Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 250 of 2651


Jane & Steve
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

Lovely spacious cottage in good location. Plenty of cycling and walking routes within a very short distance. The area abounds in wildlife.

Mike Alexander
Reviewed Christies on 08/06/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Christies is very convenient for the northerly Munros and Corbetts, low level walks, and exploring the north west coast. The cottage is in a superb position, with stunning views over the bay to local hills and mountains. It is comfortable and well equipped. A great place to stay!

Rosie Blair
Reviewed Upper Folds on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Upper Folds is a gem! A beautifully maintained and stylish cottage situated in open moorland with fab views all around. The spacious accommodation is all on one level, and it was lovely and warm so we had no need to use the wood burner. We enjoyed lovely walks from the door and hardly met any other walkers all week!

Julie Schroeder
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Arrivain Cottage is a gem. The owners have done a wonderful job to renovate and redesign this 17th century building to make it a lovely modern space, while retaining much of its period charm. The rain forest shower was a particular treat for us after a long day hiking. Hosts Jacqui and Jeff could not have been more hospitable and helpful and we would highly recommend this accommodation to others seeking a base for exploring the area around Tyndrum, Oban, and Glencoe.

Fabienne Riske
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Thanks a lot, had a beautiful Time in a nice well equipped cottage! Looking forward to seeing you again.

Roy & Andrea Stratford
Reviewed Port Elgol Cottage on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Port Elgol Cottage

This is a special place, our 9th visit here after a gap of 9 years reinforced that view. The cottage is cosy and very comfortable and walking out onto the rocks and seeing the extraordinary view of the Cuillins and islands is a great privilege.

Sheelagh White
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Excellent accommodation, location brilliant, away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to walk into Fort Augustus. Fabulous location to visit the highlands. We received a warm welcome on arrival, had a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge, milk and biscuits, a lovely touch after travelling a long way. Would highly recommend to anyone and sincerely hope we can return for a visit in the future.

Donna Mackenzie
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We enjoyed a wonderful stay at the cottage. It's immaculate and beautifully decorated throughout. Absolutely everything that you could require is in the house. A lovely welcome pack awaited us and a comprehensive manual ensured that everything is simple to use. The bedrooms are well proportioned with lovely fresh linens and towels. The back garden is very well maintained with a nice dining area. Overall, we were very impressed with the accommodation and highly recommend it!

Keith Work
Reviewed Braehead Steading on 07/06/2017
And awarded it

Braehead Steading

A wonderful retreat for eight golfers completely central to all relevant amenities. The river walk from Ballater at 01:00 was a wee bit of a stumble! But we made it... lol

Niki Fulton
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

Luxury in Paradise. Brilliantly equipped accommodation (and great books on the bookcase incl, maps, history, poetry, novels), really comfortable with stunning views over the bay. Fantastic location - so many beautiful beaches, geology, wildlife, footpaths, artists and foodie places all around the island. We booked another week the day we got home!

Nicole & Gernot
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Nice little cottage, warm and cosy. Very quiet location near the Point of Stoer. Thanks Jane and Jack for the warm welcome and the delicious scones.

Nick Green
Reviewed Shellach Cottage on 05/06/2017
And awarded it

Shellach Cottage

We had a very enjoyable one week stay at Shellach Cottage in May. Great location for touring and exploring the surrounding west coast scenery. Lovely views across Loch Carron from the cottage. Adequate sized, cosy rooms and well equipped kitchen. Owner was responsive in getting minor maintenance problem attended to quickly.

Steffi
Reviewed Ardrannach on 03/06/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

Very nice House to Discover Skye. Only drawback are the mattresses of all beds, they should be changed soon.

Graham, Paula, Maisie (the Springer) & Tweed (th
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 02/06/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We decided fairly last minute to take a week away and so were a little limited for choice having left it so late. Easter Drumine came up and from the photo's look absolutely perfect so we booked. On arrival the cottage was set in an ideal location with forestry to one side and open farmland to the other, the nearest neighbour being a farm in the distance about a mile away! It is a fairly newly built property and once inside we were welcomed with a lovely card from the owners along with a little gift and they'd even gone to the trouble of leaving coffee and milk to have a brew and a bowl of water and a box of biscuits for the dogs too. We went for an explore around the house which was absolutely immaculate and totally spotlessly clean, it has underfloor heating in every room so was lovely and cosy and it was very well equipped as well and we wanted for nothing. The garden/grounds are huge and include a massive lawn and also a picnic table to enjoy the sunshine and as the owner of a spaniel who can find her way out of even the tiniest gap I can confirm the garden is very well enclosed. Despite her best efforts to get to the pheasants she was bitterly disappointed at being defeated by the fencing! There is plenty of wildlife right on the doorstep including pheasants, red deer and rabbits and the track which leads up through the woodland is perfect for the morning walks. Travelling further afield there is plenty to do as well, around 20 minutes drive away is the beach at Nairn....miles and miles of beautiful sand and also some woodland walks in the huge forest just off the same road at Culbin. Forres is a lovely little town and I can highly recommend the Mosset Tavern for some good grub, you can even take the dogs in the bar area. The owners of this property clearly go above and beyond in welcoming their guests into this fabulous cottage and all their little extra touches for us made the difference between our holiday being good and it being great!! Thank you....we will be back.

Jason Janice & Chalky.
Reviewed River Cottage on 01/06/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

River Cottage was the perfect place a lot of thought had gone into this little place it was home from home. Relaxing,quiet,peaceful.

Charlotte Whitelaw
Reviewed River Cottage on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Well equipped comfortable cottage in peaceful riverside setting. Enjoyed late suppers on the shaded veranda accompanied by the sound of the river and birdsong. Thoughtful owners who allowed us our seclusion.

Mrs P Riley
Reviewed Balmachree on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Balmachree

This cottage is absolutely delightful, we were a family of 6 adults a toddler and 3 dogs. This cottage covered everything, the garden is enormous and a river running at the bottom beyond a fence, a rocky shallow river with plenty of trees all around, there are 2 other cottages either side of it but not intrusive in any way. There is plenty of parking for 3 cars and a garage with bbq, table and chairs. The house was large enough for everyone not to be in each others pocket. could do with a few more appliances in the kitchen, perhaps a slow cooker and toastie machine? Sky TV is basic but you haven't gone all that way to watch TV! WiFi could be intermittent when it wanted. If your not built like a cocktail stick I suggest you take your own bath towels as they're only small. But, we coped very well, only there for a week. The views are wonderful, very rugged compared to the other side of loch Ness. Beautiful dark lochs, forests and mountains. We had a Pine Martin at the bottom of the garden one day, that's how remote it is. If you want peace and quiet, this is the spot. Only traffic is logging wagons and the school bus in a morning. the log burner was lovely in the evening. Very central to go anywhere. Lots of places to go. Nearest little shop is in Foyers, got most things but a bit expensive, but she has to make a living. All in all a fantastic week, not one of us wanted to go home, so I can highly recommend Balmachree for your holiday *****

Susan Price
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 31/05/2017
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Fabulous place, owners very welcoming, a modern log cabin very tastefully decorated, wood burner was great, right in the heart of Grantown on Spey lovely historical town, plenty of walks nearby in Anagach woods, with loads to see and do.

John Hearn
Reviewed The Beach House at Garrachan on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Beach House at Garrachan

Perfect if there was a bath.

Alan Bell
Reviewed Lilybank on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Another great 2 weeks spent at Lilybank Cottage... although we knew what a high standard the cottage sets it was nice to see that the cottage has been tastefully redecorated to its usual high standard and I am sure the new fencing around the garden will be appreciated by young families & pets. Will be back in October and will book for 2/3 weeks next year. Thanks again for returning my wife's jewellery ...!! Alan Denise & Ben

Deborah
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is warm and comfortable and in a stunning location. Wildlife all around. Great for a base to explore the Highlands. The garden is not entirely dog proof as my dogs were able to get through the wooden 5 bar gate and the choice of white leather furniture and a cream and red rug was not the best choice when you have dogs either.

Stewart
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

This was a lovely, peaceful place to stay. The cottage was very well equipped, very cosy and had beautiful views. The large garden was fully enclosed and the dog loved it. I would definitely recommend this cottage and hope to return in the future.

Toogoolawa
Reviewed Sixgeary on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Sixgeary

It was a joy to stay at Sixgeary. The design and layout was perfect; It was immaculately maintained, extremely well equipped and in a great position. The wifi was very good and a bonus was being able to watch Netflix. Fiona, the Housekeeper made us very welcome. Geary is a small community with no facilities but we didn't have any problems using Sixgeary as a base to explore Northern Skye. We have used Wilderness Cottages on several occasions to stay in different parts of Skye and have been very happy with each of the cottages in which we've stayed and service provided by the Company.

Sue Sutton
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Fabulous location- we were fortunate to see otters from the cottage window. The views are spectacular, the cottage, comfortable and very well equipped. We had a great holiday, and will definitely return!

Rosand
Reviewed Beech Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Beech Lodge

Lovely, quiet cottage with very helpful hosts. Perfect for a relaxing break.

Caroline
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

A beautiful cottage that has been renovated to a very high standard. It has everything you need plus more and is very spacious. We also found the location very good to explore the area. Jeff and Jacqui are very knowledgeable on places to visit which was very helpful as this was our first visit to Scotland. We would definitely recommend Arrivain Cottage and hope to return.

Anne Price
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Beautiful location and cottage. Views are amazing but we were up in the cloud for two days! Saw sea eagles on the last day - better sighting than the ones from the sea eagle boat trip that morning! Cottage is very well equipped with everything you need including maps, books on local area etc. Would recommend to those who don't mind being in a quite isolated location and single track roads to get to it!

Shirley Rose
Reviewed Charleston on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Charleston

Unfortunately I was unable to go on my much anticipated holiday as I was in hospital. However my brother his partner and Bertie the dog had a wonderful time. They told me that the cottage was amazing, especially the garden room where they spent many hours watching the wild life and enjoying the views. Bertie had a wonderful time with all the space to run in and explore. They said that everything you could think of was provided, the peace and quiet and the outlook were perfect. I'm so upset that I couldn't go, but we hope to go again next year. Thank you so much to the owners for allowing us the use of their property.

Kate Pickett & Richard Wilkinson
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a magical week in the Timber House - it is so serenely beautiful and we loved watching the seals in the loch. The house is really special, very calming and very comfortable.

Michael
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

if you're looking for a totally relaxing holiday in a beautiful setting in first class accommodation Pooltiel House fits the description.The cottage is a pleasure to stay in with all the features and home comforts you could ask for,clean and spacious and an amazing sea view.

Veronica & John Cook Plus Czar & Woody Cook
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Absolutely fabulous. 2nd time we've been and there will be a 3rd and 4th. The cabin is superb and it's the best sleep that we've ever had. You want for nothing. If you want hustle and bustle this is not for you. It's the most relaxing holiday ever, and the dogs came home for a rest!!!!! GREAT TIME WAS HAD BY ALL

Jane Collins & Nick Gardner
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

This is a fabulous place. A gem of a cottage with a fantastic view. We were welcomed with a tray of tea and biscuits and a bottle of wine in the fridge. The kitchen is well stocked but make sure you buy fresh food for the weekend in Inverness or nearest big town. However there are also great places to eat out including a lively and very friendly pub. Fantastic walks around the area in fine weather but also a lovely open fire to laze in front of if it gets a bit chilly. Amazing sunsets over Rasaay and Skye. We would highly recommend the cottage to friends and family - in fact we already have!

Anne & Adrian
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

Absolutely amazing place.. location, cottage and weather all great. Loved being able to walk from the door to the beach and woods... 7 red deer passed through the garden most evenings.. otter and seals swimming just yards away and the stunning mountains of Skye as a background... wonderful

Peter Hellsten
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We have had the most wonderful time at Plodda Falls Lodge and could not have dreamed of a better place to stay. It surpassed our expectations as it felt more than a real home than a holiday cottage. The kitchen is very well equipped, both living rooms are super cosy, homely and decorated beautifully. We loved all the art work and Jenny, the owner, has gone to great lengths to ensure this historic building retained its character and charm. The surroundings are just breathtaking and we enjoyed stunning woodland walks, the waterfall and gorgeous Glen Afric. This place is a secret gem and we definitely want to return to spend some more relaxing holidays there. Thanks Jenny for making us feel so very welcome. :-)

Ellen Saunders
Reviewed Timber House on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

Timber House

Truly superb accommodation with stunning views of the loch. Highly recommend this beautiful lodge to anyone who appreciates style, quality and an appreciation of nature.

L.Kesselaar
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 30/05/2017
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

Very nice comfortable house. Surroundings are beautiful!!

Greig Craig
Reviewed River Cottage on 29/05/2017
And awarded it

River Cottage

Stayed here for a week in July 2016. The booking process was easy and Wilderness Cottages were a pleasure to deal with. River cottages itself is immaculate and is an excellent base to explore the surrounding area with Inverness being only 1/2 an hour away. The cottage is equipped with everything you need. Our one and only gripe - please replace the couch. We would've rebooked this year but unfortunately it was unavailable on our dates. so we have booked elsewhere with Wilderness Cottages.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr Craig, Thak you for your feedack, the owner has confirmed that the original couch which was a bed settee, was removed and replaced with a comfortable standard sofa.
DORSET
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 23/05/2017
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

We enjoyed our stay at Shepherd's Cottage - great views, very quiet location, well furnished and comfortable house. We particularly liked sitting in the garden watching the local birds. A good base for exploring the area - not far to Lochcarron. Only odd thing was to have two single quilts on the main bed but I expect that is because I had requested non feather duvets.

Nicky & Jon
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

This was our second visit to this lovely cottage and we weren't disappointed, still as beautiful as last year. We stayed for 2 weeks and we had amazing changeable weather sun, rain and snow. It was amazing to see in April. We did lots and lots of walking/hiking covered quite a few miles to see out of the world sites. We saw the Pine marten on the first night and loads of deer and some wonderful stags. We thought we wouldn't see the lovely pine marten again, but as we were leaving early on the last day, we saw him again. So thanks again for a brilliant holiday. Hope we can return one day soon.

Steven McGovern
Reviewed Fon Tobar on 14/05/2017
And awarded it

Fon Tobar

This property has a marvellous view of the loch and the ocean. If you enjoy spotting wildlife from an armchair then expect to see golden eagles, red deer, seals, wheatears and we heard cuckoos every day. For dog owners the enclosed garden is great though it does have a tiny brook running through it so you may need to dry your canine off several times a day! Several good walks close to the property including an hour walk from the door which will take you close to a seal colony which has attracted killer whales previously! A slight negative would be the oven control labels have been erased and the key safe to enter the property is so worn it took 15 minutes for me to recover the key on arrival. Both easily rectified- apart from that very good.

Wilderness Cottages Replied...

Dear Mr McGovern, Thank you for your review and feedback, just to confirm a new key box has now been installed at the property.
Linda Porter
Reviewed Carn Loch Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Carn Loch Cottage

Excellent cottage, in a perfect location. I would highly recommend this cottage to anyone.

Lou & Andrew
Reviewed Jura on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Jura

What a fantastic week we had. Wall to wall sunshine all week. The view from the cottage is just fantastic. The sunroom is such an asset . Also a fabulous place for our dog with the hill behind the cottage. The neighbours were so friendly and helpful....we will definitely book Jura again.

Keith S
Reviewed Ardrannach on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ardrannach

We had a fabulous week on Skye thanks to the well nigh perfect weather. The cottage proved a comfortable and well-located base. Although, as some previous reviewers have noted, the cottage is a bit dated, it has everything required for a holiday.

Ann Cattigan
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

A truly outstanding location with stunning scenery and views. The cottage has everything you need and plan ahead for meals before you come and do a shop or noticed Asda deliveries passing, you should then only need to stock up for basics, garage in Fort Augustus is well stocked. The walks for dogs around this area are brilliant and Murphy had a ball exploring everywhere although I did get blisters but well worth it. The weather has been exceptional sun from dawn till dusk every day (coming from East Scotland, maybe it's true, always sunny in the West!!) The walk to Loch Loyne was well worth it (bear left at red phone box if coming from cottage) and Murphy even swan which is a change from his jumping in the water. Bring bird food as the bird table is mesmerising.

Maggie Pickering
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely well equipped cottage in the most glorious location, we suspect we will never be totally happy at any other cottage we ever book as it would be very hard to beat.

Lesley Healy
Reviewed Lilybank on 10/05/2017
And awarded it

Lilybank

Lilybank is a superb cottage with great views. Was extremely clean on arrival and felt very homely. Would definitely recommend staying and we will definitely return.

J Nicholls
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 08/05/2017
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A beautiful cottage in a quiet remote area, It was set out lovely all on one level and light and airy, beautiful scenery all round with lots of walks around the cottage and not far to 3 beaches. Stoer lighthouse was only 2 miles away and worth visiting I didn't get to see any whales or dolphins but lovely views down to Skye and Hebrides. Jane was close by and very helpful and it is some where I would definitely stay again.

S Allan
Reviewed Tigh Nighean Bhan on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Tigh Nighean Bhan

We very much enjoyed our stay at Tigh Nighean Bhan, a beautiful crofters cottage combining stylish elegance of its interior design with thoughtful period details balanced with modern comforts - plentiful heating and hot water and nice touches - books and maps to help you decide what you would like to do in your time on the Isle of Skye. Thank You.

Marlon & Tracy Sayle
Reviewed Upper Folds on 04/05/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Fantastic property and location. Very comfortable and warm cottage even when it's snowing outside. Abundance of wildlife around the cottage and on the east ridge behind the cottage (we were lucky enough to watch 2 immature golden eagles catching the thermals early one morning while sitting on the plateau). Would we return?.....Absolutely.

David Ball
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 03/05/2017
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Fabulous location to get away from it all. The property its self was 10/10 we felt at home straight away and had everything we needed and more. The only slight complaint i would of had is the cleanness of the property could of had a bit more attention to detail i.e. hovering and dusting in all places and wiping down things in the bathroom that looked stained in places,,,, but the bedding etc was fresh and comfy. The owner Andrew was around on arrival and was great such a friendly guy but never once did he bother us!! Due to our car breaking down we had to extend our stay where Andrew and the team made it possible for us to stay an extra 3 days at a cost price which was very kind of them. All in all a great place and location where i hope to return with my partner again one day.