Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2301 to 2350 of 2734


John Brady
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 23/02/2010
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

The Cottage was perfect, did not want to leave. Warm clean and with all facilities required for a holiday. Highly recommended. Views of the Loch superb.

Lesley Craddock
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 22/02/2010
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

This was our 7th time with Wilderness cottages, all have surpassed excellence. The welcome was wonderful and we almost feel like locals so many people recognised us and had us around for coffee and joined us on our walks. Thank you Corrine for facilitating these little trips of peace. We are already looking for our next trip!

Helen & Dan
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 14/02/2010
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Pamela
Reviewed Osprey on 14/02/2010
And awarded it

Osprey

Sarah Hartley
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 06/02/2010
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

A lovely cottage, so close to the sea-loch that you can hear the waves lapping on the shore. Comfortable and well-equipped. I had a lovely relaxing week there

Sarah Olliffe
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 29/01/2010
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Craig & Clare
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 24/01/2010
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a fantastic time at the cottage. Lovely walks along the secluded beach. Fresh mussels picked off the rocks and cooked on the Aga were an especially nice treat on New Years day. The wood burner did a fantastic job of keeping the cottage cosy and warm. If you like to get away from it all then Cuaig Croft will not disappoint.

Jo & Bill Walker & Jasmine
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 19/01/2010
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We stayed at Owl Cottage 28th Dec to 4th Jan 2010. This was our third visit to this lovely cosy cottage and we are looking foward to our fourth visit. The cottage was extremely picturesque covered in all the snow. It is very handy for the local shops and pubs all of which are very helpful and friendly. Pubs are dog friendly which is a bonus for our cocker spaniel Jasmine.

Steve & Karen
Reviewed Mealishal on 07/01/2010
And awarded it

Mealishal

Paul Fuller
Reviewed Chapel House on 06/01/2010
And awarded it

Chapel House

Paul, Leanne, Chris, Suzie
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 05/01/2010
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Christine
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

A lovely cottage, very well equipped with all the mod cons. There was plenty to do both in and around the local area. Despite sub-zero temperature and 15 inches of snow the cottage was lovely and warm, and the log burning fire particularly welcome! We are making plans to make a return visit later this year. Thanks to all at Wilderness Cottages!

Brigitte West
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

We had a lovely stay in this spacious & beautiful house. Really gorgeous decorations. The views over Loch Ness Lake are absolutely stunning. The wood fire was just what was needed during the big chill. No quibble about the amount of wood needed - just as well as it was -12 outside! The Kitchen is very well appointed & perfect for our Xmas lunch

Lots of snow walks - a fun & a healthy way to spend the week in a magical location: local castle/ruin, a trip on a boat on the lake & walks near the house afforded wonderful views & photographic opportunities.

Ben Tayler
Reviewed Glenara on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Glenara

A really cosy cottage, we were warm even when it was -10 outside! Has both oil fired central heating and an open fire. It was well furnished and spotlessly clean. We especially enjoyed being able to walk to the local pub just across the canal. The owner is particularly friendly and helpful.

ALAN , MO, VARTAN, SANDRA & AILSA
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 04/01/2010
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

Just returned from our Christmas & New Year holiday at Old lock keepers cottage.
WHAT A FANTASTIC COTTAGE !!
The cottage has a warm homely feeling , the moment we stepped into it we knew we had made a great choice.
Everything about it is just right, fantastic location, clean , warm and every appliance you need.
Would return to this cottage without hesitation.


Marc & Ruud Janssen & Dennis Minkhorst
Reviewed Mountain View on 09/12/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Yvonne Bryce
Reviewed Charleston on 07/12/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

Stayed for the weekend and it wasn’t long enough ! The house is in a beautiful position and is decorated and furnished to a very high standard. It is very homely with all you need for a relaxing break with views to die for.
Will be reccomending it to others and will hopefully be back to visit soon.

Nicola & Andy Hampshire
Reviewed Coach House on 06/12/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Cathy Wood
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 30/11/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

7-14 November. We had an absolutely wonderful time at Rowan Ridge and will definitely be back. The weather was very kind to us - no rain at all! Though very cold, the temperature only made for a crispy atmosphere when we woke up to frozen ground and snow capped distant mountains. The river running below the cottage was the only sound, apart from the birds coming for their breakfast on the well stocked feeder every morning. There are countless sights round and about (though all require a car - this is not a holiday for public transport dependents!). Castles, distilleries and (of course) Nessie Exhibits are everywhere you look, and Findhorn coast is worth a moment’s glance at sunset (which is very early this time of year so watch out if you go for an afternoon stroll! You may not be able to find your way back to the car after 4:30pm!)
The cottage itself was well kitted out (more so than our own home!) with a washer drier, dish washer, dyson vacuum cleaner and ipod docking station!
Rowan Ridge could very easily become a home away from home, and if you’ve never seen Scotland, this is the way to see it.
*Only one snag - if you are after seclusion, this may not be the place for you. The cottages at Davlourn Holidays are much closer together than the advert suggests - if you’ve forgotten to close the living room curtains before going to bed, put some clothes on before you look out the window in the morning!

Leon
Reviewed River Cottage on 28/11/2009
And awarded it

River Cottage

Very comfortable and relaxed stay in a beautifully appointed cottage - ideal for a couple

Mrs Rigby
Reviewed Balmachree on 24/11/2009
And awarded it

Balmachree

We stayed at this beautiful cottage October 09 for a week .We were 2 families - 4 adults 4 children and a dog.The pictures do not do this cottage justice- it is very clean and homely with all the amenities you could wish for. Lots of room for 2 families and very spacious. Lovely setting with 2 other cottages and the pub at the end of the road.( food was delicious !!) It is approx 8 miles from nearest amenities in Fort william. We visited Ben nevis cable car range, Loch ness, Inverness and Foyers waterfalls during our stay x Fort william is beautiful. We loved our stay here and you are close to the deers just along the road morning and evening. Definately highly reccomended x Book it You ll love it xx

Sandra & Roger Slowley
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 24/11/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

We stayed at the Abbey in October and we really loved it. The apartment is equipped to a high standard and very comfortable and cosy. Whenever we visit Scotland we always stay in this area because it is so lovely and is a good central point for visiting lots of other places. We have often admired the Abbey so when we found we could stay there it was a real treat for us. We would highly recommend it.

Brian & Irene Greenoff
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 20/11/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

If you want to get away from it all, this is the place for you. The thing that strikes you most, apart from the marvellous view over mountain and sea, is the utter and complete silence, something that is almost impossible to find these days. We stayed in November, and because of the total lack of light pollution we could observe the night sky in it’s true glory. The cottage was clean and warm. Five Stars!

Sarah Bedwell
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 16/11/2009
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

Babs
Reviewed Rowan Tree Cottage on 14/11/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Tree Cottage

Martin Walker
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 13/11/2009
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

McLeod Family
Reviewed Don Cottage on 12/11/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Having recently spent another fantastic week at Don Cottage we thought it was time we shared our views with others. It was our 5th visit and gets better each time. The cottage is fantastic, spotless clean, lovely homely rooms with coal fire in living room and large spaceous bedrooms/kitchen. Ideal for children as our kids have always had a great time there. Centrally positioned for Inverness, if weather not too good with Cinema, Swimming, Skating & Supermarket etc + lots of eating places. Gairloch, Lossiemouth are just a few fantastic beaches closeby which are a great day out for the family.
And forest walks just a stones through away. Local hotels/pub allow children and also have outdoor seating so on a lovely day a nice walk into Drumnadrochit for a nice lunch is also great. The cottage also has lots of literature on where to go and this time we visited Landmark at Aviemore and kids had a fantastic time, not one for people scared of heights!!!. Pony trecking is also great and again kids just loved it. We are now planning returning next year probably for 2 x 1 week breaks.

Fernrigg
Reviewed Don Cottage on 10/11/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Don’t bother writting a review as it won’t be published, just look at the dates between thoose that up there now!
It’s a great cottage but don’t have any great expectations about Drum!!

Stuart & Gloria Cockerham
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 08/11/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Sue Sales
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 07/11/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Jennifer Giddings
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 06/11/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Catherine Herring
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 05/11/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

Mike and I spent 2 wonderful weeks in September at Hill cottage and loved ever minute. the Cottage was everything we had read about and much more. The facilities were really up to standard .We especially like sitiing and spending hours just being mesmerized by the beautiful and ever changing views out of the large window.Hiking paths were plenty and near.If you go don’t miss Sandman bay ,breath taking. like being on a huge deserted beach in the Carribean.WE would return again espcially for the peace of such an isolated spot.

Carol Silvester
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Great cottage, beautifully modernised with a tradtional feel. Quiet location close to the town and canal. Garden not enclosed.

Sharon, Darren, Clyde & Libby (dogs)
Reviewed Charleston on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

A wonderful cottage, very spacious and well equipped with all the home comforts you could wish for. An ideal place for wildlife spotting and walking the dogs, or to just sit back relax and enjoy the fantastic views. No need to see ’Autumn Watch’ on the telly, just stay here and see the wildlife up close in your own private piece of the Highlands! This is one place we will definately be returning to, (Clyde & Libby give it the paws up!) Thankyou to Mr & Mrs Hepburn and Wilderness Cottages for a great holiday.

Peter-Jan Hagedoorn
Reviewed Mountain View on 01/11/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Sarah Pimlott
Reviewed Challtuinn on 30/10/2009
And awarded it

Challtuinn

Dawn & Martin Dypka
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Jane & Rob Jackson
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 29/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We have just returned from an autumnal week at The Smiddy near Beauly. Our first visit to the Highlands and we loved it! The Smiddy was stunning and very cosy - the wood burner and very comfy bed were our favourites. It was beautifully clean and tidy and absolutely our sort of place. Also a great base for exploring the area - we went to Glen Affric, Nairn beach and Dornoch for example. In fact the only thing that could have been improved on was the size of the bath towels - but such a small thing!

Diane
Reviewed Glenara on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Glenara

Lovely location
great kitchen, bathroom
good dinning sitting area seperate to main sittingroom is a very good idea
could do with some more crockery and cutlery
lovely views over river
good to watch birds at the feeder just infront of the large picture window
could have had bigger bath towels
need to watcb tight driveway, is no good for cars with a small turning circle!
overall a lovely cottage and we had a great week.

Duncan & Nicky Monypenny
Reviewed Monastery 17 - Abbey on 28/10/2009
And awarded it

Monastery 17 - Abbey

Number 17 is a fantastic two bedroom apartment on the top floor of the abbey, the view from the bathroom, the largest window in the building on the top floor as we could tell, is spectacular and looks staright across Loch Ness. We had a wonderful week and would more than recommend the Monastery or Fort Augustus to anyone. It is so well placed for lots of sight seeing or you can just ?chill out? in the pubs of Fort Augustus and watch the boats go through the lochs.

We would also like to say a special thanks to Corinne at Wilderness who was fantastic during the process and made everything so easy!

John Mcglynn
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

If you want to get away from everything, or anyone and like to just chill out with fantastic surroundings. Loch Carron has a small shop which sells just about anything you need with very friendly staff who go out of there way to make sure you have everything you need. The locals are also friendly and do not make you feel like an outsider.

John Malone
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 27/10/2009
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

John Mc Farlane
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Matt Youngs
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We had a lovely week at Littlepark Cottage. Arriving to find the fire all set and ready for lighting was great. The cottage was clean, tidy and very well equipted. Having an easy walk to the hills and Loch Treig was also great. We look forward to returning in the futre and will be recommending the cottage to freinds and family.

Matt, Dale and Hannah Youngs
Aberdeenshire

Angela Strachan
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 26/10/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

"What a lovely cottage! So much thought and effort has gone in to everything... From the welcome card, home-baked cake and bottle of wine on our arrival, to the maps, leaflets and games. It was so homely that you couldn’t fail to relax immediately! The cottage makes amazing use of the space, and is really cosy and warm. The garden is well-sized and ideal for dogs. The kitchen and all rooms are so well equipped, nothing had been forgotten. I was very very impressed, and will definitely recommend the cottage and Wilderness Cottages to my friends. Thank you!"

William & Julie
Reviewed Charleston on 24/10/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

We visit the Stratherrick area 4/5 times each year. This has been our first stay at Charleston. The views from the cottage are spectacular, however Charleston is badly let down by its inferior furnishings, especially the beds. The mattresses are very uncomfortable and thin. For this reason we would not choose to return to Charleston again. Wilderness Cottages can confirm that replacement mattresses have been arranged and will be in place this week.

Hannah & Chris
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 21/10/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

What a fantastic find! This cottage is ideal for a couple and the pictures really dont do it justice. The cottage is based in a nice quiet area with a small village within walking distance. The location is great as its central to many great areas, including the stunning west coast. The cottage is very clean and well maintained, we felt like the first people to be staying there.

Louisa & Jonathan Scully
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 16/10/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Barbara & Douglas
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 14/10/2009
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Paul,yvonne & Milly
Reviewed The Haven on 14/10/2009
And awarded it

The Haven

had a great week cottage was brilliant a perfect location,quiet and peaceful with a river 2 minutes walk from the cottage the dog loved it.we were just 20 minutes from inverness we done 1200 miles in the week we were there we even seen the dolphins at fortrose