Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 250 of 2840


The Gray's
Reviewed Sealight on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

We had a fabulous time at Sealight, the weather was very good, apart from the last 2 days, but did not stop us going out walking/ climbing. The house is amazing...everything you could need and cosy, we would defiantly stay again... lots to do if you like the outdoors. Don't know why we had to phone the caretakers as we did twice, but no answer on both occasions!

Elen Sentier
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Such a beautiful place! The cottage is deep in the woods and with no immediate neighbours but still part of the community of Tomich. It's very well appointed, the furnishings are attractive and the two main rooms are large. The window seats are a grerat place to stretch out with a cuppa after a walk and watch the birds who flock around the house. There are several excellent walks directly from the house, indeed we only took the car out one day to go to Glen Affric, and to shop in the local town of Beauly. Beauly has an excellent deli/cafe next door to a very good old fashioned greengrocer - his veg are super - and across the road from a good butcher. There's a Co-Op for basics too, and a bakery. The kitchen is well appointed, lots of useful pots and pans, a good oven and hob, and really good washing machine (Bosch) which is such an advantage for walkers like ourselves. We - Fiona and me - went at the end of March and the one thing we found is that the cottage is cold, we needed the heating! You really noticed when you went out into the corridor as we kept the heating on in the rooms we used. The wood-burner was vital for comfort but the cold meant we didn't use the other very attractive front room. Also the wifi is close to nonexistent. Never mind about not being able to stream videos - we had to split an email with 3 small attachments into 3 separate emails and it still too half an hour to go! As we're both writers with contract deadlines to complete this was something of a blow! But overall we had a delightful week of walking and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed it too :-). It's a wonderful hideaway, peace, quiet and beuty all around you.

Cazamaranda
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Three old friends and one dog for a week - peace and relaxation in a cosy home with uninterrupted views of the sea. The location couldn't have been more perfect, and being right on the beach was a dream come true for us. The cottage itself was well-equipped and spotlessly clean with beautifully laundered bedding and towels (whoever does the cleaning does an excellent job!). We did intend travelling around the area, but ended up spending almost the whole week in the cottage - it was such a lovely place to be. The wood burner in the conservatory was such a fantastic idea and we spent most of the week in there when the weather was wet, staying cosy whilst feeling surrounded by the outdoors. We're already planning our next stay and can't recommend it highly enough.

Ray & Jennifer
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A charming cottage in a pleasant location . The high standard of decoration, available equipment and garden made for an outstanding week .

Sarah, James & JRTs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Cottage was lovely - clean, everything you need for your stay. All mod cons. Spacious and very cosy. Log burner was great, didn't need the heating at all. Jacuzzi bath was an fantastic after long walks. Big porch for all your outdoor gear and loved the decking for watching the wildlife. Garden is dog proof (even for small terriers) - our dogs loved it! Owners were very helpful. And the location - well.....we loved it! Munroes on your doorstep combined with loads of low level walks. Could easily walk each day from cottage and not have to drive anywhere. Great mountain biking too. 15 mins to Spean Bridge - nearest supermarket. 30 mins to Fort William. Loads to do in the area for outdoor enthusiasts, families and elderly parents. In-laws came with us and loved it! Recommend - Glen Roy and the parallel roads; gondola trip and mountain bike trails at Nevis range and the coffee shop in Roy Bridge - Darwin's Rest, awesome home baking, friendly staff ???? Would we book again - def yes!

D.Grundy
Reviewed The Orchids on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had a problem with our booking which Wilderness resolved promptly and efficiently and we enjoyed a great holiday at The Orchids, which is a well equipped property situated overlooking the Loch.

Pauline Currie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a fantastic stay at Beach Lodge. It is so secluded and is located in a beautiful setting set back from the beach. Our 2 dalmatians were in their element and loved the beach. We saw our neighbours who were staying at Shore Cottage a few times other than that we saw no one else. We had the beach to ourselves. Check the tide times before you go. There were only 2 of us staying so we closed the doors of the rooms that we weren't using. On a clear night the stars are amazing. We saw such an abundance of wild life, deer, foxes, hares and of course the farm animals. We had 4 deer in the garden the day we left. The only negative comments that I would make are that some of the furnishings are a bit tired and could be doing with being updated, settee covers could be doing with a wash and it also wasn't as clean as I expected (bathrooms and bedrooms spotless) but none of this would stop me from returning we had a great time. The track down to the cottage isn't suitable for low suspension cars as we found out but with slow careful driving its managable.

Crate Scotland
Reviewed Cuilfail on 02/04/2017
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Very comfortable cottage, clean and reasonably well equipped. The log fire was welcome though we could have done with more logs and kindling.The wheelchair access would be useful to those who required it, though there was no handrail and potentially dangerous. The dogs were welcome and the garden area was made safe for them. Altogether, a good experience in a delightful part of the world.

John & Janet
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a fantastic stay at Seascape Cottage. The cottage is very well appointed and finished to an excellent standard, second to none we have stayed in to date. We received a warm welcome from the hosts, Jane and Chas, including a complimentary bottle of wine. Our hosts have thought of everything including providing dog bowls and towels if you need them. A very peaceful spot with lovely walks from the door and also a short car ride away. We will certainly return.

John Dobbie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Beautiful cottage everything in it you could need. Location amazing,beach was fantastic,did not meet anyone for a week. Peace and quiet brilliant!!

Lorraine Jennie & Abbie
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

My niece and I flew from Michigan, USA to Aberdeen to meet up with our friend, Lorraine, who gave us an amazing tour around the Highlands of Scotland, during which time our home base was at Fort Augustus and the Abbey. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious, clean, well equipped and perfect for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd return to both Scotland and The Abbey in a heartbeat! We never did find Nessie the Loch Ness Monster, but the views were amazing and our time at the Abbey was wonderful. Thank you.

Nev Poole
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Yet again a lovely place to stay. Accommodation excellent and location outstanding. If you want relaxation and being away from the rat race this is the place.

Andy Leicester
Reviewed Rhundunan on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Fantastic place, really relaxing away from it all break. Enjoyed the seals on the rocks, and the rabbits in the garden. House has everything you could possibly need, and more besides. Lovely.

Jason Pickles
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Nice house in secluded location with great walking

Emma
Reviewed Log House on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Log House

Had a lovely time even though it rained nearly the whole time didn't stop us going walking. Lovely log house we enjoyed our relaxing break

Charles & Jenni
Reviewed Ardoch Bothy on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Ardoch Bothy

We had an amazing week in that cottage which is really beautiful, cosy and clean. It is well-equiped (washer/dryer, dishwaher, bathtub, fireplace...), the location is perfect for visiting the Highlands and the view on the loch is gorgeous. Alastair and Carol are really kind and available if we have any questions. We really enjoyed our time there and we will definitely come back in this accommodation.

Linda Mullin
Reviewed Upper Folds on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Perfect location Attention to detail spot on. Very special place.

Dave J
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Fantastic cottage in a fantastic location and the owners very generous with welcome pack.

Kate & George
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

I looked hard for our perfect cottage and I think ii found it at fersit. Safe secure garden for our dogs, well kitted out kitchen, extremely comfortable and efficient heating without the fire but the log fire was fabulous too. A beautiful big view through the big window lots if Highland walks from our doorstep both low level and into the hills. All in all a fabulous place to rest and recharge with your dogs. Would love to return one day.

Mr A Nash
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely stay at Red Kite Cottage in March. Being fairly close to the A9 it is easy to find and very convenient for touring around. The cottage was just as it says in the brochure upon arrival we where met by the owner who was very pleasant and offered advice on the local area. We chose this cottage due to it being dog friendly and was really pleased to see the huge size of the enclosed garden.Within 30 to 60 minutes drive you have historic sites, beautiful beaches country walks and loads of waterfalls not to mention Inverness. We will definitely be returning here in the future.Finally just a mention on the friendly service from the staff at wilderness cottages a delight to deal with.

Lorraine Haswell
Reviewed Glenara on 30/03/2017
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely well appointed cottage in a quiet spot but very close to all amenities. Welcomed by Mr Lee and shown how to use the facilities. Fantastic view of the river, cosy and warm as snowing while we were there. I would highly recommend this cottage as a base to explore Loch Ness and the surrounding area

Neil Smith
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 20/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

This was our first visit to the Highlands and what a visit it was! The Lodge is beautiful; first impressions were amazement at how much more spacious the place is than the photos depict on here. The Lodge is tastefully decorated, very comfortable and you have everything in terms of kitchen and facilities that you could possibly need for your stay. Jenny provides a warm welcome and is such a great host (thanks again for the cake!). The scenery is obviously amazing and this place is truly in the wilderness, it provided a real get-away-from-it-all week for us (party of three and two dogs). The grounds of the Lodge are great with three completely fenced in areas which is perfect for the dogs. Whilst our four legged friends are generally very good, one has youth on her side and to have that added security was really helpful for us to relax knowing she was secure when being let out at night. We unfortunately did have a bad experience with the younger dog when we were there whereby we lost her for five hours about four miles from the Lodge (blaming her youth and sheer excitement at being completely in the wild up there!); obviously a scary and sobering experience for us (and her!) but Jenny was unbelievably helpful and couldn't do enough to help at what was quite a stressful time, we were so grateful to have that network there which she obviously has for situations like that. There is a real nice atmosphere in the area, very much a community and we would wholeheartedly recommend this place to anybody who wants that true wilderness experience but still likes the luxury of a cosy (large!) cottage at the end of the day, A day trip to Beauly and walk to Dog Falls (across the river, recommend walking to the View Point) was as far as we ventured the entire week; with such amazing walks on your doorstep there really is no need to venture much further!

Niels Leadholm
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Absolutely fantastic place, Jeff and Jacqui made us feel extremely welcome, and the beauty of both the cottage and the surrounding area is hard to put into words.

Dr Tanja & Dr Chris
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 19/03/2017
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

An absolutely stunning property in a fantastic location. The cottage itself has been renovated to an exceptional standard and was luxurious to say the least. We were lucky to be only the second set of guests to Arrivain cottage. We were very comfortable during our stay and the cottage had room-specific heating and under-floor heating. The log burner in the lounge added to the ambience and felt very cosy. The kitchen was very well kitted out and Jacqui and Jeff were more than happy to supplement it with any minor addition we asked for. Jeff was on hand to provide more wood for the fire any time we asked and was also a treasure trove of knowledge about the local area, which was fantastic. We had rental bikes delivered to the cottage, which we could store securely in the "wee" shed, which was great. Having a washing machine and tumble dryer was also a nice addition after going out walking and cycling in the local area. We also enjoyed some drives though the spectacular scenery of Glen Orchy, Glen Etive and Glen Coe, all well within an hour of the cottage. All in all, it was a fantastic trip away and felt like a home from home. We very much intend to return. Jacqui and Jeff are passionate about the cottage and were keen to make our stay the best experience they could.

Alex.R.King
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 18/03/2017
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our stay at the Old Lock Keepers Cottage was wonderful, it's such a lovely peaceful setting. A place you visit, and wish you didn't have to leave. We'll definitely be adding it to our places to revisit, there's still more to see and experience.

Harry H
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 15/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

Stayed in November, with family and two dogs. It was such a lovely break, I can't stop thinking about it. The snow came down on the third day and the skies remained clear for the rest of the stay. Wonderful long, wild walks in all directions. The house is comfortable, as you would expect of a Victorian lodge, and perfect for dogs. I shall return soon.

Maggie & Mike Adkins
Reviewed Red Kite Log Cabin on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

Red Kite Log Cabin

We had a lovely relaxing stay at Red Kite Log Cabin. So clean and fresh. Very well equipped. Lovely quiet area to sit in the garden and take in the surrounding countryside. We barely left the Black Isle and the lovely villages nearby were a treat to visit especially Rosemarkie beach. Great for walks with the dog. A treat also to see 7 actual red kite birds of prey just along from the cottage. Thank you to Margaret & Paul.

Francois E.
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

Absolutely marvelous, such a peaceful place! Great facilities by the way. An improvement would be a better wi-fi, because the connection can be low sometimes.

Lisa & Family
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/03/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

The cottage is perfectly situated 2 miles down a quiet road. It's remote and wonderfully quiet but there are also a few other homes near enough if you need anything. Equally, you're not too far from Roybridge and Spean Bridge if you want a meal. Entering the cottage, the cottage exceeded our expectations.... everything was thought of and provided.... from the substantial supply of wood for the log burner to the coffee maker to the dishwasher tablets, to the supply of towels and extra bedding. The cottage is well furnished, clean and spacious. The beds were comfortable. And the log burner was heavenly each night. It really felt like a home away from home. The owners were easily accessible and very helpful. There's several low-level walks around the area, which were great for our 9 year old and the Jacobite Steam Engine and the famous viaduct from Harry Potter is nearby. We've got our eye on a return trip in warmer weather for some of the Munro's and the obligatory Steam Engine! Can't recommend the cottage enough!

Phillip Ingle
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 07/03/2017
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a fantastic time staying at Cluny Croft. The cottage was absolutely perfect. It had everything we needed. It was lovely and warm when we arrived and had excellent central heating as well as a well stocked wood pile and coal bin. The place was was spotlessly clean when we arrived, we hope we left it as clean. We will definitely be back.

Jan, Tony, Iain & Bertie
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 04/03/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

We had a fantastic week in February 2017. We avoided the warmer months as we have previous experience of the Scottish midges which seem to love us far more than we love them, but we also wanted to capture crisp, clear winter scenery. We had wondered whether we might be met with snowy winter scenes, but the weather did not oblige. However, the hard, biting frost, the morning mists and the many picturesque icicles more than compensated and there was a covering of snow on the top of the hills. In fact, having Bertie the cocker spaniel, it was a blessing that the weather was cold and frosty, the ground hard and no mud. It made it so much easier to keep the wilderness outside and the cottage its impeccable best We had often passed by travelling further north but had never explored Glens Affric, Urquhart and Cannich. We were not disappointed! It was a truly unique location with lots to explore and photograph, particularly the plentiful deer in Glen Cannich and the early morning visitors to the bird-table! Plodda Falls was amazing, and just a stroll away. The cottage was extremely well-equipped, comfortable and tastefully furnished. There was plentiful literature on the Estate and local history, and had the weather been foul we could quite happily have entertained ourselves in front of the very relaxing wood burner. Relaxing by the fire after a day in the Glens was wonderfully soporific. Given the outside temperatures it was not surprising that we got through quite a bit of wood, but as we are townies, unaccustomed to the rural rigors of wilderness Scotland, that's not surprising. Our only disappointment was that the biomass heating wasn't operational as this would have reached the parts the electric panel heaters didn't! There are so many positives: the magnificently comfortable beds, the care and attention to detail that has gone into renovation and refurbishment, Jenny's warm welcome and wealth of local knowledge and information, not to mention the lemon drizzle cake, fantastic location, stunning scenery and a beautiful cottage.

Steve Phelps
Reviewed Sealight on 04/03/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

A dream of a house in a perfect location. We had a wonderful relaxing stay that even Storm Doris couldn't spoil. The property is in the perfect location and is the best equipped we have ever stayed in. We managed to get on the hills and had some wonderful trips further afield. The wildlife is amazing and the nightly visits from the Pine Martens made our holiday. We will definitely be back.

Kay & Adrian Starkey & Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 02/03/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in August 2016 for a week. Well where shall I start. What an amazing holiday we had, we had the most relaxing week we've ever had. One of the best bits about not having internet or a phone signal for this holiday is that you truly don't miss it and we enjoyed spending real quality family time together, playing games, talking and going for walks with our dog Tia. We had the most relaxing holiday we've ever had. So please don't let the loss of Internet and phone signal put you off staying at this wonderful place with beautiful gardens too. The lodge is beautiful and there's everything you could possibly need. We loved to sit in the sun room in the day and watch the weather change and the wildlife flying around. Abundant with birds, the best was the woodpeckers, something I've never seen before. On a night we loved the open fire very cosy, and if you go outside on a clear night to look at the stars, because of the remoteness of the cottage there's no light pollution and we've never seen so many stars. The location that the lodge is in is lovely for walking from your doorstep, plodda falls is a must and Glen Affric is about 15 mins away by car. Guischan Lodge is set in a Estate with the old house ruins just a short walk away, Jenny the owner told us all about the history of the Estate which was fascinating. Jenny was very friendly and we loved meeting her. There's probably so much more I could write. We loved it that much we've booked for this year. Thank you for a wonderful time.

Jones Family
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 02/03/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We spent our half term break staying here and it was wonderful. The setting and the location is incredible, the Croft itself is very comfortable, has a great log burner and sauna and is the perfect get away at any time of year. We would love to go back in the Summer time as it was rather wet in February but we were expecting that anyway and we were still able to get out and about regardless of the weather. This is perfect for a young family or couples looking to escape from the realities of the world for a while!

Ashley & Amy Cowx
Reviewed Easter Drumine Cottage on 01/03/2017
And awarded it

Easter Drumine Cottage

We arrived at the cottage in the dark, the directions were spot on... We got to the cottage and walked in to a lovely warm, clean and inviting place. After a little explore we settled down with a glass of wine (provided on arrival which was a nice touch) and watched the stars. The cottage is really spacious and with underfloor heating throughout stays nice a toasty, three children really enjoyed it, high chair, cot etc everything we needed was there, even the log burner was set up for us ready to light with logs provided. The woods surrounding were nice to explore and then just 25minute drive to Inverness it's an ideal location.. would definitely recommend and would revisit.. you won't be disappointed if you visit...

Anthony
Reviewed Stoer Lodge on 01/03/2017
And awarded it

Stoer Lodge

This is a wonderful part of Scotland. If you like being out of the way then this is the place to go. Beach on your back door step, the enclosed garden is also much bigger than the pictures make it seem, plenty big enough for an energetic border collie to run around in. All bedding and sofa cushions are feather so if you are allergic I would advise bringing your own bedding/ pillows. The internet is of good enough quality (about 1-2mb) for searching for local attractions/ driving routes etc. The lounge/ dining room is a brilliant size and would easily fit 8 people (we were only in a group of 4). Again the pictures do not show how large this room is. There is a huge dining table that would comfortably fit 8 and probably more. There were basic things like salt, pepper, oil, various spices left there when we arrived which was useful but I would advise doing a decent sized shop at Tesco in Ullapool on your way in, you can get most things though from the Spar in Lochinver There is a bigger beach 5 mins up the road, Clashnessie Bay, perfect for dogs to have a big run, also we saw seals here swimming around close to the shore and also laying on the rocks over to the right of the bay.

Ray Currie
Reviewed Kilmaluag Bay Cottage on 28/02/2017
And awarded it

Kilmaluag Bay Cottage

The cottage is set in a stunning location. The owners made us extremely welcome, with fresh baking, bread and wine, a lovely touch. Their attention to detail in the cottage is super and you won't be without, they've thought of it all! Although the cottage is a little isolated, the short drives around to villages for shops or eating places are always worth it. We had a really chilled week, ate well, drank well, exercised well and slept well (even when the weather was challenging!) You will be struggling to find better in Skye! *****

The Furnell's
Reviewed Cameron's Cottage on 26/02/2017
And awarded it

Cameron's Cottage

Excellent cottage, great location, great coffee shop within 2 minutes walk from the front door. Ideal base to explore the area, only disappointment was NO snow you can't have everything. Morag the owner was very friendly and helpful. The nearest supermarket is 20 minutes away but for orders over £40. Tesco deliver for free. A god send but don't forget anything as we did. Will definitely be returning in the future. If you have a spare day go to the Ben Nevis range and go up on a gondola, great experience and views.

Samuel Bedford
Reviewed The Shed Tokavaig on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

The Shed Tokavaig

The Shed is a beautiful building, with lovely social spaces laid out to make the most of the incredible location and views. Our friends and family all loved it, and would very much stay again. The bedrooms, although tucked away at either end, are perfectly sized, and all have easy access to a bathroom close by. Mary, the owner, was helpful prior to and during our stay. Now, if we could do something about that Scottish weather!

Helen Grice
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is the ideal getaway, fantastic location and the cottage has everything you need, The track down to the cottage is a little rugged and care is needed. We have been twice and loved every second of it. For those 4 legged friends they will love the beach , right on the doorstep. This is a secluded property so don't expect to see anyone else, Shops and cafes etc within a few miles. The local deer, squirrels and birds of prey also make a regular appearance.

Merritt
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We spent 3 nights at Seascape Cottage - a perfect 'get away from it all' cottage. The location was just what we wanted - close to the sea with terrific sea views from the living room and main bedroom. The cottage was warm, very well equipped and very comfortable. And the owners were very friendly and helpful. There's no wi-fi or mobile reception at the cottage, which is fine if you are happy to be 'off grid' - but you can get a signal just up the hill from the cottage.

David Burton
Reviewed Erchless Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Erchless Cottage

What a great cottage and location, all excellent facilities, very helpful stewards and friendly. We had a great holiday. P.S. The weather was good too.

Angela
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

I took my dog to Seaview Cottage on the shore of Lochcarron in Feb. It was a lovely cozy cottage. Great view from the kitchen of the Loch. I really enjoy the coal fire in the evening. Restful holiday and great base for walks

Rebecca
Reviewed Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House) on 24/02/2017
And awarded it

Tigh-na-Craobh (The Tree House)

Lovely house with gorgeous views. The log fire was absolutely perfect for a cosy night in! Would definitely recommend.

Michael Cracknell
Reviewed Gate House on 21/02/2017
And awarded it

Gate House

Absolutely outstanding house, beautiful surroundings and warm. We were all lucky this week as the weather was beautiful, apart from one morning, but that didn't matter. Plenty to do locally and further away, and nice and quiet at this time of the year too!

Jessica Russell
Reviewed Moll Cottage on 14/02/2017
And awarded it

Moll Cottage

My husband and I came to Skye in January for a brief respite from a hectic year. We loved Moll Cottage! It is in a beautiful and tranquil location. It took us a few nights to get used to the silence and amazing darkness, but it was just what we needed! The cottage was spotless and the kitchen very well equipped. The spacious closet in the bedroom allowed us to unpack and store our suitcases under the bed (which was extremely comfortable), making the two rooms feel quite spacious. The wood-burning stove was excellent and there was plenty of fuel, although we really didn't need much as the cottage is well insulated and a small fire made the cottage very cozy! The television had excellent reception, but we only watched it once because there are fantastic views from the cottage windows. We enjoyed waking up each morning to see the water just at the edge of the lawn and seeing red deer, otters, seals, cormorants, shags, and eagles. The single-track road to the cottage seems to have been patched up and in slightly better condition coming from Broadford rather than Sconser. Moll Cottage was the perfect place to get away from it all! I am sure we will be back! Jessica Russell

Lian Boden
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/02/2017
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We had the most wonderful week at the spacious yet cosy Hill Head Croft. We felt instantly at home and we're very impressed with the excellent facilities. We also found the guest book and info shelf incredibly helpful when planning our week. We thoroughly enjoyed every moment of our holiday and we're thrilled with the number of walks from our doorstep and around the loch area. Stunning scenery and colour changes during our stay which made it extra special. We'd exhausted our two springers by the end of the week which was no mean feat!We would highly recommend Hill Head Croft and would love to return in the future. A big thank you to Wilderness Cottages for their excellent customer service when we needed to change the dates of our booking.

The Ferguson Family
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

What an amazing cottage/house! We lucked out getting a late cancellation for Guisachan when looking for somewhere for a weeks' holiday with our daughter and our dogs. It's a beautiful, clean, comfortable and warm house with an open fire. It's full of everything you need for the week, including the best equipped holiday cottage kitchen I've experienced, lots of books, games, maps, toys, very comfortable beds and a selection of sofas ( and rooms ) to lounge around on. The garden is huge and gorgeous with a dog proof fence. The owner Jenny lives in the house next door and was the perfect host, being available to answer any questions about the house and area, but never imposing on us. We also had a lovely lemon cake waiting for us on arrival. The area is perfect for exploring with dogs, being next to the woods, Plodda falls and a short drive from Glen Affric. Made use of our bikes mainly for going to the Tomich Hotel for dinner, but could cycle for miles off road if you wanted.. We also went pony trekking nearby at Cougie and went dolphin watching on the Black Isle. We will definitely be returning.

Graeme & Teresa
Reviewed Guisachan Lodge on 07/02/2017
And awarded it

Guisachan Lodge

We stayed at Guisachan Lodge in October last year with our two dogs Murphy and Hitch. We all had a wonderful relaxing time. The house is well equipped and spotlessly clean. The garden is dog friendly and you can open the door without fear they can escape onto the road, countless numbers of birds visit the feeders and for the first time in our lives we witnessed BADGERS playing in the next field. Our dogs are not big on walking as they are both getting on a bit but they did manage a walk to the nearby pub which welcomed them with open arms, and there is a coffee shop across from the pub that do lovely home bakes with seats outside so the dogs don't miss out. We have booked to go for New Year but will be visiting again sometime during the year to distress and relax in this lovely quiet part of the country. Well done Jenny (the owner) you have created the perfect home from home, see you again soon.

Chris & Sandra Bonsall
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 03/02/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

A cosy, comfortable and relaxing cottage in a lovely location. Perfect for exploring this fantastic coastline. We wanted for nothing.......even the weather was on our side......