Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2451 to 2500 of 2902


Nan & Harry Barr
Reviewed Giusaichean on 09/06/2009
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Joan Parkinson
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 09/06/2009
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We all had a brilliant time and so did Susie our Golden retriever, who really enjoyed herself. So on behalf of Dave, Sue, Dennis Joan and last but not least Susie a really big thank you. the cottage was perfect.

Jackie & Geoff Moseley
Reviewed The Granary on 08/06/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

Wow!! As soon as we stepped in, it was like being at home. The decoration and the attention to detail was brilliant. We had a very warm welcome from Kirsty and Calum, and there was a lovely bottle of wine in the fridge together with some homemade scones, what a nice touch.
We have stayed at many cottages in Scotland, and this one was definitely the best. It is perfectly situated for touring the area and you certainly do not have to go far to enjoy the wonderful scenery. The weather helped as it was hot and sunny for most of the week.
This is somewhere we would love to come back to and spend more time.
Thanks Kirsty and Calum for letting us share The Granary, it was superb!

Frank & Christine Griggs & Max The Collie
Reviewed Lianachan on 07/06/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Charlotte & Christian
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 06/06/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We spent Christmas at Fersit and it was wonderful, they even provided a tree. The cottage is set in beautiful, remote countryside. The inside is warm, cosy and immaculate with everything you could possibly need. We have stayed in many holiday cottages and this was the best by far. Make sure you look at the sky on a clear night, the stars will take your breath away.

Diane Steed
Reviewed Laracks on 03/06/2009
And awarded it

Laracks

Claudette Miller
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 03/06/2009
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Gav & Jude
Reviewed Log House on 24/05/2009
And awarded it

Log House

Wonderful holiday had, glourious sunshine and surroundings, with lots of good memories.
Accomadation was lovely, no faults found, and would recommend to all, great location to tour from.

Dean & Nicola
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 23/05/2009
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

A lovely peaceful cottage, in beautiful surroundings. Nicely furnished and well-proportioned.

Highly recommended. We saw the pine marten eating its jam sandwiches and also saw some deer on the track down the cottage. Waving to the trains is also a highlight.

Dawn & Duncan McDonald
Reviewed Curlew Croft on 22/05/2009
And awarded it

Curlew Croft

Louise & Matt (Cunningham-Harding)
Reviewed Don Cottage on 18/05/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

The Cottage was lovely and comfortable, a real home from home. Very good location, not far from Loch Ness or Urquhart Castle. Very friendly neighbours and all mod cons. Lovely welcome pack of shortbread, whisky and wine. We had a lovely sunny week’s holiday in this cottage and will definitely go back. Very highly recommended.

Rob In & Chris Fisk
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 18/05/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Well our first visit and it certainly won’t be our last! We were blessed with a wonderful dry sunny week. Bayside Cottage exceeded our expectations. It is without doubt the best equipped cottage we’ve visited. Malcolm and Roz have thought of and provided everything!

The location is superb, the locals friendly, the pub all we could hope for!

Back soon we hope!

Allison & Russell Eadie
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 12/05/2009
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Another great week...although probably the wettest on record! Will be back again, hopefully next year.

Glynne, Lisa & The Guys
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 11/05/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Yet again a fabulous holiday! Hill Head was a perfect cottage for us in every sense and such a treat to spend my 40th. The walks for the guys were so convenient especially as they had spent 10 hrs in the car to get there. The weather couldnt have been better for us but look forward to coming back in the winter. To wake up every morning with an every changing view of Loch Ness was magical. Thank you to everyone for a memorable holiday. See you soon

Chris & Bill
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 05/05/2009
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

A beautifully presented cottage with everything you need for a relaxing peaceful holiday. We had a lovely welcome of refreshments and even biscuits for our dogs. A nice quiet base for visiting numerous wildlife and historic sites. Help and information on hand with the owners John and Dorothy living locally.

Caroline Wheeler-Rowe
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 01/05/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

I cannot fault the Abbey or the location in the heart of Fort Augustus. The decor of Moat House 1 is of a high standard and the bedrooms and bathrooms a good size. However, the blurb does not mention that the beautiful master bedroom does not have any windows, nor does the master bathroom which you need to go through to access the bedroom. There is also no door between the master bedroom and bathroom. I personally cannot sleep in a bedroom without a window and we had to put our baby in the master and we moved to the twin. The lounge/dinner is quite small and whilst OK for 2 would be cramped with more. Because of the height of the ceilings, there are quite a number of stairs up the living area so although it is marketed as a ground floor flat and good for buggies, etc, in reality you spend the majority of time upstairs. If the master bedroom had only had a window it would be the best self-catering property we have ever stayed in.

Vince & Linda Wolanski
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 01/05/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Trish & Colin England
Reviewed Log House on 29/04/2009
And awarded it

Log House

An epic journey for us from Dorset! It was well worth the drive - saw alot of the County that way rather than flying. The log cabin is in a great location surrounded by woodland and the walks from there are great. Our week was sunny and warm so this was a bonus for the stunning views of the mountains. The walk up Ben Nevis a highlight as it was sunshine all the way to the top with snow on the last 400 m of ascent. Wildlife great and saw a pine marten which is very rare. Would recommend it for a place to stay.

Alastair Leaver
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 29/04/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

We found Hill Cottage exceptionally comfortable and well equipped. It is situated in a wonderful setting overlooking Laxford Loch with a backdrop of stunning mountain scenery. If you want to get away from it all, this is the cottage for you.

Fiona White
Reviewed Old Stables on 29/04/2009
And awarded it

Old Stables

We stayed at the Old Stables in April 2009. it is very comfortable and beautifully kept with good facilities and in a lovely location with walking and history on the doorstep. It is also not far from the beautiful glens of Affic and Strathfarrar. The younger members of our party (early twenties) also found good mountain biking and golf not too far away. An excellent week with reasonable weather.

Denys Usov
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 29/04/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

My wife. 1.5 year old son and I spent 5 fantastic days at Moat House 10 and recommend it to everyone. The apartment is huge and very comfortable with enough space for the child to employ his energy (the hall and the stairs to the 1st floor bedroom). The kitchen is equipped with everything one may need (a very clever selection of items). There is a bath in the bathroom. The bed in the bedroom upstairs is really big so that three people can sleep on it freely. The area around the house is outstanding for playing and walking, there are walking routes in the forest on the mountains surrounding the Loch and along the channel. There was everything to relax from from every day routine.

Anne Marie & Irish Crew
Reviewed Foyers Lodge on 27/04/2009
And awarded it

Foyers Lodge

Jacqui Peakman
Reviewed Don Cottage on 27/04/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

This was a lovely cottage. My family and I had a great time. The cottage was as described and more! The location was excellent for touring around. We would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Alan & Alison Smith
Reviewed Hill Cottage on 27/04/2009
And awarded it

Hill Cottage

An very well presented cottage- the classic crofter’s cottage but with all mod-cons and a twist- there’s a window in the gable giving outstanding views over the surrounding sea and hills beyond. We had to fight for possession of the rocking chair by the window. The location of the cottage was perfect for exploring on foot and by car, and so quiet. We were lucky if we saw 2 or 3 cars a day. Even the sheep and resident geese in the field were welcoming. We slept like logs to be woken early by the sun streaming through the bedroom skylights. Great place- great weather. We would wholeheartedly recommend this as a complete getaway from the stresses of modern life.

Rosie Garrigan
Reviewed Old Smiddy Kilfinan on 27/04/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy Kilfinan

Karl West
Reviewed Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment on 26/04/2009
And awarded it

Raven Wing 11 - The Kintail Apartment

Andrew Sally, Mo & Jazz
Reviewed Fairhaven on 26/04/2009
And awarded it

Fairhaven

Elaine Sheldon
Reviewed Don Cottage on 26/04/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

This was a lovely cottage and excellent value for money! Many thanks for the welcome wine, whiskey, biscuits etc which were left for us.

Christine & Richard Southam
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 10/04/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

We stayed at The Abbey in Moat House No 10 from the 28th March to 4th April 2009. The apartment was equipt to a very high standard and ultra modern, everything you needed ideal for two people, all set in the beautiful grounds of the Abbey.

Welcome gift of wine and shortbread was appreciated, we had the most perfect weather during our stay, impressed with Fort Augusta, plenty of good eating places, cruises on Loch Ness, and watching the boats on the Canal while having a glass of wine.

Very central for Inverness and Fort William and variouse other places on the West Coast,looking forward to a return visit in the future.

Tony & Carol Hart
Reviewed Mealishal on 08/04/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Lesley & Roy Maxim
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/04/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

For the past thirteen years we have taken an annual holiday in the Highlands, always in self catering accommodation. To us, this was the most perfect holiday home we have rented in that time. Set in beautiful surroundings, the Log Cottage was immaculately clean, very cosy and comfortable, with everything you could possibly need. If only the weather had been kinder to us, we would have loved to have been able to use the outside space and the decked Veranda.

The Log Cottage is remote but that is part of its charm and our reason for chosing it in the first place. The 3 mile single track road to Fersit is, in itself a lovely drive, with a river, a glorious loch and beautiful woodland to enjoy on the way. Just be prepared for the last quarter mile being bumpy as the road is unmade. However it is definately worth it. If you need a peaceful and relaxing holiday, it doesn’t get better than this. We were delighted to see our first Pine Marten, and also spotted Deer on several occasions.

Fersit Log Cottage is a very special place and it was hard for us to leave but we are looking forward to next year, when we will return and no doubt each year thereafter (just so long as it stays the same).

Ed & Peggy MacLeod
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 07/04/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We brought another couple to Scotland with us this year to share the beauty of the country. They fell in love with Scotland as much as we did our first visit. The warm cozy feeling experienced at Hill Head Croft made it difficult to venture out on our daily trips. We so looked forward to returning there every night. It gave us the chance to spend valuable time together that’s not possible when staying in hotels or B&B’s. There was every comfort and convenience of home. The four of us loved the cottage and would definitely stay there again. We all agreed that we would love to live there permanently. Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to enjoy Hill Head Croft.

Kim Osborne/Williams
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 18/03/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

Had a fantastic relaxing break at The Abbey 27 Feb - 4 March 2009. Apartment was fab with everything you would need to make it home from home. Plenty of hot water and a kitchen full of equipment it was just just as the brochure described with no hidden nasty surprises. We arrived a little later than planned but Mrs Canning the housekeeper was more than helpfull and in no rush to settle us in and run off. In fact after she had gone I discovered that we had been left fresh milk, shortbread biscuits and a bottle of wine welcoming us to the apartment. The booking procedure was easy and Corrine was great at explaining about the accomodation and the area. I would have no hesitation in recomending this apartment to anyone.

Bob,Heather,Kevin & Julie
Reviewed Balmachree on 18/03/2009
And awarded it

Balmachree

Thank you so much. Our 3rd year in the Highlands (always in February), where all our cottages have been lovely but this could well have been the best! We arrived after very heavy snow falls. When our car got stuck in the drifts on the drive, a local man cheerfully pulled us out and the hotel minded our car until it cleared. Everyone was so friendly. The house was superb - and the views were stunning. Frozen lochs are truely a site to see! A perfect base for touring. We are coming back to Wildeness Cottages and will try another one, though it was tempting to return here!

Steph, Phil & Damie
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 16/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Fionna & Girls
Reviewed Jersey - The Dairy on 15/03/2009
And awarded it

Jersey - The Dairy

Kate & Dave
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 15/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

John Webster & Rachel Hastie
Reviewed The Granary on 14/03/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

I’ve stayed in quite a few holiday cottages around Drumnadrochit over the years but this is by far the best one we have stayed in! very friendly owners, quiet location and beautifully clean! a credit to the owners.

We are both still missing being at the Granary and each day we say we wish we were still there! hopefully we will stay again because we found it so perfect. and i will definitely be using wilderness cottages again, thank you to all concerned for the perfect escape.

David & Suzanne Moncrieff
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/03/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had lovely time at Owl.It has to be the warmest,cosiest cottage we have stayed at to date with a great location just above Fort Augustus.It’s up a narrow,quiet,lane with an old church a stone’s throw from the front door from where you can get a panaoramic view over the Fort Augustus.The woodland walks are fantastic and fairly easy eaven for casual walkers & our springer spaniel Cody was in dog heaven for the entire week.Like other Wilderness cottages that we have stayed in,I would recommend Owl to anyone looking for a cosy break in a great location in excellent accomodation which is real value for money.
David Moncrieff

Tina & Colin Hughes
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 05/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Sharon & Ken Jones
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 03/03/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

we stayed at Hillhead Croft from 24th January 2009 to celebrate our honeymoon. we had a wonderful time and can highly recommend Hillhead Croft as a perfect base to explore all of the shores of Loch Ness, the mountain hikes and forest walks in the snow! we really enjoyed ourselves and loved the cottage with all of its superb character and attention to detail. Just lovely! Thankyou!

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lianachan on 24/02/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Wayne & Gina Holland
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 23/02/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Natascha
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 20/02/2009
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

The Cornelius & Jenkins Families
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 19/02/2009
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had a glorious week at the Old Lock Keeper’s cottage over our Thanksgiving holiday at the end of November! The cottage was beautiful, clean, well appointed, and just far enough off the beaten path, everything we could ask for and more! It was cozy and welcoming, just perfect! Our days were spent exploring the Highlands and Loch Ness, and evenings were spent in front of the open fire, playing board games and drinking Isle of Skye porter. Our dog loved the fenced garden and the long walks to Ft. Augustus. The weather was great most days with a bit of snow toward the end of the week. Overall a most pleasant visit and we’d love to come back, but sadly, our time in the UK has come to an end. We cannot recommend the Old Lock Keeper’s cottage enough! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Kindest regards,
Penny

Angie, John, Michael, Nikki & Alex
Reviewed Charleston on 15/02/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

What a wonderful week in the deep snow. We have stayed at this cottage at least 6 times - it is perfect for groups as there is room for everyone to have their own space. The view is beautiful. Many thanks to Donny, the neighbour who towed our two cars up the long drive or we would have been snowed out. Thanks also to Corinne for her help and the cottage owner who came out with the snow plough to dig us out! We have stayed in a number of cottages now, but this one is the best.

Lisa & Mark Cole
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 11/02/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Just returned from a blissful visit to The Smiddy. We had quite a bit of snow which made the log fire in the cottage all the more welcoming, but it didn’t stop us getting out and about walking every day.
The cottage is very well appointed and has the most comfy bed you will ever sleep in! Location is perfect too as it’s not as remote as some cottages.But the peace and quiet is heaven if you want to escape your busy life in the town/city. We can’t wait to come back again!
Thank you Dave and Patt

Sue Ranson
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 02/02/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

My family spent a glorious week at Hill Head Croft in July 2008. What a wonderfully cosy and inviting cottage with all the home comforts you could wish for. The area surrounding the cottage is amazing. if you like walking this is the place for you with forest trails right from the door in nearby Inverfarigaig forest. We decided to have a pleasant hour’s walk there and got hopelessly but gloriously lost. We eventually returned back to the cottage many hours later after lunch at nearby Foyers to fortify us for the way home...it was then that we realised we had waliked 10 miles!! A super week.

Dorothy & Gerry McGovern
Reviewed Croc Latt on 01/02/2009
And awarded it

Croc Latt

Toby
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 17/01/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage