Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 1951 to 2000 of 2840


John Methven
Reviewed Achnahanat on 30/05/2011
And awarded it

Achnahanat

Elinor & Ronald Bird & Backen
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 25/05/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Mrs Harris
Reviewed Wildwood on 25/05/2011
And awarded it

Wildwood

WOW, from the moment we turned the corner and saw our cabin it was like being in paradise, it was as magical inside as it was out, we didn't want to leave the children all decided that we should buy the cabin and stay there forever, it was so nice to be away from the hustle and bustle of life and look out onto so much beauty the cabin was set out perfectly, we are one hundred percent going back next year

Malcolm & Alison Jenkins
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/05/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnies Croft is one of the best Holiday Cottages we have ever stayed in. I just don't know where we will ever find such views again. It was so quiet and peaceful and had everything we could ever need. Could have stayed there for ever and we will definitely be back. Thank you so much

Fiona Thompson
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 24/05/2011
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Nicki Wright
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 18/05/2011
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Adam Kerr
Reviewed Deer View on 17/05/2011
And awarded it

Deer View

Greg & Anne
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/05/2011
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

An excellently equipped and stylish cottage in a remote (ish) location. Excellent base for walking. We hope to return to Fersit Log Cottage and do all the hills we didnt do this time around!

Carey Ann Corrigan
Reviewed Callakille on 17/05/2011
And awarded it

Callakille

Astrid
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 15/05/2011
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We had a very pleasant stay in Ceol na Mara. The cottage is comfortable with a great view and the beach on the doorstep. The kids enjoyed themselves on "our own beach" while we sat in the garden enjoying the view. We are already considering returning next year.

Karen Astill
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 15/05/2011
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Just had a brilliant week at Burnside of Geddes. A really well renovated cottage and all the facilities and equipment you could think of. A chilled bottle of wine and home made cupcakes made us feel very welcome and we were sad to leave. The area is great and very quiet which is just what we wanted. Hope to be back in the future.

Sarah Davies
Reviewed Old Net Store on 10/05/2011
And awarded it

Old Net Store

Tim Barnes
Reviewed Whitestone on 07/05/2011
And awarded it

Whitestone

Great stay at Whitestone for a long weekend. The house had all we needed: was in excellent condition, clean, had all the utensils and equipment for our stay, was quiet, and easy to find. Would certainly consider a return visit!

Kelly Kocher
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 06/05/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

We stayed at the The Coltsfoots the week following Easter and had a wonderful stay. The cottage is lovely and warm, furnished to a high standard and equipped with everything you would ever need. We loved the bottle of wine and carton of milk that waited for us in the fridge, as well as the tea and biscuits on the counter. There is a creek running near the cottage and it is surrounded by woodlands. A short walk to Ft. Augustus makes the location perfect. A 5* place!

Helen Janousek
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 06/05/2011
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Tracy Aziz
Reviewed Temple Mill on 06/05/2011
And awarded it

Temple Mill

Anja
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 05/05/2011
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

John & Gill
Reviewed Ardrannach on 05/05/2011
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We agree with all that Mr & Mrs Hatton have written about Wilderness Cottages, Adrannach and the owners of the cottage. In addition to their comments we would also say that the covered back porch was very useful for leaving the dog out while we walked into Portree for the odd evening meal and/or drink. It is possible to walk into Portree in 10-15 minutes via a footpath from the cottage. Very good in terms of being able to drink and not drive!

Sue Mann
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/05/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

We stayed at Old School 10 for a week from 25th April to 2nd May 2011 and just did not want to leave. The setting in The Abbey was so peaceful and quiet. The apartment was beautiful and clean, with lovely views right next to the Caledonian Canal and with Loch Ness at the bottom of the 'garden'. If you are looking for peace, tranquility and a comfortable place to stay I would highly recommend the apartment.

David Newby
Reviewed Lianachan on 04/05/2011
And awarded it

Lianachan

Robert Iremonger.
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 04/05/2011
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Lynsey McLean
Reviewed Holstein - The Dairy on 27/04/2011
And awarded it

Holstein - The Dairy

Jeff & Helen Rogers
Reviewed Mealishal on 27/04/2011
And awarded it

Mealishal

Judith Bowles
Reviewed Chapel House on 27/04/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

Debbie Lindley
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 26/04/2011
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

This was an excellent cottage, beautiful, quiet setting with some super walks nearby. The cottage is very well furnished and cleaned to a high standard. We had a great time and we will be coming back soon.

Jayne Cook
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 26/04/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

A beautiful cottage with outstanding views - far better than the pictures show. We feel very lucky to have come across Marnie's Croft.

Alan Sanderson
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 26/04/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We (six adults) have just returned from a fantastic break at the Old Lock-keepers Cottage, Aberchalder. Weather was kind to us for both walking and cycling and the property was superb. A great base for all kinds of activities and a marvellous setting. Derek the lock-keeper was both friendly and informative and it was a pleasure to enjoy his company from time to time. We would certainly go back to this lovely, well equipped property. Highly recommended.

Jan & Mike Robotham
Reviewed Brackenhaugh on 26/04/2011
And awarded it

Brackenhaugh

James Rodgers
Reviewed Balmachree on 24/04/2011
And awarded it

Balmachree

We have visited this area of Scotland before although on this occassion needed more space as the in-laws were joining my family. Balmachree was much better than expected, it was larger than we anticipated with plenty of room for the 7 of us and the dog and very well appointed. The photo's don't do it justice. The garden is massive and our dog loved it. The kids loved playing in the river at the bottom of the garden which was full of rocks and only 1' deep in most places. Excellent !!!!!!!!!!!!

Mike Mustard
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 21/04/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Christine Knight
Reviewed Giusaichean on 21/04/2011
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Paul & Tina
Reviewed Coach House on 16/04/2011
And awarded it

Coach House

Jo Spivey
Reviewed Kelpie Cottage on 14/04/2011
And awarded it

Kelpie Cottage

Carolyn Milne
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 11/04/2011
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

This lovely cottage ticked all the boxes for us. Didnt need to use the car at all as all walking from the doorstep. Great for moutain bikes too. Good local shops for food and cottage kitchen has good appliances, so could eat in or go out to eat in dog friendly pubs at canal side. Drying room a godsend - everywhere should have one! Cottage lives up to its name too!

Tracy Childs
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 11/04/2011
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

We had a really lovely holiday at Shore Cottage - in terms of Location, Location, Location it scores 10/10. The beach is right at the bottom of the garden, it is private and the wildlife comes to your door. The cottage is well equipped and comfortable throughout and a glass of wine on the patio in the evening is a real treat.

Hilary Wilson
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 07/04/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Initially I was put off by the list of dos and don'ts concerning dogs, to recommend that you put your dog in a cage to stop them getting on the furniture and beds made us feel very unwelcome However I soon realised that this over the top dictum was not of their making and the general instructions in the cottage were of the normal sort. We were very comfortable and made to feel very welcome. The next door neighbours have hens that frequently invaded the garden. They were happy and contented too!

Scott
Reviewed Skye Woodhouse on 03/04/2011
And awarded it

Skye Woodhouse

The Skye Woodhouse under promises and over delivers. No description could ever describe the amazing views and the sense of peace and isolation. When you return home you'll want to send every stressed out friend for a week.

Jack Aalen
Reviewed Glenara on 03/04/2011
And awarded it

Glenara

Just back from Fort Augustus and stayed in "Glenara" a fantastic cottage spotlessly clean with all the amenities anyone could require. A great location just yards from the Caledonian canal and the lock flight. Village has everything one needs and some good places to eat.Recommended!!!!

J Stanier
Reviewed Charleston on 29/03/2011
And awarded it

Charleston

Just back from a week at Charleston this was the best cottage we have stayed in after many years of visits to Scotland it had everthing and more. If you are considering it, go for it you will be so pleased that you did. We would also like to thank Wilderness Cottages for their polite and helpful service, we wish we had found them years ago as they will get our bookings from now on.

Stephanie Fidler
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 28/03/2011
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Just back from a short break at Pine Lodge, it was magic. I wholeheartedly recommend a stay here. The lodge had everything we needed, but the most important thing for us was that we could bring our dogs along too, fantastic. I loved the fresh air, the quiet, watching the birds on the feeder, and the drives we went on. John and Sally Parker were discreet, but helpful, and very jolly, and as we left we talked of returning. 10 out of 10 all round.

Mrs Susan Goudie.
Reviewed Mealishal on 22/03/2011
And awarded it

Mealishal

David & Kirsty
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 17/03/2011
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

Just had another brilliant holiday in Burnside, cant go any where else for our anniversary now. The owners are very hospitable and leave a lovely treat for arrival. It is also Cocker Spaniel paradise, the enclosed garden is a great place to explore for them. The peaceful surroundings only disturbed with lots of wildlife, which is fab. We will be back, also hope to visit some of the other amazing cottages, to many to choose.

Carole Golden
Reviewed Chapel House on 10/03/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

The Costa Family
Reviewed Giusaichean on 08/03/2011
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Anne & Les
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 07/03/2011
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We have just had a weekend in this lovely cottage.The owners have created a real home from home, beautifully decorated, comfortable, warm and cosy. The whole place exudes quality and it is very clean. The kitchen is extremely well equipped.The photos on the website don't do this cottage justice.....from the outside it looks quite small but the space inside is incredible. We would most definitely recommend this to others.

Carolyn McCulloch
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 07/03/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from another holiday at Bayside Cottage and there are not enough superlatives in the English language to describe our stay. The owners have thought of everything from bowls and treats for our 4 legged friend to the bottle of wine and welcome pack. Bayside is a real home from home but with the added extra of a view to die for. The new terrace on the beach had us drinking wine in the sun in February...!! Thanks Ros and Malcolm till next time.

Gary Wemyss
Reviewed Ness Bank on 06/03/2011
And awarded it

Ness Bank

Logger Melo
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 04/03/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutely excellent standard of accommodation with a real sense of luxury and style; complete with complementary survival pack in the fridge (bottle of wine and a pint of milk!)......Watch out for the wild boar!

Steve Smith (logger)
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 03/03/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Coltsfoots is in a lovely secluded location but easily accessible to the village. Very comfortable and homely and it really stands out compared to other properties in the area as a real log cabin. Top logging!

Russ Drayton, Kelly Lancaster
Reviewed Hollybank on 26/02/2011
And awarded it

Hollybank