Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2451 to 2500 of 2734


Kevin & Maria
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Irene Brown
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We stayed here with 4 friends to do the Loch Ness run. The croft was absolutely gorgeous and the views were fantastic. The cleanliness was second to none and this was a true bonus and quite rare. Every thing was as described in the brochure also a rarety. We all felt quite priviledged to be allowed to stay there as if this were my house i would not be renting it out.
Hopeful to return in 2009 to do the run again and to stay in this wonderful croft.

Terry, Ingrid & Dogs!
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

We recently returned from our second stay at Rowan Ridge (this one being our Honeymoon!) and again we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.
The cottage is correctly rated at 4 stars. It really is a home from home with all the amenities you need and expect. It is very clean, warm, cosy and comfortable.
It is in a wonderful location, set on a farm with coloured walks that cater for all ages and abilities.
It is also the perfect base for those wanting to explore the area, being close to Loch Ness, Inverness, Findhorn etc. (Would recommend a trip to Foyers Falls & Findhorn Bay).
All in all we had a great time and for early October, the weather was kind to us too.
We have already recommended this location to friends so would have no hesitation in recommending to visitors to the Wilderness Cottages website.

Lisa & Steve
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Hilary & Barry
Reviewed The Granary on 20/10/2008
And awarded it

The Granary

This place does not disappoint. The quality and attention to detail is a credit to the owners. We really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Carol Metcalfe
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 13/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

The Lockwoods
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 12/10/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Got back yesterday from a brilliant week in Owl Cottage. Ideally situated, spotlessly clean and well equipped, it felt more like a home than a holiday cottage. Beautiful scenery in all directions from fort Augustus and even though the weather was a bit Scottish, the scenery still managed to look impressive. Our little dog was doing impressions of Nessie by swimming in the loch every morning.
Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this cottage.

Lara Tagg
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 09/10/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Lorna
Reviewed Giusaichean on 08/10/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Valerie
Reviewed Wildwood on 08/10/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful log house in the most idyllic setting. Upon my arrival I could not help but notice how clean and well equipped the house was. It caters for everything and everyone. Enjoyed fantastic walks with our dog and saw some spectacular scenery, especially on the south side of Loch Ness. Scotland is a beautiful place but staying in Wildwood made it truely special!

Eileen & Keith Willis
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 07/10/2008
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

We’ve just returned home after a lovey week at Littlepark cottage. The cottage is lovely, a real home from home, although our arrival was marred by the fact no one was expecting us and the cottage had no electricity on, no heating or water. The caretaker Sue and her hubby were brilliant! and came to our rescue within 5 mins of ringing them and we soon had the fire going and the place cosy.
Loads of peace and quiet, no phone signal! hooray.
The dogs loved curling up in front of the fire and we loved watching the birds on the bird table. The highlight of the week was seeing a pinemarten visit the garden and enjoying the jam sandwiches that we left on the bird table.
The other highlight was the 8.30 sleeper train ’tooting’ every night as he passed (the line is adjacent to the cottage, but the trains are very few and far between).
The road down to the cottage is steep, but posed no problems.
We would definately go back to Littlepark and would recommend it to anyone. The owner rang us mid week to make sure we were ok and it was with heavy hearts we left on Saturday and look forward to going back.

David Robbie
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 06/10/2008
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

Caroline Barnes
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 06/10/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Marnies croft is simply idyllic. The setting high above Urquhart Castle looking down Loch Ness is breath-taking, even though the first drive to the house was a touch scary!! This was our first stay on this side of the loch as we wanted to explore Glen Affric, and it proved an ideal base.
The house itself is very comfortable with a beautiful kitchen,and lovely views from every window.
Our dog loved the garden and early morning walks from the front door up the hill.
We had a wonderful week and can’t wait to return.

Brian Ewart
Reviewed Fairhaven on 04/10/2008
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Lisa & Ruairidh Anderson
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 01/10/2008
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

Ray
Reviewed Wildwood on 30/09/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Brilliant log house in super surroundings making a truly excellent holiday. Now has blackout curtains in main bedroom.
Very well equipped, we didn’t want for anything. Make sure you feed Marty the pine martin - he loves sweet food like bread and jam / honey. Climbed Ben Nevis, travelled the steam train to Mallaig and done plenty of walking through the surrounding forest and by the canal. Absolutely brilliant whitewater kayaking - the best in this country. Will definitely be coming again! Ray from Sussex 6th-13th September 08

PIERRE DU TOIT & FAMILY
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 30/09/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Adrian & Brenda Depear
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 29/09/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

we have only returned a few days past, and already missing Achintraid, the views are spectacular, walks fantastic, and people wonderful, accommodation very comfortable providing all amenities needed for a relaxing stress free holiday.
Hosts John and Sally meet and greet you with a smile always stop and chat, and make you feel so welcome.
we will be returning next year 09 for the third year running.

Mandy Kendall
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 28/09/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Amazing cottage with stunning views of the loch and castle,a great time had by us and our two little jack russels,walks from your doorstep and regular visits from the local wildlife,we will return as soon as we can.

Stuart & Jayne Roberts
Reviewed Hillview Cottage on 23/09/2008
And awarded it

Hillview Cottage

David Clampin
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 16/09/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Sue Loft
Reviewed Charleston on 14/09/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

We have just returned from a lovely week at this beautiful cottage.
If anyone is having even the slightest doubt about booking this cottage then please rest easy, you will not regret it.

If peace and quiet is what your holidays are about then this is definitely the place for you.

The cottage is equipped to the highest standard and the views are quite simply breathtaking, thank you Mr & Mrs Hepburn for making this place available to us lucky tourists.

Would I book this cottage again......................with bells on!!!!!

Melanie Cawkwell
Reviewed Rowan Ridge on 13/09/2008
And awarded it

Rowan Ridge

Lovely location, well equipped and very comfortable. Superb scenery and lots to do in the area. We had a relaxing and enjoyable time and our two dogs had a good holiday too.
Very peaceful with loads of wildlife including many birds, deer and we saw a red squirrel !
Thank you

Mr & Mrs Harrison
Reviewed Charleston on 13/09/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Probably one of the best views in Scotland,stayed in Abriachan last year but this location has finally made up our mind to move North so we are now looking for land/accomodation in Scotland to relocate.

This cottage is superb peace and quiet is the theme here with wild deer roaming all around,the cottage is superbly equipped,would I return.........absolutly!!

Mr & Mrs Whigham
Reviewed Lianachan on 11/09/2008
And awarded it

Lianachan

Sarah Chattaway
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/09/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Very beautiful, cosy, well equipped cottage in fantastic location. Ideal for exploring the area and relaxing afterwards. Variety of walks nearby including to secret beach. Fantastic beaches further afield too, [white sand, turquoise water.] Kayaking lessons available in Applecross Bay all helped to keep children happy despite changeable weather. Great food locally too, Applecross Inn, Walled Garden and Kishorn Seafood Bar. Didn’t want to leave and hope to return soon!

Vicki Goodwin
Reviewed Lianachan on 05/09/2008
And awarded it

Lianachan

David Kelly
Reviewed Half-seventeen on 04/09/2008
And awarded it

Half-seventeen

Mortimer Family
Reviewed Timber House on 01/09/2008
And awarded it

Timber House

We had a wonderful time at the Timber House at Skinidin. The house was immaculate, really comfortable, with lovely bed linen on made beds which was fantastic, and the housekeeper had left us a bottle of wine, biscuits and fruit which were very much appreciated. We have rented many cottages over the years and this was definately the best we have found.

Karen Evans
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 31/08/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Stephen Risker
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 31/08/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

What a fantastic cottage, it had everything we needed for a relaxing two weeks away, plenty of walks right on our doorstep to keep the dogs happy.
Would consider using Wilderness Cottages again the website is easy to use and found the cottage to be just like the description, anyone considering a holiday in the Highlands would not go far wrong renting from this website especially if the have four legged friends.

Sarah Farmer
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 28/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

We have just returned from a fantastic week at Bayside Cottage- the best holiday we have had for a few years. The standard of accommodation was outstanding and excellent value. I was anxious about how my ’urban’ offspring (particularly the teenager) would adapt to such a remote and unspoilt area, but they were totally charmed by the beauty of the sunsets, loved racing down the large dune at Sand Beach, kayaking and rock climbing with the Sea and Mountain Guides, eating delicious pizza in the Flower Tunnel Cafe, and watching the local raft race. On the dull days we took a trip from Plockton to see the seal colony and visited the Eilean Donan Castle. When it was really wet We made homemade bread, cosied up to watch TV and played board games. My daughter commented that it was easier to make new friends as there were so few children around everyone was really friendly. Would really love to come again.

Mrs Jean Gregory
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 27/08/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We had a fantastic week here, the lodge is surrounded by so much beautiful scenery and wildlife.It was such a tranquill place to unwind and relax.The lodge was very clean, with all the appliances you would use at home. The added bonus was we could take our dog. We had so much pleasure watching all the little birds, the mice and of course the star The Pine Martin. Hopefully we will all be going back next year.

Alex Baird
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 26/08/2008
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

John
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 26/08/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Lovely immaculate cottage and very comfortable. Mixed weather but thankfully no midges. Wish you had pointed out that the last part of the road is like a cart track and wish we had a 4x4! Had we known just how rough it was would have chosen a different cottage.
The steam train ride from Fort William to Mallaig was the highlight of our holiday. Stunning views and no driving that day just relaxed.
The owners of Fersit Log Cottage and Wilderness Cottages would like to say in response to this comment that the cottage has been booked by over 70 clients and this is the first time we have received any negative feedback regarding the road. The road is not tarmac, but if driven with care is suitable for cars, a 4x4 is not necessary.

Damon Mitchell
Reviewed Mealishal on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Mealishal

Lena Mills
Reviewed Charleston on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

This is the best self catering cottage that we have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The ever changing views from every window were breathtaking. The sheep and the cows in the fields next to the cottage, along with the occasional visit from the deer, wild Hares and birds were a welcome addition to the the views. We wanted a ’get away from it all’ experience and Charleston certainly gave us just that.
Charleston is a credit to its owners who have gone far beyond the needs of a holiday cottage. The beautifull fresh flowers in every room, the complimentary bottle of wine and the Scottish Shortbread biscuits. These along with all the other extras made this holiday extra special.
Any regrets ? yes, just one and that is that we couldn’t stay longer.

Caroline Joe James Rosie & Harry Klement
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

Wow!!! if you are looking for the wow factor then this Croft certainly has it. Fantastic ever changing views across the loch to greet you each day. Tranquility and peace. Great walks close to the croft and an exellent base for accessing other areas. Even our three teenagers said this was a brilliant place. The croft was VERY comfortable and spacious, very well equipped with cosy beds (thank you). Great local horse riding, friendly staff at the farm.
Our family is looking forward to a return visit.

Linda Doctor
Reviewed Don Cottage on 25/08/2008
And awarded it

Don Cottage

we spent a week in this cottage, and it felt like home from the moment we entered. A lovely clean modern cottage set in beautiful surroundings, every need catered for and more....
(even the dog didnt want to leave) .......looking forward to returning next year. Linda Doctor

Mairi
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 18/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Jackie & Rob Sewell
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Corinne
Reviewed Lomond Castle on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Lomond Castle

Allan McGee & Rosanne Deas & Tye The Dog.
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Absolutely superb! Such a warm welcome awaited us on our arrival with chilled wine, fresh flowers and even biscuits for the dog. The cottage was truly charming with evey possible amenity provided - not a thing was missing. Immaculately clean and tidy with towels and linen included. For a small cottage it is deceptively spacious with plenty room to spread out. The cottage is positioned in the very heart of Applecross surrounded by breathtaking scenery and panoramic views which take in the Cuillin Mountains. The front porch and benches outside provide an ideal viewing point for observing the local wildlife and taking in the magnificent sunsets. The location of the cottage is excellent for those who enjoy walking, wildlife and outdoor activities; at the same time providing a peaceful break. Quiet but not too remote, the village has a local Inn which is always busy serving a top class menu. Very friendly neighbours and a warm welcome from all the locals. Without doubt, Bayside Cottage can be very highly recommended, and we will be sure to return.

Paul
Reviewed Wildwood on 17/08/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

A very nice spot full of lovely walks. The cabin is very well equipped. I was very surprised to see three Pine Martins helping themselves to food that we had set out.

David Allan
Reviewed Giusaichean on 16/08/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Alan & Jan Foreman & Family
Reviewed Charleston on 14/08/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Certainly the best-equipped cottage we have stayed at in over 20 years of self-catering holidays, and such a spacious proprty. Even my teenage boys were impressed and want to come here again next year. The views from just about every window were breath-taking and the red-deer coming into the garden to munch on the grass was something special. Even the mixed weather couldn’t spoil such a splendid property. This was our first experience of Wilderness Cottages, and will not be our last !

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A super week in a great cottage and location. Once again we have been treated well with the weather and had plenty of walks and opportunities for wildlife spotting. Although you don’t need to travel for this. Within the first 24 hours of our stay we spotted 20 different species of birds from the house. Also had fun watching the vole in the garden. Thank you again, John and Dorothy, for such a warm welcome. We are sorry to be leaving but look forward to our next visit.

Pam & Graham Firth
Reviewed Callakille on 12/08/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

John & Jackie Cowell
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 11/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

One of the best cottages we have ever stayed in, well equipped and the "hosts" were so helpful. We?ll be back! Thanks a million!
John & Jackie Cowell, Lincolnshire

David Curley
Reviewed Woodside Lodge on 10/08/2008
And awarded it

Woodside Lodge

Sally and John, they think of everything, it was a home from home but with stunning scenery, very unusual visitors to the garden, Pine Martins, Buzzard Wrens, siskins the list goes on, The sea food cabin at Kishorn is very good, Oh, nearly forgot to mention Sally?s free range eggs are loverly !!