Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2401 to 2450 of 2734


The Henderson Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 05/01/2009
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Excellent cottage, well equipped. We were there the week after xmas 2008 and the temp was -8 most of the time which was great as everything was white. Best to take at least the basic food items with you as the nearest shops are 13 miles away in Fort Augustus or 23 miles to Inverness although there is a local shop for rolls/papers etc in Foyers 5 miles. Plenty of things to see & do , lovely walks which our 2 westies loved. The cottage is a home from home and our 18 month old loved being able to run about as it is all on the flat. John & Dorothy’s lovely welcome of wine, shortbread, chocs and dog biscuits made the perfect start to a perfect holiday. Although I live in Scotland it was like living in another country, so peaceful & quiet plus spectacular scenery.

Craig Matthews
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/01/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Our stay at the cottage was absolutley fantastic.

The Christmas holiday got off to a wonderful start as the cottage was beautifully prepared, including decorations and Christmas tree!

Myself, my partner and our two children all had a the most relaxing time and we would definately recommend the cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all.

We cannot wait to go back.

Andy & Julie Wilson
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 30/12/2008
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

ALISON AND JAMIE MARTIN
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 15/12/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We just wanted to say that we had the most amazing honeymoon in the Old Smiddy, made all the more special as we got married in The Belladrum Temple just half a mile away. We had the most perfect day and perfect stay on the Belladrum estate. We cant wait to return for our anniversaries.
04.10.08-11.10.08

Sarah
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 10/12/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We had a lovely stay at Moat House 1 in November. The apartment is more spectaular then the images show. The master bath was wonderful and there was lots of space in the bedrooms.
The service has been of the highest standard. No 1 really feels like a home will all the necessities - perfect. The flowers and the welcome pack were very much appreciated - thank you for a lovely stay.
If you are bringing a small baby this apartment is ideal as you can gain access from the ground floor, you don't have to carry the buggy up the stairs!

GILL, TONY AND SCOOBY
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 02/12/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Lucy & Joff Edevane
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 28/11/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Ken & Gretchen Dickason
Reviewed Coach House on 23/11/2008
And awarded it

Coach House

Kay & Riki
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/11/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We stayed at the cottage from 8th-15th November 2008 and weren’t disappointed. The cottage itself was delightful with the attention to detail fantastic!! We found The Old Smiddy everything we were looking for. A great place for lazy mornings and evenings in front of the fire aswell as a great base for visiting the surrounding area. Our Westie Poppy also enjoyed her stay immensly and was extremely gratful for the welcome Bonio. We will be back.

Gooding, S
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 21/11/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Natalie
Reviewed Wildwood on 18/11/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful log cabin in a stunning location! The cabin is extremely well equipped with nothing forgotten - the views from the lounge area upstairs are stunning. It is extremely peaceful, but with Fort Augustus conveniently just down the road for essentials or to enjoy a meal out. There are so many places to visit that you?ll never get bored, but there are also plenty of great walks straight from the doorstep which my dog absolutely loved. If you fancy a bit of skiing, the Ben Nevis range is not far away. I would highly recommend this cabin to everyone - you won?t be disappointed.

S Gooding
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 17/11/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Laura Magowan
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 17/11/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a lovely relaxing break staying here. The cottage was excellent - very cosy and welcoming. The area is fantastic.....stunning walks and drives along the coast. We loved the food at the Applecross Inn and Kishorn seafood bar. We felt relaxed and refreshed after our few days away and hope to return in the near future.

Mrs Hawkshaw
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay this
year in your gem of a cottage. I do envy you as it is so cosy. Thanks for
letting us stay.

Susan Marshall
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

The house is very well equipped and is ideal for a cosy ’get away from everything’ break especially the wood-burning stove. Enclosed garden great for the dog and front and back porches served well on wet days with wet clothes and muddy paws.

Near enough to Fort Augustus for shops and restaraunts and also Inverness is just a half hour drive.

The Whitebridge hotel is only a ten minute drive, has a friendly ambience and is very dog friendly.

Diana Haining
Reviewed Giusaichean on 04/11/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Max { The Dog}
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 03/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

wow! great cottage, log fire to lie in front of, large garden to run and play in, all fenced and secure, would have loved to play with all the deer that came every day. Lots of lovely walks, enjoyed the forest over the brige in the snow...great fun....visited fort augustus, Beauly, Inverness, Skye, Mallaig, Fort William, Oban and Kinloch Hourn..had a great walk here at ’end of the road’ saw lots of highland cattle and deer on this trip! cant wait to come back...loved it ’WOOF, WOOF’ Mum and Dad loved it to, im going to bring them back next year......

Sue Wilson Wendy & Stewart
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 02/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a fantastic weeks holiday, cosy, remote and comfortable. Breathtaking scenery, great place for a base in Invergarry. Travelled to Mallaig, Isle of Sky, Fort William, Oban, Inverness, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, got some brilliant chutneys and wine from Monniac Castle 10 miles west of Inverness. Lots of bird species and animal life even deer in the garden of the cottage every morning. Had a heavy snowfall in October it was great. Got the photos to look at in the winter months ahead. Can’t wait to go back, Thank you Wendy for inviting us to come with you on this trip it was fab.

Richard & Alison Bond McNally
Reviewed Callakille on 29/10/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

Firth Family
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 28/10/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

The Highlands never fail to impress - excellent week in Fort Augustus and round about. Very lucky with weather - cottage was well equipt and lovely and warm to return to at the end of the day.

Only negative - twin room beds a bit lumpy.

The Wynne-McHardy Family
Reviewed Balmachree on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Balmachree

We were delighted with the house which was very spacious, clean and warm. The situation is marvellous right by a river though fenced off and a lovely garden. We were able to visit Culloden, Glen Affric and see Stags grazing at the road side!
Thoroughly recommend staying there.

Natalie Huntley
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Joan & Phil Watt
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We stayed four nights in this lovely apartment at the Abbey. The setting could not be more picturesque. There was plenty of space for ourselves and our granddaughter. We were very impressed with the standard of decor, the facilities and the spaciousness of the apartment. There were lovely touches, such as the bottle of wine, fresh flowers and shortbread waiting for us on our arrival. We had good weather and made trips to Inverness, Castle Urquhart and the Highland Wildlife Park at Kingussie. Fort Augustus was great, too. There always seemed to be something happening at the locks on the canal and there were good places to eat in the village.
Definitely worth a return visit.

Kenny Darroch
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

My wife Val, our border collie Ted and I have just returned from a terrific week’s break at The Old Smiddy. The weather was varied but we managed to time it just right to avoid the rain when we were out and about - returning to the cosy cottage and spending peaceful nights with the log burner crackling in the background. The cottage is a great base to visit the many sights and attractions in the highlands and we spent our week being lazy in and around the cottage, reading, listening to music and walking with Ted. I can recommend The Old Smiddy to young and old as can be seen by the varied positive comments in the visitors book. We will return to The Old Smiddy and will remember with fondness our well earned break there.

Kevin & Maria
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Irene Brown
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed here with 4 friends to do the Loch Ness run. The croft was absolutely gorgeous and the views were fantastic. The cleanliness was second to none and this was a true bonus and quite rare. Every thing was as described in the brochure also a rarety. We all felt quite priviledged to be allowed to stay there as if this were my house i would not be renting it out.
Hopeful to return in 2009 to do the run again and to stay in this wonderful croft.

Terry, Ingrid & Dogs!
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We recently returned from our second stay at Rowan Ridge (this one being our Honeymoon!) and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The cottage is correctly rated at 4 stars. It really is a home from home with all the amenities you need and expect. It is very clean, warm, cosy and comfortable.
It is in a wonderful location, set on a farm with coloured walks that cater for all ages and abilities.
It is also the perfect base for those wanting to explore the area, being close to Loch Ness, Inverness, Findhorn etc. (Would recommend a trip to Foyers Falls & Findhorn Bay).
All in all we had a great time and for early October, the weather was kind to us too.
We have already recommended this location to friends so would have no hesitation in recommending to visitors to the Wilderness Cottages website.

Lisa & Steve
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Hilary & Barry
Reviewed The Granary on 20/10/2008
And awarded it

The Granary

This place does not disappoint. The quality and attention to detail is a credit to the owners. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Carol Metcalfe
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 13/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

The Lockwoods
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 12/10/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Got back yesterday from a brilliant week in Owl Cottage. Ideally situated, spotlessly clean and well equipped, it felt more like a home than a holiday cottage. Beautiful scenery in all directions from fort Augustus and even though the weather was a bit Scottish, the scenery still managed to look impressive. Our little dog was doing impressions of Nessie by swimming in the loch every morning.
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage.

Lara Tagg
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 09/10/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Lorna
Reviewed Giusaichean on 08/10/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Valerie
Reviewed Wildwood on 08/10/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful log house in the most idyllic setting. Upon my arrival I could not help but notice how clean and well equipped the house was. It caters for everything and everyone. Enjoyed fantastic walks with our dog and saw some spectacular scenery, especially on the south side of Loch Ness. Scotland is a beautiful place but staying in Wildwood made it truely special!

Eileen & Keith Willis
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 07/10/2008
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We’ve just returned home after a lovey week at Littlepark cottage. The cottage is lovely, a real home from home, although our arrival was marred by the fact no one was expecting us and the cottage had no electricity on, no heating or water. The caretaker Sue and her hubby were brilliant! and came to our rescue within 5 mins of ringing them and we soon had the fire going and the place cosy.
Loads of peace and quiet, no phone signal! hooray.
The dogs loved curling up in front of the fire and we loved watching the birds on the bird table. The highlight of the week was seeing a pinemarten visit the garden and enjoying the jam sandwiches that we left on the bird table.
The other highlight was the 8.30 sleeper train ’tooting’ every night as he passed (the line is adjacent to the cottage, but the trains are very few and far between).
The road down to the cottage is steep, but posed no problems.
We would definately go back to Littlepark and would recommend it to anyone. The owner rang us mid week to make sure we were ok and it was with heavy hearts we left on Saturday and look forward to going back.

David Robbie
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 06/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

Caroline Barnes
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/10/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnies croft is simply idyllic. The setting high above Urquhart Castle looking down Loch Ness is breath-taking, even though the first drive to the house was a touch scary!! This was our first stay on this side of the loch as we wanted to explore Glen Affric, and it proved an ideal base.
The house itself is very comfortable with a beautiful kitchen,and lovely views from every window.
Our dog loved the garden and early morning walks from the front door up the hill.
We had a wonderful week and can’t wait to return.

Brian Ewart
Reviewed Fairhaven on 04/10/2008
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Lisa & Ruairidh Anderson
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 01/10/2008
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

Ray
Reviewed Wildwood on 30/09/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Brilliant log house in super surroundings making a truly excellent holiday. Now has blackout curtains in main bedroom.
Very well equipped, we didn’t want for anything. Make sure you feed Marty the pine martin - he loves sweet food like bread and jam / honey. Climbed Ben Nevis, travelled the steam train to Mallaig and done plenty of walking through the surrounding forest and by the canal. Absolutely brilliant whitewater kayaking - the best in this country. Will definitely be coming again! Ray from Sussex 6th-13th September 08

PIERRE DU TOIT & FAMILY
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 30/09/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Adrian & Brenda Depear
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 29/09/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

we have only returned a few days past, and already missing Achintraid, the views are spectacular, walks fantastic, and people wonderful, accommodation very comfortable providing all amenities needed for a relaxing stress free holiday.
Hosts John and Sally meet and greet you with a smile always stop and chat, and make you feel so welcome.
we will be returning next year 09 for the third year running.

Mandy Kendall
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 28/09/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Amazing cottage with stunning views of the loch and castle,a great time had by us and our two little jack russels,walks from your doorstep and regular visits from the local wildlife,we will return as soon as we can.

Stuart & Jayne Roberts
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 23/09/2008
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

David Clampin
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 16/09/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Sue Loft
Reviewed Charleston on 14/09/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

We have just returned from a lovely week at this beautiful cottage.
If anyone is having even the slightest doubt about booking this cottage then please rest easy, you will not regret it.

If peace and quiet is what your holidays are about then this is definitely the place for you.

The cottage is equipped to the highest standard and the views are quite simply breathtaking, thank you Mr & Mrs Hepburn for making this place available to us lucky tourists.

Would I book this cottage again......................with bells on!!!!!

Melanie Cawkwell
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 13/09/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Lovely location, well equipped and very comfortable. Superb scenery and lots to do in the area. We had a relaxing and enjoyable time and our two dogs had a good holiday too.
Very peaceful with loads of wildlife including many birds, deer and we saw a red squirrel !
Thank you

Mr & Mrs Harrison
Reviewed Charleston on 13/09/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Probably one of the best views in Scotland,stayed in Abriachan last year but this location has finally made up our mind to move North so we are now looking for land/accomodation in Scotland to relocate.

This cottage is superb peace and quiet is the theme here with wild deer roaming all around,the cottage is superbly equipped,would I return.........absolutly!!

Mr & Mrs Whigham
Reviewed Lianachan on 11/09/2008
And awarded it

Lianachan

Sarah Chattaway
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/09/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Very beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage in fantastic location. Ideal for exploring the area and relaxing afterwards. Variety of walks nearby including to secret beach. Fantastic beaches further afield too, [white sand, turquoise water.] Kayaking lessons available in Applecross Bay all helped to keep children happy despite changeable weather. Great food locally too, Applecross Inn, Walled Garden and Kishorn Seafood Bar. Didn’t want to leave and hope to return soon!