Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2501 to 2550 of 2734


Leigh Devin
Reviewed Log House on 07/06/2008
And awarded it

Log House

What a fantastic setting and a great,proper log cabin! So nice to be far from the madding crowd and be wakened by birdsong as opposed to traffic.
The cottage itself was warm,homely and spacious and the stove was very cosy in the evening. The Robin we’d read about in the guest reviews did not disappoint and appeared the moment we arrived,waiting patiently for us to unpack the bread. We were also visited by a blackbird and a swallow which actually flew into the living room!The surrounding area is excellent for cycling and walking but take the insect repellant if you’re out and about mid afternoon onwards to ward off the evil midge.We can recommend the Lovat Arms and The Bothy for good food and drink (Ailsa at The Lovat Arms was really friendly and informative about the area)We’ll definitely be back!!

Christine Plumb
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/06/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Excellent cottage - best we have stayed in. Could not fault. Would hoghly recommend.
Had lovely holiday in Fort Augustus - sun shone all week.

Eva Hermann & Andreas Leibl
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 06/06/2008
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

Beautiful cottage, clean, cosy, very spacious! The phantasic landscaped garden is fully fenced and dog-friendly. Nice walks all around.
Summary: The ideal place for just chilling in front of the fireplace with a glass of wine or for hiking holidays! Or both!

The Mortlock Family
Reviewed Admiral Napier House on 06/06/2008
And awarded it

Admiral Napier House

Dave & Glenis Corbett
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 03/06/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Pearl Field
Reviewed Log House on 30/05/2008
And awarded it

Log House

Just returned from the log house ,turn into the lane and you will fall in love with this beautifuly presented and unique property,it has a warm and inviting feel that we found hard to leave. The location is ideal for seeing the treasures that Scotland has,(but do spend time enjoying the
house and garden )We found lovely walks through the woods down to the river,the village is a delight, good places to eat and lovely people. A boat trip from the village on Loch Ness is interesting with sona images of the Loch, it is so deep ....maybe Nessie does live there .
Nairn has a good beach for a day out,and of course Ben Nevis range is a must, after leaving the gondola take the walk left then the walk right.very scenic.
At the log house look out for deer and many birds also Mr Robin, he visits every day and will come into the kitchen ....almost a pet. We had a wonderful stay at the Log house, just wanted to stay........this is a "must have " holiday

David Pearson & Marie Pearson
Reviewed Wildwood on 27/05/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

We spent a very relaxing week with everything we needed on hand and would certainly use wildwood again.
The only problem were the curtains in the upstairs bedroom need to be heavier and let less light in.

Pat & John Carter
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 25/05/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

Superb cosy cottage with all the comforts you could wish for. Walking and cycling from the door. Very easy access to nearby mountains and glens. A perfect situation for an active and / or relaxing holiday.

Bronnie & Adie
Reviewed Callakille on 23/05/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

Iain & Ann Tait
Reviewed Charleston on 19/05/2008
And awarded it

Charleston

Yet again the cottage was everything we wanted: spacious, well equiped and peaceful an ideal place to chill out. Lots of places to walk and most important of all Ailsa, our Airedale, loved it. We hope to be back again next year.

Claudia & Eric Bekx
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 07/05/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Sarah & Olie Baumann
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/05/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We were delighted with Fersit Cottage. It was clean, modern, luxurious and isolated. Surrounded by stunning scenery and beautiful walks. Central enough for day trips across the highlands, or lovely for a relaxing day in to enjoy the views.

Andy & Anna
Reviewed Log House on 04/05/2008
And awarded it

Log House

We had an amazing stay at The Log House from 26th April to 29th.
As soon as we pulled up in the car we knew we would love the place and as soon as we walked in we felt at home straight away and could have stayed forever. The location is perfect as it still close enough to Fort Augustus to drive (few minutes) but also close enough to walk to from the cabin (15-20 mins). We hope to return soon.
This goes down as the best place I have booked for a short break.

Graham & Rosie Clarke
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 04/05/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We had a fantastic honeymoon at The Old Smiddy and we would highly recommend it for a romantic getaway for two. We loved nothing better than coming back after a long days sight-seeing, lighting the log-burner and settling down with a nice glass of wine. The quality of the accommodation is really great (possibly the comfiest bed in the world?) and if you’re looking for something just that little bit more special, this is the place for you. It’s fantastically situated for just about anything you’d want to do in the area. Whilst there, we visited Inverness, Glen Affric, took a Loch Ness cruise to Castle Urquart, had a brilliant scenic train journey to Plockton (and back) and drove through lovely scenery to Ullapool, which was one of the highlights of the trip. We really can’t recommend it enough.

Joh & Susan Laing
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 01/05/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We had a magic time in the cottage. Lovely walks and scenery right on the doorstep. Ideal base for Isle of Skye, Inverness and a few of the whisky distilleries.
We awakened to quite a heavy snow fall on our first morning which set the scene for a fantastic week.
A bottle of wine and tea/coffee and shortie welcomed us to the cottage; nice touch.
Highly recommended.

Jonathan Cleaver
Reviewed Kilmartin Estate Cottage on 22/04/2008
And awarded it

Kilmartin Estate Cottage

Total isolation! Just what was needed. Quiet, peaceful, relaxing and as the website suggests very much in the wilderness. The deer at dusk were mesmerising - absolutely beautiful. Buzzards sat on the wall outside the window, owls hooted in the trees, birds I’ve never seen before flew past - the wildlife was fantastic. The cottage was very comfortable and suitably modern. Glen Affric, about 10 miles away, is probably the most wonderful place I’ve ever visited - the walk around the lochs among the caledonian pines at the foot of the mountains is sensational. The memorial cairn at Corrimony is likewise a very atmospheric place. Even Drumnadrochit, more on the tourist trail, is a lovely, quiet and unspoilt villlage. I’d recommend the area to anyone who wants to get away from it all for a while and yet still be able to visit educational (Culloden) and scenic places world-renowned.

Julie Jupe
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 22/04/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

The cottage is just perfect. It is full of those useful things you have at home - such as hot water bottles, thermos flasks and a breadmaker. It has stunning views, and at night if you leave your window open you can hear the sea gently lapping against the shore. Our children loved it, and felt at home very quickly.

The Gordon Family
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 21/04/2008
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

This is the most wonderful immaculate cottage, set right by the Caledonian Canal it is so perfectly peaceful and relaxing. We had to best week here and the surrounding area has many great place to visit.

Mrs Margaret Gibb
Reviewed Gate House on 18/04/2008
And awarded it

Gate House

stayed at this lovely house in April 2008 although it snowed for most of the week it was very warm and very comfortable,we really relaxed with my son and duaghter -in-law and all our grandchildren,the house is very spacious and has loads of room for everyone,we will definitely be back.

Paul Daivs
Reviewed Log House on 12/04/2008
And awarded it

Log House

Excellent Location Very peaceful. The log House was very well Equipt .We had the most Restful holiday we can remenber. We will cetainly stay here again next time we visit Scotland.

The Macleans
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 08/04/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

Had a brilliant week in Owl Cottage. The log fire was great, the kids made toast over it! The weather was kind to us, the snow on the mountain tops was fantastic. Ideal location, within easy walking distance of Fort Augustus.
The cottage was lovely and very well equipped with lots of DVDs, books etc.

Andrew & Leesa Brickell
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 08/04/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We stayed in this fanastic and remote croft from the 29th March to the 5th April. It’s thoroughly recommended with great beaches, walking, bars and seafood nearby. At the end of a week, you’ll wish you’d booked it for longer.

Pauline Maguire
Reviewed Log House on 06/04/2008
And awarded it

Log House

We have just had the most fantastic stay at the loghouse for easter break, what can i say, what a fantastic place in the most beautiful setting, set in the forest just outside fort augustus this cabin has everything, stunning scenery, warmth, character and colourful wildlife, if you didn’t wake up every morning to different little birds peeping in the windows, id be very surprised. With so many activities on the door step we will certainly be returning, it captured all our hearts...thank you scotland...

Jean Walker
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 05/04/2008
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

The Walkers & The Bairstows had a fantastic time at this warm, cosy cottage. Well done to the owners who seem to have thought of just about everything to make families feel welcome. Also many thanks to Wilderness Cottages for providing a very friendly & professional service. This fantastic cottage is in a brilliant location for accessing some of the best Scotland has to offer, the kids loved feeding the many hungry birds every morning. Fantastic weather, lots of sunshine and snow! Would recommend this cottage to anyone.

Jackie & Colin Ward
Reviewed Tuath Cala on 02/04/2008
And awarded it

Tuath Cala

Isolde Doig
Reviewed Bayside Cottage on 02/04/2008
And awarded it

Bayside Cottage

Just returned from a week in Applecross at the charming Bayside cottage. This is the most well equipped cottage that we have ever stayed at. The owners really go out of their way to make sure you have everything that you would ever need, and their small touches are really lovely (a fire made in the grate, waiting for you to light it when you arrive, tea/coffee + biscuits left out for you, fresh flowers etc). Applecross is a wonderful place to spend a week - the Inn is fantastic. Really great food at very good prices, and the Potting Shed is another lovely restaurant with great food. Highly recommended!

Shaun & Jenny Johnson & Bomber
Reviewed Giusaichean on 23/03/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Jenny & Jimmy
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 23/03/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Chris & Sara Duckett
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 20/03/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

This is a lovely, cosy hideaway. It’s rustic on the outside but modern and comfortable on the inside. Chris enjoyed the mountains on the doorstep and I enjoyed the woodburner and UKTV Gold.

The Waltons, The Haugheys, & Josh The Dog
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 17/03/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

We returned on Saturday after a week at Marnie’s Croft. I can honestly say it’s the most beautiful and comfortable cottage I’ve ever stayed in, and I’m sure that pretty much sums it up for the rest of the party too. We came as a family with the age range from 3 to 63, and a great time was had by all. Breathtaking views, definately worth getting up early for! Fantastic walks on the doorstep, as well as those a short drive away. Visit the waterfall and enjoy the woodland walks at Foyers. Book in at The Clansman Hotel for dinner it’s really good! There’s loads to do and a week just didn’t seem long enough. The views seemed different every day.

Many thanks to the owners for their welcome and helpful tour of the cottage, heating system etc!

I could go on and on about this place; I’m not one for visiting the same place again but I will be back to visit Marnie’s Croft, I imagine Spring would be even more beautiful here.

Thanks again for a wonderful week.

Paul & Pauline
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 02/03/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Julie & Hayley
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 24/02/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Dave & Tracey Farrow
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 24/02/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

we stayed in the cottage from 9th february, half term week cold but we had some sunny days, the cottage was all you could ask for, a beautiful view of the Loch, from the living room and dining area,Urquhart Castle was beautiful when lit up on the night time, the peace was wonderful and we enjoyed some walks above and behind the cottage with our dog, we hope to visit again in the summer if we can get booked.

The owners showed us how to look after the cottage and how to get the log fire going which i thought was very good, i couldnt have asked for better customer service.

all in all the best cottage holiday we’ve had, visit the Isle Of skye, if you get the chance what a wonderful place and the drive was fantastic. Inverness is good and not too far.

Mrs Godfrey & Family
Reviewed Balmachree on 24/02/2008
And awarded it

Balmachree

We had a fantastic holiday.The cottage and grounds cannot be faulted.We had plenty of snow,so it was snowball fights and snowmen building, then returning to the spacious cottage for hot chocolate in the large sun lounge.Although there were 8 off us the cottage did not seem crowded. We had a few evening meals and drinks at the Whitebridge Hotel,good food and friendly staff/locals.Just as well it was downhill to the cottage from the hotel.It was good to have the owners close by,nothing was too much trouble for them,(a replacement kettle when ours packed up was replaced in 10 mins.)We will definitely be returning.It was ideal for the grand-children and the labrador as the garden was all fenced in,so quite safe.

Carol & Hugh McLelland
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 20/02/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Cuaig is a wonderful holiday cottage. We stayed one week in February,experienced fantastic weather along with stunning scenery. The cottage is cosy , welcoming and well situated for all types of walking. One of the best we have rented.

Angela Browne
Reviewed Homewood on 18/02/2008
And awarded it

Homewood

Ron & Sue Harker
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/01/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We stayed at The Old Smiddy from 12th January 2008 to 19th January 2008. We had found the cottage on the Wilderness Cottages website and thought that it looked the perfect romantic getaway, we had high expectations for our break. We were not disappointed!! The pictures of the Smiddy (although lovely) did not do it justice, it was superb!! The decor was really beautiful and the attention to detail brillliant. The weather was not great while we were there (which was to be expected in January!!) and this was the perfect reason to stay in by the log fire with a nice meal and a bottle of wine!! We have not had such a relaxing holiday for a long time and will most definitely be back for a stay at a later date. We were so impressed that we have been looking on Wilderness Cottages for another one!!

Marica, Mick & Sasha
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 21/01/2008
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

We arrived back on saturday, and we would like to congratulate Wilderness Cottages for having such a wonderful, remote, tranquil and peaceful accomodation. Fersit Log Cottage is a very clean, very warm and cosy log cabin, in absolutely wonderful surroundings, it is the perfect place to come to get away from it all and recharge your batteries. We come to Scotland every January for that very reason, recharge the batteries and lower the blood pressure, it is the first time we have used Wilderness Cottages but it most certainly will not be the last, not if the standard of Fersit Log Cottage is anything to go by, we strongly recommend this delightful place to stay.

Hannant Family
Reviewed Marnie's Croft on 11/01/2008
And awarded it

Marnie's Croft

we had a lovely time house was big views out off this world
would recomend to any one thank you

Lisa & Jamie
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 09/01/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Colin & Jo Schooling
Reviewed Pine Lodge on 06/01/2008
And awarded it

Pine Lodge

We stayed for a week before Christmas 2007, and had a lovely time! The weather was just fab! Lovely walks with our dog, suberb scenery. Just acroos the Loch and over the Applecross Mountains is Applcross, and a fantastic pub called the Applecross Inn which serves the most amzing fish and chips, and the best pint of Guniness I ever had! We will definatly be back for more!

Samantha Lake
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 20/12/2007
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

My husband booked this cottage in May for a week of our Honeymoon - It was a suprise honeymoon and I/we couldn’t have asked or more.
What a wonderful place to spend our honeymoon
thank you for all your help in making it absolutely perfect.

Laura Ann Duffy
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 07/12/2007
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Jamie Sim
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 05/12/2007
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

"A magical place to unwind, relax and enjoy the beauty of Scotland. The accommodation is really well presented and made our stay very comfortable. The owners have clearly thought about the well being of his holiday makers with books on the area, DVDs, music, well equiped kitchen etc... which makes your stay all the more enjoyable. The Applecross Inn, Potting shed, Cattle Pass, Shieldaig are all musts and of course the Great Outdoors! The above caters for all!!! Thanks again."

Donna & Jason Madden
Reviewed Creag nah Iolaire on 03/12/2007
And awarded it

Creag nah Iolaire

What a fab cottage, we had the best week ever. It was like home from home everything you need for a magical week. I will be recommending to all my family and friends. Thank you.

DAVID AND SHIRLEY
Reviewed Coach House on 01/12/2007
And awarded it

Coach House

Fiona & Ross McSkimming
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 05/11/2007
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

Stunning cottage so tastefully decorated and situated right by the coast. Very welcoming with the warm Aga, books, maps, DVD’s for the children on a wet day. Well located for the excellent eateries in Applecross and trips to Sheildaig, pass of the cattle, Lochcarron etc.
We’ve booked again for next year and for a stay at one of the owners other properties. Would recommend this cottage to anyone who loves the west coast and would congratulate Corrine and Gordon Roberts on their excellent administration of the wilderness cottages website.

Helen & Phil
Reviewed Burnside Cottage - Balnain on 04/11/2007
And awarded it

Burnside Cottage - Balnain

Garry, Beth & Joseph Kitchin
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 03/11/2007
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Joanne Hunt
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 29/10/2007
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

I would love to be able to write that this cottage was awful so that nobody else will go there and I can have it all to myself, but I can’t. The cottage itself was gorgeous. It did not have the feel of a holiday home at all and was very comfortable. It was remote and pretty with many interesting places to visit. I would definitely go back.