Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2001 to 2050 of 2966


Simon & Alison Ball
Reviewed Timber House on 30/08/2011
And awarded it

Timber House

Skye has got into our blood and we've returned again and again - finding Timber House has been icing on the cake. Every time we looked out the huge windows we didn't know if we'd be greeted by dancing stoats, racing sheep, wandering highland cattle or lazy, basking seals. The only downside of Timber House is how you feel when you have to leave.

Clare
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 30/08/2011
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Dominik Krister
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 30/08/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We have been holidaying in the UK since a long time and this is maybe the best property that we've stayed in so far. The cottage lies in a magnificient setting and is full of character and very well equipped. The master bedroom is just great and really hotel-like. Each bedroom has an own bathroom with shower and wc and there is an additional one on the ground floor! The garden is lovely and the humans and dogs in our party enjoyed it very much. Highly recommended!

Dominik Krister
Reviewed Mealishal on 30/08/2011
And awarded it

Mealishal

Caroline Greenwood
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 29/08/2011
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We had a wonderful week at Burnside Cottage of Geddes. A lovely cottage, beautifully decorated with loads of character...so peaceful and with so many thoughtful details in what was provided for visitors too. We were delighted too by the range of places to explore in easy striking distance...Cairngorms, coastline, Black Isle and, of course, many distillaries to mane but a few. Thank you

Mrs A Jolley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/08/2011
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We stayed in this cottage in August 2011 and from first arriving we were amazed at the stunning location. The cottage was well equipped with everything you need, although it didn't tell us on the advertisement about the chest freezer in the shed outside which was a great bonus ( for the beers ). We had fantastic weather all week hot and sunny. We would go to this cottage again and recommend it to anyone. oh and the sat nav took us to the wrong side of bay ! Anne Graham. Dot and Jack .

Marius
Reviewed Nessie's Nook on 27/08/2011
And awarded it

Nessie's Nook

Stephen Eblet
Reviewed Chapel House on 27/08/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

Simon Allen
Reviewed The Granary on 26/08/2011
And awarded it

The Granary

stayed in the granary august 2011, lovely cottage thanks to the owners and wilderness..be back.. simon, therese,bradley

Louise & Andrew Rackham
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 26/08/2011
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

6/8/11 to 20/8/11 We and our black lab Jura had the most wonderful two weeks. Perfect cottage in a perfect location. The weather was a mixed bag but didn't stop us doing things. The cottage was lovely, cosy and warm and had everything you needed and the welcome tea tray with flowers, a bottle of wine and two boneos for Jura started the holiday off in true style. Applecross is such a special place, has a great pub and a lovely restaurant at the Potting Shed. Didn't want to come home!!!

The Prices
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 25/08/2011
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

Fantastic cottage, loved the wood fires, lots of atmosphere, comfortable, will definitely come again. Thank you!

Joy
Reviewed Station Cottage on 25/08/2011
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Lovely, well equipped and tastefully renovated cottage. Very clean. Ideally located for exploring the Cairngorms and beyond. We would choose this cottage again.

Kate
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We all loved Ceol na Mara, beautiful views and the beach just at the bottom of the garden. We were very cosy (the cottage was very well equiped) and had a very relaxing week. We would definately consider returning.

Donald, Alessandra, Rena & Maya
Reviewed Matheson's Croft House on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Matheson's Croft House

We had a fantastic week at Matheson's Croft. It manages to be perfectly secluded with views across Loch Duich to Eilan Donan castle, yet in the middle of nowhere. Mum saw Red Deer in the garden one morning, we had regular visits from a hawk, the next door neighbour saw an otter one morning. Perfect peace and quiet. The house itself is small but beautifully turned out with high-end fittings and furnishings. The owners have made a lovely job of it all. Highly recommended.

Darren Firth
Reviewed Chapel House on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

Jo Keown
Reviewed Rowan Tree Cottage on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Rowan Tree Cottage

Jacqueline White
Reviewed Swallow Byre on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Swallow Byre

Had a fantastic week long break at Swallow Byre start of August. Superb location, beautifully furnished with loads of character. Fantastic beaches nearby. Warm welcome from the owner Jane who was a mine of useful information. If you enjoy peace and solitude this is the place for you. Can't wait to return.

Nic
Reviewed Braefoot Cottage on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Braefoot Cottage

Dorothy & John Gabbott
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 24/08/2011
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Paula
Reviewed Taigh Fiodha on 22/08/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Fiodha

Just returned from holiday at Taigh Fiodha. What a fantastic cabin. It was immaculate. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, and although his house was a few yards behind us, we were never bothered by his family. Only on one day when he watered his plants showed us around his land, then offered us a cucumber, which he grows himself. He also brough over bread and milk on our arrival. Very pleasant and helpful owner. Great scenery and fabulous beach. Definately go back.

Lisa Shaw
Reviewed Mealishal on 08/08/2011
And awarded it

Mealishal

Shipstone Family
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 08/08/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We have Two Fantastic weeks in the Old Lock Keepers cottage. The weather was great allowing us to take full advantage of everything the cottage and Scotland had to offer.The cottage has everything you could wish for. We would spend the mornings sitting the the sun room or the garden watching the boats go through the lock and talking the Derek the lock keeper (a lovely man). The children and adults had great fun, didn't want to come home. LOVED every second.

Mrs D. Aberdeenshire.
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 23/07/2011
And awarded it
Jill Wicks
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 12/07/2011
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

9/7/11 - Wicks family Had a fantastic week here, cottage was amazing and the garden was fabulous. Weather was brilliant which helped and we even had breakfast in the garden twice. Lots of lovely walks from the cottage doorstep, secret beaches, and loads of beautiful scenery. Will recommend this cottage to all our friends and family and would love to return one day.

Theo & Yvonne & Alba
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 12/07/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

We had a wonderful time at Katie's cottage. It is beautifully restored. It has everything we needed a home away from home. The kitchen is very well equipped. We fell in love with Skye and the cottage. Our dog loved roaming in the fenced-in garden. In these peaceful surroundings you can truly come back to earth. We hope we can visit it a again sometime in the future.

Judith Gilbert
Reviewed Chapel House on 12/07/2011
And awarded it

Chapel House

Nichola & Stuart Manley
Reviewed Brackenhaugh on 11/07/2011
And awarded it

Brackenhaugh

S Roberts
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 06/07/2011
And awarded it

The Coltsfoots

Nice luxury accommodation would recommend this cabin, lovely secluded location and only 10mins walk to the village.

Balazs Szendroi
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 05/07/2011
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Eileen Sanderson
Reviewed Cluny Croft on 30/06/2011
And awarded it

Cluny Croft

We had a happy week in the croft. It is cosy and warm with a fine view from the windows. Every evening when we got back from the mountains we lit a log fire from the plentiful supply. Out and about in this quiet area we saw more wildlife in a morning than we have in more popular places - a red squirrel is a regular visitor to the garden. The little general store at Laggan is well stocked and there are plenty places to eat out. The cottage is very clean and thoughtfully furnished.

Familie Kiefer
Reviewed Glen View on 30/06/2011
And awarded it

Glen View

Helen Charlton
Reviewed The Coltsfoots on 29/06/2011
And awarded it
Kenneth & Kirsty McGrath
Reviewed Lianachan on 23/06/2011
And awarded it

Lianachan

Anita Mears
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 22/06/2011
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Just returned from a lovely, relaxing week at Owl Cottage, Fort Augustus. Beautifully clean and everything you require at your fingertips! Cottage in a very peaceful lane just a couple of minutes walk from the Caledonian Canal - perfect!

Paul & Jane
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/06/2011
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Stayed at the Old Smiddy. The property is to the highest standard anyone could wish for. So clean and well presented, well equiped for a relaxing self catering holiday. Good location, plenty to see and do.

Janet Weir
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Just returned from a week at Creag nah Iolaire. What a lovely house and a fabulous location with the most fantastic views. Warm welcome from the charming owner too. Road not as steep as mentioned in another review, had no problem with our cars. Highly recommended if you're planning a holiday around the Loch Ness area.

Karen Lloyd
Reviewed Cattle Shed on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Cattle Shed

The Cattle Shed is an incredibly well designed, beautifully presented, clean and modern holiday home with every comfort. It has a spectacular setting, perched high on a hillside with far reaching views. The friendly owners have equipped this place to a very high standard, such an eye for detail has made this an OUTSTANDING place to stay. Very highly recommended indeed.

Gordon Siegel
Reviewed Log House on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Log House

Perfect get away from it all log house, with deer to be seen in the front garden and pine martins at night and with robins who like to come in and feed. 2nd time staying at the log house and no doubt i will be back next year.one word "AMAZING"

Carol & Douglas Forrest
Reviewed Timber House on 21/06/2011
And awarded it

Timber House

We have been coming to the Timber House every year since 2008 and we love it. Great location, great eating less than a mile away at The 3 Chimneys or in Dunvegan, easy access to the rest of Skye. However the best bit about the house aside from it being extremely easy to live in is the most wonderful panoramic views from the windows - stunning! There is always something to see - seals basking on the shores or playing in the loch or an amazing variety of birds. We are always sad to leave.

Jim Bunce
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 20/06/2011
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

An excellent apartment in a fantastic location. Very well equipped with quality furnishings and just about everything you could need, to hand. Games (supplied) provided much entertainment and apartment has SKY+ and a quality stereo unit with an IPOD fitting. Abbey itself is a remarkable building in fantastic grounds and Fort Augustus has lots to see and plenty of places to eat. Many attractions nearby. Glen Affic is just beautiful Would recommend and re-visit

Mr & Mrs Matchett
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 19/06/2011
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

we stayed at Marnies croft for 1 week at the beginning of june, it was one of the best holidays I have had, the views from the cottage were amazing, anyone who appreciates nature and peaceful scenic surrounding will love this place. The cottage was clean and very well equipped. The only downfall for myself my husband and my parents who came with us was that we had to come home.

Helen Munro
Reviewed Loch Ness Water Mill on 18/06/2011
And awarded it

Loch Ness Water Mill

Kim Mills
Reviewed Katie's Cottage on 17/06/2011
And awarded it

Katie's Cottage

This was our first time at Katie's cottage in Skye. The cottage has been very tastefully and sympathetically renovated and met all our needs. It is in a good location for further exploring - Nest Point, Talisker Bay, Glenbrittle Forest, Three Chimneys Restaurant. The views across Glendale were very beautiful. Would highly recommend this cottage in the future.

Jo Phillips
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 17/06/2011
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Our 3rd excellent holiday at this cottage. its a lovely, clean cottage in a brilliant location and just perfect with its well equipped kitchen, washing machine and dryer for all the wet towels our family has ! Have already booked again for next year!

George MacDonald Ross
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 16/06/2011
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

The view from the garden is stunning: straight across Loch Laxford to the whole ridge of Foinaven. The drinking water tastes lovely, and don't worry about petrol - the garage at Scourie functions 24 hours a day.

Sally
Reviewed Crossroads Cottage on 16/06/2011
And awarded it

Crossroads Cottage

What a brilliant little place. Me and my husband stayed for a week in June and could not fault the cottage. It has everything that is needed and more for a comfortable stay, you just need to bring you food and you're set. It is ideal for two and the location is just a bonus. The town is lovely, the scenery wonderful and there are great places to walk, Loch Ness and Urquhart Castle being only a mile away. The city of Inverness is just a short drive and has all the shopping you need.

Tracey Hemsley
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Ernie & Pat Scales
Reviewed Giusaichean on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Ernie & Pat Scales
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

This was our first time here and we were really impressed. Woodside is nicely, and secludedly, located above the shore of Loch Kishorn with a great view of the Bealach Na Ba.there are local amenities (sea food restaurant and shop) and Lochcarron shops are a 10 minute drive away. The garden is fully secure and there's plenty of wildlife to see. The owners, Sally and John are most helpful.

Mr & Mrs Cunliffe
Reviewed Glenara on 15/06/2011
And awarded it

Glenara

A delightful little cottage with everything you need. The position of this cottage is fabulous and within 1 minute of the shops and pubs. A great owner who gives you a real welcome and is on hand to sort out any problems ----which you will not have. Suited for a couple or a small family. It is also a dog friendly cottage. We had a wonderful time and would certainly recommend it.