Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 201 to 250 of 3067


M.a. De Wolff
Reviewed Fhaireag on 28/06/2018
And awarded it

Fhaireag

We enjoyed our stay in fhaireag very much and will come back in the near future. Love Schotland.

Martin Swingler
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 27/06/2018
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

Cluny cottage was fantastic it is so roomy and has everything you need. The location is idea for visiting the surrounding area.. I would highly recommend this place to all.

Jan & Craig
Reviewed Seal Skerry Lodge on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Seal Skerry Lodge

This is one of the most beautiful cottages we have stayed in. A stunning place to recharge your batteries while soaking in the beautiful panorama. Truly peaceful.

William Lee
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

What an absolutely fantastic place, good location and extremely well equipped.

Andrew Gardiner
Reviewed Torvaig Cottage on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Torvaig Cottage

Lovely cottage, everything of high quality and tastefully done. Dog friendly is much appreciated. Interesting books to read too. Garden steeply sloping but secure. The cottage is walkable from Portree (quite steep in places) but makes a very nice walk.

Ian & Chris
Reviewed The Orchids on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

The Orchids

This was our second stay at The Orchids, the property is excellent, like home from home, it is also in a wonderful location. The views of the Loch are amazing, seals are at play at the nearby Jetty 24/7. The Orchids is well presented, the photos and views are perhaps better than shown on the online advert. Duirinish Peninsula is also an excellent base from which to explore Skye.

WENDY M
Reviewed Tor Fionn on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Tor Fionn

Fabulous little cottage in a beautiful village. Tor Fionn has everything you could possibly need, coal fire, electric blankets, best equipped kitchen anywhere I have stayed, beautiful views, pretty little back garden with table and chairs and lots of maps and useful local information. We had a lovely few days here. Do visit Atterdale gardens locally and Armadale gardens on Skye. Local craft shops sell nice things you will want not tat. We ate at the Bistro, Carron restaurant and Lochcarron Hotel. All very nice, local venison is superb.

Marco De Lange
Reviewed Grain Store on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Grain Store

A very beautifull cottage for a super relaxing holiday period! Perfect!

Elizabeth Forbes
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 26/06/2018
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

The Old Loch Keepers Cottage is in a great location, half a mile from the road, it is very peaceful but next to the lock so usually a bit of boating activity to watch during the day. The track to reach the cottage is wide and well surfaced so no problem to reach the cottage. The cottage is well equipped, we have never stayed in a cottage with a fish kettle! but it also had everything else we required. If there are eight of you may find the single four cup coffee pot a bit small but otherwise no lack. Our dog enjoyed the enclosed garden and seeing people go past and this makes the lock side location safe for children too. There are great walks nearby including walking towards Fort Augustus on the tow path or along Loch Oich on the Great Glen Way. Fort Augustus is always busy with coach tours but we had a good lunch at the Loch Inn. The Londis store at the petrol station is quite well stocked but Fort William now has a brand new Aldi and M&S Food to compliment its existing Morrisons. My main advice would be take lots of midge repellent and then relaxing will be easy.

Martin Williams
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 25/06/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

This was a fantastic cottage, the views were great watching the gannets diving in to sea most mornings and nights. Chas & Jane looked after us with info of what to see & do. This was well off the beaten track but well worth the stay.The owners have thought of everything for the cottage.

Ann Murdock
Reviewed Seabank Cottage on 25/06/2018
And awarded it

Seabank Cottage

We spent a lovely week at this fabulous cottage. The location was superb and had everything we could wish for. We will definitely be back.

Darren Mclay
Reviewed Eilean Mor Cottage on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Eilean Mor Cottage

Stayed at Eilean Mor cottage for a week at the start of June. Very clean, cosy and comfortable cottage. Everything you need. Spent most of our nights sitting in the conservatory relaxing with a glass of wine after a days walking in the hills of Skye. Only one small complaint was that the Wi-Fi did not work for the whole week we stayed. Called the caretaker who couldn't have been more apologetic. Informed me that BT had called the week before and the problem had supposedly been fixed. A new hub arrived while we were there so hopefully the problem has been fixed. One other small thing was the lack of any blind or frosted glass on the bathroom window. No privacy. All in all would not hesitate to book the cottage again. Thanks Darren McKay Stayed 9th June 2018

Guenter & Helga
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

Scare Bay Cottage is a nice cottage with all facilities we need. We stayed a week in June. We like the remote cottage and use it for a place to travel through the north of Skye to make walks. Also from the cottage we walked to Rubha Hunish, the most northern point of Skye. After a breezy and sometimes wet day it was wonderful to come to the cosy and warm cottage.

O'Shea's
Reviewed Aros Beag on 20/06/2018
And awarded it

Aros Beag

This is a lovely cottage situated right be the river and very quiet and private. The West Highland Way is literally 3 minutes walk away from your door and there are plenty of walks very nearby. Ideal location for visiting the surrounding areas. Ideally I would love a washing machine in the property but hey you can't have everything? the owners will do washing for you if needed. I would like to say for all the people who like their technology that there is Wi-fi but in this area it can be a little hit and miss. For us there had been very bad weather and the lightning had knocked it out but that was just nature doing it's thing! The owners are lovely and very helpful.

Robert & Sylvia
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

Wonderful great cottage in fantastic landscape. Nice contrast between the roughness of the terrain and the finesse and comfort of the interior. Everything you could possible need is available at this thoughtfully crafted home-away form home. Excellent located to visit the many beautiful gardens, castles, parks and great nature of the Peninsula of the Rhins of Galloway. We have seen many beautiful birds, seals, deer and other wildlife during our stay. Very nice tearooms and some good restaurants in Port Patrick and Stranraer. Very friendly owners which are helpful if wanted but are very aware to have you keep your privacy. We loved our two weeks here!

Emmie & (Skipper The Dog)
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

Absolutely fab time at Pine Lodge, a perfect base for exploring the Western Highlands. The cabin is comfy, well equipped and has plenty of space. There's a lovely view over Loch Kishorn and the garden is visited by many beautiful birds AND, of course, the famous Pine Marten. Would recommend Pine Lodge without hesitation and would definitely book it again in the future. A wonderful stay for both of us!

Lynne Walker
Reviewed Sixgeary on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Sixgeary

A delightful cottage with stunning views. Very well equipped. A real hideaway in a beautiful and remote part of Skye. Thoroughly recommended.

Victoria
Reviewed Log House on 19/06/2018
And awarded it

Log House

Had a wonderful week long stay at the beautiful and tranquil Log House, Auchterawe. First holiday with our dog. We intend to return next year.

Alex & Janet Wright
Reviewed An Sealladh on 18/06/2018
And awarded it

An Sealladh

Cosy, well equipped cottage with ample space for guests to spread out! Beds were very comfortable, plenty of towels for really nice shower downstairs. Nice short walk to Lochinver and plenty of dog walking opportunities in the near vicinity. Lots of deer around too. Weather was brilliant, what more could you want? Loved it!

Peter From Herefordshire
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

This is the first time we have stayed here and it was a pleasant surprise. Small but clean and very functional. It is next door to the starts of a number of Munro mountains to walk and I took full advantage of that. A dead end narrow lane to the property, it is really quiet with just a handful of houses nearby. Spean Bridge is 20 minutes away. Very few negatives, but we thought the log effect cladding was one.

Richard Henry
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

1 word to describe our visit again.... Awesome ?

David & Mary Wilders
Reviewed Pier Head on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

Pier Head

We were so lucky to find Sheildaig, the perfect Scottish lochside village and of course to have Pier Head recommended by Wilderness Cottages - the ideal house with all comforts in a perfect situation. This accommodated our family of three adults and two children. Being close to the shop/pub and an excellent cafe was very convenient.

Annmarie
Reviewed Stable Cottage on 17/06/2018
And awarded it

Stable Cottage

Stable cottage is a beautiful accommodation in the most stunning setting. We stayed in May, and the woods were filled with blue bells, and so much wildlife, roe deer, red squirrels, woodpeckers, jays, owls to name a few. Our children had a great time riding bikes and fishing, although we struggled to catch anything. The only down side was the renovation works which, while they didn't interfere with our holiday as such, it did prevent the children playing in the courtyard as trucks came in and out during the day from about 8am. Having said that we would happily return again

Fran & Neil
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 16/06/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

Cath & Chris were very welcoming, very accommodating and helpful. If you want peace and quiet and want to be away from it all then this is perfect. We travelled by motorbike and had no trouble finding the lodge and the views on the way are lovely. The lodge is of a very high standard and very well equipped in all rooms and the hot tub is a lovely luxury. Bath robes are provided for inside the lodge and for the hot tub which was very nice and most welcomed. This is an Island so roads and amenities are not like the mainland, we picked up groceries at Broadford Co-op on our way which had a good selection of food, the one in Poretree is slightly smaller but still has most items you need. The post office in Glendale, 10mins away (by car) from the lodge has essentials should you need them, we enjoyed the walk there but it is a good 2-3 hours there and back. Overall we throughly enjoyed our stay at the lodge and will definitely visit the island again.

Michaela & Jorg Lehmann
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 14/06/2018
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

A very cosy cottage, very tidy, and the heart of it is the AGA! Fine location, good views, a very friendly host Jane, who baked scones for us when leaving.

A D & B From Northumberland
Reviewed Upper Folds on 14/06/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

Our second of hopefully many more stays in Upper Folds. It is a beautiful place which provides the perfect location for a relaxing holiday. Thank you to the owners for their vision in creating the cottage.

Andrew & Louise
Reviewed Jura on 13/06/2018
And awarded it

Jura

Spent two fabulous weeks in this most idyllic spot. Sunshine everyday. Never get fed up of the view from the sunroom...definitely a place to escape from the madness of life.

Lorrain & Arthur Fenning & Gizmo The Dog
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 13/06/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

Lovely cottage great to relax and enjoy the tranquility of the glen. The cottage has everthing you need and spacious bedrooms lovely and cosy for a great nights sleep, ready for the day of exploring the island. There is lots to see and do, plenty of sheep and chickens roaming round the garden which is great for the dog.

Wendy & Stewart Bithell
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 13/06/2018
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Our 15th visit to Poulary Cottage, The first time we have stayed during the May Bank Holiday and we were not disappointed! The weather was HOT! (mid 20's) a little snow remained on the mountain tops even with the hot weather and no rain all week. Very few midges. Its lovely to be able to visit the cottage in different seasons the landscape surrounding the cottage is always breathtaking and we never tire of the ever changing views from the dining room window or watching the wildlife. We were lucky to be able to film the Pine marten in daylight, a delight as always to watch. We love this place for its central location, with so many places to visit whether it be historical sites, beaches, Munros to bag or just ambling through a forest or alongside a loch or river. Or even just spending time relaxing at the wonderful cosy well equipped cottage. We will be back in the summer, the perfect place to holiday in the Highlands. Stunning views, the wildlife, peace and tranquility, Love it!

Caroline Pennington
Reviewed Upper Folds on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Upper Folds

We had the best holiday we have ever had with Wilderness Cottages. The property was perfect in every way. The process of booking with Wilderness cottages was easy and clear and their description was honest and could not have been better. Quite simply it was all made for a perfect holiday experience. So so very impressed. The property was just everything we could have dreamed of and we had a holiday we will remember fondly forever...

A.Vickery
Reviewed Balmachree on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Balmachree

We were a group of 7 walkers so the location was ideal for heading in any direction and within an hour's drive of lots of hills. Balmachree is a lovely, comfortable, well equipped house - plenty space for everyone and in a very peaceful spot. Some plumbing noise in the upstairs toilet is a minor maintenance issue but in no way spoiled our stay. We would all have been happy to have Balmachree as our home!

HelenT
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We spent a wonderful week at Hill Head Croft. Beautiful home from home with everything we needed in spectacular surroundings. Lots to see and do locally and also very easy to relax. The lovely garden was a peaceful haven and being completely enclosed was perfect for our dog to explore. Thoroughly recommend this place!

Rob Whitworth
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

From a family that lives in a metropolis, with constant noise and the usual daily goings on of the modern world, katies cottage was a haven of peace and tranquillity. It's location is remote, but absolutely perfect to unwind and forget about the world. The cottage is furnished well, with beautiful views over the glen towards mcleods tables. The weather on Skye was exceptionally warm, but the cottage would be great in all weather.

Alistair Cameron
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We spent a wonderful week at Pine Cottage which met and indeed exceeded our needs. It is situated in beautiful surroundings with good access to great walking, cycling and touring country. Negatives? - None.

Name: Art
Reviewed Log House on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is a wonderfull place in the forestS near Loch Ness. The house is big, has everything you need and is clean. We enjoyed our stay very much. Thank you for sharing this place...

Steve Sargent
Reviewed The Granary on 12/06/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

Lovely cottage in a great location for exploring the highlands. Owners, Colin and Yvonne gave us a very warm welcome and were full of great local information enabling us to get the most out of our stay and very helpful. For an exciting stay in the highlands this is definitely the place to stay. I would recommend The Granary to all,we'll be seeing them again on our next trip to Scotland. Thanks for making it so memorable. Best wishes for the future.

Alan Robertson
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/06/2018
And awarded it

South Lodge

South Lodge cottage is the perfect getaway if you're looking to escape the hustle and bustle of modern life . The cottage itself is very well equipped and the view is spectacular . If you arrive with all your supplies for the week, you won't even have to have to move your car, why would you when you're surrounded by so many beautiful walks from your doorstep. The cottage is also much more spacious than it looks in the website photographs . The wood-burning fire was lovely for a cosy evening and we especially loved the bathroom . Finally, the cherry on the cake was NO mobile reception !!!

R & S
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

An excellent property which had all.you needed for a relaxing stay. The view from the property is stunning and has lots of wildlife to enjoy

A Jones
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

This is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in and we have had lot the views and facilities are first class we will definitely be booking again the only downfall is the pot holes in the road.

RHallam
Reviewed Timber House on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Timber House

The cottage was excellent with spectacular views of Skye and very well equipped. It was lovely to sit at the picture window and watch the changing view including the lambs, birds and seals.

Jane T
Reviewed Arrivain Cottage on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Arrivain Cottage

Excellent cottage in lovely surroundings with easy access to some great hill walking. A bonus was the wildlife, including red squirrels, in the garden.

Andi G.
Reviewed Shepherd's Cottage on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Shepherd's Cottage

First time at the cottages. Great rural location, excellent house, very well equiped. Not many of this type!

Rachel Hayes
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 04/06/2018
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Plodda Falls Lodge is one of the most stunning houses I have ever stayed in; the place is simply magical. Set in the most stunning location (literally in the pine forest), the wildlife is wonderful and the sense of peace overwhelming. Jenny the owner has sympathetically restored this beautiful house, and it is a warm and inviting with an understated luxurious feel. It was also absolutely immaculate and the attention to detail was wonderful. Lovely Jenny greeted us on our arrival with a divine homemade cake, and there were fresh flowers from the garden in the house. The house is roomy and peaceful, and the kitchen has everything you could possibly need. I doubt i will ever sleep as well as i did at Plodda Falls Lodge, the beautiful bed in the master bedroom has THE most comfortable mattress! There are so many amazing walks right on your doorstep and wandering through the forest in the morning with the dog really was good living! I would highly recommend this property to anyone who appreciates nature and peace and quiet, and to anyone who needs to recharge their batteries. Well done to Jenny, the love and care that she puts into this property is so apparent and was so very much appreciated by us. It was a perfect spot for our honeymoon, and we will treasure the memories forever. We certainly hope to return one day. Rache, Drew & Dexy x

HelenN
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 03/06/2018
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Wonderful holiday in beautiful and relaxing surroundings. Hill Head Croft was a home from home with everything you could need or want to hand. Fantastic dog (and people) friendly garden. Great walks close by and further afield in this stunning area of Scotland. Did not want to leave!

Carol Morris
Reviewed Tor Cottage on 03/06/2018
And awarded it

Tor Cottage

A beautiful place to stay on Harris with stunning views across the bay. We had mixed weather but even when it was cold and wet outside the cottage was very cosy and a great place to relax. The log-burner had been lit for our arrival which was very welcome. peace and quiet but very well placed for visiting Harris and Lewis.

Myrajo
Reviewed Ardbeg on 02/06/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

This was an exceptional house. Everything that we required. Very clean and well maintained. The views were stunning from the decking. We shall certainly recommend to others.

Kath Hooper
Reviewed Pier Head on 02/06/2018
And awarded it

Pier Head

An extremely comfortable and clean cottage in an excellent position. The views to Sheildaig Island are fantastic and we were lucky enough to have some stunning sunsets whilst we were there.

TC Mimi
Reviewed Pipers Lodge on 01/06/2018
And awarded it

Pipers Lodge

So much to say and so little time. First getting to Borreraig is rough..... Especially for those uninitiated to Scotland rural areas. I am sure it is no different than anywhere else in the Isle of Skye but the drive is brutal! If you have the chance to stop in Broadford or even before you get on the island for groceries and supplies - do so! The Co-Op in Portree was awful but better then Dunvegan. On the way home we saw the Co-Op in Broadford and it looked much nicer and better stocked. Once you get to Piper's Lodge you will think you are in heaven. Chris and Cath are your hosts and they are delightful. They are working hard to make this cabin a true respite away from the rest of the world and they are doing a great job. Right now they are still working on the landscaping but it had absolutely no impact on our stay. The cabin itself is constructed of high end materials and very comfortable. The water pressure is incredible, the shower has a temperature gauge on it so you don't have to guess if the temp is right or not (very cool). Towels are top end and very comfortable. The bed is a true king sized bed and very comfortable. The kitchen is well stocked with kitchen ware and a few essentials (olive oil, salt, pepper, etc). The hot tub outside is a wonderful respite after a day of hiking. Chris and Cath supplied robes and really nice towels for the hot tub. Sitting outside on the deck for meals was so pleasant. All you can hear are the birds and sheep. Very restful and peaceful. We will would enthusiastically encourage anyone to stay at Pipers Lodge and be smart - stay longer than the 3 days we did. We wish we had planned a full week.

Anne W
Reviewed Ardbeg on 01/06/2018
And awarded it

Ardbeg

What a fantastic place to stay, a real home from home. Everything you could need and so much more.

Stephanie
Reviewed The Granary on 01/06/2018
And awarded it

The Granary

We had an wonderful time at this absolutely beautiful cottage. It's perfectly equipped and very clean. The location is great to explore the Highlands. Thank you to our hosts Yvonne and Colin who made us feel very welcome!