Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2351 to 2400 of 2840


The Laws Family
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 02/08/2009
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

Stayed Mid July. Stunning location! Not warned about the steep climb to get to it though! We have a 4x4 if you didn’t, watch out for your exhaust! Photos didn’t do the view justice, beautiful, very nice cottage with all facilities and very comfortable. Only small suggestion, a welcome of shortbread, wine or something would have been lovely as the little extras make it extra special, felt very business like rather than homely. Can’t recommend "Baking Birds" highly enough, arrived bang on time and the food superb! What a wonderful start to our fantastic break. Use them you won’t be disappointed.

The Howieson’s
Reviewed Burnside Cottage of Geddes on 31/07/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage of Geddes

We really enjoyed our week at Burnside Cottage. The cottage was lovely, very clean, comfortable & well equiped. The wine and homemade (with duck eggs) cake were very much appreciated and enjoyed! Katie (4) & Calum (2) just loved the big garden and being able to pet the cows in the field. It was a perfect get-away, in the middle of nowhere, yet close to so much! We’re already planning next year, with Grandparents tagging along too! Thanks so much.

The McBrides
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 30/07/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Brian Cunliffe
Reviewed Wildwood on 29/07/2009
And awarded it
David & Rosemarie Love
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 29/07/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

The Lawson Family
Reviewed Glenara on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Glenara

The cottage was excellent. In a great location about a minute from the shops in Fort Augustus but far enough away from the locks to be really quiet and secluded. The back sitting room looking out on the river was superb. It was really well decorated and furnished, traditional and comfortable. The sizeable garden leads down to the river and would be ideal for children or a dog to run about in. The owner met us and showed us round. He was very friendly and helpful. Fort Augustus is a busy but relaxed wee place. An ideal base for exploring that beautiful part of Scotland. I have no hesitation in recommending Glenara and Wilderness Cottages to anyone. I’d happily use either again.

Gillian Wilson
Reviewed Mountain View on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

Karen Gosling
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

we had a wonderfull week at poulary cottage, wanted to get away from normal hectic life and this was the place to do it. the peacefull surrounding area was just what we needed, our only snag was the midges which were in abundance in july but that was o the only thing wrong with our holiday, the cottage was beautifully clean and modern with everything we needed, would definately return. thankyou for a wonderfull holiday.

The Lloyd Family
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

The Langley Family
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Kimberlin
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

We stayed in the secluded Kilmartin Cottage for 4 nights in June 2009.

Once in Drumnadrochit, the drive was pretty much a straight shot up to the turn-off for the house. The road is rather steep, and bumpy doesn’t really adequately describe the driving conditions, but it all made for part of the adventure. There was a small grocery store in town so we were able to make use of the ample kitchen to cook some of our own meals.

The cottage caretaker had everything available for us when we arrived including a huge bouquet of fresh flowers for the table. We loved the house and the grounds. Not only was the cottage more affordable than most rooms in town, but the extra space for our family of five was brilliant! The kids were able to explore every evening and we woke to deer grazing on the lawn. It was the most relaxing vacation we’ve had.




Steve & Katie
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

Nothing but praise for Poulary Cottage. Had a wonderful week there in July. The cottage really is out in the wilderness, about 7 miles off the main road. Brilliant views out of the dining room window across the valley and my wife certainly enjoyed the bird table in the garden which attracted all sorts. Cottage is spacious and has all the amenities you need. The seperate games room is a nice touch and is nice to unwind in there after a day of exploring.
Good location as a base as well as you are well within distance of various sites of interest - Glengarry, Fort William, Ben Nevis, Inverness, Cairngorns, Skye and many more. We even made the trip up to John O’Groats which took a good 4 hours! Can recommend the Invergarry Hotel for a good meal and a great atmosphere.
If you’re looking for a nice quiet cottage with stunning views and scenery then this is the one for you.

Jo Patrick
Reviewed Log House on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Log House

We had a lovely week at the start of July, even the rain didn’t spoil our time away. 2 boys under 5 had the best time watching boats going up and down the locks and jumping in waterfalls. The Log Cabin was a real treat and provided much excitement for little boys. Lots to do in the vicinity, and the peace and quiet was a real tonic.. Will definitely be using the Cottages again.

Julie & Tim Barnett
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 28/07/2009
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Edward
Reviewed Callakille on 27/07/2009
And awarded it

Callakille

Kate Robinson
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 27/07/2009
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

John & Jacquie Moyse
Reviewed Timber House on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Timber House

Timber house is an amazing design. It is so light and clean with very good quality apppliances and comfortable beds and bright modern decor.

We found Timber House beautifully placed just above and over looking the end of a loch where there were lovely views over the water. The little town of Dunvegan was not too far to drive and had some good little shops for our daily needs. There were many interesting cliffs and beaches to walk and explore.

All the administrative arrangements were straight forward.

We hope we shall be able to come back for another visit.

Colin Campbell
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

This is our second stay and was every bit as good as the first time. The cottage is comfortable and well appointed with great views of lochs and hills. We weren’t short of things to do both in the immediate area and further afield to Lochinver and Durness. Helped by good weather most of the time. Again enjoyed eating at the Shore Restaurant at Tarbet after a day on Handa Island.

Andy & Lynda Tuttle
Reviewed Moat House 6 - Abbey on 26/07/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 6 - Abbey

John & Jennifer Edwards
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/07/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

cottage was great with everything we needed and more. Very clean and well equiped Owners left some very thoughtful welcoming gifts for both us and the dogs which started our holiday off very well! The views were magnificent and listening to the sea at night - wonderful. been visiting Applecross for 15 years, its special to us and very much look forward to our next visit and using bayside again. Thanks again a great relaxing holiday.

Sue Crump
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 22/07/2009
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Absolutely fabulous cottage in fantastic location, could have stayed there forever. 1 week of sunshine also helped. Hope to return.

Laura Wemyss
Reviewed Mealishal on 12/07/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Dick & Jan
Reviewed Log House on 11/07/2009
And awarded it

Log House

The Log House is the perfect place to stay if you want peace and tranquillity, it is well equipped with everything you need. Fort Augustus is a great place to eat out and close enough from the Log House to walk to. Great walks from the doorstep and wildlife in abundance. We were lucky enough to have daily visits from the robin and saw the pine marten 3 nights on the trot! Would highly recommend.

Keith Brown
Reviewed Timber House on 09/07/2009
And awarded it

Timber House

My partner and I had a wonderful one-week stay in Timber House in May 2009. The house itself is very smart and well-equipped, and the location in Skinidin on Skye is lovely with views over the loch toward Dunvegan and the surrounding countryside. The location is convenient to all activities and sightseeing in northern Skye but a little out of the way for southern Skye attractions, although it is still quite easy to get to the Cuillins. In short, we highly recommend the Timber House for a peaceful and comfortable Skye holiday.

Marj Hawkins
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 07/07/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Three of us had a wonderful week here in early June. The cottage was welcoming and had everything we needed. The open fire was a real bonus. The views were so beautiful, especially the sunset on our last evening. Applecross is a special place. Everywhere you looked was amazing. We saw deer, seals and an otter swimmming. I would love to come back! I live in a beautiful part of Wales, but the view from the waters’ edge outside the cottage will stay with me always.
Marj-Pembrokeshire

Wendy & David Pink
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 05/07/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Ian & Christine Davison
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 02/07/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Gavin & Kay Bone
Reviewed Woodpecker Pad on 30/06/2009
And awarded it

Woodpecker Pad

We have stayed at Wilderness Cottages many times but this was our first stay at Woodpecker Pad.
The cottage is modern and very well equipped. For us, with our two Newfoundlands Nevis and Cuillin, the setting of Woodpecker Pad was perfect, with easy walks at the doorstep.
We had an excellent week and will not hesitate to come back to Woodpecker Pad.
Many thanks.

L Campbell
Reviewed Fairhaven on 29/06/2009
And awarded it

Fairhaven

David & Sandra Aitken
Reviewed Mealishal on 29/06/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Barbara Swift
Reviewed Cuilfail on 25/06/2009
And awarded it

Cuilfail

CUILFAIL was a wonderfull cottage it was bigger than it looks,and very clean there was everything there that you would need, the garden was very big and well fenced so the 3 dogs we had they just wanted to roam round it and was very safe. My granddaughter loved to play in the garden also, there was lots of thing to do and see. Some evenings we would go to the Whitebridge hotel which is 2 mins away and the food was very good and the people who owned it were very friendly and made you very welcome. Myself and husband and my son and his wife all say we would go back again but would like to spend longer next time. I would like to thank you all very much it was a pleasure to stay there.

Chris & Debbie Smiles
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 24/06/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara


We had a glorious week at the end of May at Kishorn. Wonderful views from the windows and a great area for exploring. Everything in the cottage we could need, cosy and comfortable. Would recommend it and hope to go back one day.

Mark & Jan
Reviewed Mealishal on 24/06/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Sue & Rob Woolley
Reviewed Timber House on 24/06/2009
And awarded it

Timber House

\wonderfully fitted out holiday house, lovely area a perfect place to stop on the beautiful island of Skye

Malcolm Spurrell
Reviewed Coach House on 23/06/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Estelle Browne
Reviewed The Granary on 23/06/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

We can think of absolutely nothing that the owners of The Granary could have done to make our stay more enjoyable. The cottage is extremely attractive and well equipped and the many thoughtful extras supplied made it just perfect. We would have no hesitation in returning and recommending it to friends and relations. Thank you Kirsty and Callum

Colin & Carine
Reviewed Station Cottage on 22/06/2009
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Agreat homely cottage that’s very quite when you want it to be but has all the surrounding amenities right on your doorstep. We had great time and the cottage we very clean and well appointed after being recently re-furbished i would guess. It has a large enclosed garden which is great for the dog, with many walks and loch etc only a stones throw away! we would highly recommned this as a bse for exploring, speyside, aviemore and the cairngorms etc along with inverness being only 30mins away if you feel the need to shop! we look forward to going back next time we want to chillax!

Jane & Mike Pheasant
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 22/06/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Mark Stoneman
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 22/06/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We have been to the cottage 3 times now, Its been a privilidge to stay in such a nice cottage & area there`s plenty to do & loads of places to visit resturants are good as well as the locals.We are hoping to go next year 2010.

Jim & Angela Porte
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 15/06/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Phil Harold
Reviewed Ballindalloch on 11/06/2009
And awarded it

Ballindalloch

Nan & Harry Barr
Reviewed Giusaichean on 09/06/2009
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Joan Parkinson
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/06/2009
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We all had a brilliant time and so did Susie our Golden retriever, who really enjoyed herself. So on behalf of Dave, Sue, Dennis Joan and last but not least Susie a really big thank you. the cottage was perfect.

Jackie & Geoff Moseley
Reviewed The Granary on 08/06/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

Wow!! As soon as we stepped in, it was like being at home. The decoration and the attention to detail was brilliant. We had a very warm welcome from Kirsty and Calum, and there was a lovely bottle of wine in the fridge together with some homemade scones, what a nice touch.
We have stayed at many cottages in Scotland, and this one was definitely the best. It is perfectly situated for touring the area and you certainly do not have to go far to enjoy the wonderful scenery. The weather helped as it was hot and sunny for most of the week.
This is somewhere we would love to come back to and spend more time.
Thanks Kirsty and Calum for letting us share The Granary, it was superb!

Frank & Christine Griggs & Max The Collie
Reviewed Lianachan on 07/06/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Charlotte & Christian
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 06/06/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We spent Christmas at Fersit and it was wonderful, they even provided a tree. The cottage is set in beautiful, remote countryside. The inside is warm, cosy and immaculate with everything you could possibly need. We have stayed in many holiday cottages and this was the best by far. Make sure you look at the sky on a clear night, the stars will take your breath away.

Diane Steed
Reviewed Laracks on 03/06/2009
And awarded it

Laracks

Claudette Miller
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 03/06/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Gav & Jude
Reviewed Log House on 24/05/2009
And awarded it

Log House

Wonderful holiday had, glourious sunshine and surroundings, with lots of good memories.
Accomadation was lovely, no faults found, and would recommend to all, great location to tour from.

Dean & Nicola
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 23/05/2009
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

A lovely peaceful cottage, in beautiful surroundings. Nicely furnished and well-proportioned.

Highly recommended. We saw the pine marten eating its jam sandwiches and also saw some deer on the track down the cottage. Waving to the trains is also a highlight.