Christmas Availability

Looking for Christmas or New Year availability?

Find it easily here »

Search

Wilderness Cottages Guest's Reviews 2551 to 2600 of 2840


Christine & Richard Southam
Reviewed Moat House 10 - Abbey on 10/04/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 10 - Abbey

We stayed at The Abbey in Moat House No 10 from the 28th March to 4th April 2009. The apartment was equipt to a very high standard and ultra modern, everything you needed ideal for two people, all set in the beautiful grounds of the Abbey.

Welcome gift of wine and shortbread was appreciated, we had the most perfect weather during our stay, impressed with Fort Augusta, plenty of good eating places, cruises on Loch Ness, and watching the boats on the Canal while having a glass of wine.

Very central for Inverness and Fort William and variouse other places on the West Coast,looking forward to a return visit in the future.

Tony & Carol Hart
Reviewed Mealishal on 08/04/2009
And awarded it

Mealishal

Lesley & Roy Maxim
Reviewed Fersit Log Cottage on 07/04/2009
And awarded it

Fersit Log Cottage

For the past thirteen years we have taken an annual holiday in the Highlands, always in self catering accommodation. To us, this was the most perfect holiday home we have rented in that time. Set in beautiful surroundings, the Log Cottage was immaculately clean, very cosy and comfortable, with everything you could possibly need. If only the weather had been kinder to us, we would have loved to have been able to use the outside space and the decked Veranda.

The Log Cottage is remote but that is part of its charm and our reason for chosing it in the first place. The 3 mile single track road to Fersit is, in itself a lovely drive, with a river, a glorious loch and beautiful woodland to enjoy on the way. Just be prepared for the last quarter mile being bumpy as the road is unmade. However it is definately worth it. If you need a peaceful and relaxing holiday, it doesn’t get better than this. We were delighted to see our first Pine Marten, and also spotted Deer on several occasions.

Fersit Log Cottage is a very special place and it was hard for us to leave but we are looking forward to next year, when we will return and no doubt each year thereafter (just so long as it stays the same).

Ed & Peggy MacLeod
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 07/04/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

We brought another couple to Scotland with us this year to share the beauty of the country. They fell in love with Scotland as much as we did our first visit. The warm cozy feeling experienced at Hill Head Croft made it difficult to venture out on our daily trips. We so looked forward to returning there every night. It gave us the chance to spend valuable time together that’s not possible when staying in hotels or B&B’s. There was every comfort and convenience of home. The four of us loved the cottage and would definitely stay there again. We all agreed that we would love to live there permanently. Thank you for the wonderful opportunity to enjoy Hill Head Croft.

Kim Osborne/Williams
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 18/03/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

Had a fantastic relaxing break at The Abbey 27 Feb - 4 March 2009. Apartment was fab with everything you would need to make it home from home. Plenty of hot water and a kitchen full of equipment it was just just as the brochure described with no hidden nasty surprises. We arrived a little later than planned but Mrs Canning the housekeeper was more than helpfull and in no rush to settle us in and run off. In fact after she had gone I discovered that we had been left fresh milk, shortbread biscuits and a bottle of wine welcoming us to the apartment. The booking procedure was easy and Corrine was great at explaining about the accomodation and the area. I would have no hesitation in recomending this apartment to anyone.

Bob,Heather,Kevin & Julie
Reviewed Balmachree on 18/03/2009
And awarded it

Balmachree

Thank you so much. Our 3rd year in the Highlands (always in February), where all our cottages have been lovely but this could well have been the best! We arrived after very heavy snow falls. When our car got stuck in the drifts on the drive, a local man cheerfully pulled us out and the hotel minded our car until it cleared. Everyone was so friendly. The house was superb - and the views were stunning. Frozen lochs are truely a site to see! A perfect base for touring. We are coming back to Wildeness Cottages and will try another one, though it was tempting to return here!

Steph, Phil & Damie
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 16/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Fionna & Girls
Reviewed Jersey - The Dairy on 15/03/2009
And awarded it

Jersey - The Dairy

Kate & Dave
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 15/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

John Webster & Rachel Hastie
Reviewed The Granary on 14/03/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

I’ve stayed in quite a few holiday cottages around Drumnadrochit over the years but this is by far the best one we have stayed in! very friendly owners, quiet location and beautifully clean! a credit to the owners.

We are both still missing being at the Granary and each day we say we wish we were still there! hopefully we will stay again because we found it so perfect. and i will definitely be using wilderness cottages again, thank you to all concerned for the perfect escape.

David & Suzanne Moncrieff
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 06/03/2009
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

We had lovely time at Owl.It has to be the warmest,cosiest cottage we have stayed at to date with a great location just above Fort Augustus.It’s up a narrow,quiet,lane with an old church a stone’s throw from the front door from where you can get a panaoramic view over the Fort Augustus.The woodland walks are fantastic and fairly easy eaven for casual walkers & our springer spaniel Cody was in dog heaven for the entire week.Like other Wilderness cottages that we have stayed in,I would recommend Owl to anyone looking for a cosy break in a great location in excellent accomodation which is real value for money.
David Moncrieff

Tina & Colin Hughes
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 05/03/2009
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Sharon & Ken Jones
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 03/03/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

we stayed at Hillhead Croft from 24th January 2009 to celebrate our honeymoon. we had a wonderful time and can highly recommend Hillhead Croft as a perfect base to explore all of the shores of Loch Ness, the mountain hikes and forest walks in the snow! we really enjoyed ourselves and loved the cottage with all of its superb character and attention to detail. Just lovely! Thankyou!

Karen & Jonathan Short
Reviewed Lianachan on 24/02/2009
And awarded it

Lianachan

Wayne & Gina Holland
Reviewed Sheaig Croft on 23/02/2009
And awarded it

Sheaig Croft

Natascha
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 20/02/2009
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

The Cornelius & Jenkins Families
Reviewed Old Lock Keepers Cottage on 19/02/2009
And awarded it

Old Lock Keepers Cottage

We had a glorious week at the Old Lock Keeper’s cottage over our Thanksgiving holiday at the end of November! The cottage was beautiful, clean, well appointed, and just far enough off the beaten path, everything we could ask for and more! It was cozy and welcoming, just perfect! Our days were spent exploring the Highlands and Loch Ness, and evenings were spent in front of the open fire, playing board games and drinking Isle of Skye porter. Our dog loved the fenced garden and the long walks to Ft. Augustus. The weather was great most days with a bit of snow toward the end of the week. Overall a most pleasant visit and we’d love to come back, but sadly, our time in the UK has come to an end. We cannot recommend the Old Lock Keeper’s cottage enough! Thank you for a wonderful holiday!

Kindest regards,
Penny

Angie, John, Michael, Nikki & Alex
Reviewed Charleston on 15/02/2009
And awarded it

Charleston

What a wonderful week in the deep snow. We have stayed at this cottage at least 6 times - it is perfect for groups as there is room for everyone to have their own space. The view is beautiful. Many thanks to Donny, the neighbour who towed our two cars up the long drive or we would have been snowed out. Thanks also to Corinne for her help and the cottage owner who came out with the snow plough to dig us out! We have stayed in a number of cottages now, but this one is the best.

Lisa & Mark Cole
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 11/02/2009
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

Just returned from a blissful visit to The Smiddy. We had quite a bit of snow which made the log fire in the cottage all the more welcoming, but it didn’t stop us getting out and about walking every day.
The cottage is very well appointed and has the most comfy bed you will ever sleep in! Location is perfect too as it’s not as remote as some cottages.But the peace and quiet is heaven if you want to escape your busy life in the town/city. We can’t wait to come back again!
Thank you Dave and Patt

Sue Ranson
Reviewed Hill Head Croft on 02/02/2009
And awarded it

Hill Head Croft

My family spent a glorious week at Hill Head Croft in July 2008. What a wonderfully cosy and inviting cottage with all the home comforts you could wish for. The area surrounding the cottage is amazing. if you like walking this is the place for you with forest trails right from the door in nearby Inverfarigaig forest. We decided to have a pleasant hour’s walk there and got hopelessly but gloriously lost. We eventually returned back to the cottage many hours later after lunch at nearby Foyers to fortify us for the way home...it was then that we realised we had waliked 10 miles!! A super week.

Dorothy & Gerry McGovern
Reviewed Croc Latt on 01/02/2009
And awarded it

Croc Latt

Toby
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 17/01/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

James & Noelle
Reviewed Fuaran Cottage on 17/01/2009
And awarded it

Fuaran Cottage

Simon & Emma
Reviewed The Granary on 15/01/2009
And awarded it

The Granary

We stayed here over Christmas, and had a fantastic time. A warm welcome from Kirsty and Calum, a Christmas tree, a lovely cosy cottage, some great walks from the door, and some good places to go and have a meal and a drink afterwards.

Thanks for a wonderful holiday

Jim & Linda Beattie
Reviewed Moat House 5 - Abbey on 05/01/2009
And awarded it

Moat House 5 - Abbey

Lisa & Drew Elton
Reviewed Monastery 17 - Abbey on 05/01/2009
And awarded it

Monastery 17 - Abbey

Wow what a wonderful and excellent place to stay. Apartment out of this world views of loch ness stunning did not want to come home. Views, apartments everything excellent we shall be returning. Lisa & Drew

The Henderson Family
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 05/01/2009
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

Excellent cottage, well equipped. We were there the week after xmas 2008 and the temp was -8 most of the time which was great as everything was white. Best to take at least the basic food items with you as the nearest shops are 13 miles away in Fort Augustus or 23 miles to Inverness although there is a local shop for rolls/papers etc in Foyers 5 miles. Plenty of things to see & do , lovely walks which our 2 westies loved. The cottage is a home from home and our 18 month old loved being able to run about as it is all on the flat. John & Dorothy’s lovely welcome of wine, shortbread, chocs and dog biscuits made the perfect start to a perfect holiday. Although I live in Scotland it was like living in another country, so peaceful & quiet plus spectacular scenery.

Craig Matthews
Reviewed Don Cottage on 05/01/2009
And awarded it

Don Cottage

Our stay at the cottage was absolutley fantastic.

The Christmas holiday got off to a wonderful start as the cottage was beautifully prepared, including decorations and Christmas tree!

Myself, my partner and our two children all had a the most relaxing time and we would definately recommend the cottage to anyone looking to get away from it all.

We cannot wait to go back.

Andy & Julie Wilson
Reviewed Ard Carden Lodge on 30/12/2008
And awarded it

Ard Carden Lodge

ALISON AND JAMIE MARTIN
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 15/12/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We just wanted to say that we had the most amazing honeymoon in the Old Smiddy, made all the more special as we got married in The Belladrum Temple just half a mile away. We had the most perfect day and perfect stay on the Belladrum estate. We cant wait to return for our anniversaries.
04.10.08-11.10.08

Sarah
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 10/12/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We had a lovely stay at Moat House 1 in November. The apartment is more spectaular then the images show. The master bath was wonderful and there was lots of space in the bedrooms.
The service has been of the highest standard. No 1 really feels like a home will all the necessities - perfect. The flowers and the welcome pack were very much appreciated - thank you for a lovely stay.
If you are bringing a small baby this apartment is ideal as you can gain access from the ground floor, you don't have to carry the buggy up the stairs!

GILL, TONY AND SCOOBY
Reviewed Taigh Geal on 02/12/2008
And awarded it

Taigh Geal

Lucy & Joff Edevane
Reviewed Bothan Beag on 28/11/2008
And awarded it

Bothan Beag

Ken & Gretchen Dickason
Reviewed Coach House on 23/11/2008
And awarded it

Coach House

Kay & Riki
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 22/11/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

We stayed at the cottage from 8th-15th November 2008 and weren’t disappointed. The cottage itself was delightful with the attention to detail fantastic!! We found The Old Smiddy everything we were looking for. A great place for lazy mornings and evenings in front of the fire aswell as a great base for visiting the surrounding area. Our Westie Poppy also enjoyed her stay immensly and was extremely gratful for the welcome Bonio. We will be back.

Gooding, S
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 21/11/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Natalie
Reviewed Wildwood on 18/11/2008
And awarded it

Wildwood

Beautiful log cabin in a stunning location! The cabin is extremely well equipped with nothing forgotten - the views from the lounge area upstairs are stunning. It is extremely peaceful, but with Fort Augustus conveniently just down the road for essentials or to enjoy a meal out. There are so many places to visit that you?ll never get bored, but there are also plenty of great walks straight from the doorstep which my dog absolutely loved. If you fancy a bit of skiing, the Ben Nevis range is not far away. I would highly recommend this cabin to everyone - you won?t be disappointed.

S Gooding
Reviewed MacNeills Cottage. on 17/11/2008
And awarded it

MacNeills Cottage.

Laura Magowan
Reviewed Cuaig Croft on 17/11/2008
And awarded it

Cuaig Croft

We had a lovely relaxing break staying here. The cottage was excellent - very cosy and welcoming. The area is fantastic.....stunning walks and drives along the coast. We loved the food at the Applecross Inn and Kishorn seafood bar. We felt relaxed and refreshed after our few days away and hope to return in the near future.

Mrs Hawkshaw
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 10/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

I just wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay this
year in your gem of a cottage. I do envy you as it is so cosy. Thanks for
letting us stay.

Susan Marshall
Reviewed Lus na Gaoithe on 09/11/2008
And awarded it

Lus na Gaoithe

The house is very well equipped and is ideal for a cosy ’get away from everything’ break especially the wood-burning stove. Enclosed garden great for the dog and front and back porches served well on wet days with wet clothes and muddy paws.

Near enough to Fort Augustus for shops and restaraunts and also Inverness is just a half hour drive.

The Whitebridge hotel is only a ten minute drive, has a friendly ambience and is very dog friendly.

Diana Haining
Reviewed Giusaichean on 04/11/2008
And awarded it

Giusaichean

Max { The Dog}
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 03/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

wow! great cottage, log fire to lie in front of, large garden to run and play in, all fenced and secure, would have loved to play with all the deer that came every day. Lots of lovely walks, enjoyed the forest over the brige in the snow...great fun....visited fort augustus, Beauly, Inverness, Skye, Mallaig, Fort William, Oban and Kinloch Hourn..had a great walk here at ’end of the road’ saw lots of highland cattle and deer on this trip! cant wait to come back...loved it ’WOOF, WOOF’ Mum and Dad loved it to, im going to bring them back next year......

Sue Wilson Wendy & Stewart
Reviewed Poulary Cottage on 02/11/2008
And awarded it

Poulary Cottage

What a fantastic weeks holiday, cosy, remote and comfortable. Breathtaking scenery, great place for a base in Invergarry. Travelled to Mallaig, Isle of Sky, Fort William, Oban, Inverness, Loch Ness, Fort Augustus, got some brilliant chutneys and wine from Monniac Castle 10 miles west of Inverness. Lots of bird species and animal life even deer in the garden of the cottage every morning. Had a heavy snowfall in October it was great. Got the photos to look at in the winter months ahead. Can’t wait to go back, Thank you Wendy for inviting us to come with you on this trip it was fab.

Richard & Alison Bond McNally
Reviewed Callakille on 29/10/2008
And awarded it

Callakille

Firth Family
Reviewed Owl Cottage on 28/10/2008
And awarded it

Owl Cottage

The Highlands never fail to impress - excellent week in Fort Augustus and round about. Very lucky with weather - cottage was well equipt and lovely and warm to return to at the end of the day.

Only negative - twin room beds a bit lumpy.

The Wynne-McHardy Family
Reviewed Balmachree on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Balmachree

We were delighted with the house which was very spacious, clean and warm. The situation is marvellous right by a river though fenced off and a lovely garden. We were able to visit Culloden, Glen Affric and see Stags grazing at the road side!
Thoroughly recommend staying there.

Natalie Huntley
Reviewed Allt a'Mhuilinn on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Allt a'Mhuilinn

Joan & Phil Watt
Reviewed Moat House 1 - Abbey on 27/10/2008
And awarded it

Moat House 1 - Abbey

We stayed four nights in this lovely apartment at the Abbey. The setting could not be more picturesque. There was plenty of space for ourselves and our granddaughter. We were very impressed with the standard of decor, the facilities and the spaciousness of the apartment. There were lovely touches, such as the bottle of wine, fresh flowers and shortbread waiting for us on our arrival. We had good weather and made trips to Inverness, Castle Urquhart and the Highland Wildlife Park at Kingussie. Fort Augustus was great, too. There always seemed to be something happening at the locks on the canal and there were good places to eat in the village.
Definitely worth a return visit.

Kenny Darroch
Reviewed Old Smiddy on 26/10/2008
And awarded it

Old Smiddy

My wife Val, our border collie Ted and I have just returned from a terrific week’s break at The Old Smiddy. The weather was varied but we managed to time it just right to avoid the rain when we were out and about - returning to the cosy cottage and spending peaceful nights with the log burner crackling in the background. The cottage is a great base to visit the many sights and attractions in the highlands and we spent our week being lazy in and around the cottage, reading, listening to music and walking with Ted. I can recommend The Old Smiddy to young and old as can be seen by the varied positive comments in the visitors book. We will return to The Old Smiddy and will remember with fondness our well earned break there.