Search


Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 101 to 120 of 2651


Graham Stokes
Reviewed Wee Dram on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Wee Dram

Wee Dram is a lovely little cottage, offering peace and quiet with great views over the valley. We had a great time touring around the area and staying in the cottage with its log fire. Would highly recommend it.

Marian Lister
Reviewed Christies on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Christies

Lovely old cottage, very cosy too. Beautiful situation overlooking the bay, the dog absolutely loved it! Plumbing noise in the bathroom was a bit strange, but we got used to it. Neighbour very nice and helpful too. We will go back, once we have explored some of your other lovely properties.

Santha -- Oxford
Reviewed Score Bay Cottage on 13/04/2017
And awarded it

Score Bay Cottage

This is a spacious, comfortable, warm and beautifully equipped cottage. The owners could not do more to ensure one's enjoyment! The cottage is in a truly breathtaking, undisturbed setting, with wonderful views of the mountains and sea, with the Outer Hebrides visible on the horizon. The cottage is also conveniently situated for getting around to other parts Skye, and a bus-service passes the gate. This is my third visit to this cottage. Highly recommended.

Laura B
Reviewed White-Tail Croft on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

White-Tail Croft

We had truly a phenomenal stay at White-Tail Croft. The croft itself is to the highest standard, with stunning views; we saw many birds of prey hunting outside the croft, and with deer and rabbits making use of the fields surrounding us. Absolutely loved our time here, and are aiming to come back in the future!

Chris & Sharon
Reviewed Aros Beag on 09/04/2017
And awarded it

Aros Beag

Excellent cottage tempted to keep it a secret, very quiet and peaceful with nice walks in the area . cottage is very well appointed and owners are welcoming

Neil Cooper
Reviewed South Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

South Lodge

Our break at South Lodge was excellent, we arrived to find freshly baked shortbread waiting for us. The Lodge itself was very clean and very comfortable, the kitchen and living area were perfect and the underfloor heating in the bathroom was a lovely surprise. The remote position of the Lodge was one of the reasons we chose it, with a great woodland walk within 200 metres. On the first morning i made a coffee and sat outside on the bench, i noticed some movement at the edge of the Loch which turned out to be two Otters feeding, we also saw many Common Seals within a few miles of the Lodge. The whole area was perfect for a nice 'chilled out' break, and the local people were very friendly indeed, everyone waved to us as we drove into Tarbert. Leaving to return home was the only downside of this break, we are definitely going to return here, as it was one of the best breaks i have had in over 40 years. our dogs absolutely loved it too. I wish i could put some of my photos on this review.

The Gray's
Reviewed Sealight on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Sealight

We had a fabulous time at Sealight, the weather was very good, apart from the last 2 days, but did not stop us going out walking/ climbing. The house is amazing...everything you could need and cosy, we would defiantly stay again... lots to do if you like the outdoors. Don't know why we had to phone the caretakers as we did twice, but no answer on both occasions!

Elen Sentier
Reviewed Plodda Falls Lodge on 06/04/2017
And awarded it

Plodda Falls Lodge

Such a beautiful place! The cottage is deep in the woods and with no immediate neighbours but still part of the community of Tomich. It's very well appointed, the furnishings are attractive and the two main rooms are large. The window seats are a grerat place to stretch out with a cuppa after a walk and watch the birds who flock around the house. There are several excellent walks directly from the house, indeed we only took the car out one day to go to Glen Affric, and to shop in the local town of Beauly. Beauly has an excellent deli/cafe next door to a very good old fashioned greengrocer - his veg are super - and across the road from a good butcher. There's a Co-Op for basics too, and a bakery. The kitchen is well appointed, lots of useful pots and pans, a good oven and hob, and really good washing machine (Bosch) which is such an advantage for walkers like ourselves. We - Fiona and me - went at the end of March and the one thing we found is that the cottage is cold, we needed the heating! You really noticed when you went out into the corridor as we kept the heating on in the rooms we used. The wood-burner was vital for comfort but the cold meant we didn't use the other very attractive front room. Also the wifi is close to nonexistent. Never mind about not being able to stream videos - we had to split an email with 3 small attachments into 3 separate emails and it still too half an hour to go! As we're both writers with contract deadlines to complete this was something of a blow! But overall we had a delightful week of walking and our dogs thoroughly enjoyed it too :-). It's a wonderful hideaway, peace, quiet and beuty all around you.

Cazamaranda
Reviewed Shore Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Shore Cottage

Shore Cottage is a little piece of heaven! Three old friends and one dog for a week - peace and relaxation in a cosy home with uninterrupted views of the sea. The location couldn't have been more perfect, and being right on the beach was a dream come true for us. The cottage itself was well-equipped and spotlessly clean with beautifully laundered bedding and towels (whoever does the cleaning does an excellent job!). We did intend travelling around the area, but ended up spending almost the whole week in the cottage - it was such a lovely place to be. The wood burner in the conservatory was such a fantastic idea and we spent most of the week in there when the weather was wet, staying cosy whilst feeling surrounded by the outdoors. We're already planning our next stay and can't recommend it highly enough.

Ray & Jennifer
Reviewed Cedar Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Cedar Cottage

A charming cottage in a pleasant location . The high standard of decoration, available equipment and garden made for an outstanding week .

Sarah, James & JRTs
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 05/04/2017
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Cottage was lovely - clean, everything you need for your stay. All mod cons. Spacious and very cosy. Log burner was great, didn't need the heating at all. Jacuzzi bath was an fantastic after long walks. Big porch for all your outdoor gear and loved the decking for watching the wildlife. Garden is dog proof (even for small terriers) - our dogs loved it! Owners were very helpful. And the location - well.....we loved it! Munroes on your doorstep combined with loads of low level walks. Could easily walk each day from cottage and not have to drive anywhere. Great mountain biking too. 15 mins to Spean Bridge - nearest supermarket. 30 mins to Fort William. Loads to do in the area for outdoor enthusiasts, families and elderly parents. In-laws came with us and loved it! Recommend - Glen Roy and the parallel roads; gondola trip and mountain bike trails at Nevis range and the coffee shop in Roy Bridge - Darwin's Rest, awesome home baking, friendly staff ???? Would we book again - def yes!

D.Grundy
Reviewed The Orchids on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

The Orchids

We had a problem with our booking which Wilderness resolved promptly and efficiently and we enjoyed a great holiday at The Orchids, which is a well equipped property situated overlooking the Loch.

Pauline Currie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 03/04/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

We had a fantastic stay at Beach Lodge. It is so secluded and is located in a beautiful setting set back from the beach. Our 2 dalmatians were in their element and loved the beach. We saw our neighbours who were staying at Shore Cottage a few times other than that we saw no one else. We had the beach to ourselves. Check the tide times before you go. There were only 2 of us staying so we closed the doors of the rooms that we weren't using. On a clear night the stars are amazing. We saw such an abundance of wild life, deer, foxes, hares and of course the farm animals. We had 4 deer in the garden the day we left. The only negative comments that I would make are that some of the furnishings are a bit tired and could be doing with being updated, settee covers could be doing with a wash and it also wasn't as clean as I expected (bathrooms and bedrooms spotless) but none of this would stop me from returning we had a great time. The track down to the cottage isn't suitable for low suspension cars as we found out but with slow careful driving its managable.

Crate Scotland
Reviewed Cuilfail on 02/04/2017
And awarded it

Cuilfail

Very comfortable cottage, clean and reasonably well equipped. The log fire was welcome though we could have done with more logs and kindling.The wheelchair access would be useful to those who required it, though there was no handrail and potentially dangerous. The dogs were welcome and the garden area was made safe for them. Altogether, a good experience in a delightful part of the world.

John & Janet
Reviewed Seascape Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Seascape Cottage

We had a fantastic stay at Seascape Cottage. The cottage is very well appointed and finished to an excellent standard, second to none we have stayed in to date. We received a warm welcome from the hosts, Jane and Chas, including a complimentary bottle of wine. Our hosts have thought of everything including providing dog bowls and towels if you need them. A very peaceful spot with lovely walks from the door and also a short car ride away. We will certainly return.

John Dobbie
Reviewed Beach Lodge on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Beach Lodge

Beautiful cottage everything in it you could need. Location amazing,beach was fantastic,did not meet anyone for a week. Peace and quiet brilliant!!

Lorraine Jennie & Abbie
Reviewed Old School 10 - Abbey on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Old School 10 - Abbey

My niece and I flew from Michigan, USA to Aberdeen to meet up with our friend, Lorraine, who gave us an amazing tour around the Highlands of Scotland, during which time our home base was at Fort Augustus and the Abbey. Our two bedroom apartment was spacious, clean, well equipped and perfect for our needs. The staff was friendly and helpful. I'd return to both Scotland and The Abbey in a heartbeat! We never did find Nessie the Loch Ness Monster, but the views were amazing and our time at the Abbey was wonderful. Thank you.

Nev Poole
Reviewed Pooltiel House on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Pooltiel House

Yet again a lovely place to stay. Accommodation excellent and location outstanding. If you want relaxation and being away from the rat race this is the place.

Andy Leicester
Reviewed Rhundunan on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Rhundunan

Fantastic place, really relaxing away from it all break. Enjoyed the seals on the rocks, and the rabbits in the garden. House has everything you could possibly need, and more besides. Lovely.

Jason Pickles
Reviewed Littlepark Cottage on 31/03/2017
And awarded it

Littlepark Cottage

Nice house in secluded location with great walking