Rhundunan on 01/05/2012
And awarded it

Rhundunan

April 2012. No complaints at all about this beautiful house.

S Currie
Reviewed Grain Store on 30/04/2012
And awarded it

Grain Store

Excellent standard of accomodation. Owners made us feel very welcome and facilities were a home from home. Even although we had 2 foot of snow over night and minus 5 degrees Celsius the view from the Grain store by the log fire was fab but you do need a 4wd vehicle to navigate the farm track in poor weather. We look forward to returning.

Jo
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 24/04/2012
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

A bijou homely home on Shore Street Applecross. Ideal for the pub, shop and Potting Shed but also a super place to cook your own food, eat in dining room with fab views or if the weather is good on the decking watching sunset. We absolutely love its cosiness and will return again and again.

Pam Mackintosh
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 24/04/2012
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Had a fabulous few days at this gorgeous, cosy cottage. Everything was perfect: - the setting, the woodburner, the comfy bed, the Rayburn, the thoughtful welcome basket etc. Only regret is we couldn't stay longer.

Bev Farrow
Reviewed Ardrannach on 24/04/2012
And awarded it

Ardrannach

This cottage is a little bit of heaven on earth - so peaceful you can hear the birds singing and so much to see from the amazing picture window. Beautiful walks right from the door. And all this only a short walk or drive from Portree. The house was warm and comfortable with everything you could need. The owners made us really welcome and were on hand to answer any queries and with local knowledge. We will be returning - to me that is the best recommendation

Gill Edwards
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 23/04/2012
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Mrs S Bishop
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 20/04/2012
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Loved our stay here, very high standard of cleanliness. Its in a beautiful spot and the scenery is superb. We holiday several times a year and this is one of the cleanest and best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in. Loved it and could have stayed for ever!

Emma Ward
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 19/04/2012
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Lovely cottage, warm & cozy and a real home home-from-home. Great location, both for Fort Augustus (in a quiet position just a 5 minute walk from the village) and for Inverness/Loch Ness to the North & Fort William/to the South. Loads of things to do and see, but would recommend a RIB trip on Loch Ness and drive to Kinloch Hourn. Excellent accommodation and perfect for family x 4.

The Lunns
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 18/04/2012
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Samantha McNulty
Reviewed Station Cottage on 18/04/2012
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A lovely cottage. The woodburning stove made it very cosy. Nicely renovated, clean and very homely. Our two young boys loved it. There are lots of beautiful walks from the house, and lots to keep our family occupied for a week in the area (whatever the weather).

Amanda Kinnaird
Reviewed Mealishal on 17/04/2012
And awarded it

Mealishal

Kirsty Morley
Reviewed Laracks on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Laracks

Catherine Beddison
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Really warm and comfortable cottage, beautifully appointed and well placed for touring the area. Perfect family location. Thank you!

Stig Walsh & Monja Knoll
Reviewed Ardrannach on 16/04/2012
And awarded it
Treharne Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Cozy cottage in great location above Loch Ness. We had a lovely stay thankyou.

Catherine Eunson
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We had a very good week at Kilmartin Estate Cottage in Glenurquhart and enjoyed being in such a lovely spot in the forest. The house was easy to live in and just what you want. Unexpectedly we became snowed in - which was lovely! We had cupboards full of food and it only lasted a couple of days, but it was beautiful. All in all a very relaxing break. Oh - and don't be like us - follow the map that is sent through the post with your receipt and you won't get lost!

Rob & Ash Sinclair
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 15/04/2012
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

My wife and I had a wonderful long weekend (January 2012) in this absolutely idyllic cottage. It was exactly what we were looking for situated in an exceptional location and providing real cosy comfort for our last wee break together before our first baby. We now look forward to returning with our wee baby girl, Lauren, in the near future!

Houston Family
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 14/04/2012
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just returned from a great week at Old Lock Keeper's Cottage. Everything you need and more - extremely comfortable, lovely scenery, good location. Would definitely recommend.

Sharon & Raymond Mearns
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 13/04/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Shelagh & David Potts & Anne McIver
Reviewed Moll House on 05/04/2012
And awarded it

Moll House

We had a fantastic holiday on Skye, with perfect and unbelievable weather for the time of year. We loved the house, it was very comfortable, very well equipped and in a beautiful location. So peaceful with wonderful views. We would highly recommend Moll House and we would love to return.

Kelly Treherne
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/04/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The Coltsfoots was a lovely place to stay. The location was fab, not even 10 mins walk to Fort Austugus. The interior was nice and modern, very spacious. Very clean and plenty of fuel for the colder nights to burn. The milk and wine in the fridge were a lovely touch. We even stayed another night. Would definitely recommend this cabin and we will come back again soon.

Mark Ellson
Reviewed Timber House on 02/04/2012
And awarded it

Timber House

Fantastic break in a wonderful contemporary house. The timber house is ideally located in Skye, close to the small town of dunveggan, whilst being far enough away to make you feel as though you are alone in the beautiful setting ! Can't wait to book again for next year.

Carolyn Milne
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 02/04/2012
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Back here for a 2nd year. Last year was torrential rain. What a difference. Hot and sunny all week. Sat in garden and had BBQ. New wooden bench with sun umbrella put to good use. Great indoor facilities. Comfy bed. Hot water when required. Large fridge and freezer. Corner bath with shower. Comfy sofas and wood burning stove for the cooler evenings. Didnt hear owls this year though.

Barbara Brown
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 19/03/2012
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had a fantastic, restful week in Hill Head Croft. The cottage was extremely comfortable and cosy with a coal/log stove in the living room and the Aga in the kitchen. All 3 bedrooms had en suites and were furnished to an extremely high standard. My dogs loved the scramble down the cliff to the beach. I was not disappointed at all.

Angela Beresford
Reviewed Little Aird Hill on 19/03/2012
And awarded it

Little Aird Hill

Macgregor
Reviewed Balmachree on 23/02/2012
And awarded it

Balmachree

Lovely spacious home. Lots of room for kids to run around garden. Welcome gifts of teabags, milk, wine and shortbread was a lovely touch. Fire was amazing. We had a great, relaxing weekend. Would definitely recommend and would like to return. The main item lacking in the property was a guest information pack. There were also no instructions how to access the property so we had to play "hunt the key" when we arrived in the dark!

Rob Slater
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 23/02/2012
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a wonderful and peaceful break at Fersit Log Cottage last week. The property really is superb, easily the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. The welcome pack (bottle of wine, milk, tea bags and coffee) was very much appreciated and a lovely touch by the owners. Despite the name and location there is no need to have any concerns about warmth in the winter - this place is very warm and cosy. We highly recommend this place to anyone staying in this area and plan to return soon.

Angie, John, Nikki & Michael
Reviewed Charleston on 22/02/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

Our 4th stay at Charleston at Errogie and even better if that is possible. Extremely clean and comfortable with excellent equipment. Wonderful views, loads of good walks from the door. A good base for exploring from Inverness to the Isle of Skye, the Cairngorms and dolphin spotting at Chanonry point on the Black Isle, Fort William and Glen Nevis. Definitely our favourite Wilderness Cottage.

Frances Gallagher
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 16/02/2012
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had a lovely weeks stay here in February 2012. The cottage is beautiful, very cosy with everything you could possibly need. It is situated in a perfect location within walking distance to Fort Augustus and very central for visiting places such as Isle of Skye and Ben Nevis etc. The only grumble I would have is that the garden is not enclosed which as far as I can see is not mentioned on this website. Our dog was very good at trotting off up the lane! Otherwise everything is perfection!