Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1851 to 1900 of 2523


Emma Ward
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 19/04/2012
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Lovely cottage, warm & cozy and a real home home-from-home. Great location, both for Fort Augustus (in a quiet position just a 5 minute walk from the village) and for Inverness/Loch Ness to the North & Fort William/to the South. Loads of things to do and see, but would recommend a RIB trip on Loch Ness and drive to Kinloch Hourn. Excellent accommodation and perfect for family x 4.

The Lunns
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 18/04/2012
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Samantha McNulty
Reviewed Station Cottage on 18/04/2012
And awarded it

Station Cottage

A lovely cottage. The woodburning stove made it very cosy. Nicely renovated, clean and very homely. Our two young boys loved it. There are lots of beautiful walks from the house, and lots to keep our family occupied for a week in the area (whatever the weather).

Amanda Kinnaird
Reviewed Mealishal on 17/04/2012
And awarded it

Mealishal

Kirsty Morley
Reviewed Laracks on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Laracks

Catherine Beddison
Reviewed Oak Cottage on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Oak Cottage

Really warm and comfortable cottage, beautifully appointed and well placed for touring the area. Perfect family location. Thank you!

Stig Walsh & Monja Knoll
Reviewed Ardrannach on 16/04/2012
And awarded it
Treharne Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Cozy cottage in great location above Loch Ness. We had a lovely stay thankyou.

Catherine Eunson
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 16/04/2012
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We had a very good week at Kilmartin Estate Cottage in Glenurquhart and enjoyed being in such a lovely spot in the forest. The house was easy to live in and just what you want. Unexpectedly we became snowed in - which was lovely! We had cupboards full of food and it only lasted a couple of days, but it was beautiful. All in all a very relaxing break. Oh - and don't be like us - follow the map that is sent through the post with your receipt and you won't get lost!

Rob & Ash Sinclair
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 15/04/2012
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

My wife and I had a wonderful long weekend (January 2012) in this absolutely idyllic cottage. It was exactly what we were looking for situated in an exceptional location and providing real cosy comfort for our last wee break together before our first baby. We now look forward to returning with our wee baby girl, Lauren, in the near future!

Houston Family
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 14/04/2012
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just returned from a great week at Old Lock Keeper's Cottage. Everything you need and more - extremely comfortable, lovely scenery, good location. Would definitely recommend.

Sharon & Raymond Mearns
Reviewed Wee Dunollie on 13/04/2012
And awarded it

Wee Dunollie

Shelagh & David Potts & Anne McIver
Reviewed Moll House on 05/04/2012
And awarded it

Moll House

We had a fantastic holiday on Skye, with perfect and unbelievable weather for the time of year. We loved the house, it was very comfortable, very well equipped and in a beautiful location. So peaceful with wonderful views. We would highly recommend Moll House and we would love to return.

Kelly Treherne
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/04/2012
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

The Coltsfoots was a lovely place to stay. The location was fab, not even 10 mins walk to Fort Austugus. The interior was nice and modern, very spacious. Very clean and plenty of fuel for the colder nights to burn. The milk and wine in the fridge were a lovely touch. We even stayed another night. Would definitely recommend this cabin and we will come back again soon.

Mark Ellson
Reviewed Timber House on 02/04/2012
And awarded it

Timber House

Fantastic break in a wonderful contemporary house. The timber house is ideally located in Skye, close to the small town of dunveggan, whilst being far enough away to make you feel as though you are alone in the beautiful setting ! Can't wait to book again for next year.

Carolyn Milne
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 02/04/2012
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Back here for a 2nd year. Last year was torrential rain. What a difference. Hot and sunny all week. Sat in garden and had BBQ. New wooden bench with sun umbrella put to good use. Great indoor facilities. Comfy bed. Hot water when required. Large fridge and freezer. Corner bath with shower. Comfy sofas and wood burning stove for the cooler evenings. Didnt hear owls this year though.

Barbara Brown
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 19/03/2012
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had a fantastic, restful week in Hill Head Croft. The cottage was extremely comfortable and cosy with a coal/log stove in the living room and the Aga in the kitchen. All 3 bedrooms had en suites and were furnished to an extremely high standard. My dogs loved the scramble down the cliff to the beach. I was not disappointed at all.

Angela Beresford
Reviewed Little Aird Hill on 19/03/2012
And awarded it

Little Aird Hill

Macgregor
Reviewed Balmachree on 23/02/2012
And awarded it

Balmachree

Lovely spacious home. Lots of room for kids to run around garden. Welcome gifts of teabags, milk, wine and shortbread was a lovely touch. Fire was amazing. We had a great, relaxing weekend. Would definitely recommend and would like to return. The main item lacking in the property was a guest information pack. There were also no instructions how to access the property so we had to play "hunt the key" when we arrived in the dark!

Rob Slater
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 23/02/2012
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a wonderful and peaceful break at Fersit Log Cottage last week. The property really is superb, easily the best holiday cottage we have ever stayed in. The welcome pack (bottle of wine, milk, tea bags and coffee) was very much appreciated and a lovely touch by the owners. Despite the name and location there is no need to have any concerns about warmth in the winter - this place is very warm and cosy. We highly recommend this place to anyone staying in this area and plan to return soon.

Angie, John, Nikki & Michael
Reviewed Charleston on 22/02/2012
And awarded it

Charleston

Our 4th stay at Charleston at Errogie and even better if that is possible. Extremely clean and comfortable with excellent equipment. Wonderful views, loads of good walks from the door. A good base for exploring from Inverness to the Isle of Skye, the Cairngorms and dolphin spotting at Chanonry point on the Black Isle, Fort William and Glen Nevis. Definitely our favourite Wilderness Cottage.

Frances Gallagher
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 16/02/2012
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had a lovely weeks stay here in February 2012. The cottage is beautiful, very cosy with everything you could possibly need. It is situated in a perfect location within walking distance to Fort Augustus and very central for visiting places such as Isle of Skye and Ben Nevis etc. The only grumble I would have is that the garden is not enclosed which as far as I can see is not mentioned on this website. Our dog was very good at trotting off up the lane! Otherwise everything is perfection!

Mr Brook
Reviewed Rowan Lodge - Beauly on 13/02/2012
And awarded it

Rowan Lodge - Beauly

Ben
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 08/02/2012
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

The perfect getaway location. The cottage has such stunning views to the front of Loch Kishorn which a person would never get tired of. It has been finished to a very high standrd throughout with little touches everywhere. A perfect location to explore the surrounding area too. Highly recommend.

The Camerons
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 07/02/2012
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Poulary Cottage is very comfortable and well-equipped, and in a stunning remote location. The photographs don't quite do it justice. We stayed for 2 weeks in Jan/Feb and were nice and cosy. There are plenty of walks from the cottage, through pine forests, along the river, and up into the hills - you can even reach a Munro from the cottage. Great for wildlife, too. We saw pine martens, deer, and owls in the grounds - and a nocturnal wild pig! We'll definitely be back!

Mr&Mrs Ashmore
Reviewed Aros Beag on 05/02/2012
And awarded it

Aros Beag

spent a lovely five nights at the cottage, pity it was not any longer.Very special hide away clean and cosy and everything the brochure says it is. We had some lovely walks right from the cottage door. Very romantic no matter what age you are. Jim and Diane the owners are very welcoming but not intrusive we only saw them when we arrived and again when we sadly had to leave. A little bit of heaven on earth, we will be back.

Michele Yasmin Morphitis
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 16/01/2012
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

I almost don't want to post a review as if people go here they will just keep coming back and the place will be booked forever... It was stunning - panoramic views, so well-appointed, warm even in winter, with such a friendly and helpful host/owner, riding close by (I would highly recommend even a beginner trying to ride at Borlum)close to Castle Urquhart and Loch Ness, decent convenience stores in Drumnadrochit (and a great Highland gift shop) and half an hour from lovely Inverness. Unbeatable.

Sophie
Reviewed Aros Beag on 16/01/2012
And awarded it

Aros Beag

we had such a lovely time at the cottage, really cosy-the underfloor heating makes it very comfortable and we liked the attention to detail - the bath is big enough for two! the hamper on arrival is a lovely gesture and the owners very helpful - we will hopefully return again soon!

Donna Lumsden
Reviewed Mealishal on 11/01/2012
And awarded it

Mealishal

Stan Beaton
Reviewed Chapel House on 09/01/2012
And awarded it

Chapel House

Iain & April Ponton
Reviewed The Granary on 08/01/2012
And awarded it

The Granary

We had a lovely stay. The house is very comfortable and clean. All the little extra touches like the Christmas tree, milk, butter, and wine in fridge were so thoughtful. It was a great way to spend New Year's week.

Jules & Nathan Hutchinson
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/01/2012
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We have been to Marnie's Croft many times over the past 8 years. Totally love going to stay there, and hope to for many more years. Even with a 4x4, we still struggled too get up and down the hill. However this did not spoil our holiday at all, but gave us a little more excercise. Only thing I would love to change, is the dog policy, as we have 2 dogs and they would love it there. Could never tire of looking at the view, and watching for the deer in the woods. If you have never been, you must go.

Mr Stewart
Reviewed Drovers on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Drovers

Debbie & Julian
Reviewed Old Stables on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Old Stables

An amazing house which is equipped for everything you may need or require for a very comfortable holiday house. Trips to Inverness on the rainy days then walking in Glen Affric on the better ones.

David Barrett
Reviewed Station Cottage on 02/01/2012
And awarded it

Station Cottage

24/12/11-28/12/11 David We had a great time. Very cosy and set in beautiful surroundings. Plenty of walks for the dog, and safe areas to run. The local butcher has fantastic veggie sausages!

30/12/2011 Martin & Sue Fisher
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 29/12/2011
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

We have just had the privilege of being the very first guests and what a fantastic time we had. The property and location can only be described as 5 star. Sympathetically renovated to an exceptionally high standard, the cottage wants for nothing. You can be assured of a warm welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Plenty of walks in and around the area whether it be to see the beautiful Falls of Foyers or off the beaton track through the many surrounding forests and all on the doorstep!

Craig
Reviewed Mealishal on 06/12/2011
And awarded it

Mealishal

Tim + Deborah Martin
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 01/12/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Simply glorious. Cottage is abundantly well-provided, only a few yards from the outstanding Applecross Inn and in a staggeringly beautiful setting. Two aspects made our stay so memorable - doggy heaven for our two cocker spaniels, from Bonios on arrival to beach and hillside walks; and the weather in November - dry, warm and clear. A must to return, to enjoy the solitude and grandeur of the area.

Donald & Margaret Miller
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/11/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Stayed end October 2011. Our first stay in a log home and this is the best we have seen. Beautifully furnished and fully equipped. Really is just 10 minutes walk from the village with just one short steepish hill en route, and lots of nice walks close by. Dogs loved it. One word of warning look out for the woodburner. On our first night after an hour we had to open the french doors and windows to let the heat out. We then limited ourselves to 3 logs at once. Boathouse Restaurant was lovely.

Paula McDowall
Reviewed Barn Cottage on 29/11/2011
And awarded it

Barn Cottage

Mr & Mrs Preece
Reviewed Balmachree on 25/11/2011
And awarded it

Balmachree

our long weekend break at Balmachree was excellent, the cottage was very nice/clean and comfortable in a very quiet area, our 2 dogs loved the freedom in the large garden, the pub served excellent food and was very welcoming. The only issue was the wood burner that must have had a blockage in the flue as it filled the living room with smoke.

John Audrey Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 23/11/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

our second visit this year this cottage has set a standard that no other we have used over many years can come close to if you want peace, great views, walks from the door, and a 5 star rated cottage look no farther we leave it again with a tear in our eye but we will return as soon as possible.

Anna Blackwood
Reviewed Christies on 20/11/2011
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is a lovely cosy cottage in Scourie, which is a good base for exploring the stunning North West. We had fantastic weather in November which ment no excuses for not getting out there and doing lots of walking and exploring this fantastic area.

Corrie
Reviewed Stac Polly on 15/11/2011
And awarded it

Stac Polly

We have just returned from a truly wonderful weekend away at Achultibuie. Stac Polly is definitely 5 star with every mod con available, hot tub, sauna, surround sound music system, WiFi etc. We had good weather, big blue skies and glorious sunsets not what we expected in November. The views over the Summer Isles from the large windows in the lounge are just stunning. The hot tub was a firm favourite, as was the sauna, great time was had by us all and we hope to return next year. We highly recommend Stac Polly and would like to thank the owners who have made this a very special place, well done!

Lynne Leaver
Reviewed Charleston on 14/11/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

Once again we had another great relaxing holiday. Wonderful views, walks all around. Everyone of us enjoyed the stay even the power cut was exciting! Even our labradoodles chilled out after their walks!! We have already booked for next year .... can't wait. Not telling anyone how good it is or we'll never get booked again.

Marion Clifford
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 14/11/2011
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

Corina Dawson
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 10/11/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Elizabeth Newell
Reviewed Coach House on 10/11/2011
And awarded it

Coach House

Debra Swann
Reviewed Kirklauchline Cottage on 09/11/2011
And awarded it

Kirklauchline Cottage

Nick Andrews
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 08/11/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

An absolutely beautiful cottage in a beautiful location. Extremely well equipped, wonderfully remote without being too remote and the perfect place from which to begin adventures in the mountains of Kintail, Skye and Torridon. I fully intend to return.