Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2351 to 2400 of 2902


Sue Boydell
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 13/10/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We loved Owl Cottage and its location on a quiet lane with hardly any traffic, but only a short walk into Fort Augustus. We had fabulous sunny weather and the cottage was a great base for site seeing, walking and relaxing.

Rob Miller
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 12/10/2009
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Cool site.

Simon Reid
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 07/10/2009
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Stableman’s Lodge in Grantown on Spey. We were made to feel very welcome from the outset, and the accommodation was clean, modern and comfortable.

I would highly recommend this property to anyone looking for a relaxing break in this area. 5/5.

Carolyn Randall
Reviewed Wildwood on 06/10/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

16th - 19th September 09 - Excellent few days in this wonderful Log House. The house has everything you could need and the level of specification and attention to detail was superb. Marie, the friendly housekeeper does an outstanding job in keeping the place clean and presentable for all guests, with fresh linen on all the beds, fluffy towels and a welcome pack of milk, shortbread and tea - very welcome after a long journey! Although this is a dog friendly log house you couldn’t tell that dogs had previously been there, which is nice for guests with aversions to dogs - not us with Bracken who bounds through the forest without a care in the world. Excellent walks from the back door (situated 2 miles in the forest) but never to far from Fort Augustus and Loch Ness. Superb setting for all sorts of adventures whether walking, cycling, kayaking or shopping in Inverness!

Will definitely be back again.

Paul
Reviewed Stablemans Lodge on 06/10/2009
And awarded it

Stablemans Lodge

Stableman?s Lodge is a great place to stay with helpful welcoming owners, warm clean inviting accommodation and a good location. Comfortable living room with a brilliant real fire (loads of fuel supplied) and a well equipped modern kitchen.

The addition of a dvd player, bath and double bed would make it perfect for couples / families with young children.

Colin Sunderland
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 05/10/2009
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

The location stunning and the apartment and grounds beyond expectation. The decor and general finish to the apartment was to a very high standard and made for a very relaxing and enjoyable base in which to explore the stunning scenery and places of interest around Loch Ness and with Inverness and Fort William in easy reach meant that no matter the weather or your mood when you got up there was an adventure to be had. Highly recommend both the apartment and location and hope to be back in the near future.

Jayne & Kevin Parker
Reviewed Mountain View on 04/10/2009
And awarded it

Mountain View

M & M Fenwick
Reviewed Lianachan on 04/10/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Pete & Gail
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 03/10/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

What a great view and we loved having the sea almost at the door!
The cottage was cosy and spotlessly clean. It’s a great base for a spectaclar area with its stunning scenery and wildlife.
Good amenities at Lochcarron and the Seafood Bar, (just around the corner,) is well worth a visit.

Scott, Anke & Cedric
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 03/10/2009
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Kim & Carl
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 29/09/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Mick & Bridget Bodecott
Reviewed Laracks on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Laracks

Colin & Gill Hutchison
Reviewed Station Cottage on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Station Cottage

Homely, packed with character and a fabulous base from which to explore Strathspey and Speyside. This Nethybridge hideaway is surely one of the highlands self-catering gems.
(Colin Hutchison is author of the Footprint Scotland Highlands and Islands, 2009 travel guide)

Maryrose Walmsley
Reviewed Cuilfail on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Cuilfail

We stayed in Cuilfail Cottage in September and were blessed with marvellous weather. Lovely location, wonderful scenery very nice cottage in a very dog friendly area and excellent food at The Whitebridge Hotel. What more could one ask for.
Many thanks to the cottage owners and special thanks to Gordon and Corinne for the efficient and hassle free booking procedures
Maryrose, Grant, Sarah, Rob, Kazba (GSD), Solly (Border Collie) and Boris (Lurcher).

Joanne Concannon
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Donna Lumsden
Reviewed Homewood on 28/09/2009
And awarded it

Homewood

Rachel, John & Beth Little
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 23/09/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

The Abbey is a stunning location for a holiday. WE particularly like the club lounge with it’s large selection of games. Moat House 1 was well equipped and made a lovely base to come ’home’ to after a busy day sightseeing. The welcome treats were very much appreciated.
We were a little disappointed that the 2 TVs in the bedrooms only seemed to work via the sky box upstairs in the living room (not mentioned in the ’blurb’ anywhere) or to watch DVDs. This caused some minor inconvenience as we were hoping to have a few lazy mornings while our 6 year watched TV in bed - this wasn’t achievable without first going upstairs and turning the sky box on (the box would automatically turn off after we went to bed) and setting it to CBBC! As I said a minor inconvenience.
Fort Augustus is lovely with a choice of great restaurants, it’s very pleasant on a good day to just sit and watch the boats going through the locks. You can also take boat trips on Loch Ness from Fort Augustus which give you a great view of the Abbey.
The area is beautiful with lots of great things to do on a day out. We didn’t have great weather but we weren’t lost for things to do and hope to return soon.

Mrs Anne Marson
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 22/09/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Just got back from the most perfectly peaceful and lovely cottage imaginable!
The situation was stunning and the quiet was wonderful. Fersit Cottage is gorgeous. Having read earlier, that someone thought a 4 x 4 was needed we were a bit apprehensive, however, we managed to get two Mx5s ( one very low-slung!!) up the track, with no problem at all!!
Graham and Lynne both came to say hello, which made us feel welcome.
We highly recomend this beautiful cottage to everyone - as long there is a week or three left for us to go again!!

Julia Johnston
Reviewed Wildwood on 21/09/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

A great location to stay with lovely forest walks. The cottage was nice, however the only downside was the utility room as it smells disgusting, obviously guests leave wet animals in there, even a good clean didn’t get rid of it. The cottage is well presented, but needed a good clean before we could relax for the week. However we had a lovely week and the weather was warm and sunny.

Helena Stevens
Reviewed Mealishal on 17/09/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Richard Moss
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 06/09/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Graham
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/09/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

A perfect place to stay - very quiet even though close to the town.
Beautifully equipped. The only fault was the poor condition of the sofas but i believe that these are due to be replaced soon (Wilderness Cottages can now confirm that the sofas have been replaced. 26th September 2009). Apart from this, would fully reccommend this cottage & would have no hesitation in staying here again if we were to have another holiday in this area. Overall, a fantastic holiday.

Fraser McNicol
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 03/09/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Mitchell Family
Reviewed Mealishal on 02/09/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Moira Malcolm
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 31/08/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We had a great week in Applecross. The cottage was perfect, with really nice rooms and plenty of good facilities (not the usual bog-standard stuff).
My boyfriend (the self-appointed chef) loved the great kitchen complete with bread maker (plus flour, yeast and recipe books) and the wide range of herbs and spices to play with. We all loved the welcome tray of tea, biscuits, bottle of wine in the fridge and ready made fire in the grate, plus water and dog biscuits for our excitable puppy.
We had mostly good weather, but when not the fire and myriad of board games helped to while away the hours until we could justify going to the pub.
The views across the bay were stunning and a long time was spent just sitting on the bench at the front door or watching out of the windows.

Applecross was delightful: friendly with great food at the Inn and the Walled Garden, and we caught the Applecross Games which were excellent (the puppy won first prize in the dog show!). We took away very fond memories and will definitely return.
And the best thing: despite being mid July, not a midge all week!!!

Helen Prout
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 30/08/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

This was our first visit as a family to this part of Scotland and what a fabulous cottage we stayed in. Clean and cosy - what more could we ask. Weather wasn’t great but that didn’t stop us enjoying ourselves. Hope to visit again next year.

Caroline Miller
Reviewed Old Schoolhouse on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Schoolhouse

Mrs & Miss Helm
Reviewed Glenara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Glenara

We had a wonderful time at Glenara, it was perfectly located in the village with the Caledonian canal out the front, with the rear garden leading down to the River Oich and only a 5 minute walk to Loch Ness.
The cottage was perfect for our needs and our 7 month old puppy really enjoyed running around the garden and swimming in the loch.
The whole process of booking the cottage was hassle free, I would definitely use this website and this cottage in particular.

Pete & Maxine
Reviewed Ceol na Mara on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Ceol na Mara

We have stayed at Ceol na Mara twice now and absolutely love this little cottage. The view over the loch changes everytime you look out the window - simpy wonderful. The cottage is well equipped and is a real home from home - we can highly recommend this cottage and will be returning.

MRS S DAVIS
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 28/08/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

8/8/09 until 22/8/09 Our second visit to this fabulous cosy remote cottage set in the mountains and lochs. Never seen such a busy bird table with so many different birds including the woodpecker (fascinating)and in the evening two pine martins visit,they steal the fat balls and nuts from the birdtable and even look through the patio window. They love date and walnut cake or a scone with jam on it.In October last year we had the Deer right outside but not in August this time.A great place to relax and get away from it all. Lots of great walks through the forest and to Loch Loyne. We did the walk along the road to nowhere and we conquered the mountain in front of the cottage 535ft what an achievement at our age. The games room with its football game and dart board is ideal on a rainy day when you just want to chill out with a wee dram and the shortbread. Went to Oban, Applecross, Lossiemouth, Fort William and Inverness all within easy reach.

Rob & Linda
Reviewed The Bakehouse on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

The Bakehouse

Tim & Marcelle
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Our second visit to the cottage. The last time Christmas 2007. The standard of accomadation remains very high and we could see the property has been very well maintained. The location remains very inspriational.
We can’t help feeling we’re going back one day.
Thanks

Anabel Sala
Reviewed Coach House on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Coach House

Family R├╝senberg
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

Patrick Family
Reviewed Old Stables on 27/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Stables

We had a great holiday at Old Stables. The conversion of a former stable into this wonderful spacious and relaxing accomadation suitable, as in our case for three generations -from 21yrs thro to 81yrs. The house was spotlessly clean and extremely well equipped. We have enjoyed two holidays with Wilderness Cottages and both houses have provided the same excellent standard of accomodation.

Craig Rides
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Thank you once again for a truly wonderful holiday! This is my second time back to Loch Ness (previously 9 years ago) & didn’t think I could surpass my previous visit. I have to say though that the accomodation was absolutely outstanding !! Location was excellent with wonderful views to the Loch & also the woodland (located nr Foyers Falls) Rooms were spacious (the master bedroom in particular) In fact I couldn’t fault the cottage at all & flicking through the guest book in the reception room it is apparent that all previous guests agree ! Superb location as a base to explore. I would most definitely recommend Hill Head Croft & will certainly hope to stay here again.

Robert Blackmore
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Suzanne
Reviewed Osprey on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Osprey

The Graham Family &
Reviewed Wildwood on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Wildwood

We are not from far away, but with our disabled son it was a beautiful setting and a change of senery, the peace and quiet the other 3 boys enjoyed their holiday the stunning walks on our door step which our spaniel Rooney really enjoyed. Our late night visitor the Pinemartin who came every night, the fox in the wood and the deer. We took a cruise on the Loch which was lovely but no sign of the Monster . Maybe next time. The house was marvelous on arrival with the little extras as well, milk in the fridge, and the shortbread, which disappeared quick. Many thanks for our holiday break, and hope to do it again soon, Thanks Lorna Donald,Gordon, Myles, Grant and Scott and Rooney

Family Lange, Germany
Reviewed Moat House 6 - Abbey on 26/08/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 6 - Abbey

Barbara Laing
Reviewed Jersey - The Dairy on 25/08/2009
And awarded it

Jersey - The Dairy

’The Bithells’ & Max The Dog.
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 24/08/2009
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

After a fab week in October we returned in August. We had another wonderful 2 weeks, cosy cottage spectacular scenery and lots of wonderful walks right on the doorstep. We visited many places during our stay, shin falls, Chia-aig falls, Dores beach, Fort Willliam, Inverness, Lossiemouth, Dornoch Firth (to watch the seals), Nairn, Fort Augustus, Beauly, Oban, Invermorriston and Applecross ( a hair-raising drive through ’The pass of the cattle’, 2053 feet above sea level, not for the faint hearted or nervous driver -or passenger for that matter!) we also made our annual pilgramage to Moniac Castle for our wines and preserves.
The bird table was always a flurry of activity one day we counted 40 plus birds including a woodpecker. (they are very greedy indeed)
But not as greedy as the resident pine-martens!, we were lucky to be visited every night at dusk where they feasted on scones with marmalade or peanut butter!, they also stole the fat ball nightly from the bird table, one night they even stole all the peanuts, feeder as well (we found it 2 days later hidden in the bushes!) I was lucky enough to get video footage using nightshot on my video camera of their antics.
We also had some lovely walks around the cottage, in the forest, along the road and followed the old drovers road to skye (by Tomdoun Church) it now stops dead at Loch Loyne, we also spotted 5 stags on this walk. Our dog Max loves this cottage, the only downfall was the MIDGES!. A fab cottage, fantastic location

Kathy Smith
Reviewed Balmachree on 22/08/2009
And awarded it

Balmachree

Lovely, practical and comfortable house with everything you need, in a fantastic setting ... mountains, lochs, streams and so much wildlife ... friendly locals at the Whitebridge Hotel, fantastic walk to Foyers, and well placed for trips all over the Highlands. We will definitely stay here again next time we go away as a large family group. Only slightly negative comment I can make is that the website doesn’t inform you that the house is in a close with 2 other homes, not a problem for us, but its not as isolated as the photos would suggest, however there is a lot of space between the houses therefore still very private and the stream at the bottom of the garden is an absolute treat. Fantastic holiday that sadly went by far too quickly.

Jane Howard
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 22/08/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Morag Williams
Reviewed Allt-Na-Crich on 20/08/2009
And awarded it

Allt-Na-Crich

Denise & Phillip Parker
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 18/08/2009
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

lovely cottage beautiful views the country side was beautiful our granddaughter thoroughly enjoyed her self it was magic to see 4 stags standing by the stream we will definetly be back

C Rutherford
Reviewed Burnside Lodge on 17/08/2009
And awarded it

Burnside Lodge

Dave,Teresa,Emily & Molly Barber
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 16/08/2009
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Graham Ingham
Reviewed Tigh A Chreagan on 16/08/2009
And awarded it

Tigh A Chreagan

Adrian, Sarah, Jeff, Norma, Kate & Will
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 15/08/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan